Malaysia opposition vows to support Anwar after mystery group shows alleged sex video of him

By Julia ZappeiThe Associated Press
22nd March 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia — Malaysia’s opposition pledged Tuesday to fight allegations that Anwar Ibrahim was filmed having sex with a prostitute, insisting its leader’s troubles won’t fracture his three-party alliance ahead of national elections expected within a year.

A sex video depicting a man believed to resemble Anwar was shown to several Malaysian journalists under mysterious circumstances Monday. It has not been publicly circulated, but opposition officials are scrambling to convince people that it is a plot hatched by the government.

Prime Minister Najib Razak denied authorities made the video, which marks the latest accusation of sexual misconduct confronting Anwar. He is currently on trial on charges he sodomized a 25-year-old male former aide and faces up to 20 years in prison if convicted.

Anwar’s top allies held a news conference Tuesday to voice their support for him, claiming the video was simply the latest effort to smear Anwar’s reputation.

“All Malaysians must express their outrage and condemnation that Malaysian politics have reached a new depth of character assassination,” said Lim Kit Siang, a veteran official in the Democratic Action Party.

The opposition believes the release of the video was timed ahead a key state election on Borneo island expected next month. Anwar’s alliance needs to perform well in the election to boost its flagging morale ahead of snap national polls that many believe Najib will call by early 2012.

A group of people who refused to identify themselves summoned journalists from several Malaysian newspapers and websites Monday to a hotel, where they privately screened a 20-minute video of a man having sex with a woman.

The group’s representative claimed the woman was a prostitute from China, the Malaysiakini news website said. He alleged it was made at a Kuala Lumpur hotel Feb. 21, but Anwar insists he was at home with his family that night.

Anwar filed a police complaint Tuesday seeking an investigation into what he described as “an orchestrated attempt to force my wife and me out of national politics.”

“I will fight them, and I will fight them hard,” Anwar said.

Nazri Abdul Aziz, the Cabinet minister responsible for parliamentary affairs, on Tuesday criticized opposition leaders for blaming the government for the video.

“The opposition always says it is the work” of the ruling coalition, Malaysiakini quoted Nazri as saying. “You have problems in your party, solve it.”

Copyright © 2011 The Canadian Press. All rights reserved.

1. #1 by Thor on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 7:13 pm

Nazri Abdul Aziz, the Cabinet minister responsible for parliamentary affairs, on Tuesday criticized opposition leaders for blaming the government for the video.

If the ruling government are not involved, why not arrest Mr T and charge him with possession and screening of pornographic video?
    Who’re you trying to kid, Mr Mutt head!!!

2. #2 by schnoodle on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 7:25 pm

it can’t possibly be just a coincidence that the state election is just around the corner. it seems like another scheme to distract the people from more important matters. how low would they sink?

3. #3 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 8:01 pm

Obviously Umno is behind the latest smear campaign using the dirtiest and ugliest tactic to fight the opposition.They are very desperate now after failing to nail down DSAI by the faked sodomy charges.Sometimes we wonder if they are fit to rule the country now.Despite praying five times a day and behaving as if they are really fearful of their God,they can stoop so low to resort to the most immoral and meanest method to attack their oppponents.They never bother about the negative repercussions on school going children caused by newspaper headlines depicting sodomy trials and sex video clips.

4. #4 by tanjong8 on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 8:04 pm

How come this Datuk T and gang are allowed to show pornography with impunity ?

I do not understand. Why this country had become like that ?

5. #5 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 8:05 pm

UMNO/BN suckers boleh, tentu-lah boleh! It’s more advanced than USA Hollywood technologies of filming AVATAR movie!

WOW, Malaysia under UMNO/BN has attained filming technologies at the world par…

I remember the A*S-wiping his mouth whenever he spoke a sentence at Sibu Election campaign, “I help you; you help me…”

6. #6 by habis on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 8:11 pm

Oh my God this another desperate and despisable attempt by those to character assissinate the leader of the opposition party.The Police should not wait for a police report but take immediate action against the people involved for screening pornographic tape in a Hotel.If the police do not act justly then Malaysians can also view our famous CSK in the privacy of our homes with friends.Datuk T should surrender the tape to the Police to prove that the tape is not doctored. Malaysians are not Fools and they are not Stupid Mr Nazri.

