Saluting a True Malaysian Son

by Koon Yew Yin

(Speech on the occasion of Perak DAP celebration of Lim Kit Siang’s 70th birthday in Ipoh at Tropicana Grand Ballroom on 25th Feb. 2011 after presenting a RM100,000 donation to Perak DAP to restore a legitimate and popularly elected government in the state )

Let me begin by thanking the DAP for its invitation to me to celebrate the occasion of Saudara Lim Kit Siang’s 70th birthday, and for this honour to say a few words to this distinguished audience.

Firstly, it is only right that we are gathered here to pay tribute to a giant of a politician, Saudara Lim Kit Siang. In my mind, there are two key people who have been responsible for this turning point that we have reached in our country’s politics.

One is of course Saudara Anwar Ibrahim who has been the glue in bringing the DAP, PAS and PKR together in Pakatan Rakyat to challenge the political hegemony of BN and UMNO and in galvanizing the electoral vote for the opposition. The Government has launched a ridiculous campaign to harass and destroy him by a fictitious charge but I am sure Anwar will prevail and will continue his struggle for a better Malaysia.

The second hero in Malaysian politics – someone who has put his heart and soul into transforming Malaysia, and who has paid the price for standing up for the ideals of parliamentary democracy – is Saudara Lim. This is a truly towering Malaysian who has stood unwavering on behalf of justice, truth and equality for over 40 years in the public arena. Many young Malaysians may not be aware that for standing up for our basic freedoms, Saudara Lim was put in detention on two occasions under the ISA, the first time for 17 months in 1969 and the second time under Operation Lallang in 1987, when Kit Siang and his son Guan Eng were detained for another 18 months, together with five other DAP leaders.

What remains of our democratic system despite the attempts by Barisan and UMNO to debase and corrupt and destroy it – witness what has taken place in our beloved state of Perak – owes a great deal to the untiring efforts of Kit Siang. He has been a true Malaysian political giant.

I am not alone in my appreciation. In December 1999, HAKAM the national human rights society had written a tribute to Kit Siang:

“HAKAM would like to put on record its tribute and appreciation to you for your selfless and fearless long-public service in the quest for a more just and equitable society and commitment to the principles of parliamentary democracy and good governance.

“We have no doubt that the cherished ideals and principles that you have steadfastly championed through the long years of trials and tribulations and personal sacrifices will not be in vain and your precept and example will surely be a source of inspiration and an example for the young generation of Malaysians to emulate.”

These words of appreciation were written more than 10 years ago. Kit Siang continues his fight for a better Malaysia, a fight which I hope the younger generation gathered here will contribute in whatever way they can.

My own contribution is in the way of a donation to the DAP to mark Kit Siang’s birthday. The contribution is to enable the party to renew its efforts at winning the elections and together with the other members of Pakatan Rakyat, form the next government of Malaysia. This is the goal – to end the over 50 years of BN autocratic rule – with a new era of clean and transparent politics, with a new government committed to good governance and respect for parliamentary democracy.

This RM100,000 donation is made publicly and openly so that others – whether in business or in the professions – can be encouraged to play their role in transforming the country. We must never be afraid to put our money where our mouth is.

Too many of my peer group will bitch and complain about how bad the government is; how corrupt BN politicians are; how disgusted they are with the racist politics engaged in by the BN; how the young children of Malaysia face a bleak future; even how badly their own businesses have been affected by the crony-ridden state and national agencies working with the BN politicians. Yet they do nothing about it. All they do is mourn and groan. To this group of rich and well-endowed businessmen and professionals, I challenge them: PUT YOUR MONEY WHERE YOUR MOUTH IS and I assure you – together we can change the government and Malaysia.

Thank you

1. #1 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 26 February 2011 - 10:53 pm

If only more well-to-do businessmen and professionals do as you do, Mr Koon !

2. #2 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 26 February 2011 - 11:12 pm

All the rich and successful businessmen and professionals should heed the call made by Mr.Koon.They should give their support to DAP and PR in order to build up a united and progressive Malaysia.Since DAP is still poor,they can emulate the example set by this philanthropist from Perak by giving donation generously to the party.

