To explore further the idea of a DAP-SNAP merger in my three days in Kuching, Sibu and Miri starting tomorrow

In my three days of visit to Kuching, Sibu and Miri beginning tomorrow, I will also take the opportunity to explore further the idea of a DAP-SNAP merger as a follow-up to the 416 political awakening in the recent Sarawak state general elections with the twin objectives to accelerate greater political awakening among Sarawakians of all ethnic groups and deepen and strengthen DAP and Pakatan Rakyat political support in the state.

This will be in line with the decision of the DAP Sarawak State Committee at its meeting in Sibu last Sunday to give the nod to explore further the idea of a possible DAP-SNAP merger.

I propose not only to meet SNAP leaders and veterans but also to discuss the post-416 political scenario and challenges with a whole spectrum of Sarawakians.

The suggestion of a possible DAP-SNAP merger has come as a great surprise to all quarters, both inside and outside the DAP, Pakatan Rakyat as well as the larger political scene.

We are in new and challenging times and we must be prepared to think the unthinkable and do what previously was thought undoable. What must remain constant and consistent are our political commitment and principles of justice, equality, freedom, accountability, integrity and good governance to serve the people of Sarawak and Malaysia.

One of our greatest post-416 challenges is to completely demolish the myths that the Sarawak state general elections are solely the political awakening of the Chinese voters and in the urban areas – when the statistics are crystal clear that firstly, it is not just the Chinese, but the Iban, Dayak, Bidayuh, Malay and Melanau voters who had also given us their support to ensure DAP victory in 12 constituencies and that the political swing of Sarawak voters to Pakatan Rakyat are even stronger outside the urban areas than in the cities and towns.

But it takes both hands to clap. If the SNAP leadership objects to the merger idea, then it cannot be taken further. DAP however will not compete with Barisan Nasional to woo SNAP or anyone for that matter, for we operate in completely different terrains – as BN offers “wealth, position and status” for a select few while DAP can only offer “blood, sweat and tears” to work for the betterment of future generations.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 4:53 pm

Wish you a fruitful visit Kit.

2. #2 by Winston on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 6:07 pm

Uncle Lim, I understand that not only is SNAP rejected
    by the electorate in Sarawak in the latest state
    election but it was also aligned to BN previously.
    The relationship of the leaders may be so that they
    may be the willing tools of the BN.
    This will be fatal for the DAP and PR if they were to
    be elected on the ticket of the DAP and then jump ship.
    BE VERY WARY THAT THE BN WILL DO ANYTHING AND
    EVERYTHING TO STAY IN POWER!!

3. #3 by tak tahan on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 12:48 am

LKS,i have confident in you..especially from you past records i read so far..thanks god..nothing insane..tainted…but highly admired by the decent n otak betul betul centre punya orang.Be steadfast always..thru..your integrity,determination and sacrifices..that we truely appreciate.Monsterball,see!you had affected my way of writing ya?LKS,hope your wish come true!Stay cool n always ichiban!