Ethnic Indian appointed as Singapore Army Chief

By Krishna Singh
7th Rangers (Mechanized)

Singapore: The appointment of Brigadier-General Ravinder Singh, a Sikh, as the next chief of the Singapore Army is the culmination of a long tradition of the community serving in uniform, both as policemen and in the armed forces, in the city-state.

Their role in Singapore belies their small number: There are only an estimated 12,000 to 15,000 Sikhs in Singapore, a nation of five million people. Their number is small even when compared to 100,000 Sikhs living in Malaysia. Sikhs came to this part of Southeast Asia as soldiers and policemen during the British era.

Brig. Gen. Singh will replace Major-General Chan Chun Sing as army chief March 25.

Singh, 46, currently deputy secretary (technology) in the defence ministry, was previously commanding officer, 3rd Signal Battalion; commander, 2nd Singapore Infantry Brigade and assistant chief of general staff (plans); head joint communications and information systems department.

He has also held the posts of head joint plans and transformation department; commander 6th Division and chief of staff – joint staff. Singh holds a Master of Arts (Engineering Science) from the University of Oxford, Britain. He also holds a Master of Science (Management of Technology) from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, US.

He joined the Singapore Armed Forces in December 1982. Brig Gen Singh is also the first non-Chinese Chief of Army in nearly 30 years. Colonel Mancharan Singh Gill was the first ever when he took up the post in 1982, the report said.

Hat tip: Colonel Mike Nasir via e-mail. Note: This will never happen in UMNO/BN led Bolehland, as discrimination against minorities is policy.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 6:12 pm

Hello Najib,

non-Malay cannot be PM
    non-Malay cannot be DPM
    non-Malay cannot be Finance Minister
    non-malay cannot be Minister of defence
    non-malay cannot be Home Minister

Aiyah, non-malay want to be sec-gen of ministry also difficult.
    Minta to be Director-general also must beg, beg, beg.

non-malay can only be jaga pintu
    non-malay can be jaga kereta
    non-Mlay can be jaga bola Unmno.

But non-malay in singapore can be everything including chief of armed forces.

so what is the point of talent corporation?

Umno think non-malay stupid or wqhat?

And now umno say non-malay not grateful?

Grateful for what?

and umno say non-malay must vote for Bariusan Nasional.

aiyah, Umno think non-malay stupid or wqhat?

2. #2 by undertaker888 on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 7:13 pm

They all want umno Malays so that they can all makan duit kuat kuat and pray five times a day.

3. #3 by Godfather on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 7:17 pm

In Bolehland what is true is this: If anyone has a degree from Oxford and from MIT and intends on joining the civil service or the armed forces or PDRM, I think we will say that he needs to have his head examined.

Of course, a Malay with degrees from Oxford and MIT will probably get the job of GLC head here, but a non-Malay with equivalent degrees would already be operating from elsewhere like Hong Kong or Singapore.

4. #4 by hallo on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 7:24 pm

Wake up stupid selfish human

By rights, Malaysia should already declared developed country instead of developing country

Your brains is still tie up with outdated information/ideals

Time is running out expenses increased petrol reducing competitive running down

Hurry update your brains with update information/ideals

Think if an ALIEN invading earth, will you still talking racial among each others

5. #5 by ChinNA on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 7:54 pm

DPM in Singapore is an Indian.

6. #6 by ChinNA on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 7:55 pm

Oh… the President of Singapore is also an Indian too.

7. #7 by ChinNA on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 7:57 pm

A reject of Malaysia is the Minister of National Development in Singapore.

8. #8 by ChinNA on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 7:59 pm

Oh my… what is going to happen to Singapore with all people in position of influence? Should migrate to Malaysia.

9. #9 by cskok8 on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 8:13 pm

This can only happen in an advanced country. The US Army had a Chief of Staff of JAPANESE descent about 10 years ago.

10. #10 by good coolie on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 10:12 pm

What do you mean? Malaysia has a non-Malay as naval chief,
    Cmdr. Thanabalasingam – in the history book, if the history book is still unedited (putarbelited).

11. #11 by tak tahan on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 10:17 pm

In Bolehland,we used to have Kerala PM what.And some more deputies and ministers with ‘chap cheng’ descendents from Indon la Aceh la Bugis la and la la la..landers,right?”Hmm..hmmm…why complain so much?” said the highly graduated Rambutan fella.

12. #12 by Godfather on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 10:42 pm

I nominate our Sheriff Singh to be the next Chief of the One-Armed Forces.

13. #13 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 10:48 pm

I used to deal with the earlier batch of senior Malay Army officers, I must say, they were totally different but since then,…………………
    The false pride has taken over, the main reason is they think the comfort zone will stay put forever! Hence every decision is based on race; every position is thought in term of what the post can bring; not in term of responsibility or accountability! Yes, we will soon competing with Myanmar, Cambodia and Laos within the Asean group! Oh! not forgetting East Timor!

14. #14 by tak tahan on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 11:07 pm

Has anyone been there eg. Myanmar,Cambodia,East Timor?How is the living there?How’s the experience in BERSIH,monsterball?Did you get caught?Curious to know.May join too.HaHA..Who knows?

15. #15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 12:09 am

I second Sheriff Singh for Chief of Armed Forces.

Nomination closed.