7. #7 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 9:21 pm

I’m wondering how much Anwar impersonator was paid and mean while got to ‘wow’ shiok shiok sendiri.Who should i look for to get myself filmed in the next series.I can do 360 degrees and all night long.Great ya?

8. #8 by dcasey on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 9:23 pm

Rembau MP Khairy Jamaluddin found it strange that Pakatan Rakyat politicians were so quick to deny that the video involved an opposition leader when none of them had seen it – The Star reported today.

It’s elementary Mr KJ, if the man didn’t do it, then you don’t need to watch the video only to deny it (so too to know that the video will only have to be doctored to exist). Don’t understand why these people have to always try to use reverse psychology on the rakyat to make the other party guilty. Clear cut case of a frame-up here as the fishy stink is so strong when one sees the so called Datuk T is shoving this issue as if it is his personal vendetta (equivalent to Mr Sai who’s shoving his s-matter to the public like his life depended on it). What an unbelievable story, the video recording and the watch all waiting for him to be found at the right time and place. My, my… I have to give credit to the hotel’s staff who must be so very honest to just leave the watch as it is in the room despite the hotel guest having checked out after the event and the room cleaned out. To the people out there, what say you?

9. #9 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 9:37 pm

Well, with this bunch of goons, they will arrest you for watching the video, and will charge you with possession and distribution of porn. We all know there are two sets of laws, one for BN and one for the rest of us.

10. #10 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 9:42 pm

This is so lame, it is really laughable. You have an anonymous Datuk with bodyguards, perpetrators with disguises to avoid showing their true faces, private screening but with invitations in writing which clearly debunk the “private” screening part.

The police know who they are, the AG’s Chambers know who they are, and they have to form a special squad to investigate this ? Then they time it in such a way that it coincides with the announcement of the dissolution of the Sarawak state assembly.

My spider-sense is tingling, and it tells me that they are really really worried about the Sarawak elections…..

11. #11 by negarawan on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 9:46 pm

How indecent and inhuman UMNO has become! They claim to champion Malay rights and the Malay race, but the numerous explicit sexual allegations that they have fabricated against their political nemesis, who is a Malay himself, is actually ruining the good name of the Malay race and culture in general. It is through the dirty and despicable actions of UMNO that Malays will be seen now and in the future as corrupt, indecent and inhuman. This is the reason why Malays must stop supporting UMNO to reverse the negative perception of the Malay race and culture by the local and international communities. UMNO has destroyed the dignity of the Malay race and culture, and the dignity of Malaysia as a nation.

12. #12 by hallo on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 9:49 pm

First, they attacked using belakang.

Now. they attacked using depan.

Belakang, depan both also BN/they like.

13. #13 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 10:03 pm

Gutter politics is often used to bring down a political leader/religious minister in Zimbabwe and other rogue Third World countries. It’s a shame that some of our politicians could stoop so low as to emulate such evil practices of their counterparts in those rogue countries and tarnish the international reputation of Malaysia (the same sex story has already been published by Hong Kong and Taiwan’s mainstream media as reported by this evening’s China Press, page A4.).

14. #14 by negarawan on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 10:16 pm

I just cannot imagine how all these UMNO politicians and their cronies, after committing all these crimes against innocent human beings (Altantuya, Sodomy1, Sodomy2, Carcosa) can go to the mosque and pray five times a day without any feeling of guilt and remorse for the damage they have done on their own Malay and Muslim brethen. If they are willing to commit all these crimes against their own Malay and Muslim brethen, then think what they are capable of doing to non-Malays and non-Muslims!

