RM30 million donation rejected and scholarship for the poor

By Koon Yew Yin

1. I am not a politician. But I know politics is very important because it affects you and your children. I want to help you win the coming election. I have already donated RM100,000 during your last dinner to celebrate Lim Kit Siang’s 70th Birthday, a few months ago. (Admin note: RM100,000 donated to DAP Perak)

I put my money where my mouth is. Many people would grumble and complain about BN government’s corruptions, abuse of power and Chinese cannot get university places and also employment in the civil services, etc but they dare not come forward to support Pakatan Rakyat to change the Government.

I hope my coming forward openly will encourage many people to show support. Your party needs money and I hope you all will donate as much as you can afford.

2. You must bear in mind that the population of the non Malays is relatively small, even all non Malays vote for the PR and without Malays winning some seats, Pakatan Ryakyat cannot control the Perak State Government or Putrajaya. After tonight’s dinner, I would like each of you to make a serious effort to make friend with at least one Malay and convince him to vote for PR.

3. I wish to remind you that in the last Gen Election, PR won control of Perak, but lost control because a few frogs jumped over to BN. On your table you will read my article ‘Restore democracy to Perak: appeal to Sultan Aslan Shah’, but the Sultan did not dissolve the State Assembly as I requested. In the next election, you must make sure we can win a lot more seats to regain control.

4. Many of you would have heard about UTAR in Kampar rejected my Rm 30 M donation offer to build hostels to help students because the MCA leaders who own the land outside the University campus do not want me to disturb their very profitable rental business. There are 12,500 students and each of them pays Rm 200 per month and the total monthly rental income is about RM2.5 million or RM30 m a year. They cannot build fast enough to cater for the yearly students increase. Remember the greedy MCA leaders will continue to suck your blood.

5. MCA has been in the BN government since Merdeka more than 54 years ago. Did MCA ever dare to criticise UMNO to protect non Malays’ interest? Now the World Bank has reported 2 days ago that a large number of non Malayshave migrated to Singapore, UK, Australia etc due to unfair treatment. 4 of my 5 children have gone out of the country to find work. I am sure some of you and your friends have children migrated overseas simply because we are called ‘PENDATAN’, visitors.

6. I have given scholarships to 80 poor students whose parents are earning less than RM2,000 per month. If you know of any poor parent who needs scholarships please contact my assistant Dr. Jeffrey Yee, 012-5286696. He graduated with a PhD from Cambridge, He will address you in Mandarin.

Thank you

Mr. Koon Yew Yin, a very successful Malaysian investor and businessman
DAP dinner speech on 30th April 2011

1. #1 by limkamput on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 7:45 am

MCA, please respond to the accusation made above that RM30 million was rejected because the local warlords want to protect the rental market there. We want to hear the whole story.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 8:11 am

The rejection of the RM30 million donation by MCA shows that the party does not have the rakyat’s interests at heart.

3. #3 by Taikohtai on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 8:22 am

Bless you Mr Koon for your kind donations.
    Bless you more for speaking up against injustice.

4. #4 by Loh on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 9:57 am

MCA vice president and deputy finance minister Lim Siang Chai said last night (in Star) that MCA has to remain in government to maintain stability.

So that stability would include having some senators from MCA to sit around the cabinet like wallpaper. Hence stability would be the excuse for MCA to again accept appointment in government position when they are trashed in the next general election.

Lim Siang Chai has obviously insulted the democratic system in the country as his words implied that a change in government would not be stable and that other than Barisan Nasional Would Lim Siang Chai say that MCA could cause instability in the event that BN is returned to power without MCA? If not, why then should the absence of MCA in the government cause instability? Further would MCA provides UMNO the votes to allow it to form government, to carry on with the racial discriminating policies of the past decades, and thus deprive the Chinese community its desire for a change in government? MCA would really be a traitor to the community.

