An Open Letter to Our Education Minister

The recent focus given to history as a compulsory subject in the Malaysian school curriculum has driven me as a parent of school going children to gain an insight of what my children are learning in history as a subject in school. Before I summarise my findings (via reading my children’s history text books from Form 1 – 5), allow me to briefly take you through what is being taught as history in our government school:

Form 1 students are taught predominantly about the Malacca Sultanate with sporadic anecdotes of the other states. Penang is not mentioned at all and if I’m a student studying in Penang, I will seriously be wondering why. That is until I go to Form 2 whereby I will learn about the Straits Settlement, Tin Mining, Rubber Plantation and Exploitation by the British. Form 3 students learn about the Japanese Occupation, the Communist Party of Malaya, leading to Malaysia’s independence in 1957. A very detailed account of all the political parties in Malaysia is also elaborated. The 1955 Election Results seemed to be an important account in history as it is mentioned twice, in Form 3 and again in Form 5.

In Form 4, other than the first two chapters where one learns about the early civilization and the emergence of various religions, the rest of the year you will be doing an in-depth study of Islam – Islam Civilisation, Islamic Government in Medina, Formation of Islamic Government & Its Contribution, Islam in South East Asia, and Islam Influence in Malaysia. One could not be faulted to ask the question if one is learning history or religious study. I believe Azmi Sharom has expounded succinctly and rather ingeniously on this issue in his article in The Star on 30 Dec 2010.

Form 5 is an overkill on the study of nationalism and the development of race and nation. Out of 10 chapters, Chapters 2 – 8 bear the following titles:

Bab 2: Nasionalisme di Malaysia sehingga Perang Dua Kedua
Bab 3: Kesedaran Pembinaan Negara dan Bangsa
Bab 4: Pembinaan Negara dan Bangsa
Bab 5: Pembinaan Negara dan Bangsa yang Merdeka
Bab 6: Pengukuhan Negara dan Bangsa Malaysia
Bab 7: Sistem Pemerintahan dan Pentadbiran Negara Malaysia
Bab 8: Pembangunan dan Perpaduan untuk Kesejahteraan

I am making a moot point in not translating the above. And finally, in the last chapter in Form 5, you learn about World War I & II; the significance of which are reduced to only five pages in the entire five years of studying history.

I am completely perplexed! Is this all my children are learning in school? Does this not make them myopic and insular? Learning history is much more than learning about Malaysia. One needs to learn about world history. I talked to my children about the Hundred Year Wars, the Renaissance Period, the Mogul Empire, the Spanish Inquisition, the Boston Tea Party, the French Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, Slavery and the American Civil War, The Long March etc and they have no inkling what I am talking about!

There is also an obvious disconnect in the overall flow of the subjects covered. Subjects are doled out independently without any link or correlation to significant events. For example, the Japanese Occupation in Malaya is studied independently and students are not made aware that the Japanese invasion is part and parcel of WWII. Another point I would like to make is that we must use proper English names for the organizations that are mentioned. For example, United Nations is translated to Pertubuhan Bangsa-Bangsa Bersatu, which is fine until we use PBB as the acronym for UN. Which other country in the world would know what we are talking about if our students refer to UN as PBB? Another bad case of translation is NAM – Pergerakan
Negara-Negara Berkecuali; are we lost in translation yet? I am truly glad that our historians did not attempt to translate Commonwealth and instead use the literal “Komanwel”.

I shall not comment about distortions, half-truths or inaccuracies but I feel strongly that the spirit of the history text books should be written to reflect a fair and realistic account of history, plain and simple. The way it is written now, Malaysia is perceived as a victim of circumstance; we are always the good guys while the rest of the world are the bad guys. I am not sure why we need comments like “Singapura menjadi ‘duri dalam daging’ kepada Malaysia” is in our history text book.

What is the rationale behind our history syllabus? What is the reason for making history a compulsory pass in SPM? We have five solid years to impart history to our school going children and the government has decided that a Malaysian student should learn (almost) solely about
Malaysia and to use this subject as the platform to inculcate nationalism.

History is an important subject as we need to understand the past to appreciate the present in order to achieve the desired future.

I would sincerely like to call upon our Education Minister to re-look the entire history syllabus. We need to give our children a balanced view of world history and yet understand the significance of Malaysia in context. We owe it to our children.

CJ Yong

A Parent

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 1:43 am

What do you expect? An incompetent person to come out with some thing of first class? How can this be possible? search for light in the dark??

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 5:55 am

My question: why even bother to study SPM?

And that is a moot question, isn’t it?

I mean, the way the Ministry of Education is playing fast and loose with our childen’s education, the products of recent decades suggest that the education through government schools leave a gap so wide, there is so little of worth that is actually trapped in their brains.

Now this makes nonsense of all that ETP and high-income jargon that Najib and his merrymen of Putrajaya talks about. There is no need for a Talent Corporation either if the government begns a sensible education program for our children. More than half a million students pass through SPM annually, without actually ‘passing’!. Imean, how do you explain the persistent rumours that the passing mark for subjects like Add maths is about 15-18% or even less! Ok, talk about history – also 15-18%?

Now Najib sure is blowing a lot of hot air with his high-income sloganeering, and Muhyiddin sure knows his nonsense well to talk about better exam results every year he is the Minister of Education. If the passing mark is 10% or whatever, even cows do not need to study. Mooo……………

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 7:25 am

THIS is education? And they wonder why the kids are all so screwed up..

4. #4 by k1980 on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 8:11 am

CJ Yong,

The ultimate aim of the present sejarah syllabus to to make the tuans feel that they alone are responsible for the independence of the country, while the pendatangs are the obstacles to the future development of the country.

