Bible impasse: CCM youth reject 10-point proposal

by Hazlan Zakaria | Apr 4, 11

The youth wing of the Council of Churches Malaysia (CCM) today rejected outright the government’s 10-point proposal to appease Christians in Sabah and Sarawak over restrictions on the publication and import of the Bible.

The movement made this known in a tweet this morning:

“Say NO to 10-pointers. Malaysian Christians want FULL FREEDOM, FULL RIGHTS to practise their faith.”

Contacted by Malaysiakini, CCM youth secretary Daniel Chai explained: “We don’t agree with the suggestions because they represent no firm commitment from the government. We shall continue to observe and see how things develop.”

Last Saturday, the government through Pemandu CEO Idris Jala issued a list of 10 proposals calculated to salve Christian anger after 30,000 imported copies of the Bible in the Malay language were impounded by the customs in Kuching and another 5,000 copies were seized in Port Klang.

But the suggestions delivered by Idris, who is a Christian despite his Malay-sounding name, were met with scepticism by Christian and church groups, which said they have received similar assurances from the BN government before, prior to the seizures of the Bible.

They expressed fears that the government was only trying to “buy them over” for the Sarawak election and that it would and go back on its word after that.

Meanwhile, in a more pointed move, the National Evangelical Christian Fellowship Malaysia, a coalition of Christian evangelists formed amidst concerns over the right of Christians to have access to the Bible in the Malay language, have organised a prayer session they hope will influence the election of a Sarawak government that will be more favourable to their plight.

The coalition, which also pledged to represent the Christian community on issues and matters affecting the Church and society at large, is made up of more than 15 Christian and church groups. It members include the Salvation Army, Sidang Injil Borneo and the Baptist Church.

Prayers for Sarawak and its people

“As we draw nearer to the Sarawak state election, more calls for prayers have been sounded out. The Sarawak Ministers Fellowship has issued a call for a 12-day prayer,” NECF executive secretary for Prayer, Rev Andy Chi, wrote on the website.

He explained that the body was mobilising churches and intercessors to cover Sarawak in prayer in preparation for their coming state election.

“We would like to stand together with our Sarawak brethren in prayer as they face their state election. We believe through united prayer, we can alter the course of a people,” the reverend added.

Chi said the prayers, to cover all 31 parliamentary and 71 state seats in Sarawak and last 12 days from tomorrow until Sarawakians go to the polls on April 16, will be to:

•Give thanks to God for His love for Sarawak and for blessing us with abundance of resources, no natural disasters, peace and harmony amongst people of many races and religions;

•Pray for the coming state election for a peaceful, free and fair event, with good weather, good voter turnout as our people carry out their responsibilities as good citizens of the state to vote for leaders who are capable, God-fearing, full of integrity and hate dishonest gains;

•Pray for the incoming state government (to be) one that will love and take care of the people, is righteous and just, full of wisdom to bring development and take care of the poor, needy and marginalised;

•Pray for the people of Sarawak, that they will be good and responsible citizens, law abiding, respectful of the government, love one another and live in peace and harmony with one another; and

•Pray for religious freedom in Sarawak and Malaysia, that God will grant our authorities much wisdom, justice and fairness in upholding constitutional freedom of religion for our multiracial, multi-religious nation.

1. #1 by monsterball on Monday, 4 April 2011 - 10:20 pm

Damn damn damn the UMNO B hypocrites….no end to their nonsence.
    Their art to wish for votes have reached the lowest level in life..giving no peace to peacful Malaysians.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Monday, 4 April 2011 - 11:20 pm

‘They expressed fears that the government was only trying to “buy them over” for the Sarawak election and that it would and go back on its word after that.”

See? No one trusts the BN anymore. They don’t keep and honour their promises and agreements. They will go back on their words.

That’s why Chin Peng frus. He trusted the BN government who then played him out. What has Mahathir to say in this ‘memoirs’?