So how now? As there is no other nomination, will najib appoint Sheriff singh by unanimous decision to be the first singh Chief of Armed forces.

now, Malaysia also boleh.

16. #16 by grace on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 8:06 am

Yes, during the independence, we have an Indian Naval Chief. We even had Indian Chief Education officer and Police officer. Not to mention, JKR laborers building our quality roads were Indians. Now adays, even it is even harder to find an Indian JKR labourers, what more an Indian Armed Forces chief. Dream on.

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 8:26 am

You can argue all you want about other countries not discriminating but the fact of the matter is for much of the Malay heartland, the opportunity to believe in liberal principles, even just sound ones, has been severely damaged by Mahathirism and his rule.

An entire generation of Malays who saw their most successful people treat other people unfairly, cynically, underhandedly, even illegally, struggles with the concept of fairness itself. Coupled with a dependency that was purposely ingrained for the powerful to remain in charge, you face a problem that is not going to be convinced by just pointing to ‘see how those people did it’.

To the Malays, it come down to cathartic change, it comes down to emotionally wrenching decision and they want to be compensated or at least undoubtedly convinced that its worth it for them personally.

Like to or not, so long as UMNO/BN can avoid the pains of Egypt, Libya, Syria, then they know the Malays will not act, will not decide.

So, yes you can keep pounding examples, but its not going to work without a seminal reason that is still missing..

18. #18 by dagen on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 8:54 am

Yeah. Sheriff for head of wot? oh of 1Armed Forces. Yeah. Sheriff for head of 1Armed Forces. Now go sheriff. Go to petaling street to look for some appropriate uniform to put on.

19. #19 by ablastine on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 9:09 am

It is quite true. A whole generation of Malays have been brought up to think that they are the masters and the other races in the country are beneath them. As a result their concept of fairness is since I am the master and the rest servants I should eat the main meal and the rest feed on the crumbs that fall over. You provide the revenue and I take the scholarships or the plumb contracts.

As the country cannot afford to have half its people as parasites the pain will of course come but it reaction will be delayed. These blood suckers here can hide behind the race and religion bogeyman. Instead of tackling straight on the problems that caused the country to decline they divert attention by bashing Christians and other races.

20. #20 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 9:17 am

BIG DEAL indeed! But don’t forget, we did hv a long-serving INDIAN PM
    Is dat something 2 b proud of?

21. #21 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 9:42 am

Godfather :
    I nominate our Sheriff Singh to be the next Chief of the One-Armed Forces.

Wow – you mean the Armed Forces comprising soldiers with only one arm? Like Wang Yu acting as the One-Armed Swordsman many decades ago?

22. #22 by monsterball on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 10:09 am

tak tahan….sorry long delay in respond.
    Blog moderate me so many times..sort of lost interest in commenting.
    I have been to those places you mentioned and every country is developing.
    Yes I walked at last BERSIH rally…under thunder storm with more than 100,000 Malaysians…for 5 klm at least.
    I was thinking I am going to die soaking wet as I had umbralla…no rain coat….and with the wind and rain..I ma as well have no umbralla.
    I thought I was the oldest…….but found many older tham me walking too. It was peaceful from “Sogo” to Istana..but I stopped at National Mosque..and signaled by friend to pick me up.
    I also walked the “HINDAF” huge rally.
    I had two gas bombs explode right infront of me..and covered by white clouds of smoke…cannot breathe…almost fainted and going to die out of breath when one huge Induan carrieedc me to a water pipe and washed my face…slowly I feel better and better.
    Nearby huge hotel lobby…I rushed in…had a better washed at rest room…ordered food and drinks at the lobby. “Are you a hotel guest Sir? I replied….”Yes…..and please tell my driver outside to come in too” I hp my Indian friend..he vstood near the door and I signaled him to come and pretend to be my driver. The acting works.
    You see the main door was locked and guarded. I had to bang hard at the glass door..to get attention.
    I have never regretted doing the walks.
    Coming BERSIH July walk…I hope I can be fit and well with few friends.
    I walked and feel proud doing it for country and Malaysians.
    Try it yourself…..but you must be prepared for any thing….to be arrested…tear gas and water cannon.

23. #23 by monsterball on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 10:10 am

tak tahan…I did reply..to you..got moderated.
    Yes I walked at BERSIH and INDRAF.

24. #24 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 10:44 am

C’mon folks, the one-armed Forces is the only position that our Sheriff Singh is qualified for. According to Ibrahim Ali, the government would already have made a huge concession to the non-Malays for this position, and we should all be grateful.

25. #25 by assamlaksa on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 12:13 pm

President of Singapore
    1 Yusof bin Ishak (9/8/1965 – 23/11/1970)
    2 Benjamin Henry Sheares (2/1/1971 – 12/5/1981)
    3 C.V. (Chengara Veetil) Devan Nair (24/10/1981 – 28/3/1985)
    4 Wee Kim Wee (2/9/1985 – 1/9/1993)
    5 Ong Teng Cheong (2/9/1993 – 1/9/1999)
    6 S.R. Nathan (Sellapan Ramanathan) 1/9/1999 – Present (term ends 31 August 2011)

26. #26 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 24 May 2011 - 4:52 pm

Thanks monsterball.I just reached home from long drive on work.Got to do another errant now and will see youg guys later.