In the 1930s and until the end of WW2, the German history books also did the same— downplayed the role of German Jews in developing the country and demonizing them as sucking up the blood of the Germans.

Conclusion: umno = nazis

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 8:14 am

As a parent CJ Yong has every reason to be concerned & right to complain. Indeed 2 local history text book authors Dr Ranjit Singh Malhi and Ng How Kuen have earlier complained that school history textbooks were littered with factual errors and distortions in front page of The Sun on 13th Dec last year.

It is likely to fall on deaf years. It is first duty of parents is to guide our children on basics of Life – and one of the first lessons is that truth and knowledge is something they have to seek for themselves and know where to look for. One can’t always depend on others including educators. They have their own agendas, and the truth is not it.

World over and definitely here politicians in charge of nation’s affairs are more interested in preservation of their vested interests. These interests are sought to be preserved over and above even nation’s interest, let alone the interest to uphold truth in the abstract or history…Towards these ends, who bothers about our Young being told the Truth or taught to how think for themselves : more important they should be taught what to think in the interests of those in power.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 8:24 am

Just like controlled media, so a controlled history is excellent propaganda tool. On catches the audience young when their minds are malleable and receptive of indoctrination. History is an excellent cover or imperceptible subliminal messages to inculcate and nurture the “right” values on part of youth to be compliant of national ideology structured to serve and justify the vested interests of those in power.

We have this character to thank for the uses of propaganda: “All propaganda has to be popular and has to accommodate itself to the comprehension of the least intelligent of those whom it seeks to reach.
    By the skillful and sustained use of propaganda, one can make a people see even heaven as hell or an extremely wretched life as paradise”. (Source Adolf Hitler in his book “Mein Kempf”).

7. #7 by limkamput on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 8:26 am

Our history is disjointed and incongruous simply because those who wrote and edited our school textbooks are nincompoops. They are myopic, half baked and themselves victims of indoctrination from the very system they now inherited.

Why would they want to teach our kids about the Renaissance, the French Revolution, the US declaration of independence and the constitutional development of government? These are subversive man!

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 8:44 am

Sorry typo in #3: “ONE catches the audience young …History is an excellent cover FOR imperceptible subliminal messages”

Facing this kind of distortion in Nazi Germany, Soviet Union, 3rd world countries, Cuba or Communist/totalitarian regimes is understandable. What is disillusioning is this kind of crap being done even in so called developed democracies & first world countries (albeit more subtly). Even in US there were complaints that the kids in national schools eg Howard County elementary school
    were made to recite chants or sing songs of praise to videos about Obama! And because the Military & Industrial Complex (including defence contractors) has strong interest (including economic) and lobby with US administration to wage wars abroad under the guise of supporting democracy or advancing the nation’s geopolitical interest, propaganda based on lies about WMD were used to galvanise public support campaign against Saddam Hussein & Colonel Gaddafi.

9. #9 by k1980 on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 8:45 am

Many dictatorships and authoritarian states, as well as democratic countries, have used the method of whitewash in order to glorify the results.

During the Soviet-era, Stalin adjusted photographs of himself with Lenin, in order to position himself closer as to give an impression of a closer relationship between the two.

North Korean radio broadcasts claim to have an abundance in food supplies, yet the government receives food aid from foreign states.

Japan whitewashes its history of warfare and imperialism by omitting or minimizing subjects such as the Nanking Massacre in school textbooks.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whitewash_(censorship)

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 8:55 am

That the education system is to inspire intellectual curiosity of the student and develop critical thought and personal growth – is more an articulated aspiration, in reality it is crap.

The only good that comes out of history books being skewed is that they afford materials for us to teach our children by example in hand how selfish men use propaganda to manipulate others’ minds for their own selfish purpose!

This an invaluable lesson – because when they come out to work they’d find the working environment (not just in politics) full of crap and lies as well, with Truth, an orphan!

For it is in the nature of man to BS. The Smart manipulate the greater numbers who are less so (again for the former’s vested interest whether political or economic). It broadly follows the immutable law of the jungle – of survival of the fittest. This (no one cares for Truth if Lies help to achieve selfish Ends) is something parents have to teach their young children. One can’t depend on educators & history teachers whose agenda are dictated by policies of Education Ministry which in turn is dictated by agendas of those in power that pay their gajis/bonus and dispense their perks!

11. #11 by limkamput on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 9:40 am

So if in the US, indoctrination and crap take place, it is okay for the rest of the world and Malaysia to do the same. I know this wise guy would probably say that was never his intention.

It is a baloney to carry the argument to the extreme by saying that we can’t depend on educators and history teachers to teach our kids. How about we close down all schools and teach our kids at home imposing our own world views? Sometimes this sage is like an idiot.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 9:53 am

///So if in the US, indoctrination and crap take place, it is okay for the rest of the world and Malaysia to do the same/// – who’s talking about its Ok for rest of world? Every where people talk of what ought to be the case. What we’re talking of is – what is the case in spite of all the big talk of what ought to be the case.

What is the case is that often History is being made a set of agreed acts (after a lot of goreng & skewing) for consumption of a captive audience (ie esp the young). It is controlled by the one who sets the history syllabus to whom the ends justify the means… And the victors of any political equation attempt to present it in a way to justify why they deserve to control and shape the affairs of the nation (outwardly always to the nation’s interest, in reality, for their own interest as elite group). The vanquished are made to read and understand the past so that they may in present state of subjugation be contented and not foment rebellion in any form. To understand history one has to look for it oneself, read different versions and interpretations not imbibe from one source – motivated by agenda.