3. #3 by tak tahan on Monday, 4 April 2011 - 11:25 pm

Umno had reached the pit of the gutter politic.How a supposed democratic doberman by far(as everyone aware) ‘divide and rule’ and inherently tips over favourably to one race and religion could be allowed to continue to rule our nation?I really will fall sick seeing our nation being destroyed if majority is still out of this world in reality and opted to be in Mars honeymooning till hornbills also have no more habitat to inhabit.Sarawakian especially the christians,rise together to have your voices or rights known and clear with no compromise at all.Amen!Amitaba,Insya Allah and do so the indigenous calling of God.God bless between you and me,east and west,..ooops(Al-Kitab).. should be blessing us as one Malaysian.No other nonsense way or choice.

4. #4 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 12:01 am

Phaark lu Moderater.Can i have my rights also if i do not cross the border of universal ethic.To digress my ar..boiling matter with moderater,mamak,in contrary,approved our trade with the infamous WW2 intruder from the rising sun and WW1 intruder as then(lesser percentage) and now(bigger percentage) known of and idolized as luxurious and wishful possesion machine by certain elite groups such like the executive Mercs,BM,VW and many more masterpieces.Money could certainly buy you happiness but not for its sheer long of one wishful,preserved eternity.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 1:12 am

FLOM 2 NR: I say man, dis Dan Chai so smart 1, now we can’t fool them all d time lah

Rise, Christian brethrens! U r d bosses, no like UmnoB servants, terminate their service n employ PR servants, use your VOTES correctly, UNITED we control them politicians, YEAH!

6. #6 by k1980 on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 8:03 am

I think 7 out of every 10 christians in Sarawak will vote BN on April 16. Why? Because RM100 and a tin of milo in the hand is enough to placate a hungry fool. Eat for 1 day and then be suppressed for 5 more years. Unless the christians can prove me wrong.

7. #7 by k1980 on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 8:48 am

PKR contesting 52 seats in sarawak! What makes them so sure that they can win even 5% of the seats they are contesting? A wipe-out in Sarawak will have disastrous consequences on PKR’s chances in the coming 13GE. No one would like to back a limping horse.

8. #8 by dagen on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 9:15 am

So the sex clip is now online but it has been trimmed to something like one min plus only. I did not bother to look at it. I am confident now as I was before – i.e. when umno first screened it in carcosa – that some one else was in the clip, not anwar. The newspaper today carries a still image snatched from the 17 min clip. I saw that still. And it was obvious to me that umno’s entire effort and objective was to smear and discredit anwar. I am grateful for whoever who uploaded that trimmed clip. Now, instead of just listening to umno’s tune on “a sex clip involving someone who looks like anwar” the public can now see for themselves that it is actually “a sex clip involving someone other than anwar” which “umno created clumsily to smear anwar”.

9. #9 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 9:30 am

Onward Christain soldiers …marching as to war.
    With the cross of Jesus you wear in your bodies…never fear ….never be treated like a fool that cheap bribes anf goodies can buy your priceless votes.
    If so…it is a grevious fault and greviously Sarawak Christians and all Sarawakians will suffer again and again for your sins and selfishness…because…never learn….never change.
    Forwarned is foretold.
    Sibu voters have shown you the way to righteousness and happiness…resisting temptations and offers…from the Devil.
    Now all of Sarawak people of all religions and races…be Malaysians first…race second.. ..be united ..be strong and be right…and to be like that… you must vote BN out to support getting rid of corruptions ..which is worst than drugs for your children.
    You must vote against leaders teaching your children how to lie…cheat and talk cunningly.
    You must vote against BN because once in lifetime ….you get the chance to be the front runner to steer Malaysia into a freal free Nation.
    Yes…this is once in a lifetime chance for all Sarawakians to be seriously … thinking of the country and people.
    Do not let the past being smart to survive make that is thec way of life…treating BN as your Lord and Master.
    Those days are over..since 12th GE.