15. #15 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 10:42 pm

The stakes are really high now. Never before in the history of Bolehland has so much depended on the removal of one man. And it’s not the man who ruled for 22 years and shed crocodile tears and whose children are billionaires. It’s not the man who defaced the virgin jungles of Sarawak. Or the man who bought banks all over Africa and Eastern Europe.

Yes, it’s the man who now threatens the very survival of UMNO and they will do whatever it takes to remove him from the political arena.

16. #16 by raven77 on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 10:42 pm

Just look at this otak LEMBU DUMNO fellas….

Kalau dah desperate pun….jangan ingat boleh menang asik pasang kaki saje….

But look at the weaklings and pussies running the show…Jibby, Hishamudin, KJ…

Mana tau main..silver spoon….only way they have been taught to win is by CHEATING…and cheat they will…..

Satu sen tak malu…

People in this country are so fed up…..Tsunami and Radioactive fall out in Japan, Bombing of Libya….and Jibby and co can only think of sex video….again…the only thing they were taught by the kutty…

17. #17 by DAP man on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 10:50 pm

UMNO is poisoning the minds of the young.

It has made them experts on the rudiments of sodomy.
    Now it is telling them that it is an honorable act to secretly tape someone having sex and screening it to the public?
    It is teaching the young that they can resort any dishonorable means to destroy their opponents and attain success?
    It is telling them to flush down morality down the toilet?

18. #18 by hallo on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 11:02 pm

Belakang, depan both also BN/they like….to attack…

Aiyoh…aiyoh…ha…ha

Abang…kuat sikit…masuk sikit…

Hey..Abang….mengapa…sana..yang sangat kecil

19. #19 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 11:12 pm

The desperate suckers and national wealth plunders and robbers for 54 years are now so worried they might be jailed when PR takes over Putrajaya,now they play dirty politics to deceive and cheat the voters in order to stay in power.But the rakyat are now more discerning.If they vote for the 54 year old robbers like Mamak and Peh Moh again,they and their children will suffer for another 5 years and the nation will approach even nearer to Zimbawe.

20. #20 by drngsc on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 11:28 pm

It is politics. It is only obvious and important that PR will standby PKR. It appears that DSAI is innocent.
    But,-
    It is equally, if not more important that criminals are punished. Surely public showing of “pornography” is a crime. For us citizens, crimes / criminals must be punished.
    I hope that PR / PKR will also stand up for that.

21. #21 by hallo on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 - 11:51 pm

Belakang, depan both also BN/they like….to attack…

Aiyoh…aiyoh…ha…ha

Abang…kuat sikit…masuk sikit…

Hey..Abang….mengapa…sana..yang sangat kecil
    ……
    ……
    Abang…..membuat waktu sudah lama….mengapa…sana masih sama..yang sangat kecil…macam sana tidak ada

22. #22 by bullet_kavi on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 12:01 am

Personally, I think this is a shame for the whole nation. We already heard and read about these kind of news not only locally but also involving some bigger nation leaders. To the “person” who found the video, if they really want to make it issue, just file a case. Let the justice handle it. Why want to simply call the press and acting like this? Is this the way they want to get “good” names?

23. #23 by Thor on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 12:24 am

Well! Pakatan fellas,
    It’s time for you people to move your butt off the chair and go for an offensive and launch a full scale war against UmnoBN.
    Use whatever resources you’ve to strike back at your enemy with full force.
    We’ve to paralyse their “defense ” by “capturing” Sarawak first.
    Engage a reliable film studio and make a short documentary about how evil and corrupt Umno is and expose everything to the Sarawakians.
    From Penan rape to the land grab and from Bakun dam to the Alkitab, we’ve got to reveal it all on film.
    Then get some volunteers and arm them with projectors and sent them out for a few days to join every longhouse famillies in every remote part of Sarawak.
    Get them screen the short documentary every night out in open air and I’m sure many young and old will come out to watch as many will find it entertaining.
    Add in a clip on how to mark a “cross” next to Pakatan logo on the ballot papers during the election and I’m sure even the dumb will automatically do it after many days of “exposure”.
    Do bring some cartoon films along so that the young could enjoy as well.
    In these way, you could save time on ceramah and villagers there won’t get bored as well.
    Also,even if the Sarawak BN government were to ban some opposition leaders from going in, message from opposition could still be heard in such ways.

