Using history to make us intelligent, not stupid

By AB Sulaiman | May 30, 11

Some years ago, a concerned parent and friend drew my attention to the peculiar case of the current History textbooks for Forms 4 and 5 students. He hinted that apparently they were decked with omissions, errors, half-truths, an exaggerated role of the Malay ethnic group, and minimising or omitting altogether the considerable contribution of non-Malay individuals.

The texts furthermore exaggerated the role and influence of Islam toward the development of human civilisation and the country. His daughter had found the subject unbelievable, bordering on the ridiculous, and also very boring, but had studied on because she had to.

Immediately after this awareness, I got hold of the books and read them. True enough, their contents were far and away from the history that I learnt during my school days. They contained even lies to which a non-academic and non-historian like me could detect. For example, it claimed that Parameswara died as a Muslim, while my recollection stated he died a Hindu.

I felt concerned over this revelation. For it is obvious that the mixture of lies, omissions, half-truths, errors and hyperbolical narration about race and religion had two features. One, it’s the deliberate departure from truth (otherwise known as intellectual dishonesty); and two, the numerous amounts of prejudice, emotion, sentiment and blind religion to fill in the gap. Put together, I am certain they’d not nurture intellectual honesty, but instead produce a lot of prejudice, value judgments, and more lies and deceit.

I can say with confidence that a mind built on lies, suppositions and half-truths would indeed yield imprecise and subjective prejudices and value judgments, but seldom, if ever, the truth. Such thinking just does not grow healthily or go far.

Looking for lies

Let me quote an example of two people who thrive on half-truths and deceit.

One is Ibrahim Ali, the Perkasa president. He has been calling for a ‘perang sabil’ or crusade against the non-Muslims, a statement that would normally be deemed highly seditious by the government. But he was ‘untouched’, he got away with it. Why was he ‘untouchable’? His answer as oh, no, it’s not him who’s untouchable, it’s Anwar Ibrahim.

I don’t quite know how the logic works, but my simple mind says it’s utterly flawed.

Second is Gagasan Anti-Penyelewengan Selangor (GAPS) president Hamidzun Khairudin, who claimed a few days back (Malaysiakini May 28) that ‘the federal constitution only states that the Malays and bumiputera have the right to receive a scholarship’.

In this case, he is still on the opportunistic assumption that Article 153 of the Constitution quoting the ‘special position’ means ‘special right’ of the Malays. Law expert Abdul Aziz Bari whacked Hamidzun well and good. If the latter has any sense at all, he should delete this issue from his mind.

My concern multiplied when bearing in mind the government’s intention to make history a compulsory subject in schools as already declared by the Education Minister Muhyiddin Yasin. I have been saying to myself this could be another rather sad expression of twisted Malay nationalism, so frequent they are these days.

Is it wise for our leaders to teach intellectual dishonesty to our young?

I do not think so. I am a believer that we should educate our young with the best weapon of survival in this highly competitive post-modern era, and that is to enable and equip them with clear, logical and critical thinking.

The young should be taught to be able to intellectualise, to be able to deduce and induce and come to solid conclusions. In this way they’d make good decisions and the best way to start is to teach them to be intellectually honest.

Raising the alarm

Some members of the public like Dr Ranjit Singh Malhi have raised the alarm and alerted the public of this sorry situation. Some other members of the public like Dr Ramlah Adam, however, had defended this government policy stating that teaching History in this way is something ‘positive’.

Then early last month, a group of citizens and NGOs met when several eminent personalities relating to this issue. All of them were echoing the same thing that had caused my initial concern. All of them were confirming with facts, figures, names and dates where current history texts were pregnant with lies, omissions, half-truths and of hyperbolic and exaggerated roles played by race and religion.

Truly this cannot go on for everybody will be the loser in the long term. It is not good for the mental health and well-being of the student and by extension the future of the country. Which individual, community or country progressed and prospered on deceits, lies and half-truths?

So the group felt it had to do something. It has established a people’s movement to inform the government of this chronic, unhealthy, unsavoury situation. This movement is known as Kempen Sejarah Malaysia Sebenar (SMS). It has set up a committee and, in fact, has initiated a signature campaign, noting that several thousand of such signatures have already been collected with more coming in.

They are now devising other courses of action, including perhaps influencing the government to be aware of the silliness of this case and hopefully to agree for a complete revision.

If possible, the SMS would also help re-write Malaysian history to be more reflective of the facts and truth, i.e. more aligned with the facts and evidence, so as to become closer to intellectual honesty, accuracy and integrity.

Perhaps Malaysiakini readers too should keep your eyes and ears, your mental antenna, open to the activities and programmes of SMS, and wherever possible to also lend support. That would be great and goes far in realising the 1Malaysia spirit.

As for me, I support this movement and am happy to be closely associated with it.

My reason for lending support is simple enough, and I quote a wisdom made by Bertrand Russell: ‘We are all born ignorant not stupid. Education makes us stupid.’

