Senior Gerakan leader resigns, blames Umno

Tuesday, 08 March 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, March 8 — A senior Gerakan leader announced his resignation from the party today, blaming it on the Umno’s “hegemonic race politics” that has changed little since the political tsunami in the last general election.

Dr Hsu Dar Ren said, in a statement today, that he was resigning from all his positions in Gerakan, including that of central committee member, Federal Territory state liaison committee member, division chairman, branch chairman and ordinary membership.

“Parti Gerakan is a party with good ideology to establish a fair and equitable society in Malaysia. It too has many conscientious members who subscribe to this ideology. Unfortunately, within the framework of BN, where the hegemonic race politics of Umno predominates, it is impossible for Gerakan to realise this ideal,” he said.

The disheartened Dr Hsu (picture), who has been a vocal leader, said that after more than five decades of “race-based politics”, the country has drifted so much apart that “racial polarisation has never been as bad as now”.

“Despite the many decades of trying to work from within, Gerakan is now further and further away from realising its ideals.

“Three years after the 308 general election, I sense that apart from rhetoric, there is little change in policies gearing towards uniting the people and providing a fairer and more equal footing for all. I feel that it is now futile for me to try to fight within the system anymore,” he said.

He made clear that he has no intention of joining any other political party, but will continue to voice out through writing and blogging on the “importance of building a fair and equitable society”.

In his blog, Dr Hsu’s Forum, he said his resignation was not because of the party itself, and stressed that it “has a good ideology and many good members and many good friends”, but more because of the “dominance of Umno over everything else within the coalition”, and that he is “sick of race-based politics”.

“My decision to quit is nothing personal and not against anyone in the party. Even though I am quitting, I am still hoping against hope that the party can eventually realise its ideology of a fair and equal society, but given the political reality, it will not be possible in any foreseeable future,” he said.

1. #1 by k1980 on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 3:50 pm

Why still no reaction from the praying mantis sifu? Too busy as senator and minister of kpi? His day is not too far away

2. #2 by dagen on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 4:05 pm

No reaction? Aiyah might as well I response on cintanegara’s behalf. His reaction is always predictable. Let me tell Dr Hsu this (on behalf of cintanegara): “Ala sipendatang, kalau tau suka bila bila boleh balik cina. Senang je.”

3. #3 by donng55 on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 4:18 pm

What a settled manner of a tired Gerakan man. He wandered and struggled and eventually gave up.

Although quiting post-308 Gerakan now would be redundant, Dr Hsu’s fidelity of belief in an equal society has its weight in our good opinion of him.

Let’s hope that he will at length strike into his road and see its end, fight out the abandoned fight foir the betterment of our country.

4. #4 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 4:20 pm

At least Dr Hsu did not quit during by election.Unlike that traitor from Wangsa Maju and also a few other ‘katak’ from PKR deliberately chose to do so when PR was campaigning in by elections.

5. #5 by Loh on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 4:32 pm

///KUALA LUMPUR, March 8 — Singapore’s Lee Kuan Yew longed to be prime minister of the much bigger Malaysia, political arch-foe Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said in his memoirs out today.
    “The Singapore of the early 1960s was too small for him and his ambitions. Malaysia was a real country, not a city-state and to become Prime Minister of Malaysia would ////–MalaysiaInsider

That is the type of memoir one reads from Mamakthir. Lee Kuan Yew definitely has every right to be the Prime Minister of Malaysia while he was Malaysian. Sabah and Sarawak leaders decided to join Malaysia with the hope that one day Lee Kuan Yew would take over as Prime Minister. Had there been no racist riots initiated by Jaafar Albar, or was it Albar Jaafar, the so-called Lion of UMNO, and the ultras like Mamakthir, Singapore would still be in Malaysia, and we certainly would not have wasted 22 years under Mamakthir who turned this bolehland into the most corrupt regime in the world.