24. #24 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 1:06 am

Nazi said d sex tape screening 2 members of d media at d Carcosa Seri Negara hotel yesterday was legal, wow wow

25. #25 by AhPek on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 2:17 am

How come these goons are so dumb as to think such character assasination of Anwar
    would work in their favour for the Sarawak State Election?Would voters believe that Anwar whose ambition is to become Malaysia’s next PM be so stupid to create a situation for BN to exploit.In Cantonese they say “Chook chung yap si fatt.” Translated it’s
    ” Catching a worm to stuff it up one’s ar_e_h_L_.”.Would one do that?

26. #26 by monsterball on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 3:07 am

Oppositions expose corruptions and double standards.
    Government agent expose sex show of a person.
    Corruptions involved and all to suffer.
    Regardless if that sex show is real or unreal…it is private business…no harm done to anyone.
    Looks like Govt. keep harping on sodomy and sex to win 13th GE?
    If that works….majority Malaysians are really half past sixes citizens.
    And UMNO B deserves to win..if they really do succeed making millions stay unprogessive and unproductive Malaysians.

27. #27 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 7:08 am

All this while nothing has worked, now taking a cue from what’s happening to the Italian prime Minister(Belouscouni), they decided to copy emulate the tactics even to the extent of adultering videos, don’t the m o r o ns have a brain of thier own

28. #28 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 7:54 am

Anybody want to watch my home made yumyum video? starring Me as Datuk S (S for stiff). Co star Siti, Azlina and Rosmah ( not the Botox woman). guaranteed original and terror. will put csl and datuk T to shame.

can show in parliament as well. since yesterday, showing ooh ah ooh ah in public is not a crime anymore. courtesy of hypocrite umno government.

10rm per copy. no return. 80% profit will be donated to bring down BN.

29. #29 by k1980 on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 8:22 am

First homo, now hetero, next video of Anwar doing it with a camel (with pyramids in the background) or with a kangaroo (with koalas in the background) or with a panda ( with the Great Wall of China in the background)?

30. #30 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 8:28 am

M’siakini: — only a scum would utter such words.

31. #31 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 8:30 am

M’siakini:“I think it’s a draw now. We have (MCA president Dr) Chua Soi Lek and they have Anwar, if it’s true that it is him… it’s a draw now, God is great,” he quipped, referring to the 2008 sex scandal involving Chua when he was health minister. — only a cum would utter such words
    Sorry for the technical error in #29

32. #32 by dagen on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 8:38 am

Three possibilities.
    (1) its umno and jib;
    (2) its jib and umno; and
    (3) its jib or umno.

33. #33 by dagen on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 8:41 am

No No No K1980. With a martian beauty somewhere on planet mars.

34. #34 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 9:17 am

Interesting news 2day
    Now Ummmi a medicine lady going round d nation peddling more sex videos
    Wow, don’t play play ooh, FLOM is now a DR, just conferred Honorary Doctorate of Innovation in Human Capacity Development award, what a mouthful crap
    Another no play play 1, finally ITM transformed 2 UiTM n now abt 2 transform 2 MIT by partnering with d real MIT, banyak pandai n resourceful with duit rakyat

35. #35 by k1980 on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 9:24 am

Tumolo’s headlines—

DNA obtained from Omega watch

= DNA from Mineral Water bottle and Towel

= DNA from Ah Sai Foo’s dubur

= DNA from Anwar’s pet rabbit’s rectum

36. #36 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 9:25 am

1M’sia, truly sexciting – not a single dull moment
    It’s like Black Spy versus White Spy; What Me Worry?

