5,000 private doctors call for Jeyakumar’s release

Malaysiakini | Jul 19, 11

The Federation of Private Medical Practitioners’ Associations, which represents some 5,000 private doctors nationwide, has joined hands with others in the medical profession in calling for the release of Sungai Siput MP Dr D Jeyakumar.

“We are extremely concerned at the continued detention of our colleague, Dr Jeyakumar Devaraj, whom we all recognise and acknowledge as a law-abiding, competent, kind and diligent doctor.

“His public service record is exemplary and, to the very best of our knowledge, he is certainly not a threat to our society,” the federation said in a media statement today.

It quoted Jeyakumar’s long tenure in government service and charitable work as “selflessly serving the rakyat”, reminding that the good doctor was well known for his capacity for charity and kindness for all under his care, regardless of ethnicity and religion.

“We, appeal to have the detention order against Dr Michael Jeyakumar lifted,” said the statement, which also appealed for the release of the other Parti Sosialis Malaysia members who are being detained under similar circumstances.

Jeyakumar and five other PSM members are currently being held under the Emergency Ordinance for alleged involvement in planning the outlawed Bersih 2.0 rally for electoral reforms.

Prior to this, 176 medical practitioners have issued similar calls for his release.

[More to follow]

1. #1 by monsterball on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 5:43 pm

5000 doctors yelling for justice does not get PM’s attention.
    0ne Police officer yell for justice…Najib responded and support.
    In fact..Bar Council….Medical Practitioners Association …both ignored when they complaint.
    Ibrahim Ali yells…more powerful that these professionals.

Teoh Beng Hock’s family can forget Najib’s
    hallow promise and sop wasting time appealing to him.
    It is the Police he will protect with his life…besides PutraJaya from traitors.

2. #2 by nostradamus on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 5:50 pm

Dear Mr Lim,

This is totally unrelated to article. Need your help. I represent a group of investors here in Malaysia who are afraid that we might be victims of a land banking scam.

I have lodged reports with securities commission in Malaysia, but they say its not their jurisdiction but SSM.

I wrote to SSM. This is their reply

We respectfully refer to your e-mail below.

2. Land banking scheme/activity is a regulated scheme/business and is an alternative to the common form of investment involving shares and debentures. Under the Malaysian Companies Act 1965, such regulated scheme/business is known as ‘interest scheme’ and must comply with the provisions of Part IV Division 5 of the Malaysian Companies Act 1965.

3. However, please be informed that ————————— has made an application to CCM to comply with the provision of Part IV Division 5 of the Companies Act 1965. However, the application is pending for approval.

4. Once the scheme is approved by CCM, there are protection mechanism put in place to safeguard the interest of the investing public. Before registration, the investing public stands a great risk because he/she receives no protection from the authorities. The only recourse available will be to pursue a private civil legal recourse according to the available terms and conditions of the agreement between the investing public and the operator of the scheme.

5. In any investment, there is an element of risk taking and if any investment is done without doing a full due diligence or background checking, that risk would multiply tremendously. In order to obtain the list of schemes registered with CCM, please refer to http://www.ssm.com.my/en/services_registration.php for further information OR contact our Interest Scheme Section at 03-2299 4618/4580 for further clarification.

Thank you / Sekian, terima Kasih.

SAFFIAH HAMZAH
    Seksyen Aduan
    Suruhanjaya Syarikat Malaysia

Mr Lim, what I dont understand is SSM raided this company in 2009. How come their application is still pending?

I asked Cik Saffiah that too, to this date no reply from her.
    Also the Company in question wrote to all investors assuring everything was okay with SSM.

How come SSM is so inefficient? So what recourse do the investors have now?

3. #3 by bruno on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 6:00 pm

Najib and Hisham,do the right thing.Be real men and admit that you guys screwed up.Redeem whatever pride and morality you guys still have left.Let the doctor and his fellow activists go on with their lives.Other people have families and lives too,besides you guys.Or don’t you guys not know.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 6:31 pm

Nazri reported to have said that Putrajaya would not tolerate attempts to deify the (Communist) ideology – (The MalaysianInsider July 19). But whats the thing that supposedly link the 6 PSM members (detained under EO) to Communists (Commies”)? According to report, they allegedly had “T-shirts bearing the likenesses of former communist leaders”. What kind of T Shirts are these bearing likenesses to Commies leaders? (I have to go back to my cupboard/wardrobe to check if I have inadvertantly bought/worn one of these that resembles a Commies’ tee shirts!) According to first reports of their arrest they were alleged to have “28 T-shirts with images of the banned Malayan Communist Party” Images of banned MCP are different from Nazri’s “bearing the likenesses of former communist leaders”. Which is which? If “images” – sickle, star, clenched fist?