10. #10 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 9:47 am

Poorest State ….Sarawak is known …in Malaysia.
    Tons of proofs..messages and comments are written why Sarawak shoud be a rich State…richer than most States in Malaysia.
    UMNO B dare not tell Buddhists and Hinddus cannot do this or that.
    So BN resort to sex show and the Bible.
    It is all about getting votes ..to control the word ‘Allah” or release it..as they do it now.
    Do not let BN do as they like…keep insulting..keep fooling..keep stealing with no fear…keep applying double standards…as if they own the country and people… and they do all things..as they like…and accused others doing so…to avoid be accused.
    Help to chase the Devil governing the country away.

11. #11 by dagen on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 9:49 am

No. No. No. Umno says freedom comes with responsibility. So exercise your freedom responsibly and with asian values. And just in case you lot are confused dont worry. Just sit tight and let umno do all the thinking for you people. Umno will let you people know what is “exercise freedom responsibly” and “asian values” in the context of freedom with regards to religion.

Jib’s got tower-power.
    Jib Jib Boleh!

12. #12 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 9:56 am

I think Moderator need to relax and approve comments that are good for voters.
    We are not trained politicians to talk diplomatically.
    Blunt and straight to the point may sound rude …but I prefer to habe such friends that one who talk sweet nothing …nice to hear..mean nothing actually.
    I cannot understand..why..one of my comment aproved…and a follow up.. under moderation…disrupting my good flow of thoughts.
    So many are really frustrated…now hinting and sometime..posting like idiots..for their true feelings always under moderations.

13. #13 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 10:07 am

Poorest State in Malaysia….Sarawak is.
    If Sarawakians think…f Kedah..Perlis deserve to be richer than Sarawak…then by all means keep voting BN in.
    You can bring water for the horse to drink….but you cannot force the horse to drink the water.

14. #14 by dagen on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 10:09 am

Hey moderator, tell us something. Tell us. Yeah give us a list of no nos that you would bar in this blogsite. Of course we appreciate that the list can not be exhaustive. But at least we could gauge from the general list what would upset you and hence what we should avoid.

Meanwhile we will continue to comment as usual with rude remarks and expletives.

15. #15 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 10:19 am

Imigrants in Sarawak have no obligations to vote for BN at all.
    You are given Malaysian citizenship…because Malaysia need alot of field workers.
    Government servants are paid by tax payers money…not from UMNO B private acounts.
    They too must learn..they are indirectly paying for their own jobs too….by paying all sorts of government taxes.
    No one owes any loyalties to a political party..certainly not to UMNO B…Tiab Mahmud or Najib.
    Do not be confused over loyalty by police leaders and law makers…keep protecting UMNO B. They are handpicked by Najib to be corrupted lot.
    UMNO B..the master of all BN parties must steal and bribe to win votes.

16. #16 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 10:32 am

I fully understand Moderator need to be extra careful at this crucial stage…given not one chance for Govt. to take actions against him…being an irresponsible blog owner.
    Starting no foul words..all complied.
    No insulting others as all have the right to free speeches….all complied…YET…Moderator do allow one or two to insult first and later approve defending.
    Are we all trained to be defenders..
    …to be meek and mild..get slapped first…and defend later?
    Yet..MODERATOR…put out posts to encourage go all out to fight corruptor lot.
    Anwar said…
    “Lawan tetap lawan”
    TokGuru Aziz asked all Muslims to fight BN Devils.
    Moderator leads…we follow…but along the way….told to sit and shut up…WHY?

17. #17 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 10:37 am

Moderator is a fearless living legend…and totally indepensible for 13th GE.
    For that I keep accepting countless comments thrown out or under moderatiuons…for he knows best…but he can also be too cautious to the dislikes of totally loyal supporters…also willing to die for the country..own our own ways.