Lim Shiang Chai could most probably have the slave-mentality that MCA has to remain a slave of UMNO and so MCA would have to vote with UMNO for all issues, including those that discriminate against the Chinese community in the past decades, and most significantly after May 13. Indeed MCA has been with the government since independence, and the sorry state that Chinese in the country are in has been the policies of UMNO. But MCA has not been able to influence UMNO into adopting a policy that is fair to all and treating all races equal. The special position of Malays was meant to be assistance, like ICU patients, and that assistance does not have to come from the suffering of a section of the population. Petronas’ wealth was enough to do all the helping without having to mark down the Chinese to allow Malays to progress. What stability has MCA offered during the past decades? If stability is in fact an issue why should UMNO have no responsibility to ensure stability? No country in the world that practises equality for its people has to be concerned with stability. USA changes its president every four years, and United Kingdom have different parties governing ever so often. If the change of government based on votes has no concern about stability, why should MCA be concerned about stability so that it can window-dress UNNO cabinet, and the Chinese community has to pay for the excuse that all politics which MCA either was aware or not had MCA approval so that Chinese community is said to be in agreement with all policies that discriminate against them.

We want MCA to be out of the government. It is because it is said to represent Chinese. MCA can very well change its article of association and claim to be multiracial. It is then at liberty like Gerakan to be in the government as a slave, like what Koh Tse Koon was doing very well. Koh as the chief protocol for Wen Jia Bao’s visit had no say on what appear on the banner. It is no use having Najib to apologize.

5. #5 by k1980 on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 9:59 am

//UTAR in Kampar rejected Mr Koon’s RM 30 M donation offer to build hostels to help students//

Mr Koon, what is stopping you from building the hostels ON YOUR OWN without the participation of mca, and then rent them cheaply to the students? You afraid you would be sent to kamunting for taunting Chua SL? Coward!

6. #6 by negarawan on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 10:46 am

MCA and MIC are all useless parties used as slaves by UMNO. They don’t serve the interest of the non-bumis but instead serve the interest of UMNO and their own financial greed as evident in this hostel rental issue.

7. #7 by Loh on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 10:48 am

MCA pretends not to realize that Chinese are against BN and particularly UMNO for the discriminating policies. So when Chinese reject MCA, they reject BN through MCA. if MCA claims that it accepts the wishes of the Chinese community, then MCA should leave BN after the Chinese indicate without doubt by defeating MCA candidates. It is a shame that MCA talks about stability in the country, as if the Chinese have to ensure UMNO get what it wants, and it is as if UMNO has no responsibility at all for stability, whatever that means.

Chinese want a change of government in Putrajaya. If the Opposition does not perform after taking power, the election process continues. In fact MCA should go back to the Pre-Merdeka day to seek reliable and honourable partner when it leaves BN.

Why can’t MCA tell UMNO that the Chinese hate UMNO policies and so they voted against MCA. If UMNO would not change, there is no way MCA can win. Has CSL not the balls to say this to Najib, who definitely knows the issue but he may pretend to be ignorant. It is probably too late for MCA to be saved.

8. #8 by Loh on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 10:57 am

There are different stories on how Osama bin laden was killed. USA certainly wanted him alive so that they can squeeze information out of Osama. Was sea burial an insult to Islam? It is strange that sometimes people can equate religion to human, and by extension human to the country. It should be easy to declare war based on that logic; a national killed equates to the nation under attack.

9. #9 by tak tahan on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 1:02 pm

[deleted] MCA,NOW!WHERE IS YOUR SO-CALLED REASON TO BEG OR THREATEN US WITH REGARDS TO YOUR REPRESENTATION ON BEHALF OF CHINESE COMMUNITY!GET LOST TO HELL AND KISS THE BLARDY SATAN” ASS!

10. #10 by tak tahan on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 4:06 pm

Mr Koon,you goodwill will be highly appreciated and respected and i hope it will stay with you through out your honourable life.Malaysians especially chinese scholars need your kind donation and support.

11. #11 by mauriyaII on Saturday, 7 May 2011 - 5:53 pm

MCA wanted Mr. Koon’s RM30million without any conditions in order to do what they like with the money as they are experts at spending money that is not theirs. They learned if from their UMNOputra friends who are masters at this fine art.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Monday, 9 May 2011 - 1:36 am

MCA: Your $$ is toxic $$ n duit haram, tak boleh accept lah, can or not?