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 9:59 am

Some of the cleverer even write their own books to shape perception of history. One of our former PMs is attributed this accomplishment of writing several books. It is the Great who write real history based on objective acts, convenient or not convenient. It is unfortunate that we don’t hear our own Professor of History Emeritus complaining about what’s happening.
    Don’t talk of what is Ok and ought to be the case. We hear it stated often enough. Leaving politics, take the working world, Bursa & SC have come out enough with rules on how to protect minority interests and the duties of independent directors.
    As always in the end everyone’s first consideration is who butters his bread and lives by charade and facade. On the board rooms of our public listed companies how many independent directors appointed to watch over minority interests are sincerely independent even if they go through all motions to be seen so?

It is a fool who keeps on harping what ought to be the case without heed to what generally is the case most of the time….

14. #14 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 10:09 am

No one here suggests close down all schools. Those who think like that have emigrated and taken their children to schools in other coiuntries where history is less skewed. You can’t change the Ministry of Education’s stand by protest because such skewing is not accidentl or inadvertant. It is intentional. So if one’s children to to read history with a mix of truths and half truths, esp when its made compulsory, and one does not want to send them to read them to read history elsewhere, then the parents have the role to counter the propaganda offensive, and help point where the half truths are.

15. #15 by wanderer on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 10:10 am

What hope do Malaysians have when you have a 1Melayu first, UMNO DPM/Education minister!….who could not differentiate between a Punjabi and a Bengali. The writer should feel thankful this minister did not introduce, the history of the Animal Kingdom.

16. #16 by limkamput on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 10:17 am

Who do not know it is not a perfect world. Who do not know lots of things we do are based on personal and selfish intention. But when discussing public policies or intentions, do we not always try to find better solutions for our imperfect realities. Do we not always try to find a better solution, a more equitable policy, a more inclusive and enduring strategy. Are these not governance and checks and balance measures that we often talk about? So are you saying if humans are inherently bad, there is nothing we can do? What did this guy CJ Yong try to do here? Please don’t put his effort in vain, sage. You never even realise your own baloney. You asked parents to teach their own kids – what if some have used Kutty’s “great” books.

17. #17 by limkamput on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 10:25 am

You can’t change the Ministry of Education’s stand by protest because such skewing is not accidentl or inadvertant. It is intentional. // sage

That is precisely the point – because it is intentional, that is why we want to challenge it, what more that intention is evil and unsupported. Other than changing the government, surely we can influence policies through public discourse, applying pressure and reasoned arguments. If all these are useless, then why do you come here, sage? To feel good about yourself that you can write eloquently?

18. #18 by limkamput on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 10:38 am

To the Ketuanan people, of course they are afraid of French Revolution, the US declaration of independence, the civil war and the freeing of slaves and perhaps even Obama became the US president. All these would be the antithesis of what they taught to our students in schools and young people in PLKN and BTN.

19. #19 by Saint on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 10:41 am

You cannot request any changes from BN. Removing them will remove all our problems.

20. #20 by Loh on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 10:53 am

///“If they want to have a more meaningful voice to represent their interest, then they must support the Barisan Nasional component parties,” said Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak at a press conference after launching the Pulau Duyong public housing project yesterday.///–StarOnline

Najib now threatens Chinese to vote for MCA or else Chinese will get further discriminated. Najib’s nMalaysia can do what it pleases and the Chinese do not succumb to threat.

Najib is openly stating that UMNO will look after Malay’s interest, or rather those who have connections with the ruling party and they happen to be Malays too. Thus BN cannot be trusted to govern the country. They are only involved in sharing power among those who sit around the table in the Cabinet, to satisfy their own interest. Those Chinese who sit in there are supposed to be appointed minister and get rich to make Chinese proud. That has been the way Mamakthir made malays proud in creating billionaire Malays of his choice.

If the government truly carries out the duties of proper governance, then what is good for the nation is good for the people. Najib certainly does not understand good governance, and since independence, the government has been managing race relations as if they were zero sum game. Thus to remain Malay champion there was a need to inflict against other races even their there is no benefit to Malays, and harmful to the nation. If Najib does not conduct racist discriminatory policies, then there is no need for MCA to be there to object to policies that went against Chinese interest. Indeed, if the government wishes to know the concerns of Chinese community, and if it cares about the interest of Chinese as citizens of Malaysia, just give to Chinese what it intends for Malays. He does not need to have MCA voices. Indeed Najib needs only to do the opposite to what Utusan Melayu proposes against the Chinese community.

By declaring what he said, Najib shows clearly he is a racist who cares for the interest of Malays, but not for the interest and fairness towards other communities in the country, for which other communities must voice them in the right places. Najib wants MCA to be in the government so that UMNO could propose policies which any right minded person would never come to his mind, to cause harm to Chinese and then have MCA on cue to yell for a stop to what ought not have been proposed. UMNO then shows its magnanimity to rescind the order, and MCA is then said to be fighting for Chinese interest. With such game, MCA ministers laugh to the bank, and the more important issue like the discriminatory NEP get implemented and bastardized behind the UMNO_MCA duet. Chinese are sick of such performance and the want UMNO to answer to the world whether their policies would promote racial harmony in the country. Chinese do not intend to continue sending MCA to be the flower pot in the cabinet room.

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 11:13 am

Well I’m not deriding any one’s right to challenge to apply pressure to change that which is wrong. I already said in my first posting on th matter that “As a parent CJ Yong has every reason to be concerned & right to complain”, if one cares to read properly. However we should be realistic: what that is significant has changed in spite of all the public clamour? If there’s change its for the worse. Eg withdrawal of Chinese electoral support begets ‘I Maly & 1 Bumi’ movement for which Utuisn’s stand was apologised for by the Number 2 in the face of, and in spite of the numero ono’s “1 Malaysia”.

