In memory of Teoh Beng Hock

By Teoh El Sen
July 16, 2011 | Free Malaysia Today

SERI KEMBANGAN: The cute little toddler played and ran about, bringing a tinge of a smile to the crowd of serious-looking adults around him.

Clad in an orange shirt, the 17-month-old Teoh Er Jia’s cheerful disposition bore a stark contrast to the tears of his family and the sombre mood of some 400 people who gathered to commemorate the anniversary of his father’s death.

Today, marked the second year of Teoh Beng Hock’s death.

Last night, a memorial function in his honour was held at the Seri Kembangan multipurpose hall, attended by Teoh’s former employer, Selangor exco Ean Yong Hian Wah and other DAP leaders.

Throughout the event, Er Jia was the centre of attention as his mother Soh Cher Wei received praises and support from the people.

At one point, the boy was seen reaching out to a photograph of Teoh, which was put beside his grandparents Teoh Leng Hwee and Cheong Siew Hwa.

Er Jia looked delighted when he was presented with a huge plush toy, shaped in a character from popular iPhone game Angry Birds, and was grabbing at the toy when presented to him on stage by DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang.

The toy supposedly represented the “angry” feelings of the people towards Teoh’s death.

Serdang MP Teo Nie Ching earlier read out a heart-wrenching letter during which Teoh’s family was seen wiping away tears as Teo “told” the deceased of the latest developments that had taken place since his death.

“Er Jia is now almost two-years-old. He is a very active child, and he looks like you. It’s been two long years since we have seen you…

“These days it’s been very difficult. You were really good at choosing a wife. Soh is very good. She doesn’t like to talk much and she always tells us she is alright, but it’s not so easy. It’s been very very painful. She is not in very good health, and Lee Lan (Teoh’s youngest sister) is always worried.

“She always tells me that if you were still here it would be good because Soh would have someone to rely on. I’m sure Soh also feels the same way,” she said.

She also said that Teoh’s brother Meng Kee was now married with a child, but “in our happiness for him, we were also sad. Why were you not here then?”

Teo added that the nation had changed much since his death.

“If you look down from heaven do you feel that Malaysia has become better or worse? Have

Malaysians come together or grown further apart from each other? I don’ know.”

Referring to last Saturday’s Bersih 2.0 rally, the MP said Teoh would have definitely been a part of it if he was still alive.

“I remember how we use to discuss about changing the country. Last Saturday, we fought through tear gas. I was the cowardly one. If you were still here, you would be among them. You would have been those brave ones who uses action, rather than words. You would have seen on that day on the faces of these Malaysians, the future of the country. Please continue to guard us from above.”

Teo also sang a song in tribute to Teoh and recited a poem while a group of actors wearing black lay down on the floor to form the word “TRUTH”.

Sister: We need closure

During her speech, Lee Lan asked why the government had still failed to help the family find closure even after two years.

“Teoh are you here with us today? We all miss you very much. Time passes, it has already been two years. It feels just like yesterday that I saw you happily holding Soh’s hand when you went with her to find a wedding dress. Everyone was so happy and were looking forward to your wedding,” she said amidst sobs.

“I want to tell you today. I want truth… please help us point to the murderer. Why did you die? We all know you have been wronged. We are waiting for some justice.

“Why is it so hard (to get to the truth)? Tell me what should I do? What have I not done?” she cried.

In a message to the family of the late Selangor customs assistant director Ahmad Sarbaini Mohamed, who also died while in MACC custody, Lee Lan said: “If you step out, I will accompany you. I will walk the entire nation with you to help fight for the truth. To tell everyone how unjust the government is. Join me as I hope I’m not alone here.”

She asked why the Royal Commission of Inquiry had yet to reveal its report. “Why do they tell us that they’re doing this for the rakyat, but all we’re hearing is just deafening silence?”

1. #1 by for my country1 on Saturday, 16 July 2011 - 6:13 pm

TBH, you are still remembered.
    God bless you.

