Why Malaysia is not a member of the Asia Tigers Club of Singapore, Hong Kong, S. Korea and Taipei

By Dr Chen Man Hin, DAP life advisor

Can PM transform Malaysia to become a high income nation in 2016. When he cannot improve the economy to join the Asia tigers club of Singapore, Hong Kong, S. Korea and Taipei?

When became PM in 2009, Najib announced his proposals to transform the economy with his Economic Transformation Program (ETP) by injection of tens of billion ringgits promised largely by government related companies. His predecessor Tun Mahathir also injected billions but the economy scarcely moved and the FDIs did not come in.

But money is not the primary mover of the economy. More importantly it is manpower.

Since 1970, the NEP has been a negative factor to drive the economy. With the NEP the GDP of Malaysia began to fall far behind those of Singapore, Hong Kong, S. Korea and Taiwan. Even now, the NEP has been a major factor in chasing away hundreds of thousands of our skilled manpower overseas, and this has affected the economy. While the four tigers leaped ahead to high income economies, while Malaysia stagnated.

Even today, the NEP continues to disappoint the young men and women who continue to emigrate overseas to seek better opportunities. Statistics show a million of young Malaysians are now overseas, with half of them in Singapore. Largely because of their skills, the Singapore economy has rocketed upwards, and its per capita income is now the highest in Asia.

Because of the NEP, our youths are not properly educated. Science and Maths are the foundation stones to train our youths in schools and universities to be engineers, scientists and research workers to propel our society into the IT era. Proficiency in English is the key to Science and Maths. And yet the ministry is not keen to keep PPSMI policy to teach our students to be conversant with English.

It is the basic thing to do, to use English to teach science and maths in schools and universities, so that the country can be an IT economy, which translates to a high income economy.

The World Bank has produced a paper criticising the NEP as the cause for the deterioration of academic standards of Malaysian universities. It is a sad thing to report that world renowned ranking organisations have not ranked our universities as world class like National University of Singapore and Hong Kong University. As a matter of fact, not one university in Malaysia is ranked as world class.

So much for PM Najib boast that our country will be 1 Malaysia.

1. #1 by monsterball on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 11:09 am

Najib means PAPER TIGER group la….not the real progressive TIGER countries in SEA.
    Why all cannot understand Najib?

2. #2 by monsterball on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 11:16 am

You know…paper cars…hand-phones…houses Buddhists burn for the dead?
    Look real…but not.
    That’s the TIGER Najib is talking about.
    It’s an illusion…a magic show to entertain Malaysians and hope to win votes that way.
    Talk talk talk…no actions..Najib is very famous for that.
    Flip flopping?…boy no one can come near to him.

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 11:19 am

Why Malaysia is not a member of the Asia Tigers Club?

Because its founder Parameswara a/l Ramasamy ran away from Singapore all to the way to Melaka, while being chased by a mousedeer. Had he been chased by a tiger, Malaysia would have been in the Tigers Club

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 11:39 am

Umno is only good at NEPotism. If you are their NEPhews, you may get projects And this has cause a majority of its citizen to be iNEPt. It is a Never Ending Policy.

5. #5 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 1:54 pm

The education policy has also a critical factor that have made Malaysia of today. Just simply to balance up the quota, we keep producing graduates who are not able to face the working demands. such as not able to think critically and not able to communicate. The low standard of English usage is another factor. We will not make progress unless education system is under go a revolution change.

The demand for high standard man power is there but there is supply. Malaysia still dreaming in the unskilled and cheap overseas labourers.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 1:57 pm

Whatever one calls it – eg ETP- it would work if NEP overrules it! The NEP, in its present form of race specific implementation, need to be supported by economic growth. It does not itself promote economic growth. Indeed it stultifies it. The common thread of Asian Tigers is judicious and selective government participation and intervention in right sectors of business (in lieu of Western Laissez faire capitalism) to spur investment and growth. However one just can’t copy that model in form, like TDM did, but in substance hijack it as where government intervenes to more to create economic opportunities for political elites, party’s supporters and their cronies; where state’s resources are not efficiently allocated but directed either to unproductive sectors or privatised, in part for private gain in exchange for political loyalty or in part for round tripping to fund the the coalition’s never ending hold on power; where the race policies undercut the very idea of meritocracy and excellence and undermine development of human capital/competitiveness but promote instead the culture of rent-seeking and corruption from civil service bureaucracy overspilling to private sector, pushing up prices to uncompetitive levels (by incredible p% mark ups) or shoddy quality of product or service.

