Ten conditions for Umno

by Bahaman Abdullah
Jul 05, 2011

JULY 5 — Since Ibrahim Ali is so fond of giving everyone ultimatums (the latest being to MCA, Gerakan and Ambiga Sreenivasan), I suggest we give Umno and Najib Razak a list of 10 conditions to be met if he wants the support of urban Malaysia.

1) Distance yourself publicly from Ibrahim Ali and Perkasa. Failure to do so will be taken as a sign that all the garbage from Ibrahim is endorsed by the Umno president and his kuncu-kuncu.

2) Stop using divide and rule tactics to keep Malaysians apart. The only reason why BN worried about Bersih is that this election reform movement appears to have brought Malaysians of different races and religious groups together.

3) Tackle corruption and start by investigating cabinet ministers, senior politicians for living way, way beyond their means.

4)Revamp the education system and place less emphasis on rote learning and churning thousands of university graduates who are unemployable.

5) Introduce meritocracy in the public sector and slash the bloated bureaucracy.

6) Promote the likes of Hishammuddin Hussein at your peril. The party which has led Malaysia since independence has swung to the right and this is exemplified by people like Hishammuddin and Rais Yatim.

7) Throw out the alphabet soup of committees and government programmes like ETP or GTP and make structural changes so that Malaysia can become a high income economy, and not some wish list of projects for politically-connected businessmen. By the way, you may want to reconsider if Idris Jala is the right man to steer the Malaysian reform programme. I mean he supposedly saved Malaysia Airlines and we know where the national airline is now: in the toilet.

8) This condition is directed at Najib. Stop all this public relations crap and slogans and focus on real change. Your performance in handling Bersih was at best a C- and that was because you seem unsure if you are a reformer or a politician cut from the same cloth as Mahathir Mohamad.

9) Stop allowing your cronies from raping and looting Malaysia. Everyone knows that 1MDB is nothing but a smokescreen for election funding and shady deals. We have already had to bail out the scandalous PKFZ. According to Anwar Ibrahim, 1MDB could become an even bigger mess.

10) Pull off more stunts like the Datuk T porn video trick at your peril. Malaysians expect fair play and justice, not a loaded judiciary or injustice perpretrated by a government just because it controls the institutions.

So how about it, Najib and Umno? Can you satisfy these conditions.

P/s: I am already assuming that you will allow Utusan Malaysia and other ragsheets to become real newspapers.

1. #1 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 9:01 am

Since when views and voices ever accepted for the good of rakyat? The giant YELLOW is on umno side and the little yellow is with the rakyat. Will there be any equalities along the way?

2. #2 by k1980 on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 9:17 am

Saudara Bahaman, if jibby follows your 10 conditions, the umno supreme council will throw him out like Dolly Badawy

3. #3 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 10:16 am

Umno goons will revoke your citizenship soon. This is the best they can come up with to shut you up. Otak udang umno.

4. #4 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 12:22 pm

To all forward and rational Malaysians, the list appears so sensible towards creating a modern and progressive society. Of course the 64 Billion question is: Will the Gomen even want to take a look at the list?. It is for certain that to-day’s world, to preogress, open competition is needed to progress the country. ‘Negotiated tender’ is not acceptable for it opens to abuses in all respect of fair and equitable business. So can BN abide by this? If not then the People of Malaysia should decide!

5. #5 by Joshua on Wednesday, 6 July 2011 - 12:26 pm

JUst ask Najib – the byproduct of fraudulant GE 2004 be resign or sacked now together with BN out of the illegal Government.

Najib had said he is there as elected properly and no deceit.