Who’s the idiot?

By Shamini Darshni
June 25, 2011

JUNE 25 — When I read how Ibrahim Ali “clarified” what he said about the Chinese community, I had a vision of him in a sampan with a panic-stricken look on his face, working those oars in reverse like the devil was after him.

But this time, I am not stomping my foot in anger or screaming obscenities for the things he said. Then again, I cannot make the same promise the next time he says something that once again breaks the barrier of stupid… and with his track record, that could well be tomorrow.

He now says that the media, The Malaysian Insider, in particular, had sensationalised his comments on how the Chinese should stay indoors and stock up on food to avoid any trouble on the day of the Bersih rally (July 9).

How many times have we seen these back-paddling politicians? Swallowing their words and blaming the media for erroneous reporting with those famous lines: “I was misunderstood.”

(This does not apply to politicians alone, but I’m choosing to be picky here, because, well, they are politicians.)

Every time I see the phrase “I was misquoted” or “I was misunderstood”, it does not even occur to me that the reporter got it wrong, I think, “Oh, regret already-lah.”

His attempts at “clarifying” were humorous:

“…usually, when there are street protests, I do not see the Chinese participating…” And to avoid a possible clash among Malays from PAS with Malays from Umno at the rally from “spreading to the other races”, he thought “it is better for the Chinese to stay back, that is all.”

Yet another forehead-slapping moment.

But this time I laughed.

Bersih is the Coalition for Clean & Fair Elections. If Ibrahim Ali was against a “Walk for Democracy” for Pete’s sake, the words “Malay” and “Chinese” should never have been uttered. Instead it should have been, “I’m an independent member of Parliament who does not give a hoot about transparency or accountability in an election.”

Ibrahim Ali has been annoying me for months now (keyword, “crusade”), and at times when I bring him up in conversations, people tell me “forget him”, “ignore him.”

But I can’t. Because there is a section of the community who thinks he is right. And these are the ones in moments of reflection I worry about. There is a group of people being influenced by stupidity and yes, I do take it personally because they are being told I don’t belong in this country.

I know not every Malay person thinks like Ibrahim Ali or wants what he wants. I know this. I have read your comments and heard your voices. And I have every confidence that Malaysians know better.

I have said it before and I shall say it again: How does he keep getting away with this? Why does he keep getting away with this?

Finally, in the words of Dr Toh Kin Woon, member of Bersih 2.0’s steering committee, on its website: “Opponents of the walk will do well to respect this basic right, failing which, all calls for the creation of a highly-developed country will come to naught.”

1. #1 by tak tahan on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 1:59 pm

This m**her f**ker-toad-faced-I bra him is suffering from lethal tumour in his brain.A very disgraceful ugly creature to not only canland but entire world.His whole generation will be cursed from suffering one heart attack to multiple complicated diseases.Lets hope it begin from today for good.

2. #2 by k1980 on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 2:01 pm

//How does he keep getting away with this? Why does he keep getting away with this?//

Look back in history and ask yourself how and why Hitler’s concentration camp guards could get away with the murder of millions. Because they have the support of the authorities in power at that time.

3. #3 by on cheng on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 7:06 pm

why is this cartoon so concerned only on Chinese, why not he said the general public?? real idiot!!

4. #4 by tak tahan on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 7:35 pm

He is actually concerned about chinese’ safety(to stay home,stock foods and chiak pah pah) otherwise his tycoon taukehs would not give him anymore business.He is what people call sampah sarap masyarakat.Yo man.