As I said if a policy is intentional it will not heed your clamouring. It has reached this stage. Like in the wider electoral issue of representation many Chinese voters will still not return support to MCA, loss of representation or otherwise. It is a realistic situtation they have to face and realistically self help. So in context of history issue, the aggrieved parent has to self help knowing the realities on the ground (here or anywhere else) and do whatever necessary self help to counterract an adverse and likely unalterable course of action taken. The skewing of history is to make it in line with Ketuanan precepts. Have clamouring against changed it? It fact it becomes even more flagrant and overt, being promoted without apology or misgivings.

22. #22 by Dipoh Bous on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 11:15 am

I just love democracy!

The rakyat gave them (BN) power through the ballot boxes. BN could do what ever if feels appropriate especially if it could consolidate its power. There are, of course, ‘noises’ made by certain people / group of people but who cares ! After all, in democracy, the majority rules. So, go on BN and do what ever you think will further your cause since that’s what majority of the rakyats want…

If the rakyats think otherwise, prove it when GE13th comes. It’s as simple as that. If after GE13 BN is still returned to power, than we shouldn’t blame it for all the ‘GOOD’ things it does (at least to itself) because we have given them the right to do so!

BTW, the people of S’wak should rejoice now that they have ‘extended’ the mandate for BN to ‘RULE’ this rich state of many poor people !!

23. #23 by wanderer on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 11:18 am

You can argue your head off…even with raw facts, it will make no difference to these UMNO dicks! Everything is just academic to people sitting on the opposite of UMNO/BN fence. It is far better, to spend your energy convincing more electorate to believe in “change”…all other intellectual reasoning will go to the deaf dumb ears!

24. #24 by cseng on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 11:30 am

Typical BN mentality, cover a lie with another, justify a mistake with another. Younger generation knows their tricks better, now, they turned the history books into sub-BTN. As long BN stay in power, it is justified for the majority to continue narrow minded, knowing M’sia only from BN’s angle, continue reading Utusan and watching TV3… M’sia shall maintain harmony and prosperity that way, this is what BN saying all this while.

25. #25 by Loh on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 11:36 am

///I am not sure why we need comments like “Singapura menjadi ‘duri dalam daging’ kepada Malaysia” is in our history text book.///–CJ Yong

The government tries to prevent Malays working in Singapore, and they encourage non-Malays to go there.

26. #26 by Cinapek on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 11:36 am

It is very sad and destructive that instead of using History to educate our young and prepare them for life as responsible citizens, we are using it to constrain their impressionable minds and turn them into insular looking, narrow minded and ignorant individuals in a more globalised world.

My children are all grown up and this debate do not affect me personally so I am able to look at this matter objectively. I went through an education system that exposed me to the Greek and Roman civilisations, Gautama Buddha and Buddhism, the founding of Christianity and Islam, the Crusades, China’s rich historical and cultural heritage, Japan’s Meiji emperors, the Renaisssance period, Karl Marx etc. to Parameswara, the Majapahit Empire, Langkasuka, the Straits Settlements, the British Residents, Batavia (Jakarta), founding of Singapore, Francis Light/Stamford Raffles, James Birch and his assasination, Frank Swettenham and his rubber seeds to the Japanese invasion of Malaya and the sinking of the Prince of Wales and the Repulse to Merdeka and the Emergency.

These exposure stood me in good stead. As I travelled the world on study, business or leisure, I could appreciate better the places I visited and enjoy better the conversations I had in those faraway places. I could argue with a young Canadian student while travelling on a Greyhound bus in N. America the pro and cons of the Malayan Emergency, discuss with a German businessman the horrors of the Dachau concentration camp and debate the contributions of the Flying Tigers to the defeat of the Japanese in WWII with an American veteran of the famed unit.

I am all for making sure our kids are well grounded in our history. But they must also have an appreciation of world history and how it has impacted our national development. We are increasingly becoming borderless in this digital age and our future generations must have a world’s view of history in order to be successful global citizens and not make a mockery of the PM’s “glokals”.

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 12:00 pm

I would interpret ‘duri dalam daging’ kepada Malaysia” as a statement not based on facts but reflective of the negative emotions of author towards to Red Dot because its every existence in 1965 was due accomodation by Ketuanan proponents allowing it, viewed a piece of important real estate, to secede instead of arresting the one then challenging Ketuanan with Malaysia for all Malaysians, and whose achievements thereafter remain a constant reminder of the comprative failures of the race based ideology and an inspiration to those who refuse to be subjugated by it.

The negative emotion is natural as th author selected to write the History believes in the ideology, and it is his task to compile the history syllabus in a way that contains subliminal messages ie historical justification for Ketuanan ideology that the reader must be exposed to, grasp and internalise his acceptance.

28. #28 by baochingtian on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 12:57 pm

Where is Yap Ah Loy throughout the 5 years secondary histoty books? What do u expect from the Edu minister who is malay first and malaysia 2nd? Mentality is already koyak, how can he be in the forefront of education for malaysia?

29. #29 by gofortruth on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 3:36 pm

Sorry to side track.
    Lets pray for medical wisdom to doctor treating Uncle Lim for a speedy eye surgery recovery.

30. #30 by Loh on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 4:43 pm

///“I see the MCA sending the message that the Chinese cannot support the opposition and at the same time expect strong representation in the government. They have to choose,” he(Najib) was reported as saying by state news agency Bernama.

Dr Chua (picture) said the warning was never meant as threat but on contrary, the party wants to respect the wishes of the country’s ethnic Chinese community.