2. #2 by monsterball on Saturday, 16 July 2011 - 8:08 pm

TBH’s death have awakened thousands of Malaysians to vote with their conscience.
    The signs of how voters will vote……clearly seen at BERSIH 2 walk.
    TBH’s death still unsolved to protect MACC.
    All Malaysians know that and Najib’s “People First. Performance Now” and his openly speech to promise TBH’s family..he will solve the case within 1 month…have proven what a liar he can be.
    TBH’s death have help to reveal the KOTOR government cannot be trusted at all.
    Strangely…he has to die to help free Malaysians.
    One day…his soul will rest in peace.
    May TBH’s family members be healthy and well.

3. #3 by negarawan on Saturday, 16 July 2011 - 10:06 pm

May God Bless Teoh and his family. You are forever etched in the history of our country.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 7:35 am

TBH, Sarbani, Aminulrasyhid, Kugan and the latest Baharuddin Ahmad – they represent a systematic breakdown of government. Its not simple imperfections, flaws, weaknesses, or even problems to be fix. Its literally a manifestation of a larger system that not only do not do what its suppose to do, it does what its NOT suppose to do.

In other words, we have a system that DO NOT WORK whose complete failure is eventual. It has not completely failed simply because we have been fortunate, lucky. But take that luck for granted and WE WILL BE PAYING FOR IT if we don’t do anything..

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 8:19 am

In a Constitutional Monarchy system and by terms of the Commissions of Enquiry Act, the RCI on TBH is invoked in the name of the King on the advice of PM/cabinet (govt). When the report is given by the Commissioners to the King – which by itself is procedure – and inordinately delayed as to release (which is not procedure), it is the govt that is deemed responsible for delaying release and has to answer reasonably why that were the case, failing which it is natural that adverse inference will be drawn by the public against the govt. that the report contains findings squashing the preposterous official theory of suicide and implicating the govt’s agency like MACC in wrongdoing, thus embarrassing the govt. and causing it to immediately go into defensive mode to prevaricate, withhold release in order to have more time to consider options as to how to ameliorate effects of findings or manage damage control!

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 8:43 am

Every Life is precious- therefore there must be accountability & responsibility on the part of the govt holding claims to ‘people first & performance now. The report has been given to the King, which means its given to the govt. acting on whose advice the constitutional monarch invokes the RCI and releases its report. The question of whether the govt is “satisfied” with the RCI’s report is irrelevant. It is whether the public is satisfied with it. This is because the report belongs to the public in whose interest the RCI was invoked at first instance. Any delay draws an inverse inference against the govt that it has something to hide.

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 8:54 am

And what’s the rationale to hide? True there are all sorts of people within govt, good and bad, and those heinous acts perpetrated by the bad tarnish the image of the whole including the good, and it would be natural in the interest of self preservation to try deflect or suppress something negative to image. However the stage is past that. Any attempt is an exercise in futility. People don’t believe suicide by self strangulation! When an innocent life was taken away (other than by himself) within precincts of a govt agency in whose custody and dominion the deceased was and for whose safety the govt. was responsible, there’s no way to escape culpability. Let the truth be known, shield not the culprits, and take the chips where they fall. It will salvage whatever residual left of that image better than continuing to spin, prevaricate and delay in the release of the report. Common decency and compassion require a closure, already delayed, to the bereaved family of the deceased. A responsible leader would not be complicit to suppress truth in trade for preservation of image, esp one irretrievably lost.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 9:48 am

With so many outrageous abuses (even resulting in mysterious deaths), corruption, n incompetencies of this gomen, led by UmnoB/BN, HOW CAN members n supporters of UmnoB, MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP, etc sleep at nite? Got conscience or not aah?
    It’s their support n votes dat sustain d evil, racist, self-enriching corrupt regime
    C’mon, CHANGE n GIVE UP support 2 UmnoB/BN

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 10:58 am

Like the need to keep TBH’s issue alive – so the need to keep Bersih’s idea alive in public limelight way after 9th July – by use of the colour “yellow” that BN is foolish enough to try to suppress (way after the rally) thus keeping Bersih alive! The issue of bravery or cowardice in relation to these DAP MPs and Assemblymen still wearing yellow after 9th July – and whether they marched on that day- is irrelevant, and not the focus of their wearing yellow in Seremban Retreat per ealier thread. The political strategy – to make them fight the colour (like the air), to keep Bersih in public consciousness way after the rally, is.

10. #10 by Joshua on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 6:07 am

MACC = MAlaysia 44.