Pemandu takes fire as hostility grows over 1 Malaysia email a/c

By Shannon Teoh | TMI

KUALA LUMPUR, April 20 — The Performance Management and Delivery Unit (Pemandu) today reiterated the 1 Malaysia email accounts project is a private sector initiative — despite a report that the government had invited bids last November for a RM50 million government services internet solution.

Within 15 minutes of the clarification going live on its Twitter account, @etp_roadmap, Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin questioned if the private investment to fund the project was being guaranteed by the government.

The government’s Malaysian Administrative Modernisation and Management Planning Unit (Mampu) invited bids for the project last November, according to documents sighted by The Malaysian Insider.

It is understood as many as five companies were invited to pitch for the project by Mampu although it was unclear why the task was given to a civil service unit that manages the public service.

Tricubes Bhd, a company in danger of being delisted from the stock exchange for financial irregularities, in a filing to the Bursa Malaysia on April 4, said it had been awarded the email project by Mampu.

“The Board of Directors of TRICUBES wishes to announce that the Company has on 4 April 2011 accepted the appointment by the Government of Malaysia represented by Malaysian Administrative Modernisation and Management Planning Unit (MAMPU) vide MAMPU’s letter of award dated 29 March 2011 to implement the 1 Malaysia Email Project,” the filing read.

The little-known ACE-listed company triggered Bursa Malaysia Securities’ Guidance Note 3 (GN3), paragraph 2.1(f) last year when auditors “expressed a modified opinion with emphasis on Tricubes’ going concern in the latest audited financial statements for the financial year ended March 31, 2010”, according to a separate filing made by Tricubes on October 29, 2010.

As a GN3 company, Tricubes has to submit and implement a regularisation plan, appoint a sponsor until it is no longer deemed a GN3 company, retain the services of a sponsor for three full financial years after the company is no longer considered a GN3 company and announce the status of its regularisation plan monthly.

Tricubes’ latest filing to Bursa Malaysia on April 1 indicates that it is still in the process of regularising its finances.

In tweets that were sent out between 2pm to 2.05pm today, Pemandu’s Fadhlullah Suhaimi Abdul Malek, director of Communications Content and Infrastructure, Business Services NKEA said “I wish to reiterate that this is a private sector-led initiative by Tricubes. The investment DOES NOT come from the govt.”

The unit headed by Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Idris Jala also said that “this is an alternative secured mode of communication between the govt & the people” whereas “most M’sians use non-secured public emails e.g. yahoo, hotmail, gmail (hosted overseas) in their communications w the govt.”

However, Pemandu did not explain why the government invited bids if it was a private sector initiative or why secured emails were required to communicate with the government.

It also did not explain why a key performance indicator (KPI) of hit 100 per cent take-up by qualified Malaysians was necessary if the project was being executed by the private sector.

Questions posed by The Malaysian Insider on Twitter regarding these issues sent concurrently with Pemandu’s broadcast were unanswered as of 2.55pm.

Questions sent to Pemandu this morning have also not been answered.

Pemandu’s clarification drew an immediate response from Malaysians on Twitter who accused it of not answering the important questions regarding the 1 Malaysia email accounts.

“@etp_roadmap You didn’t answer my ques.Why contract given to a GN3 company? #1malaysiaemail,” tweeted Adrian Ng.

Others also attacked Pemandu for claiming that Gmail was not secure.

“@etp_roadmap Google uses RC4_128 encryption! It is as secured! not non-secured!” said a user known as comeez.

A user known as Pakdi7 said “@etp_roadmap hi doc! How bout Tricubes GN3 status? Are they really competent enough to handle other person data but not their own financial?”

Rembau MP Khairy also tweeted at 2.20pm that he understood “that private investment to fund project BUT is there implicit/explicit govt guarantee?”

He said the two main issues were the “award of project and “Big Brother” concerns. Award done based on standard ETP “open proposal system.”

