Pakatan commits to PSC

by Aidila Razak
Sep 21, 11

Pakatan Rakyat will participate in the parliamentary select committee (PSC) on electoral reforms despite earlier boycott threats.

After the Pakatan leadership council meeting in Kuala Lumpur, PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim said that the coalition was willing to “give the government a chance” to prove its commitment to electoral reforms.

However, the coalition has yet to appoint its three representatives to the nine member committee. Five will be filled by BN MPs and another from the Independent bloc.

“We have given our members full mandate to represent Pakatan and state their priorities, collaborate and see the workings of the committee and decide if it is a delay tactic.

“We are giving the government a chance, we don’t want to be presumptuous,” he said.

DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang, who was also at the press conference, added that the decision reflects Pakatan’s willingness to “walk the last mile”.

“If it is a ploy (to delay reforms) then we won’t be part of it,” he said.

The three MPs who will join the PSC, due to be formed in the next parliamentary sitting on Oct 3, will be decided by PAS, DAP and PKR respectively.

Pakatan had previously stated it will not join the PSC unless Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak can guarantee that he will not call snap polls before the PSC’s recommendations are in place.

Asked about this today, Anwar said that this would be something Pakatan PSC members will raise in the committee.

The select committee will be made up of four BN backbenchers, three Pakatan Mps and one Independent MP, and is chaired by a cabinet minister.

BN has selected its members but has not revealed the names.

1. #1 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 21 September 2011 - 8:49 pm

Hopefully this PSC would be a sucessful one on electoral reform cause this would be one of the keys promised by Ajib to bring Canland to the best democracy in the world.Ajib,remember ya..walk your talk and don’t ever flip-flop again.This will be the last chance the Rakyat will judge you or come to worst punish you with Bersih3.0.

2. #2 by monsterball on Wednesday, 21 September 2011 - 11:25 pm

It is good PR declared they will participate.
    Don’t jump to conclusions that look and sound silly.
    Do not make one false move….and allow BN any advantage in the political arena.
    Tag along…and see what happens.
    It is mostly all talk and no actions.
    They are never serious about anything.
    It is likely an election ploy….but put all your suspicions aside…and play their game …allowing nothing to be criticized.
    The Govt is on the defensive side.
    Play their game and Malaysians will feel better.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Thursday, 22 September 2011 - 12:39 am

Pakatan representatives should always ask for timeframe, deadline, duration, completion date and the person(s) in charge or responsible whenever election issues are discussed by the PSC.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Thursday, 22 September 2011 - 9:35 am

UmnoB/BN want good PR, PR also want good PR (note: 1 of d PRs is public relations mah)
    All seow liao lor – Who thinks PSC can/will work? 2 b chaired by UmnoB/BN, U know