DAP says nude squat case ‘humiliating’, demands Home Ministry response

By Shazwan Mustafa Kamal
June 14, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, June 14 — The DAP has demanded that the Home Ministry respond to reports that two Singaporean women were handcuffed and made to do squats naked by Malaysian immigration officials.

Ipoh Barat MP M Kulasegaran said that the act was “humiliating” and “ridiculous,” while Bakri MP Er Teck Hwa said the incident would give other countries the perception that Malaysia was a “lawless” country.

“You cannot do this, why subject these women to this form of interrogation, it is humiliating,” Kulasegaran told The Malaysian Insider.

Batu Gajah MP Fong Po Kuan had brought the matter up earlier to deputy home minister Datuk Abu Seman Yusop, but Abu Seman had declined to offer a response as Fong’s question was not included in the list during question time.

“I tried to bring it up, but the deputy minister did not answer [my question],” Fong told The Malaysian Insider.

“People won’t want to come to our country anymore if this kind of practice occurs … this will affect the country’s image as a tourist destination.

“The Home Ministry must give a response, they must investigate what happened,” Er added.

Two Singaporean women who drove to Johor Baru for supper were questioned by Malaysian immigration officials, handcuffed, thrown behind bars and made to do squats while naked, the Singapore Straits Times reported today.

The two women said they had driven into Johor Baru without getting their passports stamped, through an unmanned immigration lane.

Following their punishment, they were allowed to return to Singapore after 48 hours with a warning.

Now back in Singapore, both women say they will never go back to Malaysia.

1. #1 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 3:23 pm

Bunch of suckers wanted to show to the entire world that their Ubi-Kayu is bigger than anything else. Even Obama needs to kowtow to them humbly….

Excellent job for promoting our Bolehland is “Truly Asia…” By 2020, we will need to suck Ubi-Kayu at meeting our Developed Nation! It is truly developed as shown by those suckers… Keep up, Malaysia Boleh!

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 3:30 pm

This coming after the recent ‘branding’ of GROs in Penang.

What has our men in uniform turned into? A bunch of sadists? Bullies? Is this part of our culture?

Did they just attend the BTN course? Is this part of their training syllabus?

The current administration is swiftly turning the country into a mentally sick state by their actions and inactions.

‘Truly Asia’ we are not. Asia disown us. We are sick.

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 3:32 pm

Why they don’t do it – this nude Ketuk ketampi – to men detainees? Only women? Whats the psycholgy – is it to humiliate by stripping away their dignity, since a woman squatting (with legs spread) nude is symbol of sexual receptivity or a pose of giving birth due to that receptivity or what? Why are the women groups slow in raising their voices on this

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 3:41 pm

It is totally in compliance with the 1Malaysia concept, the Rukun Negara, the Transformation Plan, the KPIs, MAMPU, the Iskandar Region Plan and so forth.

Besides, it fully complies with the Customs Department Clients Charter:

BERLUNASKAN UNDANG-UNDANG
    TEPAT DALAM MEMBUAT KEPUTUSAN
    MENEPATI MASA YANG DIJANJIKAN
    LAYANAN MESRA DAN ADIL

It is also terbilang, cemerlang and gembilang.

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 4:01 pm

The official exuse is always nude squat will ensure that female detainees didn’t hide any drugs, weapons or other contraband items…What a load of BS and perverse imputation that the female genital orifice has space capacity of a handbag! Its also nonsense because if there were any small items they won’t fall out due to muscular control. These people just want to humiliate. There’s nothing a normal strip search with gloves won’t uncover.

6. #6 by HOHOHO on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 4:15 pm

1 najis malusia is full of PORN now….with B-eNd racist leaders promote this type of sickness to their own goons!!!!! PUKE!!!

7. #7 by wanderer on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 4:38 pm

Those Malaysian immigration officials responsibled for this diststeful behavior were rediculous and uncltured…typical mentality of kampong di*kheads. What will happen if Singapore immigration officials did likewise to our girls…(deleted) perkasa boss will be screaming for war. Obviously, this scenerio will not happen, Singapore has better class and higher educated immigration officers…they are not products of the belakan mati like ours!!!

8. #8 by Ray on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 4:38 pm

Digusting Global Proclaimation!!….Damn sickening to see why Malaysia a rich natural resources nation becoming so LAWLESSNESS
    BTW we all knew 1 malaysia Umno masters daily practise Lawless politics ,and also sucked and corrupted to the core..so are their servants .
    Loss of moral principles….No medicine can cure their diseases….only when they are at friday prayers times when asking for forgiveness of sins done weekly.
    >>All Religious acts of doing good IS NOT what yr Allah want you to express…rather you needs Innermost Transformation>>otherwise yr life pursue is in vain…all yr education, morale lessons are meaningless…..vainities of vanity.
    All civil servant frustrated with low pays, and dislikes all these routing boring jobs except money bribing illegally thro dirty tactics(unmaned booth,cheating import duties etc ).

