“Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely” – Taib gives another illustration with entry ban of Bersih2 Chairperson Ambiga Sreenevasan

“Power tends to corrupt. Absolute power tends to corrupt absolutely.” Sarawak’s 30-year Chief Minister, Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud has this morning given another illustration to prove the truism of this famous aphorism by British historian Lord Acton.

Bersih2 Chairperson Datuk Ambiga Sreenivasan was barred from entering Sarawak when she flew into Kuching from Subang in Firefly flight at 9 am and was forcibly repatriated to Kuala Lumpur by 10.40 am MAS flight as she is on Taib’s blacklist.

What has Taib to fear from Ambiga and Bersih2 when all she and Bersih2 wanted was to monitor the 10th Sarawak state general elections to ensure that the polls tomorrow are fair, free and clean.

Is Taib preparing for the dirtiest Sarawak state general elections tomorrow so that it will be the most fraudulent in the nation’s history to allow Taib to subvert, impede and defeat the greatest political awakening of Sarawakians of all ethnic groups since the formation of Malaysia in 1963 and in their demand for change?

Ambiga makes the trio of social activists denied entry into Sarawak in the election campaign – the other two being Wong Chin Huat and Haris Ibrahim.

I am reminded of the Greek saying: “Those whom the Gods wish to destroy they first make mad”.

Taib has again made Sarawak and Malaysia the laughting stock of the world.

The entry ban of the trio, Ambiga, Haris and Chin Huat is a grave violation of fundamental liberties and human rights guaranteed in the Malaysian Constitution.

It is also a most egregious abuse of power of the state immigration autonomy vested in Sarawak state government which is to protect the economic rights of Sarawakians from being swamped by West Malaysians in the jobs market and not to protect the abuses of power or corrupt practices of political leaders – which is why every Malaysian is guaranteed the right under the law to enter Sarawak “to pursue legitimate political activities”.

Even more serious, it is an open breaking of ranks by Taib and a public slap-in-the-face for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak particularly with regard to the latter’s 1Malaysia signature policy.

Where is 1Malaysia when Malaysians are not allowed to visit his or her own country to legally pursue “legitimate political activities”?

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin who had rubbished Najib’s 1Malaysia by declaring that he is Malay first Malaysian second would delight at Taib’s show of open contempt of Najib’s 1Malaysia concept.

As Najib and his entire Federal Cabinet are in Sarawak – having closed down Putrajaya for six days in a federal takeover of the Sarawak BN election campaign – Najib and the Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein cannot continue to remain silent at such blatant and flagrant abuse of power by Taib as Sarawak Chief Minister.

Is Najib prepared to say that Taib is wrong and had abused his powers in banning Ambiga, Haris and Chin Huat for this is not the purpose of Sarawak state immigration autonomy?

1. #1 by hallo on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 12:35 pm

The moments have come

For those Justice, Righteous, people out there in Sarawak

We must believe Malaysia should be a land of JUSTICE and RIGHTEOUS, FREEDOM OF RELIGIONS

For the first time the moment of glory CHANGE / UBAH have waited over 30 years, have come to the shore of SARAWAK, people of SARAWAK have a chance to make into MALAYSIA History to turn the VOTE into JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS, to stop the Injustice in our land from the corrupted politicians, continue to rob our native lands, continue to steal our tax money, continue to cheat us into believing their empty promises LIES

We must stretch across all the corners from far to near, from sea to mountains VOICE OF JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS, your family, your friends, your brothers and sisters, from young to old

To send a message across all the corners we are already to UBAH VOTE FOR CHANGE

OUR LAND MALAYSIA will always be JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS, FREEDOM OF RELIGIONS

It is the dream of all righteous Malaysians for so long over 50 years who have been cheated by so many corrupted politician liars

On 16 April, we can achieve to put our hands on the MALAYSIA HISTORY and make a brighter future for all MALAYSIANS

They have waited LONG TIME, on the 16 April because of your determined of JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS, what you did VOTE FOR CHANGE, the moment of CHANGE have come to Malaysia for a brighter future

We have seen the CHANGE in our industrial states SELANGOR and PENANG, these two states are our most advance industrial states in Malaysia, the people out there are highly educated and high income, they were brave to elected the PAKATAN RAKYAT (opposition) to rendered their leaders courage, justice and selfless government administration

We should thank to PAKATAN RAKYAT (opposition) leaders their brave, tireless, selfless to campaigned from their hearts, spoken to Sarawak people from urban to rural, for the love of JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS, for the crying voices of helpless poor natives in loss of their ancestor lands, we should grateful to them

