Perkasa, have your demo before or after 9 July — not on the same day!

Aliran Online
June 19, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

JUNE 19 — The scheduled Walk for Democracy organised by Bersih 2.0 — the election watch dog comprising 62 NGOs — on 9 July 2011 is in keeping with the democratic tradition to highlight issues of concern. This democratic process is intended to draw the attention of the government to grievances that greatly bother the citizens of a country so that their grievances can be addressed. Their call is to conduct free and fair elections, which will legitimise election results and make them acceptable to all contestants.

Bersih had organised a similar gathering on 10 November 2007, which attracted close to 50000 participants in a peaceful attempt to demand ‘free and fair’ elections. One cannot help but be impressed by the disciplined and responsible conduct of the protesters then. They even cleared and cleaned the streets of all rubbish that littered the streets. They had traffic marshals to manage the crowd. They were that responsible.

Now, this proposed protest on 9 July can be expected to be orderly, disciplined and responsible. The protesters will be there representing a cause that would strengthen our democracy and make our elections meaningful. There is no reason for them to do anything stupid to jeopardise their cause by resorting to the ways of hooligans and hoodlums.

They would want to convince the authorities that peaceful gatherings are possible to drive home a message in a democratic manner. They would also want to safeguard their right to similar protests in the future — when necessary — by ensuring that no untoward incidents take place that would jeopardise their democratic space in the future.

Bersih 2.0 is headed by a reputable and admirable person with an impeccable character in the form of Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan, a former president of the Malaysian Bar Council and recipient of the International Women of Courage Award. Those associated with the Bersih 2.0 initiative are individuals of integrity who are determined to make this peaceful protest a meaningful act of democracy.

Aliran is very confident that the rally on 9 July will be a showcase of democracy that will demonstrate to the world that when gatherings such as this are organised by responsible, committed people for the good of the country, they can be peaceful, orderly and exemplary.

This is why it is difficult to understand why Perkasa is hell-bent on causing chaos and creating a ruckus by deliberately threatening to organise its counter demonstration in confrontation with Bersih 2.0 on the same day. Their intention is to wreck Bersih’s peaceful gathering and to create a situation of unrest and agitation. Their declared intention threatens the peace and security of the nation.

It is their political ruse to force the police to stop the Bersih 2.0 demonstration, which promises to bring in crowds never seen in the streets of Kuala Lumpur. It is their ploy not to allow this demonstration, which will show how widespread is the dissatisfaction of the people with the Election Commission, to take place.

Ibrahim Ali has declared, “If they go ahead with this demonstration, Perkasa has made a decision, and as its president, I will fight to the end. That means on that day, there will be a confrontation.” These are words of a trouble-maker and a rabble-rouser. He is no democrat and he has no respect for the rights of others. His mission is to stop the democratic exercise of those who believe in the rule of law. He is prepared to descend into lawlessness to create mischief and anarchy.

Aliran calls upon him to abandon his foolhardy action and behave responsibly in the interest of the nation. He should have his demonstration on a separate date if the intention is to show that he has a bigger drawing power to attract a greater crowd than what Bersih is capable of. Have your day on the street before or after the Bersih event — but not on the same day. We would even urge the police to give Perkasa their democratic space to gather and protest.

According to the Nobel laureate, Amartya Sen: “The heart of democracy beats only with the participation of all citizens in exercising their right — first for inclusion in the political agenda issues of concern to them and second in the process.”

As pointed out by him, democracy becomes dysfunctional when the rule of law is undermined.

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 8:01 pm

Don’t know why Aliran is wasting time making such a call. Perkasa’s resolve is to have it on 9th July. That’s the best bet that Ambiga/Bersih to back down and call off. That this may happen (Bersih 2.0) calling off (last minute) is not to be entirely discounted – unless Ambiga/Opposition wants to risk smelling the smoke from the smoking gun that YB LKS speaks of in the earlier thread. Its now a situation of a face-off – of who will blink first.

