Is it wrong to speak of peace, asks Guan Eng

By Susan Loone | May 20, 11

Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng has slammed certain quarters for miscontruing his Wesak Day message as an attempt to incite non-Muslims to anger against Muslims.

Lim, who is DAP national secretary-general, said he was perturbed that a message which contained elements of peace and harmony could be condemned.

On the other hand, a message that was full of hatred, like Perkasa chief Ibrahim Ali’s recent ‘crusade against Christians’ outburst could be allowed, he added.

Lim denied that there were objections towards his Wesak Day message and speech delivered during a Malaysian Buddhist Association event in Penang on Tuesday.

He added that he merely asked everyone of a religious persuasion to stand together in peace and harmony as they could be the next target of Umno-owned Malay language daily Utusan Malaysia’s misreporting.

Lim was also quick to add that he also wanted the Muslims to come together to stand against extremism.

“If even that is wrong… then something must be very wrong,” Lim told reporters after chairing a meeting with the Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism in Komtar today.

“People talking about having a crusade (against Christians) is not wrong but talking about peace and harmony is wrong?” he queried.

‘No one objected to it’

He stressed that his speech was in two languages – English and Mandarin – and none of the participants, who were Buddhists, had rejected it or voiced out their discontent over the message.

“Why don’t you ask the Buddhists who were present that day? Even an MCA leader and organising chairman of the event, Loh Hock Aun, was present at the event.

“They were happy and I was told it was a good speech,” he said.

“The master of ceremonies (MC) asked everyone to clap, and then they shook my hand and no one objected to it,” he added.

Lim was referring to a recent police report lodged against him by Gerakan Youth vice-chief H’ng Khoon Leng, who accused the former of inciting Buddhists and Hindus.

H’ng was then referring to Lim’s Wesak Day message which stated, among others: “Even though Christians, and not Buddhists, are targeted by Umno and Utusan Malaysia this time, what is there to stop Buddhists and Hindus from being the next targets in the future?”

H’ng demanded police action against Lim, although the latter has yet to be questioned by the force.

Lim’s message was based on the recent brouhaha over a May 7 front-page report in Utusan which alleged that DAP was colluding with a group of pastors in Penang to install a Christian prime minister and set up a Christian state.

The report angered Muslims groups, especially Perkasa, whose chief Ibrahim Ali threatened to launch a crusade against Christians who, he said, dared to usurp the position of Islam in the country.

Moving on to the now refuted and much-condemned Utusan report, Lim said that newspapers must uphold a certain standard of reporting the truth.

Freedom of speech, he added, should not give one the freedom to lie.

“If freedom of speech means one can call for a crusade or lie, something must be wrong there,” he quipped.

1. #1 by Thor on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 6:51 pm

“If freedom of speech means one can call for a crusade or lie, something must be wrong there,” he quipped.

————————————–
    Yeah! something has gone wrong indeed.
    Some blardy idiot’s brain has gone haywired
    All triggered by one mad (deleted) “jihad” cries!

2. #2 by Not spoon fed on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 7:25 pm

Something must be wrong there because of these people have been eating too much seafood lah. Seafood actually make people peppery (easy angry).

There is no point to speak loudly much like Mahathir who even could not raise the value of Ringgit at par to Singapore dollar who does not have any natural resources.

Gerakan and MCA should leave BN to protest about inaction of BN.

Gerakan and MCA should leave BN so that you would be respected much again.

For many issues, making police report is of no use because police is under Home Minister and Prime Minister.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 8:24 pm

What is wrong with this H’ng Khoon Leng? All the doublespeak they have been using all thim have while actually sinked into his head to believe its reality? The man need to see a pyschologist, he is mentally unhealthy..

4. #4 by for my country on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 9:37 pm

As leaders, we must always speak the truth and set good examples. Good leaders must not be malicious and must uphold integrity, honesty and fairness to all Malaysians. Leaders who do not voice out for the rakyat are then not carrying out their responsibilities. I always pray for my country, my fellow malaysian brothers and sisters, that peace be with all of us. For with peace only can we have happiness for our children; our home; our society; our peace of mind.

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 10:02 pm

Guan Eng must learn to say the right things at the appropriate time.

Its Wesak Day. Say something appropriate.

Can he not leave politics out for just ONE day?

Last year it was about gambling if I am not wrong.

Come on LGE. Don’t get innocent, religious people involved in politics on their special day. They just want to observe their religious day.

You can say whatever you want tonight, tomorrow afternoon or whenever and to whoever, but be sensitive as to the timing.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 10:06 pm

“The master of ceremonies (MC) asked everyone to clap, and then they shook my hand and no one objected to it,” he added.

Everyone had to be asked to clap? They were all only being polite so don’t get pig-headed. You expect them to boo you, create a scene?

You are just being too combative, all the time. Learn to tone down and be more mellow.

7. #7 by monsterball on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 10:20 pm

LGE is CM of Penang.
    Everyone is watching how he behaves and talk.
    He needs to respect Wesak Day…like Christmas Day too.
    Those are the days for rejoicing and praising.
    Malaysia’s politics is full time all year round dirty.
    I agree with “sheriff singh” 20th May…10.02pm comment.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 11:20 pm

I thing LGE had intended his true remarks/intention to the Buddhist associations on that particular day or ‘yanne dei’ not to be distracted like what happened to the recent meeting of Najis with the christian pastors.Or there must be a good reason for him to speak so on that particular granted day.No?I’m having pathetic internet connection.Anyone does?

9. #9 by tak tahan on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 11:25 pm

Twice continuously moderated!LGE said right;something is very wrong!

10. #10 by cemerlang on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 12:42 am

Many people support Barisan Nasional and because of this, they see anything not of Barisan Nasional as evil. They have been living such good lives and they cannot imagine if their lives are turned upside down. The Opposition is part of the government, do you realize that ? All the elected representatives are sitting in the Dewan, or supposed to. That makes them part of the government. If the Opposition is wrong, then why vote it in ? My as well have all the representatives of the 1Barisan Nasional party.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 1:19 am

Dis Gerakan Youth vice-chief H’ng Khoon Leng is a MALAY Buddhist n dis is Y he supports I bra him n Perkosa, n arrowed LGE

HKL should read Edmund Burke’s speeches b4 he sold his soul 2 UmnoB n Perkosa, n arrowed LGE
    “When bad men combine, the good must associate; else they will fall one by one, an unpitied sacrifice in a contemptible struggle”
    “All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing”
    LGE decided NOT 2 do nothing against evil; what’s wrong with dat, Khoon Leng bin H’ng?

12. #12 by yhsiew on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 9:38 am

H’ng Khoon Leng was quick to learn from UMNO to play the religion card to score political credit for himself.

13. #13 by ktteokt on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 2:20 pm

Peace means they have to be law-abiding citizen! When they create havoc, they can do WHAT THEY WANT WITHOUT BEING ANSWERABLE!!!!