“This is never intended as a threat. It is intended as a way to respect the Chinese voters because if they don’t support us then we cannot claim legitimacy by representing the Chinese in the government,” he said///–MalaysianInsider

Najib’s statement that the Chinese have to choose would mean that if there is even one Chinese not voting BN, Najib is entitled to use his power, if he again returns as prime minister, to discriminate against Chinese. How else can he explain his statement of the Chinese having to choose? Election in the country is part of the democratic process claimed to be followed by UMNO. But the threat is issued without regard to the practice of democracy where the winner of the party forming the government is there to serve the nation, not to plunder it. Having been in power for 53 years, UMNO is still concern about policies affecting selected races rather than government policies that would serve the people. Najib takes the election process to perform what Mafia does except with the title of a nation accepted by the United nations.

If MCA respects the wishes of the Chinese, then it should have left BN for not been able to insist that the government honour the promise to end NEP within the stipulated 20 years period. Chinese do not want their name to be associated with agreeing to the racial discriminatory polices against them represented by NEP. So MCA remains in government despite objection by Chinese.

Chua said that MCA needed legitimacy to be represented in the government. The first question is whether MCA is considered legitimate by the BN now. If MCA is legitimate what good is its legitimacy in getting the government to drop policies that discriminate against Chinese? Maybe Chua should first answer the question whether he agreed that NEP should end now; and for all we know he wants it extended like Najib. He should then conduct a referendum among the Chinese on their decision on NEP. If he thinks that NEP should end, and he could not get it abolished, what good is MCA remaining in the government, legitimate or otherwise?

There were nothing written in the article association of BN regarding the legitimacy of MCA, and now UMNO can conveniently utilized Chua Soi Lek’s statement to claim that because MCA does not represent Chinese so whatever said by the party is not relevant. However MCA members in government are allowed to pick up crumbs left over by UMNO.

Chua Soi Lek has now offered UMNO the excuse to ignore MCA even though some MCA members are made ministers. MCA under Chua Soi Lek not only licks UMNO’s boots, he does so kneeling down.

31. #31 by boh-liao on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 5:27 pm

Mooo said: “I heard U but no know what U complaining abt
    I am 1Melayu 1Bumi first, n actually I think YES, current history syllabus tak cukup kuat on Melayu, need 2 revise it 2 include MORE UmnoB flavor, sacrifice n contributions
    CJ Yong, U no like it, just GET LOST lah, U pendatang n si mata sepet

32. #32 by Loh on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 6:20 pm

Chua Soi Lek echoed the words of Mamakthir that Chinese overwhelmingly support DAP would rendered this country into two racial-group system. Obviously MCA President has no mind of his own and he considers it safe to follow the words of somebody whom Najib holds in awe.

DAP is a multi-racial party unlike UMNO and MCA which openly declared that their political aspiration is only for the persons they care based on race. If Chinese choose to support DAP it is just the outcome of political reality. UMNO chooses to represent only Malays, and MCA cannot safeguard Chinese interest where else do they expect Chinese to turn too? If it is dangerous to have political divide polarized by race, then UMNO should cease to represent only Malays.

It is shameful of MCA president that because MCA is not able to safeguard Chinese interest and garner Chinese votes he resorts to threaten Chinese. Chinese have been facing threats since May 13, and it is nothing new. Chinese in Malaysia have seen ridiculous injustice perpetrated by UMNO in its policies and implementations and yet MCA stood by to be counted as supporting such racial-discriminatory policies. If MCA has any pride, it should have long left BN for its failure to stop the unjust NEP and its bastardized implementation extended beyond 1990. The fact that MCA cannot garner Chinese support only shows that UMNO does not care about the existence of MCA, though UMNO find MCA a convenient prop to pretend that the government is represented by all races.

It used to be UMNO who threatened May 13. MCA president has followed this up so that the few Chinese said to represent the community could continue to enjoy their positions in government. We grow up facing threats everyday. But CSL should have been smarter than that.

33. #33 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 9:01 pm

this is the real history.
    who are the running dogs of the British? Umno types.
    who are the running dogs of the Japanese? Umno types.
    who are the running dogs of umno? MCA, gerakan, mic, SUPP.

34. #34 by yhsiew on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 9:57 pm

Our history texts seem to smack of ethnocentrism.

35. #35 by tak tahan on Sunday, 1 May 2011 - 10:08 pm

How is LKS’s eye surgery recovery?gofortruth?No news in the net!

36. #36 by tak tahan on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 12:22 am

Hallo..hallo..testing 1,2,3..hallo..why no sound ar?

37. #37 by boh-liao on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 12:31 am

NR, Mooo, UmnoB, civil servants, CSL, KTK etc all want 2 promote Malays in their propaganda
    Don’t care right or wrong, factual or lies
    During recent Wen’s visit, they brought national shame by displaying d wrong photo n d wrongly translated Chinese message
    Utter rubbish! What’s d point of hving MCA n Gerakan in BN?

38. #38 by raven77 on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 12:36 am

Its just indoctrination….dont let your children fall for it…

39. #39 by tak tahan on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 12:41 am

Aiyah..these joker,cartoon or whatnot..mai kong yau la.I want to LOL when i saw their faces especially the long tau foo fa leg n ostrich aka mantis with black belt the boh hoot.They’re gone already 1la.

40. #40 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 1:55 am

It is a known fact..the standard of education in Malaysia is getting from bad to worst.
    Some of the teachers and HM talk politics…brainwashing students to trust only UMNO B government.