18. #18 by Peter on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 10:55 am

How can the printing the Bible in the national language, which is ‘Malay’, be seen as deliberate wounding of the religious sentiments of other persons? I find their excuse so lame and their mind to be narrow. If that is the case, is Pembela telling non-Malays that they should not be conversing in Malay? Is this what 1Malaysia is all about?
    Yusri, I puke seeing your illogical statements and you should be charged under the Sedition Act for stirring up racial sentiments. With so many social, economical issues that is plaguing some society, you waste your time trying to be a hero for a bunch of narrow-minded idiots. It all boils down to whether if Malaysia is a secular or Islamic state. Constitutionally, Malaysia is a secular state with freedom of religion enshrined in the supreme law of the country. But since the days of TDM (Mahathir Mohamad the current senile mamak kutty), it is becoming more and more otherwise. Which is why the so-called little idiotic nothing better to do Napoleans as well as groups like Pembela and Perkasa can make such demands.

19. #19 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 11:11 am

Sarawkians….remember the sex tape released just before your State election.
    Remember UMNO B..the master of all BN parties are telling Sarawkians…they dare to accused Anwar as most sinful…not fit to be PM.
    Now judge Najib…is he fit to be PM?
    He is not…yet he is.
    Tiab Mahmud..30 years as CM of Sarawak.
    He said he cannot find a good replacement to take over.
    Is he sincere or is a Dictator out to steal and plunder as much as he can…till the day he dies..holding that position?
    Do you accept Sarawak as the poorest State in Malaysia? Why?
    Do you accept the Bible is a threat to all Muslims….or is it..that UMNO B religion politics stinks..that they are afraid to loose Muslim votes more and more…knowing Muslims cannot be easily fooled…yet keep playing dirty religion politics..for they are bankcrupt with ideas how to win votes.
    They actually have no other ideas but master the art how to fool Malaysians to win governing with bribes and sweet nothing promises.
    The beautiful part is..they can bribe and buy votes with money stolen fron those they bribe and given crumps back..with billions in their pockets through cronies and dressed with false titles to tell all Malaysians..they are sooooo smart and successful people..sooo successful…that all Malaysians better take note…they have children becoming multi millionaires..because their genes are better that all Malaysians..producing extraordinary smart children.
    Do you enjoy being looked down upon and be fooled by rouges and thieves for decades?

20. #20 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 11:21 am

I don’t think they were even going to pass the 10-pt plan.. They were going to hung Idris Jala out to dry by changing it and watering it down after the Sarawak election..

Its completely crazy way to govern? UMNO hypocritical methodology that began in May 13, 1969 has gone completely nuts!!!

21. #21 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 11:27 am

Ya.la Pete,don’t get upset.We are in the same shoe.Just wondering when PR moved to Putrajaya,where should we send kutty ,perkosa,kangaroos,buffoons and the like to?Retarded home?Rambutan home?For first suggestion,old folks home will be reserved for the apanama..but if trouble caused by him again due to nature characteristic possesion and senility,then drag him to to river-home to crocodiles.

22. #22 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 April 2011 - 11:53 am

Have hope… faith and charity.
    The Bible tells you so.
    Why can’t these good words be translated to Bahasa for all Malaysians to read and understand?
    One of the main reason is..once Malaysian Muslims read other Holy books…they begin to know…other religions are also talking goodnesses and charities to all mankind…make them think and be more open minded and accepting religions come with different labels..are all a pointing to the same direction…to do good..not to do bad and to control temptations.
    UMNO B does not want Malaysian Muslims to be knowledgeable in this modern age.
    They want the out dated fear of God…to be thrown to hell…making Malaysia’s Muslims backward…to suit their Dictatorship governance and steal in the name of helping his own race…which is bunkum.
    Bible is the only book that is so close to the Koran..and in history…Christains and Muslims are one.
    So many like me..simply believe to do good and not to do bad..and to be charitable..as much as I can.
    To me…that is enough..and if all UMNO B can be like that…our coutery will be the riches country in the world and all are living in paradise with almost all neccessities FOC..for we can afford that…and with the best School education..best teachers…found locally or employed from overseaas….our young Malaysians are the making of the best of the best Earthlings.
    Right now…we are going backward and that suits UMNO B..for only that way..can they rule forever with jungle laws.