37. #37 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 10:14 am

Hmmmm….the goons who organised the “private” screening at Carcosa were in disguises, with bodyguards. The invitees were all from the press, so how could it be deemed a private screening ? Even if it was “private”, the police should investigate the origins of the blue DVD. Police inaction suggests that it is OK for all of us to watch porn DVDs in the comfort of our home.

The fact is there is so much anger against Taib Mahmud now, and they have to have a distraction so that the Sarawak elections don’t start a new tsunami that will engulf Peninsular Malaysia.

Don’t get distracted – focus on making big inroads into Sarawak, and let the tsunami begin !

38. #38 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 10:28 am

Ummi has been featured prominently in the STAR. When this happens, when a person of ill-repute takes centrestage, and when a person who is known for issuing bounced cheques take prominence, you will know that they are deeply worried about Sarawak.

DON’T TAKE YOUR EYES OFF THE BALL, FOLKS.

39. #39 by Ray on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 2:10 pm

Kudos to Anwar …Leader for The People Power Majority.
    Stop Look and see for yourselves>> only a few tycoon in malaysia people like Dr George Chan ,running his own Prestigeous Australian Curtin University in Miri( these Curtin chinese graduates cant find any jobs prospect after graduation and most ended up in Singapore today….Economy stagnant and hardly can compete globally( due to Brain Drain).
    The real Human basic needs problems we saw today are indeed a disgraceful,under previledge pural population >> most Malaysians were still poor ,some still find difficulties even getting meal on the table for their families, the agony of with daily survival hardships not even reach middle class ,experiencing carrer prospect discrimination plagued by all these Politic-Social Economical Instability ….The real root cause of 53 yrs of Unstable Repressive Umno ruling ….Umno BN PBB SUPP Authoritarian power abuse, Mega project corruption obssession millions ringgits stealing,cheating,power abusing ,race biased-discrimnating undemocratic constitutional ISA policies ,No Human Rights ,lawlessness of Royal Malay-sai Police force and perkasa islamic council with their deviated brainwash values- teachings doctrinations.
    Now Sarawak state election just round the corner….political gimmicks like the Anwar Sex tape,RM 50 notes handouts to the poor hoping for their votes in return,ban PR ceremahs ,Nov 18 power grap nonsenses,
    Sodomy trail and Umno Sedition nonsenses .BTW nonsenses were indeed UMNO POLITICAL POWER ABUSERS for 53yrs ..partly blamed on their religious values practises of lies,cheat,kill ,hatredness so forth..

Rakyats >>Let Vote PR into Putra together share the national growth and wealth thro’ a democratic way

40. #40 by Not spoon fed on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 8:00 pm

Corrupted and crime involving bribes are much worse than sexual offence.

Corrupted leaders cause nation to be poor and the poor people suffering.

What happen to those hundreds of billion RM taken out illegally from Malaysia duirng Mathatir’s ruling time from 2000 to 2008?

Sexual offence involves (at least) two persons while corrupted leaders involve entire nation.

Sexual offence, if Anwar had commited, only lower himself how.

Corrupted leaders like Taib and Mathatir causing entire people in Sarawak and Malaysia respectively in the dark and suffering and remain poor.

41. #41 by hallo on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 - 9:31 pm

Tonight, before you go to sleep.

Ask yourself ‘ARE YOU READY’?

Are you ready to free yourself, for your next generation free from corruption?

Are you ready to overthrow the corrupted politicians threaten us over 52 years?

Are you ready be united for a change to make the malaysia a better place to live?

We are waiting each day, each hour, each minutes…

WE ARE READY…WE ARE READY…WE SEE THE FUTURE….

EACH DAY EACH DAY WE WAIT…..ready to change….ready to change…

ready to make Malaysia free from corruption…..

ready to make Malaysia a better place to live…

ready to make the world know we are ready to change…

each second we count…we are ready…we are ready

VOTE FOR A CHANGE

we are ready…we are ready

VOTE FOR A CHANGE

KITA SIAP….KITA SIAP…

UNTUK TUKAR….TUKAR

ready to make the world know we are ready to change…..