No such thing as runner-up in GE, says Najib

Jun 25, 11 | MalaysiaKini

Najib Razak said victory in the general election was most important for Umno and BN because in politics, only victory would bring them meaning.

Hence, the prime minister and Umno president said, in a general election there was no such term as runner-up like in other contests which also offered prizes for the runner-up.

“In a general election, only becoming champion (winner) will have meaning for us… and we know that emerging as the runner-up means that we’ve lost in the elections.

“(And) we know the fate of the losing party,” said Najib when opening the Selayang Umno division 23rd delegates’ meeting at the Perangsang Templer Golf Club in Rawang today.

He said in today’s situation and political landscape, what was important was to effect change and revitalisation because “if we stick to the old ways, we can win the old war, but winning the new war is not a certainty for us”.

The prime minister said that in a parliamentary democracy system, no political party other than Umno and BN had performed brilliantly in terms of the success achieved.

BN record no guarantee of victory

Nevertheless, he said, Umno and BN were aware that past performance, no matter how awesome, would not guarantee that the party and coalition would continue to remain in power.

He said this was because the country’s political landscape, its surrounding environment and society’s thinking had changed much over the years, and he listed the information revolution and increasing level of education as among the factors.

“We cannot just be proud of our glorious history… when faced with threats we cannot be doing nothing, not wanting to bring change and to revitalise. If we are afraid of change, others will overcome us because they have effected change while we haven’t… and we cannot just be proud of symbols and images when the substance is lacking.”

In this context, Najib urged party members to create a winning alliance by forging relations and links with various levels and groups in society in their respective areas to ensure public support for the party.

1. #1 by tak tahan on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 7:45 pm

/Hence, the prime minister and Umno president said, in a general election there was no such term as runner-up like in other contests which also offered prizes for the runner-up./ by chau sai PM

Well said,Prime Minister.Coming GE13,you and goons would be put in jail.Enjoy curry rice from our tax money!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 7:58 pm

Actually, technically he is WRONG.. As opposition MPs and assemblymen, they still get salary, even some funding even in our system. They can still play constructive opposition role..Another example UMNO/BN has forgotten the simple basics. The man keep proving himself a prodigal son..

3. #3 by Joshua on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 8:24 pm

This is just to distract the voters when the illegal PM has no intention to hold GE13 – firstly it will still be rigged and the resulting chaos will nail the democracy in the nation as ’emergency’ is likely.

But illegal Najib cannot be the caretaker PM.

http://fresh-air-in-iggg.blogspot.com/

4. #4 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 8:58 pm

clear sign that the GE is nigh and Najib is terrified of a defeat.

all the more reason we should render BN runners – up so we can see what Najib is trying to prevent from surfacing in public

5. #5 by bruno on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 10:32 pm

PM Najib has acknowledged that he has gotten the message that the rakyat is sending.He knows that he might be leading his party to their first defeat ever.He is also telling the people that his party is going for broke.The unbecoming below the belt actions of his party Umno and its affiliates recently confirmed this.

6. #6 by bruno on Saturday, 25 June 2011 - 10:33 pm

A clear sign of desperation.

7. #7 by novice101 on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 12:49 am

Same sentiment he has expressed to the UMNO Selangor… win by all means at its disposal!

This is a drowning man’s final cry!

8. #8 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 1:30 am

What about the poor citizens who are being robbed of their future?
    Of course it tough to lose but for the BN, that outcome is the only one to save Malaysia!
    After more than 50 years,the ROT is so evident that it causes more damage to Malaysians than the Lynas plant.

9. #9 by Winston on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 6:58 pm

The days of reckoning are close at hand.