Hassan Ali’s public defence of JAIS gatecrashing of multiracial dinner at DUMC shortly after Khalid Ibrahim’s expression of regret an act of breaking ranks

The Selangor Islamic Religious Department (JAIS) gatecrashing of a multiracial dinner at the Damansara Utara Methodist Church on Wednesday night is most deplorable as it is most detrimental to efforts to build an open, tolerant and harmonious plural Malaysian society.

The Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim’s swift response expressing regret for the raid and his assurance that the Selangor state government fully respects freedom of religion and rights of religious groups to manage their affairs and that “the state is always open to engagement and dialogue regarding the harmonious and mutually respectful coexistence of different religious communities, and appreciates the efforts of all who seek to build a more united society” is both timely and appropriate.

What is a matter of concern and must be viewed seriously is the public defence of the JAIS action by the State Executive Councillor Datuk Hassan Ali issued shortly after Khalid’s statement expressing regret for the raid and asking JAIS to submit a full report on the incident – as it is an act of breaking ranks in the Selangor state government.

1. #1 by Cinapek on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 12:06 pm

More than breaking ranks. If he cannot produce tangible evidence beyond those lame excuses he has given thus far to support JAIS’s claims that DUMC was carrying out proselytisation activities to justify their raid, he should be fired immediately.

If there are no evidence to prove his claims then it stands to reason that either he had a direct hand in ordering this raid or he has deliberately misled the public to cover up for JAIS. It would not be too far fetch to come to the conclusion that this was a calculated act by PR’s opponents to embarass them with the connivance of thie UMNO sympathiser.

PR must act and act firmly and decisively. JAIS is under your jurisdiction and you will be blamed for every misguided acts of theirs even if these acts are directed by your enemies. As the saying goes, chop off the heads of the chickens to frighten the monkeys. A few heads must be removed if they cannot provide any proof of proselytisation.

2. #2 by dcasey on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 12:14 pm

A sense of deja vu, one cannot help but feel that these religious bigots are beginning to act like the MACC (in TBH’s case) whereby they know they screwed up but yet denying responsibility. So just as in the MACC case, JAIS are now trying to “construct” evidence with “hindsight” to the events that happened. Next they will also construct a blue wall to barricade and protect themselves in and then the lying starts to free flow. So predictable and so nauseating.

3. #3 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 12:44 pm

4. #4 by asia on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 12:59 pm

It is maybe a plan to fuse negative support of Muslim parties

Now look like even one of PAS want to involve

5. #5 by boh-liao on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 1:09 pm

Bungling HA/KI/Jais making NR/CSL/UmnoB/MCA stronger
    Y HA/Jais so no confidence on d religious faith of fellow Muslims
    Y must they think dat Muslims hear ‘pray’ in church compound means gone case liao
    HA so narrow minded, better join UmnoB n Perkosa lor, don’t play play in PR lah

6. #6 by asia on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 1:13 pm

One may suspect whether this was a paid job

7. #7 by yhsiew on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 1:16 pm

Beware of BN mole!

8. #8 by asia on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 1:24 pm

One person meet and speak to GOD

“God, I have done a great job to you GOD, I have prevented those people speak the word “******” and “pray” during not our function”

God answered “who you think you are little one, all those human being are my beloved children, who give you the authorities to stop them, I am a mighty god if I want to stop them, Do I need you to stop them my beloved children”

9. #9 by asia on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 1:29 pm

“I give them freedom to choose”

“The only job for you is to show them a way to believe but not suppress their freedom”

10. #10 by ktteokt on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 2:10 pm

A potential stray dog in the making?

11. #11 by Sallang on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 4:00 pm

He is the mole in Pakatan Rakyat.
    This tadpole will turn into a FROG very soon.
    This is not the first time that he had put MB Khalid and Selangor in difficulty.
    Nearing election time, and he should know better, what not to do, but he did it.
    Will Hadi please show him the door?

12. #12 by raven77 on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 5:10 pm

Is Hasan Ali a mole…maybe he is trying to do a Perak on Selangor with that Khusrin fellow….

13. #13 by k1980 on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 5:40 pm

Hasan Ali defended Jais’s actions, alleging that the words “Quran” and “pray” were used in the presence of the 12 Muslims at the dinner, claiming that this was proof Christians had been proselytising to Muslims there.
    But what was the exact sentence in which the above 2 words were used?

Is it “Let us uphold the Quran and pray for the well-being of all”?

Hassan has to give the entire sentence and not just 2 words!

14. #14 by monsterball on Friday, 5 August 2011 - 5:52 pm

There are moles everywhere.
    Govt got the money…moles got the time to dance their tunes.
    Moles are mostly in keDAILan under PR banner.
    Anwar need to clean up his party from moles more than others.
    BN will simply loose support..once they don’t have the money…and many of their supporters will have no time to dance and please them…..being nice uncorrupted citizens…out of no choice.