The Malaysia History of CHANGE would not be happen without the SARAWAK people love of JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS

All Malaysians will never forget, the victory of CHANGE of Malaysia History will belong to SARAWAK people, UBAH VOTE FOR CHANGE

And we Malaysians know you did it not just to win a state election, you did it because you want to bring JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS to all Malaysians

You did it because you understand Malaysia is urgently need a justice, selfless and fairness government administrators

There are people in rural lives without water and electricity without job, without income and wonder how they going to feed their children tomorrow and worst their ancestor land have robbed by corrupted politicians

There are new jobs need to be created, there are new roads need to build, there are new schools need to build

The job ahead will be long not within a year or a term, but the PAKATAN RAKYAT (opposition) promise to get you there

They (PAKATAN RAKYAT) will be honest along the road ahead, and listen to you when you disagree.

They (PAKATAN RAKYAT) will be fairness, justice and selfless to work with you, ask you to build with them the works of the state, roads by roads, bricks by bricks, hands by hands

The UBAH/VOTE FOR CHANGE is the only chance to offer us to bring a HOPE of JUSTICE, SELFLESS government administrators to Malaysia

It will NOT happen if we continue vote the corrupted politicians as the government administrators

It will not happen without you, without your brave, without your courage, without your VOTE FOR CHANGE

Let call up patriotism love of JUSTICE and RIGHTEOUS among the people near you and friends, from the sea to mountain, not for just to vote ourselves but VOTE for a BRIGHTER FUTURE for each other for a JUSTICE, SELFLESS governors

Let’s us resist the temptation of the CORRUPTED POLITICIANS empty promises to fall back with their lies that has poisoned us for over 30 years

Let’s the Malaysia History remember, it was the people of SARAWAK carried UBAH VOTE FOR CHANGE as the voice raised against the corrupted politicians, it will be the VOICE called out to free Malaysians from the corrupted politicians

Make the world believe that Malaysia can UBAH/CHANGE, can be perfect.

What we UBAH VOTE FOR CHANGE can give us HOPE of the BRIGHTER FUTURE for many generations to come in Sarawak and Malaysia.

Let’s the 10th Sarawak election will be told for many generations to come that the people of SARAWAK cast their ballot in 16 April 2011 they stood up as one voice to make their voices in this election to be heard for one thing UBAH VOTE FOR CHANGE

The voice of JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS was silence and dismissed by the corrupted politicians many years. We shall stand up let the voice to speak out and reach for the ballot.

Yes, we can UBAH VOTE FOR CHANGE

The world saw the people of SARAWAK conquer FEAR and TEMPTATION from corrupted poltician governors for a new bright future of UBAH VOTE FOR CHANGE for a JUSTICE, SELFLESS governors PAKATAN RAKYAT(opposition)

On 16 April, when you are casting you vote, you know you can UBAH VOTE FOR CHANGE for a JUSTICE and RIGTHEOUS a BRIGHTER FUTURE for your children, your family, your friends and all the people in Malaysia,

On 16 April, will be our chance to answer that call voice of JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS,

It will be our moment to cast our vote to answer our dream of a land for Malaysia JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS, FREEDOM OF RELIGIONS, for a JUSTICE, SELFLESS government administrators.

To free ourselves from the corrupted politicians, open the doors of JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS for our children, to reclaim our ancestor dream of PEACE, JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS for SARAWAK and MALAYSIA.

Yes. We can UBAH … VOTE FOR CHANGE

GOD BLESS YOU
    —————————-
    Hope this voice can reach from shore to mountain
    Help / Feel free to spread this voice
    Glory GOD JUSTICE AND RIGHTEOUS

2. #2 by dagen on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 1:05 pm

Tumbangkan Taib. Tumbangkan Barisan.
    UBAH! CHANGE!

3. #3 by Godfather on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 1:11 pm

I am actually quite surprised that Pek Moh hasn’t blacklisted you, Anwar and LGE. He will do anything to cling on to power because the consequences of losing is simply unbearable given that judgment day will come much earlier.

4. #4 by ktteokt on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 1:21 pm

Sarawakian, stand up and be counted! Throw this silver hair idiot who has been gobbling Sarawakian wealth out once and for all!

5. #5 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 1:21 pm

REAL GOLD CAN STAND THE TEST OF FIRE!!!
    ONLY FAKE GOLD LIKE TAIB IS SCARED OF THE PURE (BERSIH) FIRE!!!

