Many wrongs won’t make Ibrahim right

Comments posted by Malaysiakini subscribers

‘Why then the moment someone mentioned the volume of azans, the ISA was quickly used against Selangor exco Teresa Kok?’

Nazri: No action against Ibrahim Ali

Phoenix Star 88: I always thought de facto law minister Mohamad Nazri Abdul Aziz was one of the better leaders in Umno, but now it seems that even he has started to go with the flow.

If a Christian leader had used the word ‘crusade’ in response to the controversial article in Utusan Malaysia, he would likely be detained under the ISA and people will be hopping mad as if it’s the end of the world.

One-way tolerance and double standards will only lead Malaysia to doom. The fact that Umno flirts with Perkasa although MCA and Gerakan are dead-set against it shows that BN is an even more self-contradictory coalition than Pakatan Rakyat.

Karma: If everyone starts murdering people and it has became norm, will the government say it is okay? This statement is very dangerous yet ridiculous excuse for siding with Perkasa chief Ibrahim Ali.

If Ibrahim Ali condemns the BN government like those in twitters and blogs, will the government would say the same thing – live with it? It sounds like many wrongs made everything right.

Paul Warren: I can already sense that Umno is losing the plot. They seem to think Malays will naturally come to their side when they have Christians as their antagonists.

Malays today have had exposure to infidels for a very long time and they know a little more about what is contained in the Quran. They are also fully aware that there is the Umno interpretation of things and there is the PAS version of things. They know the good from the bad.

Today, the Malays decide for themselves who is evil. Nazri, you can very well bet there are more Malays who think you are a fool for having said what you are quoted in Malaysiakini than you might imagine or like to know. This will implode on Umno.

Against The Wind: Nazri’s statement will not only embolden Ibrahim to up the ante but also embolden others to speak up because the “authorities will not touch me – I can say whatever I want”. It is so sad that it has to come to this.

There goes the 1Malaysia concept – what hope is there when a select group can hurt the feelings and sensitiveness of the other races.

Proarte: Well, I think Nazri’s statement is a blessing in disguise. It basically allows lunatic comments to be regarded as such. Reacting to them would be descending to his level and provocation and give it the legitimacy it does not deserve.

Let Malays learn how evil their leaders are who give succour to such trash like Ibrahim Ali. Umno and Dr Mahathir Mohamad come immediately to mind. Malays are wising up, which makes me hopeful. However, they must not ‘duduk diam’ but openly reject lies, racism and religious bigotry.

Islam has got to stand for something and it is my fervent hope that Malays will realise that Islam has been perverted by politicians in Malaysia including by Anwar Ibrahim and PAS. Malays must discover faith in Allah and the Quran through their own study and reflection.

They should not through laziness and ignorance let everything be decided for them. Malays have lost their historical cultural, civil and religious values through immoral political indoctrination. They must rediscover themselves.

Rayfire: What else is norm here in Malaysia? Let me see… C4 blow ups? Missing immigration records? Death in police cells? Death at the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC), overpriced (procured) goods for ministries, leaders with big mansions, newspapers and television stations that publish authorised sedition… the list goes right on. Nazri, our nation is so abnormally normal.

KSN: Now Ibrahim Ali is licensed. He has it – exemption from the laws – and it comes straight from the horse’s mouth. This statement from Nazri is most irresponsible and definitely conveys the wrong message to the country at large.

Bertrand Russell: Sometimes I wonder why we have ministers who are so biased in a multiracial country like Malaysia. The leaders of Hindraf were imprisoned for telling the country that their community has been marginalised. Now we have a ‘devil’ who has been allowed to say whatever he wants.

It is very idiotic to say that no action will be taken against Perkasa’s Ibrahim over his warning of violence and bloodshed against the minority Chinese Christian community. (It is very clear that he has singled out the Chinese Christians).

Come on Nazri, it is not a level-playing field. Whereas the opposition are punished for voicing out their feelings, Ibrahim Ali is put high upon a pedestal. Stupidity knows no bounds when it comes to our ministers.

Patriot: Ibrahim Ali has publicly challenged the police to arrest him for his seditious statements and yet the de facto law minister deems it okay. If any opposition MP had said that we should carry on a ‘jihad’ or crusade, he would be thrown into jail or under ISA.

Anonymous_3f3e: Soon, robbers, snatch thieves, murderers, rapists, etc, can’t be charged as well since the crimes they commit is becoming the norm in Malaysia. We all know that Ibrahim Ali will get scot-free, but the reasons given by this minister still took us by surprise.

Lim Chong Leong: Come on, the moment the tables are turned, and if it were Christians calling for a crusade, the ISA would come into play, and you would probably say that the line has to be drawn somewhere and that although the ISA is draconian, it is justified in dealing with Christian extremism.

Why the moment someone mentioned the volume of azans, the ISA was quickly used against Selangor senior cabinet member Teresa Kok? Don’t treat us as fools.

Aquinas: Let’s be careful not to stoop to the levels of these thuggish politicians. We, the people, hold the moral high ground. They are egging us on to be like them so that there will be grounds for riots and pandemonium. We are better than that.

CHKS: If Ibrahim Ali’s statement is nothing, then please stop all these nonsense about the Christians conspiracy.

Or has Nazri ‘purposely’ set up a trap to encourage people to make seditious statements, stir up racial and religious tension, so that with the stroke of a pen, execute Operation Lallang II?

Onyourtoes: Nazri, please tabulate all the statements and ranting you consider extreme and racist both by Perkasa, Dr Mahathir Mohamad and other Umno ministers as well as those from the opposition.

Let everybody sees for himself/herself who has been extreme and racist in this country. Let everybody assess for himself/herself who has been bent on creating trouble.

KLeo: I can just picture Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein and police chief Ismail Omar slapping their foreheads saying, “Damn, Nazri is so brilliant! Why didn’t we think of this before?

“Crimes are like, oh my God, so rampant these days and, seeing that we can’t possibly deal with all of it, we should just go to mamak stalls and goyang kaki!”

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 18 May 2011 - 10:42 am

Say ‘UMNO’ very quickly 10 times and you will end up saying ‘No’ towards the end.

2. #2 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 18 May 2011 - 11:23 am

Yeah!!! Cheers all Malaysian. stupidito defacto law guy nazri just abolished ISA, OSA, and all other “shut your mouth” acts today. Yippee.

Now I can say what I want. It’s the norm now.

3. #3 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 18 May 2011 - 11:51 am

Try saying ‘NOUM’ instead of ‘UMNO’ very quickly less than 10 times,you will end up saying ‘NORM’.