Anya Corke: I don’t know Guan Eng’s son

By Shannon Teoh
Oct 21, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 21 — The girl whose photograph was used by pro-Umno bloggers to level accusations of sexual harassment against Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng’s son has denied ever meeting or hearing of the 16-year-old schoolboy.

Chess grandmaster Anya Sun Corke said today that she was “shocked, dismayed and baffled” as to how her photo was used without her knowledge or consent.

“I have never met or even heard of any of the people involved. I have never been physically assaulted in any way. I have never been victimised in any way by this boy or his family.

“The only way in which my ‘modesty was outraged’ has been by the publication of my picture in connection with these scurrilous and unfounded rumours,” the undergraduate at Wellesley College said in a statement.

Pro-Umno bloggers had claimed that Lim’s son had assaulted a 16-year-old schoolmate and tried to escape punishment by using his father’s name.

But the DAP showed at a press conference on Wednesday screenshots from the blogs which used pictures of Corke that matched those from www.chessbase.com. (http://www.chessbase.com/)

Lim had denied the allegations on Tuesday, saying he was furious with the “barbaric lies” made about his teenage son by “pro-Umno ferocious beasts.”

His colleagues in Pakatan Rakyat (PR) have come out strongly in support of the DAP secretary-general against what they call “the lowest gutter politics” seen in decades.

The principal of SMK Heng Ee in George Town also moved two days ago to put an end to the accusations, calling them “completely untrue.”

Sensing growing public anger, Umno MPs have been quick to distance themselves from the allegations.

Corke said today that she has not visited Malaysia for seven years.

“I would also like to express my sympathies to the boy who was defamed by these baseless allegations.

“Last but not least, I hope that members of the public and the Malaysian media will respect my privacy and refrain from making unsolicited contact with me and my family, college, chess federation, and any other affiliation,” she said.

According to Corke’s Wikipedia listing, she “is a Woman Grandmaster and the top chess player from Hong Kong who is currently playing for England.”

She earned the title with her performance in 36th Chess Olympiad, playing for the Hong Kong men’s team.

She was the 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2008 Hong Kong National Champion (for men and women), thought to be one of the youngest national champions ever.

1. #1 by monsterball on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 10:40 am

The truth is revealed.
    I wonder where Khairy will hide his face.
    Even UMNO b politicians are criticizing him…stooping so low in politics.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 10:44 am

It is not difficult to see from this episode that all the alleged sexual immorality hurled against Anwar are UMNO-made lies.

3. #3 by tak tahan on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 10:45 am

Khairy will hide his face between his misses’s buah dada.Wakakakaka

4. #4 by k1980 on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 10:54 am

Next, Khairy the Hairy One will release a video clip of Lim Jr and Anya Sun Corke (portrayed by look-a-likes) which will make even that old crook Chua SL blush

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 10:58 am

The HIMPUN aka TIPU & BODOH rally organisers says its not anti-Christian..I think most people problem with this is that its PRO-stupid and Pro-Lying like this whole mess..

6. #6 by k1980 on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 11:03 am

Luckily Anya Sun Corke is not in Malaysia, or else DNA tests conducted by bolehland’s famed “chemists” will reveal traces of Lim Jr’s dna on her. (The dna from Lim Jr would be obtained from his “Good Morning” towel and also from his mineral water bottle). And the 3 Datuk Ts will make a sworn statement that they saw the whole incident and had made a video clip of it

7. #7 by tak tahan on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 11:05 am

8. #8 by megaman on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 11:24 am

Oh my God !!!

I am so embarrassed … I play chess and compete occasionally.

Now if I am to travel overseas and meet people in the chess community, we Malaysian players, would be unable to face up to our compatriots.

And worse, until there was no mention from the police or any of the government agencies about mounting investigations and taking the culprit to trial …

My God!!! Where’s the justice ? The police is willing to act on hearsays but crippled when faced with the truth ?

Shame on you all !!!! Shame on you all !!! All the ingrates that we the Rakyat have entrusted with our future and our children’s future …

Shame on you all !!

And,

GET OUT OF PUTRAJAYA !!!

9. #9 by shakarul on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 12:30 pm

Hey KJ, try licking Dr M’s foot, maybe he might advise Jibby to accept you into the cabinet like what he did to his sonny boy Muhkriz.

