When even Chinese PM could give full praise to Najib’s 1Malaysia concept, when will DPM Muhyiddin give unreserved support to PM’s signature policy, declare that he is “Malaysian first, Malay second” and repudiate Utusan Melayu’s “1Melayu” call?

One of the headlines in today’s New Straits Times coverage of the Chinese Prime Minister Wen Jiabao’s visit to Malaysia reads: “Chinese prime minister all praise for Najib’s 1Malaysia”, reporting that Wen Jiabao was “full of praise for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak for coming up with the 1Malaysia concept” when meeting Malaysian Chinese businessmen in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

This report immediately triggers the question:

When even the Chinese Prime Minister could give full praise to Najib’s 1Malaysia concept, when will Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin give unreserved support to the Prime Minister’s signature policy, declare that he is “Malaysian first, Malay second” and repudiate Utusan Malaysia’s “1Melayu” call?

The declared objectives of 1Malaysia concept are indeed most laudable and praiseworthy – to create a more vibrant, more productive and more competitive Malaysian nation “where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second and where the principles of 1Malaysia are woven into the economic, political and social fabric of society”.

Going by this official definition, given by the official document “1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme”, I am the first MP to demonstrate support for Najib’s 1Malaysia concept by declaring in Parliament on March 18, 2009 that I am Malaysian first and Chinese second – when I also invited all the Barisan Nasional Ministers to make the same declaration that they are Malaysian first, race second to demonstrate their support and fealty to the Prime Minister’s 1Malaysia concept.

But no Barisan Nasional Minister dared to take the floor of Parliament to respond to my challenge to declare their allegiance to the 1Malaysia concept – and when I continued to pursue the matter, the Deputy Prime Minister retorted outside Parliament that he is Malay first and Malaysian second!

What is worse, Muhyiddin has now given his blessings to the communal and racist “1Melayu, 1Bumi” call by Utusan Malaysia, the official organ of Umno, which makes a complete mockery of Najib’s inclusive 1Malaysia concept.

Let me ask Muhyiddin when he is going to follow my example and declare that he is Malaysian first and race second to eradicate all doubts not only about his loyalty to Najib’s 1Malaysia policy but to Najib’s Prime Ministership?

If a visiting foreign dignitary like the Chinese Prime Minister can be full of praise for Najib’s 1Malaysia policy, it is real shame when the Deputy Prime Minister and the entire Najib Cabinet are not prepared to declare that they are “Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second” in line with the 1Malaysia concept.

It is more than two years since Najib became the sixth Prime Minister with his signature 1Malaysia policy.

Isn’t it time he demand the full support and commitment of his Cabinet to the 1Malaysia policy by asking Ministers – even the DPM – to leave his government if any Cabinet Minister is not prepared to publicly declare that he or she is “Malaysian first and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second”?

Is Najib prepared make this item the main subject of the next Cabinet meeting to show that he is really committed to the 1Malaysia concept and policy?

1. #1 by dagen on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 10:32 am

But he is still mata sepet. he he he he …..

… laughed umno.

2. #2 by monsterball on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 10:50 am

I think the Chinese President knows Najib is a bullshitter but he is on a diplomatic mission and all Diplomats speak like that.
    The other way to read the Chinese compliment to Najib is to hint to him..say what you mean and mean what you say.
    DPM?…he is a low class politician….period.

3. #3 by dagen on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 10:52 am

If he cannot declare himself a malaysian (first and race second) then he is not prime minister material, assuming that umno could survive long enough for him to take over. Of course that will not happen. Umno will not survive GE13. And mohideen will not be prime minister.

4. #4 by monsterball on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 10:52 am

I think the Chinese Premier is applying diplomacy.
    I think he knows Najib as well as all Malaysians do.

5. #5 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 10:58 am

We should tell Weng Jiabao about 1tibet.

why 1Najib thinks that we would listen to 1China? He has no confidence in leading us, and thus he invited 1China to be involved in his administration?

