Ibans storm SUPP office asking ‘election reward’

Apr 26, 11

More than 100 Ibans stormed the Sibu headquarters of the Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) yesterday, demanding the balance of RM400 a person as their reward promised for backing a party candidate who won in the recent state election, an election watchdog has revealed.

Sibu Election Watch (SEW) in a press statement released in the Sarawak town late yesterday evening said the Ibans were upset that they did not get the “balance”, despite being promised by SUPP election agents as well as the tuai rumah (longhouse headman) before polling day.

The incident was first reported by the web portal Sarawak Indigenous Community News and tweeted by DAP Sarawak chairman and Bukit Assek assemblyperson Wong Ho Leng (left), who was present at the site yesterday.

Soon after the news broke out, SEW sent two representatives to the Sibu SUPP headquarters to check out the situation.

Its probe, SEW said, showed that the Ibans were promised an upfront payment of RM100 before voting day on April 16 and if the SUPP candidate won, they would each be paid another RM400 after the election.

SEW said its representatives have witnessed Ibans from at least two longhouses being paid the “balance” of RM400 each.

The election watch said the Ibans were from Rumah Chandi, Rumah Pasang and Rumah Ujang.

When the SEW representatives were leaving the scene, it said, only the residents from Rumah Chandi and Rumah Pasang had collected the money from SUPP.

“One of the residents from Rumah Chandi even distributed a stack of RM100 bills to the longhouse folk holding their identity cards in front of us,” SEW said.

Quarrel with tuai rumah

SEW said it interviewed one Iban voter from Rumah Ujang, who revealed that the Iban folk had a quarrel with their tuai rumah for not getting their RM400 even a week after polling day.

“However, the tuai rumah hit back that some people had voted for DAP and did not deserve to get the RM400 balance,” said the young Iban man SEW quoted in its press statement.

However, he blamed the tuai rumah for being unfair, since the BN had no way of proving which person did not vote for BN in the election.

SEW said another Iban man, who only wanted to be known as “Robin”, gave them a letter and expressed the residents’ anger against their tuai rumah, Mador Anak Rendah.

In the letter signed by ‘Disgruntled Voters’, the Sg Rasau voters said they felt deep regret that BN and SUPP failed to deliver their election promises.

“During the election eve, we were given RM100 each voter and later promised RM400 if the candidate wins in the election,” reads the letter.

However, when approached by SEW and Wong, these Iban voters refused to lodge police reports on the matter.

The reason they gave was “no point doing so”, since the police did not take any action despite some police reports lodged before.

BN retained its power in Sarawak in the April 16 state election with a two-thirds majority, while the opposition increased its seats from seven to 15. The Sarawak legislature has 71 seats.

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 11:11 am

This is not something new. BN can buy your soul at a cheap price.

If PR can be elected government, each Iban will get 600 ringgit every year without having to storm the SUPP office, right?

I am mad. Ibans got 500 ringgit whereas I did not get anything. Should I storm their office as well for my portion of share?

Now the question is what can we do? Vote buying has been legalised.

2. #2 by monsterball on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 11:26 am

In any case…one or two witnesses is enough to haul the accused party on person to court for corruptions or illegal votes buying.
    Here you have 100 claiming their votes are bought by SUPP…yet MACC does not move an inch arrest someone.

3. #3 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 11:37 am

Bn/UMNO suckers use their sucking tactics to suck those rakyat! The dickhead rakyat voted the BN/UMNO suckers in exchanging for only RM$400 and suffering for the entire lives from generations to generations. What those dickheads?

Those BN/UMNO suckers can only sucking for a few years more! More people access to International news and articles or information freely via internet! BN/UMNO suckers will be sucking their own dicks soon!!!

4. #4 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 11:39 am

500 ringgit in return for 5 more years of repression by umno

5. #5 by artemisios on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 11:45 am

Billions have been stolen from them.

And now govt give only RM500 of THEIR OWN MONEY back. That secured their vote…..

6. #6 by hallo on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 11:54 am

They have been treated, feed like an animal or dogs.

Those politicians are criminal in the laws.

Isn’t it disgusting we have to call those CRIMINALS YB.

A total insult to MALAYSIANS.

7. #7 by wanderer on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 12:22 pm

Mr moderator is my comment more obscene than what BN (SUPP) were doing?