41. #41 by negarawan on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 7:12 am

The history syllabus is a glorification of UMNO’s ketuanan melayu and islamisation policies. The only way to correct the vastly distorted and myopic history syllabus is by kicking UMNO out of government. Period.

42. #42 by Ray on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 8:39 am

Firstly ,Rakyats Lets Vote PR into Putrayaya and the Reality of reformation >>Meritocracy equality good fair education governance will be visionalised.Lets fight together against the threats BN Umno Mca Mic Supp Pbb sampah busut Kotol sex obssession and money ringgits indulgence and economy plundering politics of fear ,Hopelessness etc….
    <>>
    Therefore ,Rakyat .>>>Lets Stand TALL against those wishing to kill or poison the minority races -malaysians and overcome this Umno Evil humanity.
    The real facts today is this threat to our existence isn’t a theoretical one, it cannot be minimized, it stands before us, before all of humanity, and it MUST be stopped…..otherwise our future will be bleak and bitter taste as we all know this world full of uncertainties(political socail econ aspects) and new evils threats..
    Take care of the future generiatonsand be Alert Always,
    Do not engage with Umno kakis morons and their cunning quiet tactic of Ideology decietfulness .
    Stop and crush all these Umno BN evil ones completely.

43. #43 by Loh on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 10:47 am

///As part of the survey, overseas Malaysians were asked what policy initiatives could possibly entice migrants to return.

The top picks were a change in the country’s race-based policies and fundamental reforms in the public sector with “Paradigm shift away from race-based towards needs-based affirmative action” and “Evidence of fundamental and positive change in the government/public sector” receiving 87 and 82 per cent positive responses respectively.///–MalaysianInsider

Najib was quick to deny that it was the race-based discriminatory NEP that causes Malaysian talents to leave the shore. Najib is obviously in denial because he either insists that NEP does no harm, and even knowing the harm when he tabled NEM, he has no guts to change it, if not no sincerity as racist. The report of the world bank was based on a survey, and 82% stating it cannot be biased by sample selection.

44. #44 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 10:47 am

So many reasons to vote a change of government….and particularly tio get rid of corrupted leaers tha steal millions and millions……non stop.. yet many still vote for BN.
    But the numbers are getting smaller and smaller.
    It seems to be.. a contest between rural and urban voters to decide…with lots of government servants cannot be fooled.
    Just look at how low politics have become under Najib and ask yourself why.
    If any voter does not know the real reasons and cannot see clearly…these are the Malaysians that are mostly irresponsible and selfish …with lots of them cannot think…as brains are controlled by the Devil.

45. #45 by negarawan on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 11:51 am

When in desperation, you can see najib and moohidin playing the race and religious cards. I say 1malaysia with my middle finger up!

46. #46 by tak tahan on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 12:21 pm

With this one of the only kind of indoctrination in the world;btn,skewed education,mamak n perkosa with kutu kutu corp,very soiled leg,ostrick Koon n those buggers,the majority will be made stupid forever and be controlled easily like no other better form than robots.

47. #47 by Loh on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 12:31 pm

///Al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden is dead, US President Barack Obama announced today, nearly 10 years after the September 11 attacks in a televised address.Obama said this in an unusual Sunday night…///-Malaysiakini

Americans are rejoicing. When can we also hear the death of the person who caused 9-11 to Malaysia.

48. #48 by k1980 on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 12:53 pm

Now they want “1school”. After that, cintanegara will be hopping up and down in anger when they demand “1wife”. Where will cintanegara’s 3 other wives go to?

49. #49 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 12:58 pm

Some school of thoughts think Osama bin Laden..is the one that changes the arrogance and hypocracies of the US Govt….even millions of Americans… way of thinking.
    Yes very sad…..more than 4000 innocent lives taken away…but when you live in the country known to be the mother of all evils at that time…you have to accept the fate.
    In Malaysia…we just wait for 13th GE and live for better or worst to continue our struggles for total freedom.

50. #50 by tak tahan on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 1:04 pm

Cintanegara’3 wives will be lumped into 1Datin trio.Same batch n bed with 1Datok trio!Yo yo yummie

51. #51 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 1:13 pm

So what Osama died in the line of a battle with Americans at war.
    That do not kill their struggles and believes….one bit..as long as Muslims think the Bible is not the true words of God.
    And to witness the wedding of Kate & Will hearing the priest say…”In the name of the Father…the Son and the Holy Ghost”…not three but ONE….I say Britain is asking for trouble….but right now..Britain is not important to world affairs…so treat it as an idiot speaking..

52. #52 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 1:25 pm

When one gave up so much comfort and wealth and live in the mountains with no comfort and very little food to choose…do you think that man is a mad man or a great Freedom Fighter?
    Naturally…we read tons of news how his parents disowned Osama Bin Laden..this and that.
    He lasted for decades and inspite of a US$5 million rewards given to anyone for informations led to his arrest…..no individuals betrayed him.
    I must be from Govt. to Govt.
    Which Government lead to the success of the battle to kill him?
    Like I said….is he a mad man or a Freedom Fighter?
    It is a known fact Osama have been training his son to take over as he is not that healthy now.
    I think he love dying fighting the Americans and not die in bed.

53. #53 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 1:35 pm

In Malaysia ..Mahathir and Najib try to make Anwar give up politics…go mad or die faster.
    The “war” with UMNO B No1 enemy is not with bullets…tanks and firearms.
    It is spreading lies and sex shows…gossiping..with smelly mouths.
    American Govt should learn soneting frm Najib how to gun down an emeny without declaring a war.
    The problem is Malaysia…the enemies are not from another country.
    It is right here…in Malaysia…evenly divided.
    And this is created by Najib..who is out to kill his creation?
    What kind of brain he has.