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 11:00 am

You assume that Muhiyiddin respect Wen or anyone from China’s opinion..They just want their money or cooperation to make money. The likes of Muhiyiddin is likely to fear and suspicious of China rather than respect it. And you know what? Wen and everyone from China knows it too..Like the racial relationship in this country, the Malaysia-China relationship in reality is dysfunctional…

7. #7 by jus legitimum on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 11:59 am

Umno and their cohorts are not sincere in building good relationship with China.They only hope China will give them some crumbs which the former will definitely consider.But Wen’s visit has been marred by a glaring slipshod chinese translation on the billboard at the welcome ceremony held at Putrajaya yesterday.The bungle not only has caused a stir in the international arena but it also cast doubt on the sincerity of our leaders.

8. #8 by Taxidriver on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 12:17 pm

That Muhyiddin is a racist is known to everyone. But what about Najib? I have yet to hear his declaration that he is Malaysian first and Malay second. Lead by example, Mr. PM.

9. #9 by wanderer on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 12:25 pm

Mr Moo, UMNO DPM, is there a malay race?…how can you be Malay first? Indo!

10. #10 by wanderer on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 12:31 pm

p/s ….even an Indian Kerala kutty claimed to be a
    melayu!

11. #11 by monsterball on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 12:41 pm

PM?…He is Devil first..Malay second and in between he is a NUT..depending on nurse Rosmah.

12. #12 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 1:09 pm

UMNO suckers, since you called upon Chinese as perdatangan for prostitution!!! [deleted] After all, your bunch of suckers proclaiming that you all can go by yourselves????

13. #13 by undertaker888 on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 1:14 pm

..and they say DAP is racist. Mamucktahi pendatang Kerala.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 1:47 pm

Beware that Najib’s 1Malaysia is to fish non-Malay votes.

15. #15 by hallo on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 1:51 pm

Without non-malay contributing and balancing extremist

This country maybe already doom in high bankrupt, fight, quarrel all over them, and extreme corruption

Cos balancing the country progress

16. #16 by hallo on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 1:54 pm

Malaysia
    Truly Asia

1Malaysia
    Truly Lie

=================
    To some they don’t feel any sin telling lie in front of public, they win they take you as a fool

17. #17 by sheriff singh on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 2:09 pm

‘Chinese prime minister all praise for Najib’s 1Malaysia’.

Wen Jiabao is just being polite. What else can he say? That Najib’s 1Malaysia is all mumbo-jumbo, rojak?

Does Wen understand what 1Malaysia is all about? Wen only knows 1China, 2systems.

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 2:11 pm

Hooooray. I am not moderated. Maybe the moderator is sleeping on the job.

Must buy a lottery ticket.

19. #19 by Loh on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 2:27 pm

Wen Jaibao should have asked Najib why the government treats Chinese as if they were the worst enemies of the country instead of praising Najib for his 1Malaysia concept which does not equate to equality for all Malaysians. The concept of Malaysian Malaysia is more relevant and it was raised even when Najib’s father was still alive. Just because Najib’s father did not accept Malaysian Malaysia, and so Najib takes the ‘whatever approach’. So whatever Razak disagreed, Najib cannot agree. If so, Razak promised that NEP was for 20 years, why don’t Najib follow?

20. #20 by Loh on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 2:57 pm

///(The Malaysian Insider) – Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek has said that he would be the first to vote for PKR if it dared to abolish Malay privileges.
    “If PKR dares to amend the constitution and cancel Malay privileges, I will be the first to raise my hands to vote for PKR,” the MCA president said in a video posted by his party on video-sharing site Youtube.///

The statement shows how stupid Chua Soi lek as President of MCA is. As MCA President, it is his duty to raise the issue with UMNO, to have a review of Article 153 as agreed to by the founding fathers of the three component parties. CSL should have first gotten UMNO to abolish NEP, which does not require an amendment to the constitution. It is NEP which has made Chinese and other non-Malays second class citizens. Compared to NEP article 153 provides that the King should ensure that the government provide a reasonable quota for Malays. So CSL is talking non-sense about supporting PKR with his one vote when he should approach UMNO as President of MCA to drop article 153 and decides to pull out of BN when that fails. Nobody should know how CSL votes, as voting is a secret matter. One vote for PKR counts for nothing but since MCA claims to represent Chinese, and CSL claims to be President of MCA, he should just do his job rather than challenging PKR to drop article 153. Indeed, that challenge is also meaningless since PKR is not the ruling party.

