Voting hanky-panky – helis and postal ballots

Dear YB Lim,

This is in view of the last Sarawak state election. I was in Miri for a week on work then. I think Malaysia should rethink the way voting in the rural interior are carried out.

1.As I understand helicopters are used to carry the ballot boxes from the interior to the counting centres. These boxes, as I was told are carried from the voting stations by heli for counting at a central area. But I also hear that they are also relayed to a point and front there to another transfer by heli later.

The question is, how safe are these ballot boxes at the transit area NOT to be manupulated with. And are these boxes accompanied by the reps of the political parties? As I also hear they reckon that there were more opposition votes from the rural folks, this time.

2. As regards to postal votes for Security personnel, this should be discontinued, OR have the votes counted there and then and the results verified before they are recorded and announced later at the central counting area.

During election many security personnel can be ‘conveniently’ posted out or assigned duty out of their registered constituency to require them to vote by post. This has been thought to be not ideal.

Now with more tha 2 million RELA members, thier votes would ‘very conveniently’ be considered postal votes. There will certainly be more room for manupulation. Such votes should be cast much earlier and counted immediately after that and the results confirmed by all reps instead of the long gap before counting, where there is a opportunity for manipulation.

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 7:43 am

With the 1Najib 1email system, everyone can submit their vote by 1email.boleh.my and there is no need to have such expensive way of carrying out an election.

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 7:46 am

The urban campaign was widely advertised and seen on the internet and media (except the BN media), but we hardly seen that of the rural area. Why the campaign of the Chinese Melanau woman who went against Taib was not helped by Anwar or other PR leaders? I was hopping it would be a heated one, but not.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 8:27 am

The government should explore the full benefit of using information technology (IT) to solve problems involving postal voting and rural voting.

4. #4 by Winston on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 9:50 am

One thing is certain.
    With five decades in power and a propensity to
    cling to power at all costs, plus the many landslide
    votes they received in the past, you can be sure that
    any law that favours them will be changed to favour
    them.
    So, the PR must find ways to overcome them or work
    around them.

5. #5 by k1980 on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 9:51 am

6. #6 by negarawan on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 10:18 am

The very fact that EC banned the presence of election watch dogs shows that EC has a lot to hide. With videos of illegal ballot tampering, witness accounts of vote buying by UMNO, refusal of recount in marginal cases, will the EC take any action? Surely not, as the EC is a component party of BN/UMNO. Only people power can stop the rot!

7. #7 by Ianizer on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 11:16 am

The EC is well known to be biased towards BN. However, the staff of the EC are just ordinary workers being paid normal salary to do the dirty work of manipulating the votes. If somehow the Opposition can get sway them to reveal the method of manipulation, or even better produce video evidence of cheating, BN and in particular the EC will be shown to all as illegitimate. Perhaps a system of reward should be set up to entice the staff of EC to reveal its tactics. Perhaps the Opposition can persuade someone to join the EC and work illicitly at the lower level to secure evidence of cheating. If we can somehow do that, half the battle is won.

In any great war, intel is key. If the Opposition wants to succeed, it must build up its intel and prepare to use them to turn the tide of war. Start by infiltrating the EC!

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 11:45 am

Easter Day is the most important day for Christians. It is today. It is almost noon.

No Easter Day greetings or message? You forget very easily.

As for me, my Christian friends invited me to their Easter Day party this evening.

Happy and Holy Easter everyone.

9. #9 by pluto9964 on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 12:11 pm

@#8 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 24 April 2011 – 11:45 am Happy and Holy Easter everyone.
    yea, baiyi, urbe et in terra nobis munde

10. #10 by boh-liao on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 12:26 pm

NR suka 2day as he n UmnoB firmly believe dat UmnoB will resurrect n rise fr d ashes of d phoenix – recapture Kedah, Kelantan, Penang n Selangor soon

11. #11 by boh-liao on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 12:50 pm

What abt hanky-panky in PR-governed states? Corrupt practices like in BN states?
    Last week a businessman/crony in d ongoing RCI confirmed dat he got contracts fr S’gor state exec councillor n he also capitalised fr Ali Baba practice
    OMG, DAP n UmnoB/BN, got difference or not ah, or is it same same 1

12. #12 by k1980 on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 12:57 pm

Ali, Balan and Chong signed up for the RM50,000,000 Tricube’s supposedly free 1myemail.

Soon after, they received the following emails from the govt depts.

(1) KWSP statement (please note that RM10 will be deducted from your bank a/c as payment to Tricube for services rendered in conveying this statement of account from KWSP)

(2) Income tax statement (please note that RM10 will be deducted from your bank a/c as payment to Tricube for services rendered in conveying this statement of account from IRB)

(3) Indah water bill (please note that RM10 will be deducted from your bank a/c as payment to Tricube for services rendered in conveying this bill from IWC)

(4) Electricity bill (please note that RM10 will be deducted from your bank a/c as payment to Tricube for services rendered in conveying this bill from Tenaga)

As Confucius said 3 thousand years ago, “There is no free lunch, my friend”

13. #13 by k1980 on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 1:02 pm

Ali, Balan and Chong each had only RM30 in their bank accounts. How to pay Tricube like this? Bankrupt lah. So they 3 of them went to the nearest macc building and terjun from the 3rd floor window.

14. #14 by DAP man on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 3:46 pm

I suggest the Opposition boycott the general election unless postal votes are abolished.
    Why participate and be cheated?
    Or the votes are counted there and then in the presence of opposition reps.

15. #15 by timtam on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 11:14 pm

What is the point talking about postal votes when the playing field is not even level at all???? I must admit I am very ignorant when it comes to politics, and I have not been paying attention until the recent Sarawak elections.

I nearly fell off my chair when I saw the number of votes against the number of seats. How are we to have a fairer system in place so that our voices can be heard? Even if all of us, who are more educated and has more access to information, are to vote for change, the number of seats we could win is pathetic compared to the rural areas.

Having stayed overseas for more than half my life, this recent spate of events during the Sarawak elections has really opened my eyes. No more NATO (no action talk only), I realised there is no use complaining how unfair the system is in Malaysia, how we are deprived, how we flock overseas to escape the biasses if we don’t do something about it.

For the coming GE, I will make sure my stand is heard, even if not for myself, for the future of Malaysians. I hope our next generation will have a better Malaysia to grow up in, where they can be nurtured and valued on merit, instead of having to feel what I felt – 1 country, 2 systems. 1Malaysia? Since when?

16. #16 by boh-liao on Monday, 25 April 2011 - 9:00 am

Yes, yes, CHANGE/UBAH must come fr all voters n rakyat, d REAL BOSSES
    Educate all voters, esp those fr d rural seats, 2 TERMINATE self-enriching anti-national BN politicians who abuse d system 2 their advantage while d nation is in a mess