Yen Yen claims Facebook pages free, contradicts reply in Parliament

By Shannon Teoh
June 15, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, June 15 — With Barisan Nasional (BN) and Pakatan Rakyat (PR) both demanding an explanation for the tourism ministry’s RM1.8 million Facebook campaign, Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen denied any wrongdoing today and accused DAP of twisting the truth.

“The opposition just goes around saying it’s for Facebook. They are twisting the issue.

“The Facebook pages do not cost a single sen. This is a social media advertising, promotions and branding campaign and also data collection,” the MCA vice president told reporters today.

However, her contention that the Facebook pages were free appeared to contradict her ministry’s detailed account of the cost for each page.

Yesterday, Deputy Tourism Minister James Dawos Mamit had replied in Parliament to Anthony Loke (DAP-Rasah) that each Facebook page had cost RM293,072.

Dr Ng also added today that the RM1.8 million would cover the cost of six different campaigns across seven months and includes the cost of contests and advertising on Google and Facebook.

“It is important for us to reach the high-spending market.

‘‘We use Facebook as the vehicle because you can run campaigns there. Twitter is not visual,” she explained.

DAP Youth chief Loke had said that unless Ng explained the reason behind the “exorbitant” costs for the “social media branding” exercise by her ministry, he will lodge a report with the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).

Citrawarna 1 Malaysia, the most popular page, has so far attracted 20,292 Facebook fans since it was launched on May 21.

The ministry had said that the RM1.8 million included costs for designing, flash programming and coding, testing and debugging, uploading and launching the application, system server deployment and campaign management.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 11:04 am

This woman and her ministry keeps twisting and turning and contradicting. This is not the first time they have done so.

Something is very, very fishy at that ministry. They are spending, spending big money for a lot of nonsense, a lot of hazy, crazy thing.

What tangible returns have they generated?

2. #2 by monsterball on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 11:09 am

There are signs….this blog is under attack..with warning notice..it will shut off in an hour.

3. #3 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 11:59 am

Let me YEN your daughters without paying RM1.8millions for that crappy and shitty Facebook Pages, RM$300,000 for that shitty Flash game that was copied and derived from past popular Russian game, Tetris! The shitty flash game is so simple that only a few rectangular blocks appearing, falling and aligning straight themselves!

Papa-topper and sucker yet bragged about more to be and should be spent without enough funding… Look like you are planing to purchase more houses in Australia with Rakyat money!!!! Papa-topper and sucker!

4. #4 by Godfather on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 12:39 pm

Of course she has to twist and turn and shout – Impact Creations is owned by her bosom buddy June Ewe, a long time Wanita MCA activist. They all still think that we are stupid and ill-informed.

5. #5 by Tikus Belanda on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 12:54 pm

“You have taken words out of context”

“I didn’t say that, my deputy did. That statement is his own opinion & not mine”

“Impact Creations is owned by my friend, which is why we selected them. Better to have the work done by friends than by strangers”

6. #6 by Godfather on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 1:05 pm

the next big project by Barisan is to sell bottled and purified air. They will tell you that the air is free, but the bottle and the labelling is not free.

7. #7 by cemerlang on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 1:21 pm

1.8 million ringgit can be used to pay for all the courses. Instead of saying no money. Say instead. Money gone to other more important stuff. Or personal stuff to be more honest.

8. #8 by dagen on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 1:54 pm

I am too confused by what is happening. Yen2 is so complicated. 1.8m. Not 1.8m. Free.Not free. She said so. She did not say so.

I give up. Just kick umno out.

9. #9 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 4:01 pm

DPM Muhyiddin, aiya, just kick Yen Yen out now before u lose the next GE.

After all Yen Yen is not respected even if she is Wanita Chief MCA. Who is she? She will lose in any election in any kampung or bandar. Take my word. She will lose. the writing is on the wall….unless, of course, u are BUTA.

10. #10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 4:05 pm

Yen Yen buat UMNO malu sahaja.
    Orang yang kurang responsible, tidak berhak bertanding.
    She should not be in the Cabinet juga.
    Buat Cabinet malu sahaja.
    Najib diam saje, so Muhyiddin, u take initiatif sackkan Yen.

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 4:07 pm

Ng Round Round ( in Mandarin, the word ‘yen’ means round ) replies to questions in Parliament in circle like her name. She’s been caught lying many times before. People who answers straight questions by replying in roundabout fashion are aplenty in UNMO/BN. They don’t blush when they lie like their mentor and grand master, ma ma tir. Congratulations Ng Round Round. You have mastered the art of ‘no feeling’ (nunbness) on your sweet but thick-skinned face when you tell lies.

12. #12 by cemerlang on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 4:16 pm

She is not confusing. She just wants the support and she would do anything and everything including stooping ever so low to get your support. With support, comes power. With power, you can be anything.

13. #13 by PoliticoKat on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 7:44 pm

Money money money.
    Much like Rais Yatim. One moment say he spent RM100 million (half of the budget) on a 1 day event, later he back tracks and say RM100 thousand was spent on that event, however RM100 million is already gone.

So Yen yen. RM1.8 million on face book page, now free. But I am sure her books will say Rm1.8 million has already been spent.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 8:17 pm

Come on, Yen Yen, there is no free lunch in this world?

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 8:30 pm

Seriously she is making herself, women, Chinese, doctors, MCA, BN, Malaysian and Australia/Australia education in general all look really really pathetic..

16. #16 by Jong on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 11:09 pm

Whaaaa, watched her over national tv, body language and that smirk look of hers, manyak condescending betina ni!

17. #17 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 7:38 am

I am only surprised by the amount involved, not at her unprepared reaction or answer to the august house. This basically reflects the kindof society we are living in over the past 30 years. She was caught off-guard for sure but why? I wouldn’t be surprised this is for her Assistant’s share but he too was caught unable to explain the rationale of that sum. They have been paying every item at many folds the cost of the market place. What is offered freely in the market, thay are also paying but into whose pocket?
    Let’s see how CSL will defend her? I was just wondering as to why she got involved only with 1.8 m when her past masters always played in Bs!

18. #18 by Taxidriver on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 11:34 am

/Let’s see how CLS will defend her?/-waterfrontcoolie

You joking or what? That is never ever going to happen. Ng Yen Yen is so scared of Chua Soi Lek !!!!!!!

19. #19 by rockdaboat on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 1:56 pm

Either someone has been taken for a ride or has interests in the company awarded the contract.

MACC is so quick to investigate PAKATAN when the sum involved was only a few thousand rigit. Hey, MACC why are you keeping quiet now?