Why am I not surprised?

By Shanker
July 06, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

JULY 6 — So, the Home Minister remains adamant that Bersih is an illegal outfit, notwithstanding that the highest Ruler in the land has implied his acquiescence by meeting with Bersih representatives yesterday.

Sigh … what else can we say about Umno that hasn’t been said already? The whole world has taken flight at an unimaginable rate in this 21st century; changes are happening all around the globe — just witness Thailand’s maturity in the democratic process …

And yet our Umno boys think they can run this country ala some caveman attitude from the Ice Age — “Me Tarzan, you Jane. Listen to what Tarzan say, or Tarzan thump you with Tarzan stick”.

But why should we be surprised, eh? The stakes are pretty high; for Umno to accommodate a two-party system after 54 years of power is like asking Al Capone to start selling cendol instead of moonshine. Their tongue is simply too addicted to the lustful delicacy that power is.

So, when an Umno minister like Hishamuddin proclaims Bersih as illegal, it means more than just posturing for “security” reasons. It means they would do whatever it takes to avoid being held accountable for all their misdeeds over the past three decades.

Thus, you can bet your bottom ringgit that if it suits Hisham and company, then they would declare a coconut illegal just to save their skin.

What Hisham and Umno need to realise is that Bersih is symbolic; the coming together of NGOs as Bersih is not so much in the forming of an entity, as it is a collective representation of the people’s aspirations — WE WANT CLEAN ELECTIONS, GET IT?

And for how long are you going to try and contain that? How long would you go on illegitimatising our vision for a better country and a better future? How long will you demonise our requests for a fair, transparent and just system?

The T-shirts, the posters, the rally — those are just symbols. But what they represent are our aspirations. Aspirations of people like YB Michael Jayakumar, who pay their taxes and fight for the poor and the downtrodden. They don’t ask for the spotlight or photo op moments in newspapers. They don’t wish to make fancy overseas trips on the back of taxpayers’ money and then mouth off to others to tighten their belts. And for such aspirations, these folks are placed under incarceration. Nama je Malaysia, tapi politik — ikut model Myanmar …

So remember Hisham, Bersih is about the people’s aspirations.

And for how long are you going to declare that illegal?

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 8:25 pm

Not surprised? I am SHOCKED!! Flabbergasted. They think they are behaving like stubborn fighters but in reality they are petulant children EXCEPT in the adult world, its TREASON and SEDITION…They have no clue that is what they are doing as they have no clue how to govern this country..

Its time for adults to take over this country – meaning no one from BN..

2. #2 by habis on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 8:49 pm

REMEMBER my friends Peoples power is Supreme.Rakyat will Decide that BN time is up.Umno and its coalitions partners had betrayed the people of Malaysia and the Rakyat can no longer be taken for a ride with false promises,spotlight on campaigns to gain cheap publicity while the poor rakyat endures all the sufferings in silence.I admire YB Jayakumar for his aspirations to help the downtrodden to seek a better future for themselves and many other unseen patriots in their endeavour to realise their dreams of a brighter future for all malaysians.

3. #3 by novice101 on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 9:03 pm

What more can be said of UMNO… plenty more! What about loathsome, sickening, disgusting, lacks decency, no class, detestable, scandalous, offensive, outrageous, disgraceful, preposterous, irrational, cowardice. Others can continue.

4. #4 by novice101 on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 9:07 pm

They can declare it illegal for as long as they want but aspiration is aspiration, no law can ever strip it of it potency! No law can outlaw it!

5. #5 by negarawan on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 9:30 pm

As predicted since the King’s message, UMNO has almost checked-mate Bersih. Is Bersih going to watch itself slowly strangled, or rise with a stronger fervour in the interest of fair-minded rakyat?

6. #6 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 11:51 pm

Don’t practise integrity with those who have none!

Bersih has so far more than achieved its objectives!

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 5:30 am

Maybe BERSIH should invite Najib to Mereka stadium to address the crowd on electoral reforms.

That should solve the illegailty issue.
    That should dissolve all police threats of violence.
    That should melt the heart of najib’s defender, Zahid hamidi.
    That should appease the soldiers and allow them to snooze longer in their barracks.

Then, najib will have his day as he pleads to Bersih supporters to vote for him.
    Then najib can extend his promise: vote for BN and come to Putrajaya to collect your cheque the next day.

To Najib, cheque=be all and end-all of electoral reform.

8. #8 by dagen on Thursday, 7 July 2011 - 8:42 am

Oh yes I was surprised! Swear I was. You see. In the midst of orchestrating umno’s public orgasm over the bersih proposed rally jib forgot to ihu-uhm the agung. I am sure it was an oversight. He would have surely ihu-uhm-ed the agung if he was a little less eager to ejaculate.

ps (1) ihu-uhm = i help u, u help me. (2) Even if he had ihu-uhm the agung, he would not necessarily get what he set out to get for I believe the agung is not susceptible to ihu-uhm.