Lee Kuna Yew shows that even without natural resources, he was able to make Singapore more prosperous than Malaysia with GDP as high as Malaysia and per capita GDP of Singaporeans at six times that of Malaysians. We lost the opportunity, and now we are in the league of Myanmar and Zimbabwe. Had Lee Kuan Yew become Malaysian PM, the corrupt officials would have long migrated if not arrested, and Malaysia would have been a developed nation before the end of the 20th century.

6. #6 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 4:53 pm

Dr. Hsu Dar Ren finally got “sick of race-based politics” Saying that there are many ‘good members’ in the party, may we assume that they are the ones who share his beliefs and ideals of a fair and equitable society, yet not willing to give up the hope like good Dr. Hsu, prefering to hang on for false hopes. Or are they still waiting for the crumbs from UNMOB?

Dr. Hsu, many, many Malaysians including DRs ( drivers like my good self ) saw no hope for a united and progressive Malaysian nation under this incompetent BN government headed by UNMOB as far back as 35 years ago, but you, a capital Dr. only realised it 35 years after!! Anyway, better late than never. The more important thing is to NOT stop to fight and struggle for what you believe in. Get those ”good members and good friends” ( forget KHK ) to follow your footsteps and join the opposition unless of course, you all have skeletons in your closets and UNMOB know where to find them, then you better not lah.

Finally, congratulations for taking that brave step to leave a party which is as good as dead.

7. #7 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 4:59 pm

Lee Kuan Yew has proven to the world he is a renowned statesman.The faked Malay mamak only knows how to divide Malaysians by using race and religion rhetoric and harping on it day in and day out.He reminds me of the notorious Dato Harun during the May 13 crisis.

8. #8 by monsterball on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 5:02 pm

I am glad the good doctor decided to have nothing to do with Gerakan anymore.
    He had so much faith in Gerakan…suggesting it should be the “Third Force” getting non stop objections from commentators.
    He stopped suggeting that…and concentrate on posting what are good for all Malaysians.
    Dr. Hsu is a simple man that loves classical music and a self taught pianist.
    His resignation can be seen as a sign of Gerakan having no hope in the 13th GE….so why waste time over a dead party.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 5:05 pm

“Despite the many decades of trying to work from within, Gerakan is now further and further away from realising its ideals.”
    Alamak, dis is blasphemy man! Beware, d praying mantis kung fu will b after HDR
    KTK, THN n gang kept telling supporters can change UmnoB fr within BN, how come?
    KTK was supported by educationists 2 masuk Gerakan 2 change BN fr within – tak jadi ke
    Looks like KTK is in there 4 his own personal gains lor – betul chea tua paou

10. #10 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 5:30 pm

///Unfortunately, within the framework of BN, where the hegemonic race politics of Umno predominates, it is impossible for Gerakan to realise this ideal,” he said.///

Dr Hsu, now only you know meh? Still, better late than never. Come and join PR to establish a fair and equitable society in Malaysia!

11. #11 by Loh on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 5:44 pm

///“I have to speak candidly to be of value, but I do not want to offend the Muslim community… I think we were progressing very nicely until the surge of Islam came, and if you asked me for my observations, the other communities have easier integration – friends, inter-marriages and so on – than Muslims… I would say, today, we can integrate all religions and races,
    except Islam.”
    ………………………………………
    “I made this one comment on the Muslims integrating with other communities probably two or three years ago. Ministers and MPs, both Malay and non-Malay, have since told me that Singapore Malays have indeed made special efforts to integrate with the other communities, especially since 9/11, and that my call is out of date.

“I stand corrected. I hope that this trend will continue in the future.”

When asked what Muslims could do to integrate, he said: “Be less strict on Islamic observances and say, ‘Okay, I’ll eat with you’. ///—Lee Kuan Yew
    ”http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110308-267055.html

Former PM AAB would have told you that when he was in the university in the 1960s, the Malays had no problem saying “Okay, I’ll eat with you”. In the university college/hostel during pre-NEP days Muslims and non-Muslims shared the same dining hall, and they were able to choose halal and non-halal food at different counters. They definitely shared the same trays, plates, tables and chairs.