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 8:18 pm

In first ‘BERSIH” walk..it was non stop thunderstorm…yet walkers keep walking.
    9th July…I will walk again and love to see Najib’s Donkey Kong perform his side shows.
    Hollow words spoken against Christains for no reasons…except to provoke and creating fear.
    Now…to “BERSIH” walkers?
    Nazri said everyone is entitled to freedom of speeches…as an excuse not to demand a trouble maker to be arrested.
    Yet…Teresa Kok…got arrested for speaking out her mind.
    We will walk and sing to make Najib’s Donkey Kong mad.
    Anwar spoke to Malay youths…on consciousness of Malaysian youths…advising all to vote truthfully for country and people.
    Hishammuddin spoke..kissing a kris ……demanding blood from traitors.
    Donkey Kong may take sick leave on 9th July…or face another stroke….yelling like a mad man….just to please Najib.
    Can you get a better idiot than him?

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 8:20 pm

Bersih took the initiative for July 9.

Aliran is right: Perkasa and UMNO Youth have the right to rally too and march all the way to heaven or hell as they may choose….but on a different day. To choose Jul.9 is an act of intimidation which may well turn out to be provocative on the day itself i.e. jul 9.

To dispel the notion that UMNO Youth and Perkasa are spoiling for a fight, they should stage their rally on another day. That is ok, just make it peaceful. they can shout themselves hoarse if they wish but then there will be no possibility of any altercation.

So Aliran is right. Hishammuddin should grant all parties their permits …but for different days.

4. #4 by ktteokt on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 8:40 pm

What the hell is PERKASA marching against? Against clean elections? Then it should change its name to KOTOR!

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 8:41 pm

The suggestion implies Perkasa is actually based on some sort of truth or reason. Its not. They are interested in winning and power – by any means, legal or illegal, amoral or immoral, disgusting or not. Reason and truth is mere convenience or inconvenience.

Perkasa is raw and disgusting sin against human society. The very breakdown of civilisation itself. Its literally the behaviour of cannibals, homo-sapiens were wraped in loin-clothes, lived in caves and tribes would plunder and kill each other as a natural course of making a living.

Reason and truth? Forget it. You deal with Perkasa like you deal with an animal, a cannibal

6. #6 by yhsiew on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 8:52 pm

One should not rule out

Perkasa = Umno
    Umno = Perkasa

It is said that some 80% of Perkasa members are from Umno. That is why Perkasa is so keen in going against Bersih 2.0.

7. #7 by hallo on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 8:54 pm

Be brave Bersih Justic supporters

In those year 1969, there was nothing about the internet, chat, social networks, and internet call

See what happen in the middle east because of all internet there were demand of CHANGE

Be brave Bersih justice supporters

Today is different from 1969

Today is the world of information age

Be brave, your voice would be heard all over the world in today information age

The middle east dare to CHANGE

Don’t let your next generation your children DOWN

Like 9 July be written

Because of you, the brave BERSIH supporters

Your voice is written in the history

Because of your BRAVE (BERSIH justice supporters)

Malaysia history CHANGE

8. #8 by hallo on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 9:00 pm

The middle east dare to CHANGE

so do you the BERSIH supporters

Don’t let your next generation your children DOWN

Let 9 July be written

Because of you, the brave BERSIH supporters

Your voice is written in the history

Because of your BRAVE (BERSIH justice supporters)

Malaysia history CHANGE because of you

9 July will be a day of history of CHANGE

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 9:05 pm

Read latest in TheMalaysianInsider on “Ibrahim raises spectre of May 13 at anti-Bersih rally launch by Yow Hong Chieh June 19, 2011. He just up the ante, called himself a “war general” alluding to Ambiga as “dangerous Hindu woman” possibly working for foreign powers seeking an excuse to interfere in Malaysia’s internal affairs.

