DAP downplays Pakatan split rumours

By Clara Chooi
July 18, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR, July 18 — DAP advisor Lim Kit Siang today shrugged off talk that his party may split from Pakatan Rakyat (PR) due to recurring conflicts with PAS, saying the idea had “not seriously occurred” to party leaders.

The senior politician also rejected the notion that PAS had kowtowed to DAP when the former revoked the Kedah entertainment outlet ban yesterday, insisting instead that the state government had shown tolerance and their willingness to resolve conflicts through consultation.

“The issue has shown the preparedness of the Pakatan Rakyat leadership to discuss and resolve problems, a glaring contrast with Umno,” he told The Malaysian Insider today.

“The misunderstanding is really about the enactment in 1997 passed by Barisan Nasional (BN). That enactment affects the rights and sensitivities of the non-Muslims but now it has been rectified.”

Lim acknowledged, however, that the issue had irked many members from PAS and DAP but stressed that the problem had been resolved amicably through a win-win solution for both parties.

The Kedah state government raised eyebrows recently when it said it would enforce the Entertainment and Entertainment Outlets Enactment 1997, which prohibits 13 types of entertainment outlets from operating during the Muslim holy month of Ramadan.

DAP leaders, including Lim, had spoken out against the ban, saying it infringed on the rights of non-Muslims and would be bad for business. Despite this, an aide close to the Kedah mentri besar said the ban would remain.

On his Twitter account last Saturday, DAP MP Tony Pua (left) expressed frustration, saying that he “is of the view that we shouldn’t be part of a coalition if our concerns are not heard or heeded. Don’t want to become like MCA or Gerakan in BN”.

When contacted by The Malaysian Insider later, Pua declined at first to elaborate on his tweet but admitted that the subject of cutting off ties with its political allies had been raised at the party’s retreat in Seremban and will be discussed further when the PR leadership meets tomorrow for its strategy session.

This would not be the first time DAP has broken off ties with its political allies. In 2001, the Chinese-majority party withdrew from Barisan Alternatif, after a similar falling out with PAS over the latter’s insistence on setting up an Islamic state in then PAS-ruled Terengganu.

“But I do not think Tony (Pua) meant what was put out on Twitter… it was not to be read in that manner, that DAP should split from PR… in fact, it (splitting) has not really occurred to us and I am sure, not even to him,” said Lim.

PAS’s national leadership moved to defuse the mounting tension over the issue and announced yesterday that the ban would be revoked and replaced by operational guidelines to stop Muslims from patronising entertainment outlets.

“Look on the positive side… this decision, this development is most welcome. It shows in particular, the PAS’s leadership as well as the Kedah state government’s readiness to correct the misunderstanding,” said Lim.

On MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek’s claim in the newspapers today that the entire debacle was a “sandiwara” (play) between PAS and DAP, Lim brushed off the former health minister’s words as trivial.

“The more he speaks, the lesser his credibility. In fact, it would be quite an achievement for him to go any lower than he is today,” he said.

1. #1 by cintanegara on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 5:41 pm

And every time PAS have to sacrifice its principles… always be on the losing side..what a pity…For sure UMNO will get two third majority in the coming GE….thanks PAS…

2. #2 by cintanegara on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 5:41 pm

And every time PAS have to sacrifice its principles… always be on the losing side..what a pity…For sure UMNO will get two third majority in the coming GE….thanks PAS…

3. #3 by k1980 on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 6:04 pm

Najib’s 1Malaysia’s Transformation Programme is in realty to transform a united Pakatan Rakyat in a squabbling mess of fools so that he could regain the coverted 2/3 majority in Parliament.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 6:20 pm

Tony Pua, of Tung Shin fame, is a loose cannon who needs to be controlled. He’s getting too big for his pants.

5. #5 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 6:30 pm

cintanegara ….UMNO B guys will say…..how right you are.
    PR supporters will say…how wrong you are.
    I will say…you go fly kite and stop dreaming and talking nonsense.
    If what you say is true..Najib will not delay 13th GE one day longer.’
    If what yo say is true…you need not put out a comment…to insult PAS.
    By you doing so…it is your admission how smart PAS have become…to treat Malaysians equally and not fall into the traps of UMNO B …race and religion dirty politics.
    So insult as much as you like…how stupid PAS is.
    You are either smart enough to PAS have moved forward or stupid enough not to realize it.
    Like Ibrahim Ali…the more you talk..the more better for PR.