• #7 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 2:07 pm

Correction of typo omission – “…Whatever one calls it – eg ETP- it would NOT work if NEP overrules it!”

7. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 2:34 pm

Why Malaysia is not a member of the Asia Tigers Club of Singapore, Hong Kong, S. Korea and Taipei?

With Ministers like Shahrizat – we will always be kittens!

Call a lemon by any name, it will still be as sour. So NFC – bribery or government assistance or thievery or just plain abuse of power?

Just tell it to a lemon.

8. #9 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 2:46 pm

monsterball :
    Najib means PAPER TIGER group la….not the real progressive TIGER countries in SEA.

Harimau? No – what they want is hari hari mahu.

As to the 4 Tigers of Asia (Singapore, Hong Kong, South Korea & Taiwan), dare I say it – the majority of their populations use chopsticks.

9. #10 by yhsiew on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 3:10 pm

10 Reasons why Malaysia will never be a Developed country in 2020

http://dq6633.blogspot.com/2011/02/10-reasons-why-malaysia-will-never-be.html

10. #11 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 3:24 pm

We can talk till the COWs (Club of Obedient Wives) come home, but malaysia will still be a cow, not a tiger

11. #12 by dagen on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 3:34 pm

Alamak must I tell you people this? Ahhh so stupid. But wot can I do? Everyone is the same. Went through the same umno 12 yrs of stupidification process – first in SK Rendah then in SK Menengah. Let me get to the point. Tiger. Tu harimau. Understand? Tiger. Rrrrrr. Rrrrrrr. Dangerous animal. Yes. Good. Tiger can jump and leap. Got that? Tiger can jump to the front as well as to the back. Understand. Macam kita juga. We can walk forward and we can gostan. No problem. The issue is this. Malaysia pun tiger juga. Kami tiger jenis gostan. Understand? Bodoh betul.

12. #13 by k3737373737 on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 4:31 pm

Let’s not talk about Singapore, Hong Kong, S. Korea, and Taiwan, they have left us in the dust in terms of education and technology.
    Even my Chinese friends from Shanghai joked about the type of cars we have on the streets in KL. I told them we USED to have Mercedes Benz as taxis when the only mobile thing they had were bicycles- if they were well connected or had relatives overseas- and they laughed. But I had mist in my eyes.
    You know what, I have only spotted a Proton Gen2- which is known here as Lotus, you should know why Proton name was not being used- after having been here in Shanghai for the past 5 years. It is real competition here where Hondas, Toyotas, VWs ,etc are selling at the same price as the “Lotus” by Proton.
    May miracle be with you, Proton.

13. #14 by tak tahan on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 4:55 pm

Malaysia prefer to be a member of Thailand Thai Gal Club,many many sex show.

14. #15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 5:45 pm

If najib has any modicum of sense left, it doesn’t take an idiot to see that meritocracy is the ONLY way to restore pride, progress, performance, pre-eminence to malaysia and Malaysians.

Don’t harp on parochialism and race. It’s so ugh! “purba kala”.

If ajib does not hit the ground running with his reforms and bulldoze all stupid cows like Muhyiddin away, then najib deserves to roll in the dust and grovel in the dumps.

15. #16 by cintanegara on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 6:15 pm

Suspicion leads to jealously….. Jealousy generates anger, anxiety, hatred, fear, bla bla bla…..Being a multi-racial country, DAP should learn how to live in harmonious environment and stop questioning others legitimate rights…

16. #17 by David69 on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 6:18 pm

Lets put it this way. During Mahathir rule he introduce so many so called society restructure that resulted in many non-malay losing source of income causing some problem in racial unity. With Najib rule realising the problem with racial unity then he figure out its time to repair this problem of racial unity so the ‘1 Malaysia’ is created.