9. #9 by robtang on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 5:09 pm

From anecdotal accounts of people travelling driving from Singapore to JB, it appeared that there were more than just a few instances when the entry points were left unmanned.

Last year, I had personally encountered such a situation. I was with a friend who was holding a foreign passport. We waited in my car at an entry point with a green light on for 10 minutes but there was no one manning the post. So I thought the immigration post was further up and I passed through the “touch and go” gate and drove on to look for a post. When we were nearly out of the immigration compound, I realised something was wrong, stopped the car, reversed and parked it at a safe spot and asked my friend to walk back to the nearest office to have his passport stamped. My friend would have entered the country illegally had I driven another 30 feet out of the immigration compound. That was close!

If we were criminals, intending to smuggle goods or humans or dangerous weapons into Malaysia, we would have achieved our plan. This is more than an issue of the nude squat. It is a national security issue.

One cannot rule out the possibility that some immigration officers may have deliberately left the entry points unmanned so that they can put visitors who unwittingly enter the country illegally on spot and seek to collect bribes. If this is case, they are playing a very dangerous game by putting the security of the country at risk.

10. #10 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 5:13 pm

That’s the only way they know how to show their ketuanan crap. It is not the superiority that they are showing but their stupidity.

The superiority concept they know are by being a bully, a pervert, corrupt and thisismylandandnotyourland bull crap.

11. #11 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 5:45 pm

Hishamuddin needs to come out with a explanation for this and what action is taken. In a civilised society, such bullying perverts, if true, must be properly punished to ensure it never happens again.

Compare this with a minor incident that happened to me on the other side of the Causeway when a Singapore Immigration officer made a mistake and delayed my entry. I made a complaint to the HQ and the officer responsible was immediately warned and reprimanded and I received a letter of apology promising that this will never be repeated. And it never was.

Coming on the heels of the massive fiasco of the biometric implementation, it really speaks volumes of the capability (or the lack of it) of the bunch of people heading the Immigration Dept. The recent biometric mess created traffic jams stretching as long as 7 hours for traffic trying to enter JB from Singapore. And all our Home Minister can say was he was receiving “daily reports”. We are more interested in what you are doing with the daily reports. Sitting on them? Or are your officers telling you the truth what is happening on the ground? And did you send anyone to verify the truth? Or are you practising your trademark style of believeing only what you want to hear just as in the cow head incident and the Utusan lies of the Christian takeover of religion and PM?

Hisham, the mess is still there and not the “minor hiccups” as you want us to believe. Two days ago, it still took 4 hours to enter JB. I cannot for the life of me understand how your officers can choose a peak school holiday season to try out a new system. Besides, Singapore already tried this fingerprinting during the Mas Selamat case and drop them after all the problems it created. Singapore is only 10min across the Causeway and all your officers had to do was to go talk to them about the problems they had before implementing this system and learned from their mistakes. Is this another case of “bodoh sombong”?

And when your officers flipped flopped after the massive negative publicity and stopped the implementation unannounced, worried motorist were sarcastically told off by your officers when they enquired if they still need to be fingerprinted. An officer replied “you like to be stuck for 30mins?…” to a Singaporean who asked if they still need to go through the fingerprinting. It is natural they asked because they have heard of the uncivilised manner Malaysian Immigration officers treat any transgression of immigration rules or laws just as in this latest nude squat incident.

Hisham, there are a lot of angry JB residents who uses the Causeway daily. Just ask any tradespeople. They have reported a serious drop in business since this biometric fiasco began. And do not accuse the non Malays of being angry at BN. You are the cause.

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 7:03 pm

Can another sensational ‘sex-video tape’ be just around the corner to be uploaded on YouTube soon?

Those immigration officers who deserted their posts and went AWOL should be hung to dry.

13. #13 by dagen on Wednesday, 15 June 2011 - 9:11 am

Still doing it, umno? Still at it? When will you ever learn, umno? I mean, will you ever learn? Do you want to learn?

Ni memang dah melampau.

There must be a recording on this, going by umno’s perverse mentality. Those umno civil servants obviously decided to abuse their position to punish the two women with nude squats and believe me some of them would record the whole incident. And sooner or later the recording will appear in the WWW.

Hapuskan umno.

14. #14 by Tikus Belanda on Wednesday, 15 June 2011 - 11:19 am

This piece of news is not found in any main stream newspapers in Malaysia. One does not need to wonder why.

15. #15 by FairJustRight on Thursday, 16 June 2011 - 8:50 am

We heards lot of terrors while in police/ ISA/immigration/customs/ MACC custodies of late.
    Seems like more talks to change the SOP but no action & yet, another terror just days ago.