21. #21 by monsterball on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 3:27 pm

Yip sheriff singh…you are very lucky.
    I get worst now…half way writing my comment…suddenly messasge dissappeared!!
    It all depends on his good or bad mood?

22. #22 by monsterball on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 3:33 pm

But I never give up..or get angry.
    I start again writing until he surrenders and approve…..hahahahahahaha
    It is if he puts me on permanent moderation or sort of ban me out…I will write an email to him…then all OK again….confirming it is my nick that moderator got irritated.
    Will you change you name to suit him?
    No way….so do it….and so OK now.
    Wait till thunder storms strike hard…maybe under moderation again.

23. #23 by hallo on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 3:42 pm

‘…article 153 provides that the King should ensure that the government provide a reasonable quota for Malays.’

I think the statement is not correct

The King should ensure the article 153 is practise in fair manner and should ask the cabinet to review from times to times.

But the function may have problem to activate

24. #24 by Peter on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 5:21 pm

Reprint from a blogger on Bolehland:-

“In the official welcoming ceremony for visiting Chinese Prime Minister Wen, there was a backdrop with certain Chinese words which were grammatically wrong. One CHinese official was quoted that he could not understand what meaning that phrase was trying to convey. Apparently, it was translated using google translator.

At the same time, a wrong picture was used instead of the historic picture showing our 2nd PM the late Tun Razak shaking hand with Mao during Tun’s first visit to China. The picture that was displayed showed Tun Razak shaking hand with an official of China which not even the minister in attendance, Dr Koh T K-a Chinese Scholar- knew about, according to Sin Chew report.

This is really a disgrace to a country which has so many Chinese schools. Even a primary student would have written that phrase correctly.

I cannot understand how protocol officials do not even know how Mao Tse Tung looks like in photographs. Even though he is dead, any recent world history book or diplomatic handbook on china would have his photos.

This has confirmed what I have been harping all this time– that we have lost excellence in all fields, even in the Protocol Division of the PM department.

I really do not know where to hide my face!”

My goodness, what a disgrace. Those guys in the Protocol Dept are either dumb dumb or downright stupid.

25. #25 by hallo on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 6:09 pm

It mean that they don’t respect the China VVIP

Especially they maybe don’t like the VVIP honor the chinese who support/finance the china revolution

They don’t appreciated those non-malay balancing/reducing the extremist here

26. #26 by Winston on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 6:14 pm

The top leadership is playing the political game both ways.
    To the rest of Malaysians, it’s 1 this and 1 that.
    To the bumi, it’s bumi this and bumi that.
    The Chinese calls this “One leg on two boats!”.
    Any which way, the top leadership wins!!

27. #27 by greencurry on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 12:40 am

LKS is supporting 1Malaysia? then y dun just leave Pakatan and join BN??? better still put up the 1Malaysia logo in all DAP branches.

28. #28 by born in Malaya on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 12:53 am

UMNOs and Perkasa members should use this opportunity to protest at the airport and ask Wen jiabao to balik Cina before the leader step foot in Malaysia.
    This is what they used to say to Chinese in Malaysia.

29. #29 by tak tahan on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 1:57 am

Uncle Weng now is higher than royalty so cannot be rude to him otherwise one shall be ordered to go thru ‘bullet lesson’ on forehead.Uncle Weng serious prominent guy not like najis n perkosa kutu kutu corp. suka main main mamasak punya budak budak.Frankly,I think they enjoyed the sucks la..full of china minerals,spirulina,shark fin,yomeishu,rare earth,dragon tongkat akau,drunken monkey china wine,my Big Big thrusting martial art and dewa dewi laser beam..