Dr M’s daughter slams crackdown

By Syed Jaymal Zahiid | July 4, 2011
Free Malaysia Today

PETALING JAYA: Marina Mahathir, the daughter of former premier Dr Mahathir Mohamad – who had little tolerance for dissenting voices – criticised the clampdown on Bersih 2.0 supporters.

Speaking on behalf of Sisters In Islam, one of the 62 NGOs that form the Bersih coalition, she said the action taken by the authorities was similar to that used by third-world dictators.

“Only those in fear would resort to such things… we are behaving like a third world country or less,” she told a packed press conference here, flanked by several representatives from Bersih.

More than 150 people were detained, mostly for wearing yellow T- shirts with the word “Bersih” in connection with the polls watchdog’s planned rally on July 9.

Opposition leaders, some of whom had been hauled up for questioning for backing Bersih’s call for a rally to demand electoral reforms, said the mass arrests was one of the harshest crackdowns in the country’s political history.

Marina said the government’s crackdown was not reflective of Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak’s efforts to transform Malaysia into a developed country.

“We are a developing country, we should behave like one and rise above (all this) and have some faith in our people,” she said.

Marina also condemned the personal attacks on Bersih chairperson S Ambiga, whom she praised for having an excellent track record in fighting for human rights.

“The personal attacks are unwarranted. They should use better arguments to resolve the issue and not resort to personal attacks,” she said.

Najib had called Ambiga, the former Bar Council president, a stooge of Pakatan Rakyat.

Marina’s stand on this issue ran contrary to her father’s position. The latter had echoed Najib’s accusation that the planned rally was not to demand electoral reforms but to create another “political tsunami” to wrest power.

At the press conference today, Bersih representatives denied that the rally had any hidden political agendas and reiterated that it would be peaceful.

They also called on the authorities to find an amicable solution without calling off the rally.

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 2:08 pm

///Marina’s stand on this issue ran contrary to her father’s position.///
    Good for her. She has always been her own person.

2. #2 by dcasey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 2:09 pm

The daughter wants to be bersih and the father wants to remain kotor. He ought to check whether she shares his DNA or not lah.

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 3:06 pm

Marina, thank you.

I am tongue-tied, speechless that you have spoken out when it is inconvenient for you to do so. Be assured that we draw tremendous inspiration from you.

If all of us could ask you of one thing: it has to be this. Join the BERSIH 2.0 march at the frontlines. No one would dare raise a finger, leave aside all those water cannons and tear gas canisters.

Marina, are you still there…..?

Wherever you are, thank you and God bless yoo.

4. #4 by Joshua on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 3:43 pm

Possibly inspired by Yingluck’s success but her father’s string of national scandals is a set back for her to have such a chance.

She needs to do a lot more..and hope she would walk on Saturday.

5. #5 by DAP man on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 3:57 pm

I have always admired this woman. She has strong principles.

6. #6 by wanderer on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 4:20 pm

This are words coming from a true Malay. Marina, thank God you have none of the Kerala Indian blood!!!

7. #7 by boh-liao on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 7:00 pm

NR n HH: ‘Allo, mata-mata, go look 4 her n cek if she wears anything (outside n inside) yellow, then U know what 2 do lah
    U help us, we help U

8. #8 by baochingtian on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 7:09 pm

Hmmm… wonder what would be the view of Jib’s son’s Nor on the Bersih walk? Let’s listen from well groomed children of the former and current PM’s and DPM’s of Bolehland…..

9. #9 by Not spoon fed on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 9:54 pm

This is the true colour of UMNO. They are not fit to rule a state or federal. Proof: Malaysia is behind zero natural resources like Hong Kong, Singapore and Taiwan.

Another proof: In the history of Malaysia, no state or federal government has received any praise from Transparency International. But we see Penang received a praise in 2009: see page 272: (http://www.transparency.org/news_room/in_focus/2009/gcr2009

Again, the more Mahathir speaks, the more we see he was not fit to be primer minister. Malaysia has wasted more than 20 years for electing Mahahtir as the PM. Look at these UMNO and Perkasa, they are only good to shout and rally for nothing wanting to use “bakar/burning” and “darah/blood”.

No wonder Mahathir could not raise the value of Ringgit like Brunei dollar and Singapore dollar.

Mahathir is only good in talking. It is just eays to have mega projects like KLIA or multimedia supercorridor. Most of his cronies got the contracts. Like Penang 2nd bridge, it never goes on open tender.

While UMNO has not reformed Polis and Anti Corruption Agency, we see Taib having billion RM property in overseas: see http://www.sarawakreport.org, and Mahathir was closing his eyes.

Badawi was correct to develop agriculture so that rural people could earn better.

Polis Malaysia is totally showing triple standard. They are coward actually. The world looks at Polis Malaysia: they are not fit to have this “Diraja” lah! At least our Yang Dipertua Agong is fit to run the country than UMNO-led federal government!

But Mahathir changed the laws to stop our respectable Agong from “talking”.