I am happy to be a part of a movement that strives to ensure our young, naturally born ignorant, are educated and become intelligent, not stupid.

—-
AB SULAIMAN is an observer of human traits and foibles, especially within the context of religion and culture. As a liberal, he marvels at the way orthodoxy fights to maintain its credibility in a devilishly fast-changing world. He hopes to provide some understanding to the issues at hand and wherever possible, suggest some solutions. He holds a Bachelor in Social Sciences (Leicester, UK) and a Diploma in Public Administration, Universiti Malaya.

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 11:06 am

This is the Hitler way of dictating to the uninitiated and to brainwash them into some form of cohesive movement against all the so-called threats from non-Muslims. It worked in the 30s, but it won’t work now because of the internet.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 11:13 am

Parameswara has been made into a ‘national hero’ and his founding of Malacca taken as the starting point of Malay(sian) history.

But does Parameswara really exist? Some claim no, as they cannot find the grave of this man and his followers.

Others say he is really a rogue and a murderer who got into some trouble and had to flee Sumatra and then Singapura and Johor. So why is he made into a ‘hero’ and talked about with awe?

The frightening and worrying part is that our students have to study this History syllabus with all its flaws and then regurgitate it out at exams if they wish to get that A+. Any other versions will be unacceptable and marked wrong and get you a perhaps P7 or 8 if not a F9.

So History becomes Mystery.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 11:20 am

Unfortunately there are people who use history to make themselves stupid!

4. #4 by k1980 on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 11:23 am

//claimed that Parameswara died as a Muslim, while my recollection stated he died a Hindu.//

Simple one lah. Even if he is dead, just get his thumbprint onto a piece of blank paper to be filled up later and signed by JAKIM.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 11:28 am

Its not simply about dishonesty of history. You have it for history, you will have it for all other subject including science and math and every other subject. (and yes, its possible to make math and science lies – harder, but possible). It will be an education based on fantasy. Not the stuff to produce the quality manpower needed to develop the country.

What you end up with is a labour pool that is irrelevant to the marketplace, dependent on the state and a drain on the economy.

Its not simply about history, it really is about real life in the end.

6. #6 by wanderer on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 1:06 pm

How do you tell mongrels who claimed to be Bumis, a race without roots!…what is history meant to them? Scientists have discovered with evidence, there were such people as half man-ape beings…Perhaps, Malaysian history should begin from the Indo Borneo jungles and surrounding islands.

7. #7 by limkamput on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 1:14 pm

Don’t just look at history syllabus in schools. Look at all the courses taught in PLKN, BTN, Rela, Kemas, Jasa and all the PTK and confirmation exams set for civil servants. All these are concocted just like history taught in schools. I tell you, this country is far worst than what Hitler did to Germany or Marxism did to North Korea. Our only saving grace is probably due to globalisation and the fact that alternative information is now more readily available.

8. #8 by k1980 on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 1:47 pm

New history textbook will start with Chapter One:– “In the beginning God created Jib and Loh See Mah….”

9. #9 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 1:51 pm

Would it matter at all especially for students who have passed ? Students, if you have passed your exams, would you have minded if you were fed with the false, half truths and truths all lumped together ? You will still love your teachers right ? These days it is so easy to pass exams so why bother. As long as they have that piece of paper and a life, that’s all they care. Until one day they are aware that history is important. But that one day could be any day; from now to before eternity.

10. #10 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 1:54 pm

As for the civil servants, who know better about the civil service if it is not them ? Who know better about the politicians if it is not them ? Yet who pull the strings ? The unseen hands. The same hands that know everything that is going on.

11. #11 by Winston on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 3:10 pm

All these make it all the more urgent to have a complete change of guard at Putrajaya.
    Uncle Lim, make the next GE your priority to reach this objective.
    Wait no longer!

12. #12 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 5:01 pm

History should not be based on a single writer but a deluge of them. Each writer will have his opinion based on his understanding as well as his background. The reason why, English prevails as the international medium is because tons of books are written in it. Likewise, history should be viewed from different persepctives. The only reason why history is taught in this manner by MOE is because every Minister involved used education as a political tool for his own agenda. In spite of one’s distaste for so many actions and bahaviours of characters in history, there were reasons for them. But the main reason is: good men do nothing to change the situation or to oppose wrongful deeds. We can all be assured that the exercise to tell half-truths in history will not have too much impact in the 21st Century. By googling, one can find so many contradictory factors. To me, this exercise of half-truths is pure waste of my tax money. Of course, we will to pity those percentage of students who may live with these half-truths for the rest of their life. The real impact on these students will be their mind will be forever, closed to any ideas that contradict this belief! In the longer term, it will be an issue that will afflict the Malaysian society, being unable to fit into the 21st C!

13. #13 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 7:51 pm

Students, communists are bad, bad, bad people. They are enemies. We should get rid of them. Oh my God ! China is one of the world’s economic financial powerhouse. China is communist. Can you Malaysia do without China ? Why should you King and politicians visit China ?