6. #6 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 1:25 pm

COURAGEOUS SARAWAKIANS NEED TO STAND UP FOR ALL MALAYSIANS FOR CHANGE!!!

7. #7 by yhsiew on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 1:30 pm

///What has Taib to fear from Ambiga and Bersih2///

It is obvious that Taib has something to hide.

8. #8 by dcasey on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 1:31 pm

To Peh Moh, Anwar and LGE only makes up an empty gun, whereas the trio, Ambiga, Haris and Chin Huat collectively makes up the silver bullet. Combining the empty gun and the silver bullet, it is enough to put this silver haired vampire to his early grave.

9. #9 by ktteokt on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 2:03 pm

This shows that there is certainly something to HIDE by BN and Taik! Otherwise, why be afraid of these NEUTRAL PEOPLE? And Najis has the cheeks to promote 1 MALAYSIA? What is 1 MALAYSIA when West Malaysians can be barred from entering East Malaysia? Aren’t we in the same COUNTRY?????? This clearly shows 2 MALAYSIAs!

10. #10 by artemisios on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 2:09 pm

OMG….

Taib’s actions has made his intentions VERY CLEAR.

Are all Sarawakians screwed?

11. #11 by k1980 on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 2:13 pm

Sarawak (and Sabah) should had denied entry to the members of the Cobbold Commission, a Commission of Enquiry set up to determine whether the people of North Borneo (now Sabah) and Sarawak supported the proposal to create the Malaysia consisting of Malaya, Singapore, North Borneo, and Sarawak in 1963.

Then these 2 states would be independent like Brunei and Singapore today.

12. #12 by k1980 on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 2:15 pm

The Commission released its findings, report and recommendations on 1 August, 1962. It concluded that the formation of Malaysia should be implemented. However, Lord Cobbold also stressed that all parties enter the federation as equal partners. The findings were summarised by Lord Cobbold as follows:
    About one-third of the population of each territory strongly favours early realisation of Malaysia without too much concern about terms and conditions. Another third, many of them favourable to the Malaysia project, ask, with varying degrees of emphasis, for conditions and safeguards varying in nature and extent: the warmth of support among this category would be markedly influenced by a firm expression of opinion by Governments that the detailed arrangements eventually agreed upon are in the best interests of the territories. The remaining third is divided between those who insist on independence before Malaysia is considered and those who would strongly prefer to see British rule continue for some years to come. If the conditions and reservations which they have put forward could be substantially met, the second category referred to above would generally support the proposals. Moreover once a firm decision was taken quite a number of the third category would be likely to abandon their opposition and decide to make the best of a doubtful job. There will remain a hard core, vocal and politically active, which will oppose Malaysia on any terms unless it is preceded by independence and self-government: this hard core might amount to near 20 per cent of the population of Sarawak and somewhat less in North Borneo.
    —Lord Cobbold, Cobbold Commission

Members of the Commission were:
    Lord Cobbold, former Governor of the Bank of England, chairman of the Commission
    Wong Pow Nee, Chief Minister of Penang,
    Mohammed Ghazali Shafie, Permanent Secretary to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
    Anthony Abell, former Governor of Sarawak
    David Watherston, former Chief Secretary of Malaya.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cobbold_Commission

13. #13 by dagen on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 2:19 pm

Ban this ban that. Ban. Ban. Ban. Here ban. There ban. This cannot. That cannot. This wrong. That wrong.

Whaaa. He so scared one ar? I thought he very confident. He said sure win one. Sure can get 2/3 win one.

He ban ban ban pakatan. I say we bang bang bang he. Boom Boom Boom. Kaboom. Kaboom Kaboom. Pau cha he ar. Topple him. Topple umno.

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 2:22 pm

Something I am wondering. Since most of the websites are hosted in the US, the cyber attacks are actually against US Federal Laws. The FBI is authorized in many countries to arrest those behind it, including those who finance it. If its true Taib financed the cyber attacks and FBI has proof, at least Taib will be arrested if he ever go in within a jurisdiction the FBI can get to.

15. #15 by undertaker888 on Friday, 15 April 2011 - 6:03 pm

Who the f#}£€¥ does he think he is? Can he ban a malaysian citizen from entering his own country? I hope those who got banned will sue the pants out of him.

That’s why all sarawakians and malaysians must kick out this arrogant BN and umno regime. This filthy regime has no credibility anymore than a pile of dung. But even then, dung can be used as a fertilizer. This filthy umno has no use at all.