6. #6 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 6:37 pm

Aiyah…Sheriff Singh said goodbye to this blog few hours ago…and now back.
    His words…. tak boleh pakai.
    See cintanegara back…he is like a worm..crawl back and stick to cintanegara…who actually is ignoring him too.
    Sheriff Signh have low IQ.
    Cintanegera IQ….slightly better.

7. #7 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 6:43 pm

hahahahahaha…sheriff singh call Tony Pua a loose cannon and a braggart?
    hi idiot!! He is 100 times mores smarter than you…and have achieved many successes in his young life.
    What have you achieved besides showing to all readers…your big mouth talking nonsense?

8. #8 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 6:51 pm

All DAP high ranking politicians are loose cannons and braggarts to sheriff singh.
    One track minded fella….he is….and usually idiots are like that.
    But this idiot like to show off…. how smart he is..like Ibrahim Ali.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 8:00 pm

I didn’t know you like me so much Mr…Mr… Mr…ball?

???

Only one?

I can’t help you. You should go see a doctor at Tung Shin. Maybe they can find a donor, maybe not. Sorry, can’t help you. Bye.

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 8:04 pm

p/s One is better than none, like in 1Malaysia. So don’t feel to bad about it. Cheers.

11. #11 by tak tahan on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 9:15 pm

Autar has none.You know why?Man with solid one will not say bye bye and led by nose like lembu to crawl back here again-thanks cinta my arse

12. #12 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 9:40 pm

What a thick skin this Sheriff Singh is.
    I like him?
    He does not feel shameful at all…said good bye for the whole world to read…and now talking like as if he did not said that.
    His Autar Singh.. and Liar Singh all in one.
    One only? Yes one only. You want to try it?
    hahahahahaha…a man with 4 wives I need a donor?
    I say “cheers” to cintanegara.
    My monsterball seems to turn him on….trying to be nice to me.
    No cheers back to an Autar Singh.
    It is all go go go…push push push until he say goodbye again.
    What a jerk. What a sheeet face man.
    What a sinking liar.

13. #13 by tak tahan on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 9:41 pm

sheriff has none.’The Men” rallied,sheriff did not.At then,cintanegara was on tree top.sheriff promised to avoid me in the net just few hours ago but did not honour his word-a man without integrity (bola) to stand up and own his words and actions.So tonggeng la for cintanegara.Thanks cintanegara,thanks.Feed him some rambutan ya.

14. #14 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 9:47 pm

No one will eve believe what he says about DAP anymore.
    God do take sides in politics.
    Don’t ever doubt that.
    He has to make Juswan Singh becomes a lunatic and walla….change his name to be… Sheriff Singh a name no Singh can ever have.
    You are sure.. you can handle MONSTERBALL?

15. #15 by tak tahan on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 9:51 pm

cintanegara,if you feed feed this Autar’s stomach fulled and happy with rambutan,you don’t have to drag him here by nose.Good tips ya?

16. #16 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 10:13 pm

Now he can talk and insult DAP as much as he likes.
    No one will ever believe one who said goodbye with reasons.. and then come back…seeing cintanegara is here.
    cintanegara maybe a supporter of BN..but he hates a flip flopper…liar as much as we do.
    That’s why I like him…for he is my mission to convert him from the dark side to sunny side.
    So many are converted..why not cintanegara?
    Sheriff Singh…he can go to hell.
    No one will miss him.

17. #17 by tak tahan on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 10:27 pm

Hahahahahahahaha beh tahan leh.Aiyoh…that’s when some idiots become the laughing stocks of the day.

18. #18 by limkamput on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 10:54 pm

There is nothing clever in this. You fellows created the problem and then resolve it – now tell me what is so clever about this? PR, please wise up, I think the people are fed up with non issues while those that affect the daily life of the people are put in the back burner.

19. #19 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 11:17 pm

Everyday and hours serious..will grow old very fast.
    Smile exercises hidden muscles and make you look young.
    Sick of one who talks and washing dishes overseas…cannot vote…yet keep teaching others.
    There is a hilarious video showing Najib spoke in Hakka dialect………real real funny.
    My friend send to me by email. I have yet to lean how to paste and send to others.
    I will try and I bet you….LKS will be laughing non stop.

20. #20 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 11:26 pm

Najib speaking Hakka…
    this is the site to go…..”http://youtu.be/A-rOoEH-sby”
    Hope all can get it.

21. #21 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 11:36 pm

Maybe type…”Najib speaking Hakka” at YouTube?