In Malaysia May 13 changed all that. Non-Malays are still allowed into Muslims restaurants; the only concession which might even be removed in due course.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 5:48 pm

NR, RM, UmnoB very happi Chinese n Indian voters had return 2 d bosoms of UmnoB/BN
    Lots of Indians, esp, voted 4 UmnoB in d recent buy erections
    They shld b happi d treatment received by Indian students in Kuala Kubu Baru, S’gor
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/158050
    Continue 2 support UmnoB/BN lah, Indian voters, n enjoy d special treatment

13. #13 by Loh on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 6:17 pm

Basics human rights provide that one does not have to read what he does not want, such as novels that insult them, or what they believe. In Malaysia, if you are students you lose the right. Worse, to pass the examination, students have to memorize passages that are insulting to them.

The seven Indian students in Kuala Kubu Baru were not even allowed to return books they do not want. And policeman who doubled up as politician insulted the students. Maybe the Indians in the two buy-elections voted too early!

14. #14 by tanjong8 on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 10:09 pm

This confirms the hegemony of Umnoputras. For how long shall we tolerate ?

15. #15 by born in Malaya on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 11:09 pm

A race base government is always a race base government. Naive citizens suffers by voting a racist government.

16. #16 by wanderer on Tuesday, 8 March 2011 - 11:42 pm

Gerakan to recapture Penang is a dream of expired Gerakan politicians. How sad, the left overs are mastering the art of marbles polishing!…much to the delight of their political sifu!

17. #17 by k1980 on Wednesday, 9 March 2011 - 7:56 am

//Despite the many decades of trying to work from within, Gerakan is now further and further away from realising its ideals//

How old are you, Hsu? How come it takes you 42 years (since 1969) to come to this obvious conclusion? The Libyans are going for Gaddafi’s jugular after that many years, while you merely leave the party. Your parents had given you the wrong name, it should be Hsu Xiao Ren.

18. #18 by dagen on Wednesday, 9 March 2011 - 8:36 am

///Gerakan to recapture Penang is a dream of expired Gerakan politicians./// wanderer

Hmmmm … wanderer actually the situation is more dire than that for gerakan. Their dream to recapture penang has expired. No doubt dreams will drive one to success. But I really dont know what expired dreams would do to a person. Turn him into a rambutan lover, perhaps?

19. #19 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 9 March 2011 - 9:25 am

KTK n his Gerakan kakis r hving big fat wet dreams man, every night, super syiok 1

20. #20 by Godfather on Wednesday, 9 March 2011 - 10:13 am

Ah Koon says “Don’t do this to me lah….they won’t renew my senatorship.”

21. #21 by k1980 on Wednesday, 9 March 2011 - 10:27 am

To give due respect to the numerous people laughing at gerakan’s antics, the party members should do a Ridhuan Tee (undergo a certain surgical operation and then name change to bin dollahs) and then be eligible for umno membership.

22. #22 by Winston on Wednesday, 9 March 2011 - 10:40 am

Dr Hsu, it’s good that you left!
    You should have done it years earlier!!!

23. #23 by k1980 on Wednesday, 9 March 2011 - 1:31 pm

New names for those political rejects should they join umno—

1. akoon koh ben dollah
    2. anan teng ben dollah
    3. ayaik lim ben dollah
    4. alek chua ben dollah
    5. alai leow ben dollah
    6. ayen ng benti dollah
    7. achoy chan ben dollah
    8. asik ling ben dollah

24. #24 by boh-liao on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 10:01 am

Umno’s “hegemonic race politics” has been on 4 many many years, not a new thingy; every MCA, Gerakan, MIC member knows, accepts n kow tows 2 UmnoBputras as their bosses
    Y HDR only left Gerakan now? Not privileged 2 juices of gravy train? No made a senator?