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 6:50 pm

Were the ‘offensive tee-shirts’ having PSM logo of a white-coloured clenched fist against a rusty red backdrop? That logo had been approved by authorities including EC when PSM was given approval to be registered as political society. Or was it a poster of Che Guevara in PSM’s office? .Hello, you can see Che Guevara’s posters and tee shirts in our shopping complexes. Boutique owners & customers are commies? It’s a fad amongst youngsters, Guevara tee shirt is the Ralph Lauren polo shirt of the idealistic anti-capitalist younger set who have yet grasped the importance of worshipping the Money God. Don’t be childish. It does not depict that one is a commie who is bent on revolutionary throw over of established government like our Argentianian revolutionary icon!

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 7:00 pm

They like his poster because he symbolises tenacity in the face of insumountable odds – in the face of stuggle towards any goal. Some just like the bold striking colours and bearded man as attractive art piece on the wall. Just because someone has a poster of Guevara on their wall, doesn’t immediately imply that they embrace communism. Even well known commies like Chin Peng or Rashid Maidin no longer believes in Communism or want to be a commie. On the other hand we have McCarthyism paranoia here – the milieu/practice of making accusations of disloyalty, subversion, or treason without proper regard for evidence (as happened in the US from the late 1940s to the late 1950s).

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 7:13 pm

If we are not careful buying Mao Tse-Tung or Che Guvera’s biographies from MPH, Times or Popular book store, seen carrying it could land you in preventive detention under EO or ISA for deifying Communist leaders, ideology. Woe betides you if you coincidentally wear yellow shirt tie, skirt or blouse or get stopped on roach check in a yellow car.

8. #8 by paulkersey on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 7:13 pm

what about those t-shirt with japanese rising sun? what a idiot malaysia government as usual.we should shout “DOWN WITH FEUDALIST” and see what happened?it is easy to be branded communist because more easy to bully wherelse if the malaysian goverment accusing them to be republican anti-monarchy then the “CIA” might really support us to overthrow UMNO govt!!!!!!!! if UMNO knows CIA were really supporting Bersih using phillipine and korean NGO,they will still blame the communist,it is part of psychological warfare our former Special Irish Branch colonial master taught us.

9. #9 by paulkersey on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 7:27 pm

are these 5,000 have the guts to demonstrate? let these 5,000 and others tie yellow ribbon around the whole Malaysia to show support for the release these PSM 6!!!! Bersih 2.0 part 2

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 7:33 pm

T-shirt with japanese rising sun is surely OK because ‘Father of modern development’ Tun Dr Mahathir urged us to look East towards the Rising Sun. The other day they said Bersih presented an opportunity for Jews to infiltrate country…Actually they don’t need Bersih at all. They have done so, long before 9th July through organisations products food and movies (ie popular culture) associated with the Jews – many of us work in AIG Insurance, Intel, Compaq Dell Computers Goldman Sachs, wear Calvin Klein, Ralph Lauren, Benetton, GUESS, Hugo Boss, eat Nestle, Haagen-Dazs ice cream, McDonald’s, Dunkin’ Donuts with their local outfits here with our elites as shareholders or directors. What a joke.

11. #11 by isahbiazhar on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 7:55 pm

He is a threat according to Hishammudin who got the documentay proof from the police.We are waiting for the proof so that the people of Malaysia can trust the government and the police.He will be there till Depavali and out of compassion he will be relaeased and on what charges.Nobody should question the government because they know the best.

12. #12 by raven77 on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 11:06 pm

Perhaps every GP in Malaysia should now campaign subtly and “inform” their patients why this government must go….

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 11:19 pm

Jeyakumar is held under EO for wanting fair and free elections.

Hey, BN. This is no coincidence.

BN wants foul and filthy erections.

Jeyakumar wants fair and free elctions.

UMNO is foul and filthy.

Jeyakumar is fair and fragrant.

14. #14 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 12:36 am

Only not too long ago a communist leader from China came to visit Malaysia & our government rolled out the red carpet to welcome him. Is our government then subversive? Should we not also put our government under EO? Our Home ministry is sick!

15. #15 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 12:42 am

NGOs should come together to call for a “white march” to send a loud
    petition to Agong. BN should stop the bullying!