Any attempt like this fiasco of gutter politics to re-coupe your past glory during your FIL’s time is futile. So lick KJ lick…

10. #10 by boh-liao on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 12:35 pm

UmnoB/BN kaki hv been behaving like tyrants n dictators, full of lies n with no decency
    They r corrupt n live on corrupt $, much like gaddafi n his family
    Rakyat look forward 2 d day when they suffer d same fate as gaddafi, when d nation is liberated fr d yoke of racist n corrupt UmnoB/BN’s incompetent governance

11. #11 by cskok8 on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 12:36 pm

Aiyo, these people are SOOOOO lazy and stupid, can’t even get a picture of a girl in the same school.

12. #12 by dagen on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 2:03 pm

/// “I have never met or even heard of any of the people involved. I have never been physically assaulted in any way. I have never been victimised in any way by this boy or his family.

“The only way in which my ‘modesty was outraged’ has been by the publication of my picture in connection with these scurrilous and unfounded rumours,” the undergraduate at Wellesley College said in a statement. ///

Now miss corke, pls listen carefully. Your statement is anti-agung, anti-islam jenis umno, anti-melayu, unpatriotic (well somehow), ungrateful (because the umno gobermen gave many gifts to the world, to people like you), communist, terrorist etc etc. For this reason you are ISA-able. I will urge the umno gobermen to ban your from our shore. You are not welcomed!! Anyway, you are part pendatang.

Let me ask you again miss corke. Are you sure that you hv not met guan eng’s son before and that you hv never been molested? Think carefully before you answer. And remember this. Umno has all the evidence against you – existing evidence, non-existing evidence, and including future evidence, real ones, almost real ones and virtual ones too.

… counsel dagen throwing some hard questions at miss corke on behalf of cintanegara.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 2:05 pm

Y lice yak dim so quiet, like a church mouse 1? Y no ask 4 investigation/censorship 1?

14. #14 by k1980 on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 2:25 pm

The owner of the blog papagomo made all the allegations

gomo stands for ‘Gomorrah’

So papagomo means ‘father of Gomorrah’

So now we know from where that twat saifool learned all his sodding tricks

15. #15 by Loh on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 3:52 pm

In UMNO history, only one UMNO Youth Chief, Khairy is not a member of the Cabinet, and not even a deputy minister. Najib does not have to prove that he was right, Khairy proves it for him!

16. #16 by boh-liao on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 4:48 pm

If I were her, I would NOT visit M’sia Truly Asia.
    Nanti immigration record kena deleted or even worse, kena checkmated/C4ed like AS
    If she plans 2 SUE d blardi Dr liar, she better does it in HK/UK, not here, 自己保重保命哦

UmnoB/BN kaki 心术不正 弄虚作假 造谣撞騙 既愚蠢又卑鄙
    这简直是UmnoB/BN kaki对Anya的赤裸裸的侮辱

17. #17 by monsterball on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 10:47 pm

To me..Khairy is afraid he is not chosen for 13th GE.
    Mahathir also wants to be put in cold storage to see his son rise up with no Khairy to compete for positions.
    Khairy is desperate to get attentions.
    Once Khairy said ..he will give up politics…when he was not given a ministerial position .
    He changed his mind…and all forgotten to ask why.
    I guess no one cares.if he retires or continue…as change of Govt.is our main concern…not UMNO b power struggle affairs.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Saturday, 22 October 2011 - 10:16 am

Rakayt r sure Anya knows c4 n hope dat she does not rush 2 M’sia bcos of C4
    D lethal C4 here is different fr her c4, d English Opening in chess, n she may b mon cha cha checkmated or decimated without knowing Y n how

19. #19 by monsterball on Saturday, 22 October 2011 - 1:30 pm

Nothing of that sort.
    She has spoken….and there is nothing for her to be afraid of..if she wishes to come to Malaysia…she will be very safe.
    Thousands will protect her day and night.
    All she need is ask.
    Khairy is a nobody…not even a minister.

20. #20 by -e- on Saturday, 22 October 2011 - 3:41 pm

penang should play host to the next world chess championship!

21. #21 by rockdaboat on Sunday, 23 October 2011 - 12:28 am

“Sensing growing public anger, Umno MPs have been quick to distance themselves from the allegations.”

Ha ha ha, look at these useless scums, good for nothing, that’s their quality!