The hashtag #1malaysiaemail, RM50m and Tricubes are still dominating the top five Malaysian topics on Twitter as of 3pm.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 5:28 pm

Pinocchio NR’s nose is getting longer each minute, blardi liar

2. #2 by -e- on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 5:31 pm

official communication bet gov and people should be via bernama.

look at what bernama is doing and reporting these day…it becomes the official mouth of bn/umno.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 5:38 pm

The whole process of awarding the project to TRICUBES is pretty fishy. This is something not right some where.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 5:39 pm

Oops!

This is something not right

should be

There is something not right.

5. #5 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 7:05 pm

Opposition’s role is to oppose….no matter how good the effort is…Bangkang…

6. #6 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 8:09 pm

Dear PEMANDU, You are driving a vehicle with a L license. Do you know that ? You think you are doing so great. Actually you are not. You do not realize that. You keep reporting about how great things are. Actually in reality they are not. If only you would experience what we experience. If you really want to know the actual thing, come and experience with us. Come down from your throne. Be one of us and you will know the truth. You do not need spies. You do not need informers. You do not need gossipers. You do not need your most liked person to tell you things. Come here and experience for yourself.

7. #7 by drngsc on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 8:16 pm

Cintanegara, cintanegera, or anyone else for that matter, can you please explain to me a simple educated Malaysian -:
    1. If this is a private sector initiative, and Tricube, a almost to be delisted company, with financial irregularities, find the RM 50M to finance the project?
    2. So convenient – Tricube is about to go under. It needs a cash injection. Suddenly, it gets RM 50M project?
    3. Why do we need this email account. Those who are net sarvy, already have active email accounts. All those in this day and age, who does not have an email account, probably have no need for the email account?
    4. And how can Tricube or the government guarantee email security??
    5. Make us a universal laughing stock. Maybe they don’t care anymore.

Hallo, who are you trying to kid? However UMNO- philic you are, I am sure you can see the ridiculousness of the whole situation, except if you choose not to see. They tell me that there are non so blind as those who would not see. We call it cortical blindness.

Another RM 50M wasted. We need to change the tenant at Putrajaya, and quickly.

8. #8 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 8:43 pm

I received Rm10k (for voting BN): A Tuai Rumah in Selangau testified that the local candidate for BN had asked his helper to distribute Rm10k to each long house chief.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qe80f_ujRig

Who was the BN candidate for Selangau??

9. #9 by negarawan on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 9:07 pm

Pemandu head should resign for inability to even make basic business analysis. This is Najib’s 1Malaysia driving useless projects of no value to the rakyat and enriching UMNO’s cronies at the expense of taxpayer’s money. Utter rubbish!

10. #10 by hallo on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 10:01 pm

Pemandi takes fire as hostility grows over 1 Malaysia email a/c

11. #11 by lpn on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 10:48 pm

That’s Malaysia boleh – reinvent the wheel and in the end we will have to pay for it.

12. #12 by DAP man on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 11:14 pm

No body in UMNO respects Najib. Utusan is telling Najib , “catch me if you can” because the PM is impotent.
    Even the DPM never promote 1Malaysia. He is eyeing the PM’s chair.

13. #13 by Godfather on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 11:30 pm

cintanegara got discharged from IJN, and immediately came back to this blog to show his ignorance and stupidity.

Time we send him back to where we all know he belongs – Tg Rambutan.

• #14 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 11:44 pm

Cintanegara just came back from TR! for sure. He is amplifying his ignorance; having sat under the rambutan tree counting rambutans for this while. maybe counting durians is easier. Why would you want to invest in Emailing project, when google and all its competitirs are giving free services. Should they fail to get a good percentage of people getting involve, they will pay their BN cybertroopers to get involved. The methodology is simple, employ all those graduates who can’t find jobs to get involved.
      Jokers like Cinta………….. will continue to turn a blind eye on all these wantonness in the name of distributing money to his type while sitting under the rambutan tree counting the fruits!!!!

14. #15 by hallo on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 11:47 pm

The dog bark saying the opposition of penang, selangor lah.

They all do like he said must do as below else not belong to bn

Good or bad semua oppose

All must do in opposite

Maybe even in bed too

15. #16 by hallo on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 12:01 am

The more we read from BN people the more frustrated we are.