17. #18 by Loh on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 6:29 pm

TheWrathOfGrapes :

monsterball :

Harimau? No – what they want is hari hari mahu.
    As to the 4 Tigers of Asia (Singapore, Hong Kong, South Korea & Taiwan), dare I say it – the majority of their populations use chopsticks.

Greek has 20% foreign workers, and they are sending remittances which lands Greek to what it is today. If only Greek allows the foreign workers to be replaced by chopstick users Greek would have been a stable euro country.

Malaysia too has 20% of its workers sending out remittances. When would Malaysia be Greek of the east?

18. #19 by monsterball on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 6:49 pm

hi cintanegera …don’t teach DAP how to live.
    Go teach UMNO b how not to to steal like a good god fearing human.
    Your insults to DAP is indirectly insulting the vast majority millions of Malaysians listening to DAP and wanting a change of Govt.
    Anyway…we treat you like a toy….whose rambutan tree is dying.
    Notice…you are getting less and less attentions from others?
    Why?..because you are BORING!!

19. #20 by monsterball on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 6:57 pm

Under Najib…Tigers are becoming extinction in Malaysia.
    All he cares are …like what “TheWrathOfGrapes” said….money money money and more money.
    Sooner or later…Paper Tiger will be burnt for the dead party and for the crooked men and women politicians…to ride the Tiger in hell.

20. #21 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 7:17 pm

The saddest part on cintanegara is his action and thinking is just self-preserving. he claims to care for his community but is at a loss when his personal interest is on the balance. He just try to irritate LKS and LGE relationship but refused to accept facts which, maybe are just beyond his comprehension; after all his main job is just counting the rambutans and listen to Utusan which has been written for people who prefer to be led by their nose. when the writer writes outright lies and you still buy it, it just sums up the kind of brain you have! Maybe, at this blog, we can help him to thinl a little better after all our reactions to his “plain” thinking!

21. #22 by monsterball on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 7:55 pm

Plain thinking man is beyond help.
    It’s Mahathir’s greatest achievement.
    But with modern medicine…and surgery..maybe can adjust..align his brain to right position……yet the brain tiny veins…so entangled…either cut off some to cure him…but he may not know..what is a man or woman…that sense of logic…lost.

22. #23 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 9:31 pm

How to be an Asian tiger when a minister is involved with a 250 million loan on a cow project ? Can’t even manage a cow? How to become a tiger?

23. #24 by monsterball on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 11:00 pm

Get a cow idea project.
    See the cows and tell Malaysians we are going to be the greatest cow herds and exporter of cows in SEA.
    We need RM250 million and in no time….we will earn 10 times more than the investment.
    All good news!!
    Auditor General reported nothing came out from the 250 million investments.
    Detail checking…major portion of the millions went to UMNO b Wanita Chief husband.
    Her defense was……her family deserves the support from the Govt.
    You know she talk like that?
    She is saying all big time crooks make sure their family and relatives are filthy rich…so why can’t she have a piece of the pie?
    If all the real Tiger Government on SEA think like UMNO b crooks.. all will be bankrupt country.
    But Malaysia has billions income churning in from natural resources.
    We should be the biggest Tiger country in SEA…with this blessed income flowing in.
    But no…we are the poorest in terms of development and advancements…with blood suckers keep sucking our money…billions each year for decades.
    Najib does not care two hoots ….for when they get together…he is the riches…the highest decorated….self given titles…and can spend money like water…to show who is the real Tiger in SEA.
    Each country is laughing at our show dog who has no brain.. ..no shame..a worthless paper Tiger indeed.

24. #25 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 10 November 2011 - 11:12 pm

///Harimau? No – what they want is hari hari mahu.///

The commenter is probably not talking about everyday wanting money – more likely every day wanting sex if they are trained by Obedient Wives Club. Thats the context I believe “harimau” is tongue-in-cheek used.

