Kit Siang offers to prove Ibrahim Ali’s Chinese threat

By Clara Chooi
June 22, 201 | The Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR, June 22 — DAP’s Lim Kit Siang offered today to deliver a copy of Datuk Ibrahim Ali’s speech on Sunday to the Inspector-General of Police (IGP) and the Home Minister to prove that the Perkasa president had threatened the Chinese community.

Describing him as “guilty as hell”, Lim said he had watched a recording of Ibrahim’s speech and confirmed that the fiery Malay rights leader had indeed warned the Chinese to stay home and stock up on food during the planned Bersih rally this July 9.

This, he said, was tantamount to a threat against the community.

“I have seen the video recording of the speech by the Perkasa President Ibrahim Ali at the launch of the Bersih 2.0 counter-protest in Kampung Baru in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday and there can be no doubt that he is as guilty as hell in his incendiary, inciteful and treasonous ‘Chinese should stock up food’ tirade,” he said in a statement today.

Lim added that Ibrahim should not be detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA) for his statement but should be charged in court like a “lowly criminal” instead for raising the spectre of the bloody May 13 racial clashes.

“If Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and the IGP Tan Sri Ismail Ismail Omar have not seen the video recording, I can send them a copy of the video,” he said.

Hishammuddin said today the police will call officials from Bersih 2.0, Umno Youth and Perkasa over their plans to hold rallies on July 9. He added the police will not issue any permit for the rallies.

Several media organisations reported Ibrahim as saying during his counter-protest launch on Sunday that the Chinese community should stay indoors during the Bersih protest and stock up on food as “anything could happen.”

His statement was interpreted by many as a threat to the Chinese community, forcing the outspoken Malay rights leader to the centre of much criticism.

But the Pasir Mas MP insisted to reporters yesterday that he had merely been advising the community to stay at home that day to safeguard their interests. He also lashed out at the media for misreporting his statements, accusing The Malaysian Insider of twisting his words out of context.

Lim questioned today why the government continued to refuse to penalise Ibrahim for his statement, saying the Pasir Mas MP was clearly showing an open contempt for the law and the authorities.

“Is this because the face of Ibrahim Ali is increasingly coming to represent the real power in Umno politics — replacing that of (Prime Minister) Datuk Seri Najib Razak?” he asked.

Lim added that if Hishammuddin or the IGP failed to act on the resounding calls for Ibrahim to be punished for his remarks, both men should resign from their posts.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 22 June 2011 - 9:46 pm

Ibrahim is a lowly liar.

He has lied.

He has not the courage to admit the statements he made.

YB LKS, could you please send a copy of the tape to Comical Ali as well so that he could enjoy seeing his hollering big mouth blasting those lies away?

2. #2 by whylikethat on Wednesday, 22 June 2011 - 10:34 pm

I’m so sick and tired of all these threats. They are like yapping dogs. Either they shut the f*** up and talk facts and figures and do what is best for this country or we should just have it out now and get it over with. Every election you can hear some politicians warning the chinese on May 13 events repetition or keris waving shit. what do you expect us to do? stay home and cower under the table when we hear such things? it’s getting old.

3. #3 by Mike Tee on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 12:14 am

This is the year where we should all stand up and be connted, just like one’s tooth trouble, either you stump up the courage and get rid of it for ONCE or let it causes you pains for the rest of your life until you you got to grave if there are places for you.
    Police authority said that because there are 45 individual complaints about the BERSIH demo and therefore no licences can be given. WHAT about 50 to 100 thousands of poeple who WANTED to demo ???? This is another goverment hounds at works!!!!
    I have seen enought that this UMNO goverment robbed her decent citizen of licencing to run the decent business. Just look at the private zoo in JB, why has the animals have to be seized whist the licence dispute is on going?????? All the zoo owner can do is stop the business until the licences can been resolved. NO NEED for the robbery of the animals.!!!! Next time it will be your business licences if UMNO win the 13GE !!!! It will be your income taxes as UMNO goverment runs out of monies !!! Take my work for it. The sooner you wake up the soome you can avoid those nightmare !!!
    Look at the haulage business licences had been denied by the UMNO goverment running hounds, moving the gold post everytime never fails.
    WAKE up if this is not the time to UNITE all the decent Malaysian popple there will be a better time for it.
    Do you think SOUTHERN & RAHMAN COLLEGE will be given a UNI status after the 13GE, why not now, why not 30 years ago?????????????????????????? I will only believe the wicked lied when I see one !!! I can see PIG fly in Malaysia in this
    ta-bolehland.
    Those who still believe it will be improved without involving themselves, let me said it again “GOD HELP YOU”