8. #8 by dagen on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 12:57 pm

Ho Ho Ho Ho. LOL. This is good news man. No use reporting to the police? How true. Yeah. So dont report the matter. Instead urge them to pester umno for the balance money. GE13 is only months away. It is possible to keep this issue alive for the Ibans for several months.

9. #9 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 1:05 pm

It’s so pathetic that Ibans are been conditioned from those days by the irresponsible tuai rumah that umno is the only powerful party and their lives depend solely on its mercy.RM500 can last how long for one Iban’s family?Can’t even pay my car loan on one month basis.Can’t they see or yearn for bigger prospects like better education,jobs,public amenities and so on.Are they really in that secluded world that they have never ever seen people with houses,cars,motorbikes,tv,radio etc on the same land we’re living?Don’t they want to achieve that living standard by comparing with other than their community on the same land we are living?I can’t understand.Is it greed or ignorant or lack of total vision?

10. #10 by burn on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 1:30 pm

do not condemn those ibans!
    most never had the feels to hold a fifty or hundred ringgit in their life. it is like a windfall from heaven to them.
    “pr”… need to spend a little and do lot of works to improve their living conditions personally. example like… what was done for orang asli in selangor, this will make them open and see clearly. talks is a no point solution to them, action is what they wanna see, not just before, after or during election. win or lose will make no different to them, since they have seen and tasted it all.

salam…

11. #11 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 1:31 pm

Natives are different from pendatangs. Pendatangs knew from the start that they have to work and work and work and that is why granddads would have loads of stories to tell their grandkids. Let’s look at a RM 500 budget for 1 month.
    Food RM 150
    Petrol RM 100
    Electricity RM 50
    Water RM 50
    School RM 50
    Pocket money for kids RM 50
    Miscellaneous RM 50
    The Ibans are slowly learning. Once they have to compete for survival, then they will know the importance of money. How long will you give them money free of charge ? You can’t because you cannot go on being their slave of money supply. Once the pandora jar is opened, then people will see the true colours.

12. #12 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 1:47 pm

500rm divided by 5 years is 100rm per year. that’s 27sen a day. so what those ibans can buy for 27sens a day? 2 pcs of Hacks candy.

pakatan should promise them chocolates since handouts are legalised now by umno. same as showing porno in public.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 2:16 pm

Those Ibans r doing what NR proclaimed: U vote 4 me on polling day, next day come n C me 4 your reward
    Dis is NOT bribe lah under NR/BN, just giving $$ (faithful gift) 2 die hard supporters mah
    EC no take action on dis 1, very OK 1, win-win mah

14. #14 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 2:23 pm

This goes to show that before MACC lifts a finger to investigate any more of PR’s so-called transgressions, it should investigate the blatant and rampant corruption of the recent Sarawak election and white hair Taib.

15. #15 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 2:30 pm

All the rampant corruption and fraud reported so far in the Sarawak election are cause for a relook of a possible large scale rigged election by BN even a possible re-election carried out.

16. #16 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 2:52 pm

My dear Iban brothers,

If SUPP doesn’t pay up, can you take back your votes?

Fikir, fikir-lah.

It’s not too late to teach SUPP a lesson they will all remember in the next general election.

Do it.

17. #17 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 2:55 pm

Please! some Iban abang-adik do not understand why there is voting. They probably did not elect their tuai rumah. they may think it was just a practice to get 500 ringgit

18. #18 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 3:13 pm

Najib’s motto: You help me, I help you!

19. #19 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 3:19 pm

This practice of handling out RM500 in return for votes is not limited to Ibans only. It is also widely used among the Sabahans and the rural folk in the peninsula. Not to mention also in Myanmar, rural Thailand, and the banana republics of Africa and Latin America.

20. #20 by hallo on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 3:54 pm

Those Malaysians love for JUSTICE

We should condemn those corrupted politicians vote buying as criminal to your friends, public as this report stated

If nobody condemn them, they will feel no guilty of corruption

In a developed countries like USA, JAPAN all these politicians unconditionaly lock in JAIL

21. #21 by Thinking Two on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 4:02 pm

Can’t honor RM400!!!
    What else can bn can promise somemore????

