IGP says cops to arrest those with pro-Bersih ‘shoes, cars, buses’

By Yow Hong Chieh | June 29, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, June 29 — The police will not only arrest those sporting Bersih T-shirts but may also take action against anyone using any medium to promote the illegal rally, the Inspector-General of Police (IGP) has said.

“Not just T-shirts but shoes, cars, buses. If these are the tools used to encourage people to gather (illegally), this amounts to sedition,” Tan Sri Ismail Omar (picture) told reporters at Bukit Aman police headquarters here today.

Earlier today, Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein declared T-shirts bearing messages in support of Bersih illegal as they were related to an illegal assembly.

He, however, did not specify the legal provision that the garments were deemed to have breached.

MORE TO COME

1. #1 by voice2009 on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 5:26 pm

Maybe Bersih should add another color like WHITE reflect the word BERSIH too

2. #2 by grace on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 5:49 pm

IGP, it is best to go naked to escape arrest! The police has been so absurd now!!!

3. #3 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 5:50 pm

Police has no other better job to do ???

4. #4 by bclee on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 6:00 pm

this shown how afraid the Umno goon. yellow T-shirt only all KL guy on coming July 9, i think they will most properly declare Darurat.

5. #5 by carboncopy on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 6:03 pm

Acid splasher is roaming freely.
    Yellow shirts, shoes, under wear (tax free thanks to Rosmah) masuk lokap.

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 6:03 pm

I would rather be arrested for being BERSIH than to share the fat on the table with KOTOR BN politicians-lah.

Hello, IGP. Even T-shirts, shoes, cars and buses now know the difference between what is BERSEH and what is KOTOR?

God forgive BN and IGP and Police and MACC and judges.

7. #7 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 6:39 pm

Can someone sell yellow underwear with 1Malaysia logo on it and see if the Police dare arrest those who wear it ?

8. #8 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 7:03 pm

Police got too much resources, too spacious the lokap and too much food in the warehouse izzit???
    If wearing “Bersih” were to be arrested, my friend kak zaiton suggested “Clean” shuld be ok.

9. #9 by drngsc on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 9:05 pm

Can someone please tell me what is a pro-BERSIH shoe? Let me go out and buy two pairs.
    This is ridiculous, to say that wearing a pair of shoes is seditious, but doing nothing about warning Chinese to stock up food.
    This government have gone bongkus.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya

10. #10 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 9:10 pm

Hey!Just add cekap dan amanah after the word Bersih on the t-shirt.Isn’t that supposed to be police etiquette to uphold their responsibility and duty to maintain peace?And just make the t-shirt muddy a bit as not to be looked so clean.Ya!we’re safe?No?O.K. whatever lah!

11. #11 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 - 9:28 pm

He forgot…caps….hats…..umbrellas…wrist watches…

12. #12 by Joshua on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 7:02 am

Illegal leaders want to stay on to make the worst for everyone..

Illegal leaders had gone worst in all ways and we need to save the nation from further rot..

Royal Commission of Inquiry on Election Commission is the only way to stop the rot..

http://fresh-air-in-iggg.blogspot.com/

13. #13 by wanderer on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 8:27 am

IGP, you miserable jerk, are you paid by tax-payers to wash your UMNO masters’ blowhles?
    Look yourself at the mirror and see if you are fit enough to wear the blue uniform…or, you are simply another sniffing kampong dog.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 9:42 am

B warned, folks, polis can demand 2 cek your bra n undies if they r yellow n bersih
    KOTOR (like stained with milk, yellowish seminal fluid n vaginal discharge) OK 1

So, b ready 2 b asked 2 undress, mayb 2 do a few squats too
    Very soon, yellow will be removed fr our national flag