25. #26 by born in Malaya on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 12:57 am

All this started way back in 1959 when the unequal rights started, who started them, go ask UMNO.

26. #27 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 2:30 am

Jeffery…He is talking about stealing money everyday la.
    Have you heard the saying….”You got the money…..I got the time”

27. #28 by Bigjoe on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 5:28 am

The reason is actually pretty simpler than what the Dr. is arguing – Intellectual Bankruptcy. Its impossible to make the leap without a least a decent amount of intellectual powress at the top leadership and UMNO/BN is intellectually bankrupt starting from the top and gets worst down the line.

Najib ideas are NONSENSE – intellectual pretension born out of sheer intellectual mediocrity and misspent academic youth. HIS PLAN cannot work, standing on brittle kindlings not sound solid legs needed to make towering economies. And it get worst down the line even through the youth of UMNO.

And its no wonder, their overwhelming main intellectual driver is Mahathir and in his old age reveals he is an intellectual pot-head – a ditz in reality. Now even reasoning personal liberty as uncivilized by saying the values and rights of majority should triumph the rights of minority. Its clear evidence of castrated intellect – half past six thinking which an entire political party based most of what they do on.

There is no need to look further. You can built anything great with half-baked.

28. #29 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 7:22 am

The other Mamak who helped to screw up billions from the Treasury now complained that Bumis are ‘not given’ a chance in the private sector; hence the Gomen has to employ them! my taking is all thiose billions had been given to their cronies and this left the Real Malays who have no UMNO connections stranded in the backwater. Just sum up the billions contributed by Petronas; where have they disappeared to? Or indeed they are in the hand of these cronies kept in some Swiss banks? as my friend will say ” Hello, I sweated for for company for the past 25 years and now they propose that I appoint someone be it Bumi or even non-Bumi to manage or mangle it??? here we really have bankrupt Ministers and useless leaders who could not manage the country coming up with such request!
    There is no doubt that BN/UMNO had screwed up the nation both present and for the future, ueseless people like cintanegara can be awaken. Maybe we should just let him count his rambutans.; but we certainly like other more Malays who have the future of this nation in heart to wake up before it is too late. even if we go into the 1st gear now, we still have to compete with many others beside China and India; for a start in Asean alone! Yes, the end is near! We need the change!

29. #30 by Ray on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 7:52 am

ETP/Nep had been transforming UmnoBN mps into Govtmoneyleeches for their only aspiration 50yrs Ironfistruling to stay in power.
    Lets Stand united and Lets Stop their Obssession of Corruption and save the nation from further bankruptcy together by Voting PKR into Putrajaya .
    Kudos to GE13 PKR Hope of Change

30. #31 by Godfather on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 8:06 am

Why are you people questioning BN’s right to steal ? It is their unalienable right to do what they want. The rambutan monopoly continues.

31. #32 by Godfather on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 8:09 am

The “Jaga” of the rambutan tree growls “grrrr…” Najib says that’s his Tiger.

32. #33 by SENGLANG on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 9:06 am

Malay is simple and honest and they are mostly not as ambitious as the Chinese. As far as they can cukup makan for the day they will rest for two days. They take a more relax attitude in what ever they do. It was mainly due to this culture that many Chinese bosses find it unacceptable to them.
    For those who has visited any of the government agency will find that 10am most of the staffs will literally have their time off to have a puff of smoke or drinking coffee and teh at the cafe. By 3pm it will be another round of puff and coffee.

Life need not to so fast and hectic as they wish so it is good for their living. No like the Chinese will work 365days a year except for few days off during CNY.

33. #34 by trublumsian on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 9:33 am

UMNO’s worst kept secret of a mentality:

1. Incapable of making the hard choices.
    They tried. Well, some do, but the straw breaks the camel’s back too easily. They act like babies crying “but mommy it is too hard~~!” whenever the likes of Perkasa barks, Utusan farts, and an election draws.

