Apply the law equally

Terence Fernandez
The Sun
23 June 2011

BAD things happen because good people do nothing. How often have we heard this phrase and how many of us have been motivated enough to get off our butts to do something when others are trying to cause chaos and confusion?

At the rate things are going, it seems we are content to let things slide or sweep them under the carpet – a child’s logic: close your eyes and it will go away.

History has taught us that the worst atrocities were actually committed by the minority. But they were emboldened and abetted by a silent majority who at first laughed them off as a bunch of raving lunatics but to their horror, later discovered that this same group of madmen had taken control of the country’s social and political structures.

Back home, we have been listening to a lot of rhetorical nonsense. These are words that you would usually allow to pass you by as they are usually drivel associated with the mentally unstable.Unfortunately, the bombast with racial undertones is coming out of the mouths of elected representatives – people you and I may have put into power. I am one of many who at first laughed off the twaddle, equating it with desperate measures by people in the twilight of their political career. These are people who are falling out of favour with the electorate or their political masters and are doing everything they can to hold on to their posts so that they can continue enjoying all the privileges – tangible and imagined – that come with power.

I am still convinced that the powers that be are on the same wavelength as the majority who want peace and stability. Perhaps that is why the July 9 mass rally which was to have taken to the streets did not receive a police permit. (I for one would prefer if rallies are confined to stadiums. The message sent would be just as powerful and there are no fears that it will be lost).

But again, if those in authority are of the same opinion as the rest of us, they would also agree that if government-controlled organs of information are loosened up and dissenting voices are given access to them, there will be less or no need at all for mass demonstrations and rallies.

More importantly, the authorities would also not be seen to be selective in coming down hard on those who want to incite and divide us.

The velvet glove treatment given to some of these loud voices gives rise to questions and cause for concern. It is the lethargic handling of such seditious-like conduct that will further encourage more like-minded ones to spew their brand of divisive politics and deepen the wedge in our social fabric.

I have never ever been a proponent of draconian laws – enactments which were drawn up over 40 years ago to control insurgency and violence. I still believe that there is no need for such regulations, especially when the men in blue, the Attorney-General’s Chambers and the Home Ministry are entrenched with so many rules and regulations to control freedom of speech and assembly.

But the authorities must walk the talk and not be seen to be practising a policy of “different strokes for different folks”. The law must be applied equally without fear or favour. The fact that a wing of the largest political party and another political-party wannabe have now jumped on the band-wagon for next month’s rally may be a saving grace for the original organisers. Perhaps they can be assured of equal treatment as anything otherwise will reek of favouritism.

At the time of writing this, we at the newsdesk are deliberating whether our reporter should lodge a police report over a text message she received, that threatened to kill Coalition for Free And Fair Elections (Bersih) 2.0 chairperson S. Ambiga and all those who support her. It turns out we were not the only ones. Several other reporters and editors, as well as website umno-reform2.com, also received similar text messages.

But by taking the trouble to flesh out the culprits – whom I suspect do not have the backbone to carry out their threats – those who lodge these reports and the authorities who proceed to take action spurred by these reports are demonstrating that we will not tolerate any form of fear mongering and attempts to stir unrest. They can start by hauling up the loud-mouths who go berserk once given a platform to voice their opinions.

Perhaps the media must also exercise restraint by ignoring the frighteners as we usually would any mentally unsound person we pass along the street. Lest we, unwittingly or otherwise, become conduits for the spread of dangerous propaganda.

While he would rather stay home, curiosity will get the better of him and Terence will most likely be on the ground on July 9. Feedback: [email protected]

1. #1 by bruno on Friday, 24 June 2011 - 6:45 am

The laws here cannot be applied equally because there are two sets of laws.One set is for Umnoputras and the other set is for the opposition and the public.For laughing sake only.A member of the opposition or the public is accused of corruption.The PDRM or the MACC shows up.If the PDRM shows up the suspect ends up in lockup.In the middle of the night he is haul up for interogation.After the interogation he is taken back to the lockup with red,blue and black all over his body.The next morning he is found dead in his cell.If the MACC shows up the suspect is taken to MACC headquarters.In the middle of the night the suspect is taken to one of the offices in the upper floors for interogation.The next morning the suspect is found dead several floors below in the carpark.

The Umno guy if pick up by PDRM or MACC is invited up to the office and offered a glass of champange.The interogating officer than asked the suspect, bung ada lubang ka.The suspect answered.Sure bro.The interogating officer then replied.Thank You boss.I ask my driver to drive you home lah.

Then the case of the Umno Menteri Besar who was accused of raping an underaged Malay girl.Umno send him to Dr. M’s office.Dr. M said to him you naughty boy,you embarrased me lah.The MB replied sorry Tuan banyak sorry lah. Dr. M said its okay lah.Tomorrow you resign as MB okay.The day after I appoint you as head of an NGO, okay.Sure Tuan banyak thank you lah.So the law cannot be applied equally.

2. #2 by dagen on Friday, 24 June 2011 - 8:53 am

Ibrahim bin perkasa’s Anti-bersih (Kotor) demo to counter our Bersih KL street party?

Oh beat it man. Beat it, just beat it.

MJ: ///They told him don’t you ever come around here
    Don’t wanna see your face, you better disappear
    The fire’s in their eyes and their words are really clear
    So beat it, just beat it

You better run, you better do what you can
    Don’t wanna see no blood, don’t be a macho man
    You wanna be tough, better do what you can
    So beat it, but you wanna be bad

Just beat it, beat it, beat it, beat it
    No one wants to be defeated
    Showin’ how funky and strong is your fight
    It doesn’t matter who’s wrong or right
    Just beat it, beat it

They’re out to get you, better leave while you can
    Don’t wanna be a boy, you wanna be a man
    You wanna stay alive, better do what you can
    So beat it, just beat it

You have to show them that you’re really not scared
    You’re playin’ with your life, this ain’t no truth or dare
    They’ll kick you, then they beat you,
    Then they’ll tell you it’s fair
    So beat it, but you wanna be bad

Just beat it, beat it
    Beat it, beat it, beat it

Beat it, beat it, beat it, beat it
    It doesn’t matter who’s wrong or who’s right

Just beat it, beat it
    Beat it, beat it, beat it

Beat it, beat it, beat it, beat it
    It doesn’t matter who’s wrong or who’s right

Just beat it, beat it
    Beat it, beat it, beat it.///