Cops: Restriction order against 91 individuals

by Regina Lee
Jul 7, 11

The police have placed a restriction order on 91 individuals, including organisers of the Bersih 2.0, Perkasa and Umno Youth’s Patriot rallies.

The order is to stop any of the 91 from being present at several spots in Kuala Lumpur on July 9.

“This means that anyone (on the list) caught present at these areas will be arrested on sight,” said the city deputy police chief Amar Singh.

Top on the list are the Bersih 2.0 steering committee members, including Ambiga Sreenevasan, Wong Chin Huat and Maria Chin Abdullah.

Also on the list are Pakatan Rakyat leaders, such as opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim, PAS spiritual adviser Nik Aziz Nik Mat, his party’s deputy-president Mohamad Sabu, DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang and social activist Hishamuddin Rais.

Fourteen from Perkasa, including its president Ibrahim Ali and other top leaders such as Ab Rahman Ab Bakar and Syed Hassan Syed Ali.

Umno Youth leaders also included in the list are Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar, secretary Megat Firdouz Megat Junid and information chief Reezal Merican Naina Merican.

[Admin Note:

Among others “restricted” are:

DAP – Teresa Kok
Anthony Loke
Lau Wen San

PAS – Hadi Awang
Salahuddin Ayub
Mahfuz Omar
Nasarudin Hassan
Mohd Hatta Mohd Ramli
Dzulkifli Ahmad
Mujahid Yusof
Syed Azman Syed Nawawi
Khalid Samad
Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin

PKR – Azmin Ali
Nurul Izzah Anwar
Chua Tian Chang
Shamsul Iskandar bin Md Akin
Badrul Hisham Shaharin
Khairul Anwar
Syed Shair Syed Mohd]

1. #1 by isahbiazhar on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 6:59 pm

Is the police afraid of the Bersih meeting or the government is afraid it might lose all the fence sitters and the newly converted to the opposition.The police have no right to stop people from being anywhere.Najib is crafty but he will not be able to capture the government. When the oppositon takes over the Federal government the police ‘generals’ have to resign or go for premature retirement as more suitable officers who comply to the laws of the nation and not to the laws of UMNO are placed there.There is no security problem but conceived and built upon by UMNO leaders who are afraid that their time is over.No matter what kind of obstacles are placed they can be leapt over and the day is coming.UMNO cannot buy the people for the time is over where money was everything.Now the nation comes first.

2. #2 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 7:04 pm

So, the fat pig and all the UMNO Youth are ok??!!

3. #3 by voice2009 on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 7:17 pm

Please do not forget write a book about all this event

Let’s roll on

4. #4 by voice2009 on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 7:26 pm

The whole gang have no respect of AGONG and Malaysians

They raising a war against AGONG blessing and MALAYSIANS

5. #5 by boh-liao on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 7:32 pm

Looks like d polis CAN b commanded 2 do ANYTHING
    Is there anything d polis CANNOT b commanded 2 do?

Scary, UmnoB/BN too powerful n getting smarter/creatif in abusing their power

Next, come GE n restriction order on PR individuals: CANNOT go here n there 2 give ceramah n 2 cast their votes, otherwise arrest on sight, so clever 1

If dis is NOT polis state, what is it?
    逼民间组织净选盟跳墙, 然后用暴力一网打尽

MUST STOP UmnoB/BN, ppl!
    VOTE FOR PR 2 form d next federal gomen, then teach polis how 2 serve rakyat properly

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 7:46 pm

Whoa. They want to rough-up Nik Aziz, Hadi Awang and Mat Sabu?? Clearly meant to provoke the PAS to be out of control..

PR need to have a measured respond – keep their followers disciplined..

7. #7 by drngsc on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 7:56 pm

Dear Ambiga, leaders of BERSIH 2.0, other political leaders on the restricted list,

The government is running very scared. They have become irrational, and turn Malaysia into a Police state.
    With great sadness, let us call of the BERSIH 2.0 rally. We cannot afford to have any of you incarcerated under any excuse. They may then call the GE 13, and keep all of you in jail. These are irrational people that we are dealing with now. There is no trustworthiness, no honour, no principles.
    Let us lose this battle ( I think we have won the battle actually ), but WE MUST WIN THE WAR.

Please ( sad, sad ), call off the Rally. We have proved our point. Please, non of you end up in jail.
    In fact we need to get our brother Dr Jeyakumar, out of jail.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya.

8. #8 by voice2009 on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:00 pm

Yeah those opposition leaders should keep back to wait win a great battle in election coming soon they can’t hold much longer to call election.

9. #9 by bruno on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:11 pm

Umno Gom,you have tried all the dirty tricks in the books by using Abrahim Ali and Perkasa and 600 Umno youth mat rempit to terrorised the organisers and opposition leaders.Your Umno GOM even condoned using thugs to threatened peoples lives.All these down and dirty tactics don’t work you came out with another.Now you have a restrition order to prevent leaders from showing up.Don’ t you guys know that the international community is laughing at your Umno GOM.Maybe you guys have thick buffalo hides.

10. #10 by bruno on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:33 pm

Umnoputras,the next time you guys meet any foreigners and you hear their people giggling in front of your faces or behind your backs you know what their are talking about.They are laughing at you shameless and lowdown animals.And do you know why they are laughing about.They are laughing at you gorillas trying monkey tricks and ending up not as monkeys but fools.

