DAP releases postal vote tampering video

By Sheridan Mahavera

SIBU, April 13 — DAP released a video clip purportedly showing four women handing over their postal votes to a man at Wisma Sanyan here yesterday.

The one minute clip shows a be-spectacled man receiving what looked like postal ballot papers from four women who had just picked them up from the Election Commission.

The video, which was released at the DAP’s daily press conference, here, showed the women handing over the ballots to the man in a stairwell at the iconic building, which is the tallest in Sibu.

Postal voting proper only got underway at 9am today.

The five were caught unawares while they were being filmed by a DAP polling agent. They immediately dispersed when they saw the party worker filming them with his camera phone.

The man attempted to block the DAP agent’s view of the women as they ran out of the stairwell.

Mary Josephine Pritam Singh, a DAP election worker, said the incident occurred between 12.30pm to 1pm.

She and a team of party polling agents had gone to Wisma Sanyan to monitor the distribution of postal votes by the Election Commission. The party worker who filmed the episode was part of her team.

No money was seen exchanging hands during the meeting.

According to EC regulations, postal votes are picked up a centre and the voter may take them home to fill them up. Each postal vote is a package that contains two envelopes, a form and the ballot paper itself.

The voter is supposed to mark the ballot, fill out the form, seal the envelopes and return the package to the EC.

The women in the video were purportedly handing over the orange-coloured ballot papers to the man. It could not be ascertained what the man intended to do with the papers.

1. #1 by dcasey on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 6:28 pm

In a recent meeting between Peh Moh and Jibby, whispers were seen between them 2:-

Peh Moh: Hey Jib, I’m very sure can get 2/3 majority lah.
    Jibby: How can lah, nobody turns up at my ceramah except those who are paid RM50 to sit in. I think cannot achieve lah.

Peh Moh: aiyah you don’t know so much lah, I got things covered already in the back yards and staircases. Things are moving alreadylah so cool man cool!

2. #2 by hallo on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 6:44 pm

The Justice is in our hands

The Freedom is in our hands

The Righteous is in our hands

Today is the day

We are the Justice, we must tear down the wall of our enemy the Corrupted Politician Devils from our land who is bringing us unjustice in our land

We are the Freedom, we must free our god beloved children from the Corrupted Politicians Devils of Fear who is threatening us to support/partake with their Devils

We are the Righteous, We must fight with brave against the Corrupted Politicians Devils of Greed who bribing us with Devils of Greed to lead us our beloved children support/partake their evil acts of devils

Today is the day

The Future is in our hands

The Hope is in our hands

The History is in our hands

We must NOT VOTE FOR THE CORRUPTED POLITICIANS DEVILS OF GREED

We must NOT VOTE FOR THE CORRUPTED POLITICIANS THREATEN US WITH DEVILS OF FEAR

We must NOT VOTE FOR THE CORRUPTED POLITICIANS CHEAT US WITH DEVILS OF LIE

As we are GOD beloved children

We must VOTE FOR JUSTICE

We must VOTE FOR FREEDOM

We must VOTE FOR RIGHTEOUS

WE MUST UBAH UBAH UBAH

WE MUST VOTE FOR CHANGE

WE MUST FREE GOD BELOVED CHILDREN FROM THE DEVILS

FOR OUR FAMILY, OUR CHILDREN, OUR RELATIVES, OUR FRIENDS,

WE MUST UBAH UBAH UBAH

WE MUST VOTE FOR CHANGE

TELL EVERYONE

3. #3 by negarawan on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 7:58 pm

Where’s the video clip? It is to be expected that UMNO and EC will cheat and use money politics in anyway that they can.

4. #4 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 7:59 pm

My intuitions are those postal voters are the same persons who will attend and vote at the Voting Stations on April 16. That’s one of BN/UMNO cheating and sucking ways and techniques to win elections! Postal Votes are backup ballots as to dissolve and dilute when the opposition candidates are ahead at the final counts in any constituencies. That’s one way of sucking and cheating from BN/UMNO!

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 8:04 pm

‘….postal votes are picked up a centre and the voter may take them home to fill them up. Each postal vote is a package that contains two envelopes, a form and the ballot paper itself.

The voter is supposed to mark the ballot, fill out the form, seal the envelopes and return the package to the EC….’

Can someone please explain the postal voting process? How do they do it in the armed forces and police?

Why couldn’t the women vote in person on polling day?

6. #6 by Thor on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 8:16 pm

Be ready to arm with more cameras during voting, transportation and counting proccess.
    Maybe you can even snap pictures of jembalangs flying around!

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 8:19 pm

If this happened in developed countries, the govt of the day would have to resign and the opposition would be asked to form the next govt. Here in Malaysia, they go on as if nothing happened.

8. #8 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 8:46 pm

WOW!

Postal Votes are only offered and available to Military Personnel or Overseas Voters! How can this bunch of suckers are eligible for Postal Votes? Obviously, this is sucking loopholes have been revealed!

Mind you, no matter how strong the opposition parties, those suckers of BN/UMNO will continue to win and form the next government as to suck more and more into their pockets!

BN/UMNO suckers never feel shames; losers and cowards never be suckers!!!!!!!

9. #9 by ablastine on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 10:34 pm

What I do not understand is why Malaysian citizen working overseas are not allowed to use the post to vote. Why is it that only Military Personnel and those who will definitely vote for BN allow to use the postal votes.

10. #10 by k1980 on Thursday, 14 April 2011 - 8:47 am

//It could not be ascertained what the man intended to do with the papers.//

Well, if you ask jibbie, he will say that the man has a tummy ache, so the 4 women gave the ballot slips to him to use as toilet paper, so no need to pursue the matter. Case closed. Lagi satu project BN

11. #11 by boh-liao on Thursday, 14 April 2011 - 9:03 am

So what even if U hv video evidence?
    NR will larf, pekmo will larf, HH will larf, Nazi will larf, EC will larf: FAKE1 lah, no need RCI
    Actually, d goal of UmnoB/BN is 2 eventually conduct all elections by postal votes, sweet

12. #12 by dagen on Thursday, 14 April 2011 - 9:08 am

The number of malaysians working and residing abroad is (wot?) 800,000. They went or stayed on abroad chiefly because of umno and umno’s completely stupid policies (the championing of which umno has since 308 outsourced to perkasa). These people undoubtedly would vote pakatan. But umno cannot let that happen. And this support is precisely what we must, as much as pakatan can, realise. They should be encouraged to return home to cast their votes. Raja Petra can help with that, I am sure – not financially, of course, but by urging them with his brand of brash no nonsense form persuasive argument. Likewise Radio Free Sarawak can also urge voters to return home.

13. #13 by rockdaboat on Thursday, 14 April 2011 - 3:13 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7mrJwlJPA8

These are the traitors who sell away the future of Sarawak!