22. #22 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 4:21 pm

In any other country, THIS is cause for nulling the election, Taib has to resign and re do the election. HERE? You wonder why foreigners still think we are monkeys…

23. #23 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 4:36 pm

Orang utans are humans’ ancestors, according to Charles Darwin.

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 4:45 pm

When “more than 100 Ibans stormed the Sibu headquarters of SUPP demanding the balance of RM400 a person as their reward promised for backing a party candidate who won in the recent state election”, isn’t it then true that (i)there are 400 witnesses to election bribery being committed under our elections laws and (ii) that the BN party candidate that won his seat in recent election had won it by breaking elections laws and (iii) his winning based on infringement of election laws therefore cannot be valid and (iv) he has to lose his position and therefore precipitate another by election for that seat???

25. #25 by dagen on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 6:01 pm

Actually if umno is not so greedy the 500 ringgit per election illegal hand outs tactic can ensure their existence and power base for centuaries to come.

But of course greed will always back fire on the greedy person. God and nature both have their ways to balance things out. Because of growing greed umno (well taib in sarawak) shooed those illiterates natives out of the jungle. And without the cover of the jungle they are forced to face the real world. So soon they too will discover the paltry sum that were given to them every 5 yrs and umno’s cheating ways.

26. #26 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 7:37 pm

I hope there will be more by-election in that BN worn areas so that Ibans will then suddenly awaken that this is not the usual 5 years lottery prize but a vote for future.

27. #27 by raven77 on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 8:06 pm

Funny country Malaysia…

The natives keep selling out the country…while…

The Pendatangs are trying their best to keep/save it…

28. #28 by negarawan on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 9:14 pm

Dear PR reps, You need to EDUCATE the Ibans and other Dayaks about UMNO money politics. This means you need to “turun padang” more often. No short cut.

29. #29 by setu on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 9:16 pm

just stretching imagination, or is it reality ?
    is this how elections, after elections are won
    in all the rural areas, kampung areas, village areas everywhere around the country ?
    maybe, some places only rm 50 , rm 100 max. ?
    now, rm 500 ?

many have been voting winners, but got none rm.
    so, will more and more ppl. demand rm for the next elections or else they won’t get their votes or else they won’t vote ?

Or with such experience, will ppl. demand payment first, rm 500 upfront before voting ?
    this disease will spread throughout the country ?

30. #30 by monsterball on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 9:54 pm

So much proof that votes are bought by BN…yet MACC or Police Crime Dept.. do not act.

31. #31 by timothychiew on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 10:03 pm

highly suspicious for those Iban!! want to take money may not until one week later! (last week shall have taken) also, normally it is the agent who will go to the long house/ their house to distribute the $$ (as I thought)!! now the Chinese community hope that there will still be representative in the State Government, hence this kind of openly asking for bribe by those Iban most likely is the tactic of the people like MCA / UMNO who see the need to punish the Chinese community who don’t support them (so that they will fear and then to swing back to vote them); but now Soon Koh has “ignore” their demand but still act as minister in the cabinet and hence MCA / UMNO’s [deleted] must find way to at least to pull down this remaining remnant SUPP who successfully supported by some people to win that constituency and path the way to the state cabinet.

32. #32 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 10:11 pm

No kan chiong la.You old long hard-core DAP more worry than me meh?Ar..lah..boh bun teh la.Come GE kan kau i lang!Very exciting re capture..omm mari omm..please…

33. #33 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 10:34 pm

RM500 for 1Vote in 1Malaysia, the 1st of its kind the world? But honestly I heard different.

A sarawakian working as a security guard told me tuais of each longhouse were promised RM 1000 for every family member ( those who live in the same longhouse ) who are of voting age. Now what they are getting is not even 50% of what was agreed upon.

This guy I am talking about admitted he did not go back to vote because of the nature of his job. Financial constraint is the other reason. When I hinted that the RM1000 is more than enough for his travelling expenses, he gave a wry smile and said, ” you really think they will give you the RM1000? The most they will give you is RM200, or RM 300 if you are lucky. Worst of all, those who are too timid to fight for it will get nothing! Everytime after election, the longhouse people quarrel and fight.

All thanks to the Barisan National.