16. #16 by ablastine on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 1:11 am

Putting the PSM 6 under the EO is like buying the wrong stock at the wrong time. Just after buying the stock, it tanked. As you had full confidence in yourself you convinced yourself into holding on a bit longer hoping that it would come up again. Afterall it was suppose to be an investment. But alas the stock just kept on getting lower and your confidence started to waver. Then the pain became unbearable and you had no choice but liquidate getting back only the bare bones.

So they can keep the PSM6 in jail for a long time but the longer they do that the more votes go to the opposition. It will come a time when the political cost it so high that they will have to beg the PSM 6 to leave the jailhouse. Calling the government stupid is really an understatement. The UMNO government is really very short on people who can think and strategise. Even a person of mediocre intelligence would understand that holding PSM 6 without trial is of no benefit to the UMNO government at all.

17. #17 by monsterball on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 2:00 am

5000 doctors need not tie yellow ribbons.
    Their actions are enough.
    Sense of logic and proportions must be balanced before uttering like a stupid fool…paulkersey.

18. #18 by paulkersey on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 6:51 am

sense of logic must be balanced….you are a fool yourself monsterball, need not tie yellow ribbons but action is enough?????what action enough? then need not go for rally that day just wear yellow at home is enoughlah like that monsterball, i wonder if you are a fool yourself before calling others who is giving opinion ,i certainly dont want to be same boat with you because you sound like dictator perlekeh others opinion,you watch your own words next time first,nanti kena balik diri sendiri pula,ngata dulang paku serpih…perasan sendiri pandai saja lebih…

19. #19 by monsterball on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 8:32 am

I am a fool paulkersey….OK la
    If you cannot understand the 5000 ACTIONS..then your smartness is of of this world.
    You can talk about the doctors and when I disagree…I am a dictator?
    Waa….You are truly one kind with clear sign…otak tak center.
    Talk alot of sheeeeeet stuffs….that’s what you are good at.
    pooraaa

20. #20 by paulkersey on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 8:42 am

who cannot understand ahhh? you call others opinion stupid blah blah for what? where is your sense of respect for others opininon? be more friendlier next time , dont just think your opinion clever others are stupid ,ok? you talk lot of sheet can,while calling others stupid.isnt that a characteristic of a dictatator otak tak center yourself. kalau ini macam punya opposition macam cerita animal farm punya babi! all animals are equal but some are more equal than others.. boleh belahlah

21. #21 by monsterball on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 9:15 am

paulkersey…..I talk alot of sheeeet with a clear mind.
    You talk alot of sheeet like a cracko.
    No one insult the 5000 doctors ..except you.
    Like I said…you are one screw loose…and usually such a person love to argue for nothing.

22. #22 by monsterball on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 9:20 am

My next comment against you will be on your new comment.
    This has gone too far for no value to readers.

23. #23 by paulkersey on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 9:37 am

you are the one who flew over the cuckoo empty nest…usually one characteristics of dictator is calling others opinion stupid , otak tak center etc. try sending me to tanjung rambutan and see what the doctor had to say,afterall they r the expert not you monster..what values monster have for readers?

24. #24 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 9:55 am

Indeed, d Federation of Private Medical Practitioners’ Associations should print POSTERSin BM, English, Mandarin, n Tamil 2 highlight d service record of Dr Michael Jeyakumar n 2 call 4 his release

Distribute d POSTERS 2 all private clinics nationwide
    Display d POSTERS in all private clinics nationwide
    Request all private doctors nationwide 2 inform n educate their patients abt d unfair n cruel treatments dished out 2 Dr Michael Jeyakumar by d UmnoB/BN gomen

Dis is a wonderful opportunity 2 highlight d evil deeds of UmnoB/BN gomen!
    危机 = crisis brings great opportunities

25. #25 by born in Malaya on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 10:51 am

This lawless BN cowards must be kicked out ASAP.

26. #26 by dagen on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 1:26 pm

Hey, so what? Only 5000! Complain some more and umno will direct the 50000 silat people to defend the nation against you lot. So shut up and accept the truth that umno’s police force did not fire teargas or water cannon into tung shin.

27. #27 by paulkersey on Wednesday, 20 July 2011 - 4:14 pm

paulkersey :
    you are the one who flew over the cuckoo empty nest…usually one characteristics of dictator is calling others opinion stupid , otak tak center etc. try sending me to tanjung rambutan and see what the doctor had to say,afterall they r the expert not you monster.and dont died of heart attack pokkai if they found out you were the one cracko with one screw loose.even einstein never call others opinion stupid,asking the 5000 to demonstrate and distributing yellow ribbon to tie around the whole malaysia is consider stupid? those who are jealous usually insults other’s opinion.what values monster have for readers?