54. #54 by tak tahan on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 1:50 pm

No worry,madam Clinton already learned that trade from Loh si mah aka siau cha bo and now uncle Weng from tiong san also gave full praise to Najis 1Malaysia.Soon all the dignitaries and missionaries from all over the world will fly over here for the most powerful war lesson without the need to use missile,c4 and nuclear and whatnot.Malaysia can la.

55. #55 by boh-liao on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 2:22 pm

Blardi lies by NR warning Chinese dat if they do not support MCA = they r plunging d nation in2 racial politics n dividing d nation along racial line
    Utter rubbish logic – NR must know there r still Chinese die die must vote 4 MCA/BN (they r truly racists who vote 4 a race-based political party)
    There r also Chinese who root 4 DAP/PR/PAS – they r not racists but patriots n nationalists who vote 4 non-race-based political parties

Remember, Umno, MCA, MIC r race-based parties n racists, n UmnoB kaki hv supported ‘1Melayu 1 Bumi’

56. #56 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 4:10 pm

MCA have never stoop so low to threaten Malaysian Chinese until Chua Soi Lek took over.
    Why not he get all MCA out of the cabinet now.
    Why give useless threats?
    From his big mouth…the balance of the few will be voted out in13th GE..and the end of MCA..
    “Macham-macham Crabs Ada”…a real “Malaysian Crab Association”

57. #57 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 4:12 pm

“Macham-macham Crabs Ada”
    “Malaysia Crab Association”
    Moderated again?

58. #58 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 4:14 pm

2 under moderation when I fire balls of fire at MCA.
    Why be so good to apple polishers?

59. #59 by monsterball on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 4:15 pm

2 under moderation. Third thrown out..all because I dislike what CSL said?

60. #60 by Loh on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 5:19 pm

LTL the Brutus of MCA said that MCA would reject ministerial posts if they are not supported sufficiently in 13 GE. But Chua Soi Lek still claimed that MCA would still be with the government despite poor shop results at election. Chinese want MCA to leave BN, if it does not take up positions in government due to poor performance. Would CSL confirm this?

Mamakthir is still talking about using 55% of the population to discriminate against the minorities. He and Perkasa never for a moment consider this country belong to all races and have a shared destiny. They are only concerned that in the election Malays should vote for UMNO to control everything in the country and to discriminate against non-Malays as they have done since May 13. Najib’s offer to PAS follows Mamakthir’s strategy of getting Malays to support UMNO so that discriminatory policies can be continued as usual without a fear of Chinese voting against the government. That is racial politics played by the person who pretend to call for Malaysian unity under 1Malaysia. He is the hypocrite of the highest order.

From MCLM Bangkok it was reported that the government received revenue from Petronas since 1974 amounted to between 1.5 to 2.5 trillion ringgit. That averages 80,000 ringgit per capita. It was stated that poverty incidence in 1970 was 49 per cent. The government claims that the poverty population in 2009 has been reduced to 3.8 per cent based on poverty threshold of household income below 763 ringgit in Peninsular and 1,055 ringgit in Sabah. If the comparative international poverty line indicator of 2,000 ringgit is used, poverty incident ramains at 49%. The 2 trillion ringgit windfall, or 80,000 ringgit per capita has not trickled down to the poor, or changed the poverty incidence in the country. The trillion ringgit windfall has made Mamakthir’s dream of creating Malays billionaire of his choice came true.

61. #61 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 6:19 pm

I just cannot understand our ‘leaders’. Obviously they are all educated with degrees from overseas, meaning they are supposed to be better than many of the local graduates they have designed currently and yet they talked as if they are in the mid-20th century. When the a good one-third of the population have decided that you are not treating with respect as tax-paying citizens of this nation, you threatened them with no representation if your supposedly partners and also supposedly members of that communities failed to be given free hand-out votes. Surely, by now you should realize whether your so-called partners are representing their community or not is no longer of concern to the community. On one hand the Super-Ego claimed that this community paid 97% of all taxes collected and yet you continue to treat them as out-siders. By all intent, search your conscience and tell us that you have been fair to them. The majority of this community is only asking you to treat the poorer Malays with some dignity, do not cheat them and you created MOBS to demonize us. You know that the curtrent policy will not sustain the nation into the 21st Century; whatever your feeling! Even our largest neighbour has decided to practise better policy than what we have been doing. Instead taking advantage of the talent of Malayisans, you prefer the God forsaken policy of divide and rule just for the immediate gains of your cronies. Even SHELL knows how to make use of Malaysian talents, by having them spear-heading their joint ventures with China.
    You must admit that many of the piratized companies only appeared to do well when they are monopolizing the business; when any competition even indirect ones, is introduced, they are literally slaughtered. Just look at the Container haulage business, with oligapolistic environment, they could not deliver. Now it is opened up because the delays cost the nation millions of ringgit, they are moving slightly better. Any way, I was made to understand that this sector has to open up under the Asean arrangment; let’s see the impact.
    You can’t keep holding to something just because of artificial enviroment created for vested interests; by the time the rest of the world forces you to open up, you will never recover fast enough to compete. You can’t win any race being prepared for the real race!

62. #62 by cemerlang on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 8:30 pm

Is any of our politicians a historian ? Recalling back, a student studied to pass. A handful would be interested. It is just a foundation. Once he or she gets to further education, he or she will be challenged as he or she has to read more for the sake of doing a thesis.

63. #63 by rockdaboat on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 9:56 pm

They are stupid and they think that others are stupid.