34. #34 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 10:45 pm

No doubt, many rural Sarawakians need better information on what is going around them. Easy money seems to make them forget the next 5 years of frustartion in life; especially the furture of their children and their children’s children!!
    The only path is education!

35. #35 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 26 April 2011 - 11:08 pm

Aiyah..after more than 4 n 5 decades for Sarawak n Malaysia,still like that kind of mentality.That’s what umno wants it to be like that forever.I’ll love PR n commoner like us to do something about this sad situation.Ubah!!!

36. #36 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 7:44 am

soon we will be charged 50sen per junk mail from the government thieves. this pokey muck govt can easily find 1000 ways to pocket public money but drag on their feet to ease our burdens.

1 email perday for the ibans, that’s about 2.5 years to get back the 500rm given to them. 4 junk mails from them, less than a year to recoup. you’re busted, tax paying malaysians.

37. #37 by monsterball on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 7:47 am

Off the topic!!
    Dear LKS….Have you delivered the DAP toy to June Lupis?
    We must prove to Najib…we are not blowing hot air ….talk but cannot deliver.
    We must mean what we say and say what we mean…..correct ….kit?

(June is out of the country. Have emailed her that Bandar Kuching MP Chong Jien Ren to send her UBAH mascot with compliments. – kit)

38. #38 by k1980 on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 8:01 am

//we will be charged 50sen per junk mail from the government//

Why no open tender and Tricubes was just appointed? There will be lots of better companies which will be most happy to charge 5 sen per email. The rakyat can then save 45sen per email.

39. #39 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 8:56 am

Only Iban n SUPP meh? What abt Dayak, Melanau, Selako, Bidayuh, Orang Ulu, Malay, Chinese, Indian, PBB, PRS, SPDP, SNAP, PKR, DAP?

40. #40 by wanderer on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 9:58 am

Aiyah, Bumiputra is worth only 500bucks and self-claimed worth billions!…where is the justice?
    How could one expects MACC to act, when they will not haul up the rotten heavy weight corrupts….

41. #41 by wanderer on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 10:01 am

sorry typo error; …and self-claimed bumi worth billions…

42. #42 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 10:33 am

When I was studying in Canada every weekend I used to see people of Red Indian descent getting drunk and lying in the streets of the poorest part of the city. I used to feel sorry for them to see a once proud race reduced to such a pityful state. Now I am seeing this happening on our own doorsteps. We see the rural Ibans, Dayaks and other natives reduced to beggars and in return for a pittance, they are exploited for their votes. They are deliberately kept disadvantaged so that they can be easily manipulated for the BN’s devious and evil game to stay in power.

43. #43 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 1:22 pm

If Bumiputra means Melayu as well, then there is no need for an addition 1, meaning no need 1Melayu, 1Bumiputra. Greediness is when you want to have everything. And who are the princes (putra) of the earth (bumi) ? But look at them. From the Ibans to the Kadazans to the Orang Aslis to the Red Indians in US to the Aborigines in Aus to you name it, they are not the rulers of their own land. Indeed they are stuck to their land so much so they are not free to rule the land.

44. #44 by hallo on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 1:59 pm

If anyone check properly

The name bumi_putra is refer to male namely PUTRA mean the son ONLY

It is not included female

Female is reflected lower class in that name

45. #45 by hallo on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 2:05 pm

Putera

Language of origin: Sanskrit

Meaning/translation: prince; son

Info about origin: the two closely related Malay words ‘putra’ (son) and ‘putera’ (prince) have Sanskrit roots

Words: putra=the son (Malay) ; putera=the prince (Malay) ; putra=the son (Sanskrit)

If anyone check in internet may find some clues

Putera/Putra have related to Sanskrit language

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sanskrit

The word ‘Ma_lay’ in the link

The baby boy name Malay comes from the Indian word which means, “Unknown.” Sanskrit word which means, “Meaning of MALAY is slowly flowing wind..” Bengali word which means, “Breeze.”

http://www.birthvillage.com/Name/Malay

Is that any further explanation we can find?

46. #46 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 27 April 2011 - 6:33 pm

In bolehland, we have only dummy-putra. ibrahim is one of them and the likes. soi lek and types are doggy-putra. samy and the likes are chunni-putra.

mamak. ya. Mamak and the likes are bumi-pura pura.