Latest MCA talk c*ck saying DAP stoked racial sentiment in Sarawak win, says MCA

Talk his c*ck indeed

All bn liars

It all about corrupted-free politicians, they twisted it to racial

We shall really throw him our shoes to him if there is possible

Trying to mislead Malaysians with his c*ck

Really meh tak tahan

16. #17 by tak tahan on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 12:35 am

Never place your safe bet on this current captain in-charge of this wheel when aboard his ship.Famous to be laughed at ‘Flip-flopping’ combines with thunders(umnoputras) and storms(umnoputris) joining the celebrity waves of perkasa,perkida,perogol,pembuli,pengkhianat,penghasut,perompak siang malam-this ship will not eventually but relatively and inevitably fast in pace to sink.Too fast for one to have one wish to be be said and heard as Part 1:”Rose,Loh see ma..you jump,i jump!”the premier kneeling in tears n stunted;Part 2:”Bang..bang..don’t jump first,i’m part of the sandiwara kan?said the slyly seductive fleshy pounds advantages she has to cajole her lordship,baby abang jib.

17. #18 by tak tahan on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 12:56 am

Cintanegara actually not came back but graduated from TR but pundit said he was dropped out from out of control.No sense and time worthiness to accompany him.Hui jin kia,you know?

18. #19 by monsterball on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 4:01 am

Opposition’s role is to oppose…so said cintanegera.
    Wa….so veri clever now.
    Cintanegara’s role in this blog…is to prove Opposition good nor nothing…and government delivers..say what they mean and mean what they say.
    He needs the extra money to buy fertilizer and racun for his rumbantan tree .to fatten the rambutans and kill off jeepers creepers.. ..hairy worms..sticking to his rambutans…rotting away.
    They got struck on him..thinking his two round ones are rumbutans ..by the jeeper creepers worms.
    Lets welcome him back with open arms…and look forward to better nonsensical stuffs from him.

19. #20 by baochingtian on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 8:10 am

The project can be viewed as a tool to brainwash the people to the party’s advantage. It also justifies the purchase of pc’s and laptops and printers and ink catridges, etc, etc and the maintenance to all rakyat as they turn 18. Wow, future looks so good and so bright to whoever the invited supplier is! May be Tricube is interested n so nvm lah the rm50M upfront ???

20. #21 by dagen on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:08 am

Oh well WTF. If they must insist then take it and use it as the email address in all our your subscriptions and applications for online services etc etc. The Jibby Mail inbox can then serve as a receptacle for all the junk mails generated by providers of those online services.

But remember this: Never ever use Jibby Mail to communicate with others.

21. #22 by best4rakyat on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:28 am

Since this company going to use 1Malaysia as named email is equivalent to tell the world a name reflecting our nation in future whether is private or public must be a serious one.
    They should learn from so many example of previous GDI or company that we knew of before even to date making a huge loss because of mismanage.
    Whatsoever and especially it is going to link to many government department as well as using our mycard ID and personal privacy should be serious concern.If not done properly though like what it said is ‘free and voluntary’ but still will set another bad example to our future young if do it wrongly.
    Look at how important but properly facilitate kind of email leading to today with vast opportunity like Google etc etc. But certainly do not imitate other or merely dream of success as opportunist malaysian. Malaysian cannot afford that any more!Make sure it is properly done alright.

22. #23 by hallo on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 10:05 am

Can you imagine how the majority Malay found out what they support BN were robbery gang, Malaysia was already bankrupt by all sort of what they call developments borrow from oversea loans?

23. #24 by k1980 on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 11:08 am

Why was contract given to tricube?

Simple. Tricube will outsource the whole project to a chinaman company for RM500,000 and keep the remaining RM49.5 million.
    Then declare bankruptcy and register the company under a new name, Indah Atmosfera Enterprises to secure yet another RM1 billion contract to “clean up” the air. Outsource the project for RM1 million and keep the remaining RM999.9 million. 1 lagi project bn.

The news media is full of coverage about schoolkids donating their pocket money to Japanese (2nd highest per capita GDP in the world) quake relief. This is like collecting money from destitute Haitians to fund the Americans’ debt.
    Wonder how much Taib, Toyol and Jib contributed? RM5?