Beware of false prophets

Jacob Sinnathamby

SEPT 27 — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak certainly talks a good game. It is election season and he needs to win big so everything goes.

Today he talks about how Bumiputera quotas need to go, eventually. No one knows when this eventually will be because as we all know the Umno-hijacked New Economic Policy was extended under pressure from the Umno beneficiaries.

Najib is not the first Umno president to talk about removing quotas or taking away the crutches from Bumiputeras.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Tun Abdullah Badawi both mentioned this when they wanted to show Malaysians that they were enlightened leaders and when they were fishing for support from non-Malays before elections.

Needless to say all their “good intentions” never materialised. Once they got the votes, they promptly forgot about taking away the quotas and instead fortified the distortions in the system.

Abdullah talked about open tenders but openly allowed Umno men and cronies to carry on negotiating inflated contracts. It is the same with Najib.

There is no such thing as open tenders today. In fact, it business as usual for well-connected businessmen and Umno warlords.

Anyone who reads news portals will know that the beneficiaries of many of the contracts are well-connected to Umno ministers or other leaders.

Heck, wasn’t it only weeks ago that Najib succumbed to Perkasa and gave a chunk of MRT contracts to Malay businessmen.

The problem in our country is that we have too many false prophets. They always come bearing gifts during the election season.

And you know what they say about false prophets and gifts.

1. #1 by monsterball on Tuesday, 27 September 2011 - 11:51 pm

What have we not seen or heard before ….talk alot no actions.

2. #2 by monsterball on Tuesday, 27 September 2011 - 11:58 pm

Najib is trying to fish for young voters ..thinking they don’t know the past…where these were spoken by Mahathir and Dollah..nothing done..and so the present.. spoken by Najib.. sounds good news to them.
    Their non stop insincerity and hypocrisy are remarkable!!

3. #3 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 28 September 2011 - 12:19 am

These very so-called prophets have proven times and again to fail Malaysian but are we still so stupid to follow and obey what they have been or want to preach and not allowing ourselves a change in the right course we intend it to be where we should be?-more prosperous and harmony in a civilised society.So sick and tired to speak more or even less..chah khee khun kah hoh lah….

4. #4 by k1980 on Wednesday, 28 September 2011 - 8:32 am

Jib the prophet? Oh no, not another ayah pin. I thought the holy book stated very clear that Mohd was the last one! Some one call up jakim, fast.

5. #5 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 28 September 2011 - 9:31 am

All PRE-ELECTION TALK! They will never materialize!

6. #6 by wanderer on Wednesday, 28 September 2011 - 9:58 am

…being the oldest does not mean it is the best!…matter of fact, it only points to one factor….. after half a century ruled by these corrupted, racist jerks, the electorate are still half a sleep. If they enjoy to continue to go to bed with these Ketuanan A#$holes, they have themselves to blame….another record for UMNO/BN administraton, the govt cannot be defeated!

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 28 September 2011 - 10:21 am

Prophets can foretell. False prophets can’t. They can and will only lead you to The Temple of Doom.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 28 September 2011 - 10:29 am

NO WAY lah Bumiputera quotas n NEP 2 go; d filthy rich n corrupt UmnoB n their cronies want them 2 b NEVER ENDING goodies 2 keep enriching themselves n their offspring
    1M’sia is d best nation 2 rule1, not with d best democracy but with d most compliant n meek rakyat, most easi 2 manipulate via issues on race n religion, long live UmnoB

9. #9 by k1980 on Wednesday, 28 September 2011 - 12:52 pm

Jib also promises to make the country “the best democracy in the world…EVENTUALLY. So you all know what EVENTUALLY actually means— NOT IN YOUR LIFETIME, certainly not in a million years.

10. #10 by Comrade on Thursday, 29 September 2011 - 2:56 pm

Same old, same old
    Don’t believe what you were told
    The false prophets on the prowl again
    Pre-election gimmicks for self gain

A better alternative gov’t is on standby
    Why not we give it a try
    PR has proven itself in Penang & Selangor
    Come GE13, let PR have a go