64. #64 by tak tahan on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 11:10 pm

They pretend to be both stupid and clever according to their respective audience.When facing mata sepets,he overtly shown his stupidity( lu tolong gua,gua pun tolong lu la)..hoping for sympathy vote..wipe the drool off his pink-lip…but when the urgent calls come…so..so..much clever with ummm gesture..kita mesti ‘lawan tetap lawan’.”Diam diam..jangan cakap banyak!” said loose control mah.These people is the highest hyprocrite in order of all mankind.

65. #65 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 7:07 am

CSL’s poser – vote MCA or else no representation in Cabinet – begs the question whether the representation of the nature that MCA is identified with all these years is indeed a carrot that is desired by its constituency.

If representation in cabinet by MCA is of a nature that causes in the course of these years the majority of this constituency to desert it in the first place, it is triumph of hope over logic for CSL to now use this very same representation as a bait to entice the return of support.

Such a poser (which is a form of a threat which ever way one slices it as a “fact”) is likely the backfire on CSL. Touting something that is rejected as a bait for acceptance adds salt to wound. The satisfaction in seeing MCA punished in the polls for such brazen intransigence far exceeds the notional need for representation by it.

66. #66 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 9:34 am

MCA, Gerakan, SUPP, MIC – most of their elected ADUNs n MPs were elected by Malay votes, courtesy of UmnoB, hence they kow tow n readily sell their family members 2 UmnoB, their saviour n provider who gave them a chance 2 sapu d crumbs, gravy train

67. #67 by Loh on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 10:13 am

Now that Najib has agreed that MCA would not be given ministerial position when MCA does not make it in the next election, Chua Soi Lek should now declare that if MCA is not represented in the Cabinet, then MCA will also leave the BN and the government. You will not be blamed for rocking the BN boat.

Show us you have balls Chua Soi lek. The Chinese want a real bet, not neither here nor there. The Chinese want to choose between having MCA represented in the real sense of the words, and remain there, or to have MCA leave the government and the BN totally and completely. Chinese do not want to have the name tainted as agreeing to the policies that discriminate against the Chinese.

Whether MCA have their elected or non-elected members appointed minister benefit only those who enjoy the position, if they are there as flower pot. And worse they misrepresent to the outside world that Chinese support government policies such as the price differential in house purchase based on race, and that Malays have special privileges when they have none according to the constitution. They were placed in the special position just like patients entering ICU.

68. #68 by Loh on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 10:15 am

message lost
    Now that Najib has agreed that MCA would not be given ministerial position when MCA does not make it in the next election, Chua Soi Lek should now declare that if MCA is not represented in the Cabinet, then MCA will also leave the BN and the government. You will not be blamed for rocking the BN boat.

Show us you have balls Chua Soi lek. The Chinese want a real bet, not neither here nor there. The Chinese want to choose between having MCA represented in the real sense of the words, and remain there, or to have MCA leave the government and the BN totally and completely. Chinese do not want to have the name tainted as agreeing to the policies that discriminate against the Chinese.

Whether MCA have their elected or non-elected members appointed minister benefit only those who enjoy the position, if they are there as flower pot. And worse they misrepresent to the outside world that Chinese support government policies such as the price differential in house purchase based on race, and that Malays have special privileges when they have none according to the constitution. They were placed in the special position just like patients entering ICU.

69. #69 by Loh on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 10:15 am

message disappeared

70. #70 by Loh on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 2:29 pm

The case against Ling Liong Sik wrt PKFZ is postponed to August 1-12, 2011 because the AG chamber could not get Cabinet papers declassified until then. Looks like the GE 13 would be on before August, so that LLS can be discharged not amounting to acquittal. LLS will bear the stigma of misleading the Cabinet when obviously the decision on the purchase of land at the ‘negotiated’ price was too big an issue for him to decide, and besides he was not entitled to all the benefits for paying the high price as against forced acquisition for public interest, based on the law, at 10 ringgit per sq ft rather then at 25 ringgit. The land would have been acquired at 400 million RM rather than 1 billion RM, a difference of 600 million. LLS can’t be worth half of 600 million RM, despite having a son who could shit gold and piss silver.

71. #71 by Loh on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 3:43 pm

///And what about the claim that the Chinese are in sole control of the economy? Have Khir Toyo and Ibrahim Ali forgotten about Government-Linked Companies (GLCs) such as Maybank, PETRONAS, Telekom Malaysia, TNB, Khazanah Nasional, PNB, Media Prima, Felda, Sime Darby, and many others, the vast majority of which are owned by the Government and managed by Malay-Bumiputera? The G-20 group of largest listed GLCs alone possess RM353 billion (around half) of the market capitalisation of the entire Bursa Malaysia.///–Zaib Ibrahim

Chua Soi Lek should as Najib how much of the equity listed above are included as Malays owned in meeting the 30% target.

72. #72 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 4:52 pm

History is there so that we can learn from our mistakes and not repeat them again. There is no use if we cannot learn anything from it. Once we have learned, we must change. Unlearn, learn, relearn.

73. #73 by rubini on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 6:15 pm

For the Malays, To the Malays & By the Malays

74. #74 by danieltkb on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 11:10 pm

what good to learn a makeup history and lack of global knowledge, ? can knowing the makeup Msia history be make me a good survival in later life? better spend the time in learing others more profitable than be brain wash by this stupic edcu sistem in Msia. what value can that bring? as long as there is no value i rather put it in the last list to read only when i have extra time.
    even such system force compulsory to do so, i will NOT be subject to that stupic man made system. i rather open my brain to global, and in later life enjoy better fruits, and rewards. therefore i call those to be smart and wise, not to be fall into such trap, to make us stupic in life !

75. #75 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 4 May 2011 - 5:02 pm

Survival also means to live successfully through a stupid system.