4. #4 by Mike Tee on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 12:25 am

Sorry Chaps, due to my quick succession of quike outburst I have made a lot of spelling mistake like “goal post”, and my last paragraph should be ” Those who still believe it, let me say it again GOD GELP YOU” etc. My sincere apologies.

5. #5 by bruno on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 12:31 am

Ibrahim Ali can carry on with his rantings about crusades and violence if the Bersih rally proceed.What he doesn’t realised is he is actually a toothless barking dog.His scare tactics and the Home Minister,PDRM and GOM sitting on their hands clearly proves it.It is staged so that the Home Minister can have an excuse to have the rally cancelled.

Malaysians are more politically matured than the ruling elites think.They have come a long way since May 13, 1969.It is no longer a secret that May 13 is a plan hatched by Tun Razak and Datuk Harun.The Malays know that they have been taken for a ride by Umno for being blamed for the riots.The Malays today are different than the Malays of yesteryears.The Malays today are better educated and cannot be easily manipulated.They are saying to Umnoputras try to fool me twice and I will smack you in front of your spouses.

6. #6 by Mike Tee on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 12:58 am

One thing is true, the more UNMO trying to stop Bersih demo the more nervous they are.

7. #7 by trublumsian on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 6:19 am

umno fears a successful bersih rally will precursor some ground-shaking, like what’s happening in the middle east. be afraid, umno, be very afraid. wooo~~

8. #8 by trublumsian on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 6:25 am

does anyone else think fatso ali resemble a bulldog, what with his droopy cheeks and flabby chin?

9. #9 by Winston on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 7:10 am

Uncle Lim, these loud mouths are in fact doing the PR a favour.
    A very big favour!
    They manage to galvanise the minority races to dump the BN.
    They also manage to make many moderate, right-thinking Malays dump UMNO.
    So, it’s in fact a blessing in disguise!
    They make the job of reaching Putrajaya so much easier for the PR!!

10. #10 by Comrade on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 9:41 am

A better Malaysia is what the people crave
    These loud mouths are against 1Malaysia
    Umno is in fact digging its own grave
    Making it easier for PR to reach Putrajaya

11. #11 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 10:03 am

Indeed, that fatty sucker acts like boar rampages wildly & cries blatantly for preserving his Rights to suck, and cheat perpetually because he thought that our nation owns him much for his entire life and generations…
    Does he know that the world has changed? Without capabilities and competences, one will be legitimately disqualified without any privileges and entitlements in order to keep our nation at par with the entire world and stride forward competitively.
    Even conscientious investors know where to put their money in a nation that is fair to its citizens irrespective of races. A nation that has fair and sound judiciary system and competent Executive Parliamentary body and so forth will be favorable for investments. Our current FDI is only around 3% and ranked 5 among those ASEAN nations. Shame on you for your persistent Rights to everything!
    Fat sucker, if you persistently insist your privilege and entitlement Rights to everything just because you’re Bumi, Ketuan or whatever. By 2020, all the sucking Minister families and suckers will be migrating to overseas and leaving behind those deprived Rakyat to suck Ubi-kayu for survivals…
    Sucky and fatty boar, stop hoaxing around and threatening other races violently and mercilessly…

12. #12 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 10:08 am

YB, please keep this for the coming General election ceramah.

13. #13 by sotong on Thursday, 23 June 2011 - 1:52 pm

One must not response to threat….now anyone who could march, must march to send a clear message to these low life thugs!