I have never heard such blatant racial baiting in public discourse as this one. The issue is not what he said – but the fact that he could dare say it publicly without anticipating official reprisals. Thats what is scary because if the anticipation is correct it does raise the Question of what the powers-that-be would be prepared to do if Bersig 2.0 proceeds. The other question is how can Civil society, Opposition & all Malaysians aspiring for free and clean elections back down on the 9th July March in the face of such incendiary threats? It does not look good either way whether the Democracy Walk proceeds as planned or cancels. It looks like we’re heading towards a dangerous face-off.

10. #10 by hallo on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 9:11 pm

1969 was different condition, many malaysian was low educated even cant read

1969 Malaysia was not depend on foreign investors, no internet, china and india were weak

Today is different, Malaysia very much depend foreign investors, china and india are strong in economic, army

Today internet information age, information can spread in few seconds around the world channel

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 9:18 pm

///Imagine if chaos erupts If the Bersih rally is not cancelled I believe the Chinese community will have to stock up on food./// – IA

Am I to understand that the other races don’t have to stock up food? Why specifically link Bersih 2.0 march to Chinese in particular as bogeyman when it is PAS that promised to bring 300,000 protesters?? Because Lin Yu-
    tang characterized Chinese culinary predilection to a ‘bottomless pit’??

12. #12 by Winston on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 10:30 pm

Bersih should go on with the rally.
    Why should good, law abiding citizens be bullied by such morons?
    Where is the law then?
    Where is justice?
    When criminals can cow good, law abiding citizens!!
    Don’t forget that unlike May 13, the Malays of today have a different mentality.
    And the ghost of May 13 had been laid to rest!
    Long ago!!
    Why should anyone try to resurrect it to act as a bogeyman, again?

13. #13 by drngsc on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 10:32 pm

Unfortunately, you cannot reason with gangsters. Their aim is not honourable. It is just to cause trouble. If the powers that be will not control them, how can we? What to do? This is the state of our country at present.
    If words uttered by IA ( if reported correctly ), is certainly seditious, and meant to incite civil unrest. Yet the Police will stand idle. What to do? They will catch people holding a peaceful candle vigil and not act again someone openly threatening the whole country, publicly. This is UMNO in panic. This is the government in panic.
    This is a failed state.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 10:59 pm

I Bra Him acted like a racist minister, more powerful than NR n HH, untouchable, still same old May 13 stuff, wonder got advice fr d ultraracist Indian turned Malay
    He had his finest hour while NR n RM entertained their good fren fr Zimbabwe
    Both Perkosa n UmnoB Youth r copycats, imitating Bersih
    Polis seem 2 make things ezi 4 Perkosa, permit 4 rally @ Kelab SS given pronto

15. #15 by hallo on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 11:05 pm

None of it’s matter now

We must keep forward, keep fighting the injustice

There is how we give the brighter future to our children the next generation – BERSIH

and there is how we keep the honor of JUSTICE, FAIRNESS

even a grand will stand up to rally and did what needed to be done for brighter future Malaysia

Discard any doubt, be brave

Work hard, work as a team and we will prevail

Let’s the date of 9 July 2011 a day be remembered of CHANGE in the Malaysian History

BERSIH

16. #16 by boh-liao on Sunday, 19 June 2011 - 11:46 pm

Again, so obviously, we C 1 special rule 4 Perkosa/UmnoB/BN n 1 tough rule 4 others
    No chance 4 rakyat, d real bosses, 2 express their wishes
    Y r Perkosa/UmnoB/BN so scared of peaceful rally or walk by rakyat?
    Let our people walk peacefully 4 Democracy n it will b over quickly; what’s wrong with it?
    Y must minister, polis, Perkosa, UmnoB/BN stop a peaceful walk under democracy?

17. #17 by rockdaboat on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 12:02 am

An expired katak craving for some cheap publicity!

18. #18 by dagen on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 12:09 am

Perkasa, jangan tiru pakatan!