2. The non-Bumis have no where to go. Yep, they know the Chinese are growing restless and are hitting the social media with a vengeance, but oh that’s where they’ve got us at our bolas. Some packed up and go but most are stuck. And the mother of all bolas is the fact that the Cina dude is a resilient son of a gun. We play w/ the cards we’re dealt with and we work our axx off to get there regardless. Oh yeah, in the process we make up a majority of the taxes paid and UMNO takes it all the way to the bank. What English language? What meritocracy? The Cina dude will learn the language, hit the books, grease the engine, and sweat the floor. Begrudgingly they fill up the piggy bank and ain’t going no where.

WUUAHAHA!! WUUUAHAHAHAHAHA!!

34. #35 by trublumsian on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 9:36 am

and cintanegara you’re so stupid you asked for a price check at the 99-cents store.

35. #36 by k1980 on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 9:42 am

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/no-affair-between-saiful-and-dpp-says-nazri/

Nothing between Tai Poh and Ach Lee Nah, says Nach.

But Nach, I thought your mooing boss said mere denial is not enough, must lodge police report and let the police invwestigate!

36. #37 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 10:23 am

Governments makes what the country is.
    When you mention Singapore…Hong Kong. S.Korea and Taipei as Tigers in SEA…powerful….strong…robust..on the move always forward….you must include our Malaysian Govt… as a fat good for nothing…lazy cat…look like a Tiger.
    Malaysians…call it a kucin kurup government.

37. #38 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 10:34 am

When all those rouges and thieves gone to HELL…you may see lots of PAPER TIGERS burnt off..with “mourners”…not crying…but smiling….saying..”Go to hell …with this Tiger I give you.”
    And lonely lonely cintanegera can cry for 40 nights and 40 days…who cares.

38. #39 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 11:00 am

The good doctor has given reasons why Malaysia is not a member of Asia Tigers Club.
    Will the Club admit a Tiger that steal food all the time…..never hunt..never work….. a Tiger that roars…yell and boast…like an empty vessel making the most noise?
    The Asia Tiger Club members are or best of the best in Asia.

39. #40 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 11:02 am

And now…we have 11 reasons why 13th GE cannot be held this year.
    The more reasons given….the more delays are signs that Najib is a toothless tiger.

40. #41 by cintanegara on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 11:39 am

What is the moral lesson in little red riding hood?

A wolf wants to eat the girl but is afraid to do so in public. He approaches Little Red Riding Hood and she naïvely tells him where she is going. He suggests the girl pick some flowers, which she does. In the meantime, he goes to the grandmother’s house and gains entry by pretending to be the girl…………

Moral of the story
    Never stop upon your way. Never trust people who always belittle you and try take away your rights….

41. #42 by Godfather on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 11:55 am

See? Our kids regurgitate Red Riding Hood in Std One, and Cintanegara proudly regurgitates the fable at Rambutan Uinversity. UMNO, give the man a standing ovation !

42. #43 by jus legitimum on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 12:53 pm

The four Asian Tigers,Singapore,Taiwan,Hong Kong and South Korea are real tigers.They can develop and progress and become powerful without natural resources.Our Malaysian pseudo tiger has so very good appetite for our rich natural resources that it has to smell the backside of the real tigers now.

43. #44 by dagen on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 12:54 pm

Rambutan University? Now that is a good expression.

44. #45 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 11:01 pm

Yip…Tong Sampah University degree using Std 1 Red Riding Hood story to talk morals..to smart Malaysians.
    He might as well tell how Humpty Dumpty sat on the wall …fell and broke where all the King’s men could not put H.Dumpty back together again…and that moral of that story is ….UMNO b is finished.

45. #46 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 11:06 pm

And the big bad wolf huff and puff to bring the house down and rushed in…fell into hot boiling water…died.
    The moral of the story is…People Power are waiting with boiling water ..ready to roast cintanegara alive.

46. #47 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 11:12 pm

And Rip Van Winkle will wake up from his long long sleep…does not know what day or year it is.
    The moral of the story is UMNO b days..sleeping on their jobs are over.
    All will grow long beards sleeping in jails all over Malaysia.
    Cintanegara talk morals with children story ??
    He needs backside to be spanked and wake up.