11. #11 by raven77 on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:36 pm

Looks like our police have no otak….and clearly no courage

Little point in educating these fellows….they dont seem to realise that they need to study and follow the CONSTITUTION…….not UMNO…..

Malaysian soldiers are UMNO soldiers. Never knew UMNO even had Punjabi soldiers….

12. #12 by Winston on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:39 pm

Those attending the rally could bring along a pair of swimming goggles
    and gas masks as well as plenty of water to wash away the tear
    gas.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:39 pm

Just figured out why they are doing this. Ambiga outsmarted them at their meeting earlier – to apply for permit under a component organisation.

This is what they do – they get oursmarted, then the abuse the law and institutions..Najib did it with illegal Perak takeover and everybody just followed his lead..

14. #14 by Jong on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:48 pm

That foul-mouthed Ibr-Ali not included, …a protected animal?

15. #15 by monsterball on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:52 pm

Arrest more than 150….and banned 91.
    Operation Lallang 2 have started.
    This is call… defending PutraJaya from traitors.

16. #16 by avatar6119 on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 9:34 pm

First the police was roped in.
    Followed by the army.
    Now the silat exponents are rounded in as well. One may think that the country is at war. But with who? Civilians who are bare handed??
    What a shame!

17. #17 by monsterball on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 9:44 pm

MCA President…quiet as a mouse.
    Talk so much nonsense..now Malaysians are being bullied..dare not defend the people.

18. #18 by negarawan on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 10:25 pm

So far, it is UMNO and the police who have caused massive traffic disruptions and losses for business for days. The planned Bersih march would not have caused any disruption of this scale. How stupid is UMNO and the police! Where is the credibility and accountability of the police to their bosses, the rakyat? Can the police claim that they are competent when they can’t even solve petty crime cases? Shame on UMNO and the police!

19. #19 by tak tahan on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 10:36 pm

You moderater really get me excited and pissed off enough to hate and love you all in one.I hope you get replaced soon so we can have more freedom rights to view our voices.Ar…like that..how to have Bersih rally?..mean what you say lah!!

20. #20 by habis on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 10:36 pm

The more the corrupt govt and PDRM suppress the right of the rakyat to gather peacefully the greater will the hatred and wrath of the rakyat gather momentum to crash all those leeches in BN. Come 13 GE lets us all send the BN leaders to where they rightfully belong in Kamunting to rot and pay for the sins they have committed and allow the worms to swarm all over their filthy bodies.

21. #21 by habis on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 10:47 pm

PDRM are servants of the rakyat NOT running dogs at the beckoning of the UNMO leaders. PDRM when compared to the Indonesian and Thai police is a total failure and a disgrace to all peace loving malaysians.

22. #22 by best4rakyat on Friday, 8 July 2011 - 8:47 am

“the police ‘generals’ have to resign or go for premature retirement as more suitable officers who comply to the laws of the nation and not to the laws of UMNO are placed there.”

>Isahbiazhar,
    I think is too easy out for them to resign or so retirement.
    In exile for life and generation link of their families is a much better one!
    ‘PDRM’ is no more call ‘DiRaja Malaysia’ but change to be known as ‘Polis Najib dan Rakan Bodoh’ -‘PNDRB’ now

Let’s have our second liner team take up the job of those banned from KL.Is KL become Najib and his goons ‘Forbidden City’ tell out to the world this is a worst leader even than his Dad!

23. #23 by Not spoon fed on Friday, 8 July 2011 - 9:20 am

It is easy!

Just use multimedia lah. Use Teleconference like Skype to show Ambiga to talk in Stadium.

She doesn’t have to be at the Stadium lah. LKS, Anwar, etc. could take turn to speak via skepe the Stadium wide screen board.

Good leader show respecting of laws. Focus on changing the federal government then reform Polis and the outdated laws, etc.

24. #24 by wanderer on Friday, 8 July 2011 - 9:28 am

Bung-ka-li inspector, “Roti ka li ah?”….don’t get choked!

25. #25 by boh-liao on Friday, 8 July 2011 - 9:29 am

SHAME! but dis UmnoB/BN led gomen knows no shame
    NR kept yelling abt transformation 4 d better n wanting M’sian talents 2 return home
    ALL his actions r contrary 2 what he claimed 2 achieve – ALL B’Sit n insincere, lies
    In sum, his actions n inactions in d last 2 weeks will drive more talents 2 LEAVE d nation n p!ss off talents fr RETURNING 2 M’sia
    We hv more n more signs dat dis is a FAILED STATE, ruled by a shameless grp of politicians hellbent 2 preserve their power n corrupt practices at all cost

26. #26 by wanderer on Friday, 8 July 2011 - 9:34 am

Monsterball, jangan disturb MCA chief la…the immoralist is having a good round with the flying YY…a night to remember!
    Mrality is not in his dictionary….

27. #27 by -e- on Friday, 8 July 2011 - 12:20 pm

watch for new leaders of malaysia!

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Friday, 8 July 2011 - 4:19 pm

“The court order has escalated the situation. Now my supporters, Perkasa supporters and Bersih supporters are all upset. The situation is in limbo. Nobody knows what is next!” – Khairy. Khairy had posted on micro-blogging site Twitter that he has just landed back in KL after trying to break Israeli blockade of Gaza only to find that “I’ve been blockaded from KL Excuse me if I say WTF!”