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 12:12 am

In response to IA’s personal attacks (that she’s a dangerous hindu woman possibly working with foreign powers (Jews) to interfere in Malaysian domestic affairs, Ambiga has given an appropriate response – that its not about her personally, that the decision to have Bersih 2.0 march was made by Bersih’s steering committee of 14 representing some 60 NGOs and political parties. She also said (correctly), “Our aim is noble, our cause is just, our method is peace. If there is any violence on that day it will not be from us.” Appropriately she also ticked off Anwar for saying that he would tell Ambiga to call off the July 9 rally if PM could assure tomorrow that elections would be free and fair. Ambiga said, “it is not up to him to decide. We have decided to hold the rally and it is we who will decide on whether or not to hold it”. She is right. How could Anwar not realise that UMNO’s media already accused Bersih of being serving Anwar’s/Pakatan’s bid to spark Middle East style street protests, and that he’s fitting that bill to talk like that! Are Bersih’s protesters going to wear yellow shirts again like the last time? IF so will Perkasa choose red?

20. #20 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 12:33 am

about Najib’s son in law. who wanted back door into the university.

Borat’s that! Kazakh big sues in Ivy snub

BY JOSE MARTINEZ DAILY NEWS STAFF WRITER

Wednesday, August 1st 2007, 4:00 AM

A Long Island company is being sued because it did not make benefit glorious nation of Kazakhstan.

IvySuccess of Garden City allegedly collected $200,000 from a relative of Kazakhstan President Nursultan Nazarbayev for a course aimed at getting him into an Ivy League school – and then dumped him as a client.

Daniyar Nazarbayev, who was educated in Kazakhstan, said in his suit IvySuccess dismissed him after one session because, the firm said, he was not “Ivy League material.”

Nazarbayev eventually was accepted into Columbia University, where he will start next fall – no thanks to the “admissions strategists” at IvySuccess, according to the suit, filed Monday in Manhattan Supreme Court.

“He’s a very smart and likable kid who got into Columbia on his own,” said Sam Israel, the student’s lawyer.

Neither Israel nor court papers specified Nazarbayev’s exact relation to the strongman leader of the country lampooned in “Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan.”

After only one meeting, IvySuccess owner Robert Shaw allegedly told an “incredulous” family representative that Nazarbayev had no shot at cracking the Ivies.

Shaw did not respond to phone calls.

With Kerry Burke and Richard Weir

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/2007/08/01/2007-08-01_borats_that_kazakh_big_sues_in_ivy_snub-1.html#ixzz1PjxAsNL4

21. #21 by novice101 on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 3:24 am

Ibrahim Ali here is a Chinese proverb for you…. you have ‘use a piece of bamboo to sweep a beach full of people’ (the Chinese People).

Now you reveal your true self. You hold a grudge against all Chinese people. You dump all the Chinese people as supporters of the opposition even though they may have been just supporters of Bersih. Many of these people subscribe to the principle of a fair election. You threaten the Chinese with another May 13. You think you can intimidate the Chinese?

The majority of the Malays also have much to lose if another May 13 were to happen. Do you think they want your type of jingoism? You are prepare to destroy the nation for the sake of being seen a ‘hero’, Malaysia doesn’t need enemies when it has people like you.

It defies all logic why Najib and his colleagues (including those from the MCA, MIC and Gerakan) allow to to bark away? This is doing a great disservice to the nation and they are not fit to be our leaders.

22. #22 by hang tuah on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 4:07 am

kit, u should ask the gomen to issue a statement to the PRC Government to evacuate all the mainland chinese from malaysia before 09 july 2011. thiss is urgent to avoid any unwarranted killing of innocent mainland chinese who got nothing to do with malaysia politics.

ibrahim ali has issued an ultimatum ” pembunuhan beramai ramai kaum cina ” and he will not be responsible on the consequences.

this is urgent.

23. #23 by bruno on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 6:31 am

Perkasa and Abrahim Ali is a barking dog.It is the hidden hands behind this clown you guys have to be careful about.

24. #24 by rockdaboat on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 6:45 pm

Likewise, we also warn Ibrahim Katak – ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN, better stock up more food!