3. #3 by tak tahan on Saturday, 26 February 2011 - 11:19 pm

Mr Koon and Mr Chua’s credibility now is almost none to Umno the sadist master so their hoods are projected to shrink faster than go accomodating with their age.We no give them two hoods of honour back,they cannot perform anymore,you see?Anyway those hoods will not bear good genetic so make them boh hood and hood them out!!

4. #4 by boh-liao on Saturday, 26 February 2011 - 11:51 pm

Dis Koon is righteous n has bola, unlike d other invertebrate boh hood praying mantis Ah Koon

5. #5 by FreeAsian on Saturday, 26 February 2011 - 11:52 pm

Thank you very much, Mr Koon, for putting your money where your heart is. We need many more philanthropists like you to invest their money and heart in nurturing the best future for Malaysia.

6. #6 by Fair Play on Sunday, 27 February 2011 - 6:54 am

My fellow Perakians,can we ever forget the Perak power grab? Should we ever forgive the Perak power grab? Can we ever forget the pain in our hearts as we watched helplessly the mighty forces physically throwing out the lawful state government ?
    My fellow Perakians, we must have a sense of right and wrong , or we deserve to perish. What is wrong must be put right. No amount of sugar-coating can obliterate a wrong doing. The guilty are handing out goodies now in Perak. They are working towards the next GE. We must not succumb to bribery and corruption. We must keep our heads and our sense of dignity at all times. Vote for good. Vote out the wrong doers. Restore the glory that is ours.

7. #7 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 February 2011 - 10:25 am

Blessed are the charitable and generous Malaysians donating for a good cause to help free Malaysians from the yolk of tyrants.
    It is more blessed to give than to take.
    Lim Kit Siang gives his whole life…to free Malaysians…and nice to note millionaires are donating huge sum to honour LKS.
    For the poor there have nothing to give but their lives..to support LKS too…and that are equally good Malaysians.
    During LKS’s birthday gigs..you can sense Malaysians are uniting to change the government.
    They have billions stolen ad PR needs public donations and support.

8. #8 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 27 February 2011 - 3:03 pm

Happy Belated Birthday!
    I have followed you since I was in Form 5 in the 80s. When I was drawn into politic after I was refused entry to a college because of my ethnic group. I cannot understand the reason then.. but I am still bitter about it. It affects me in Form 6, and also entrance into local University. I packed and went to NZ with 3K in my pocket. I beg and presented my case in NZ where I was offered scholarship and free tuition fee.. My government does not give a damn about me. NZ provides…

I still came back to my beloved country. Not because I agreed with the system. I am back just to make a different to change it.

My general paper about Dr M target of 60M population was backed fired as sensitive and not appropriate. Why? Because my conclusion is “The objective is to increase UMNO voting based”

Happy Birthday

Regards
    Shiok Guy

9. #9 by tak tahan on Sunday, 27 February 2011 - 4:50 pm

Sorry to hear that what you have gone through those difficult years.Your coming back here will be blessing in disguise cause we will together do whatever means to bury them six feet off the ground.Their days are numbered and our days for just and truly democracy countdown will begin.

10. #10 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 27 February 2011 - 7:03 pm

In our BOLEHLAND, those who earn the respect of the general public are few and far between. On doubt, YB LKS is one Malaysian who reaned that respect. On the orther hand, those titles which are made so common that they really belong to crooks who buy them with cash from our treasury means nothing to all thinking Malaysians. YB you eraned it and with this I also salute Mr. Koon for his generosity. Maybe Mr. Koon help to start a private University where real quality students can bring some respect to the nation in the international educational scenario!

11. #11 by ablastine on Sunday, 27 February 2011 - 8:35 pm

I would like to add that should DAP needs funds in order to topple the Evil empire all it need to do is to ask and ensure that the funds are put to good use. Those of us with means will assist in whatever way possible to see that Pakatan will not be disadvantaged by financial constraints to fight the fight that must be won in the next election or Malaysia will be going to the dogs. Do not unestimate what an awaken nation can contribute. It will be more than what the evil BN empire can plunder from the national treasury or whatever’s left of it.

12. #12 by DemoCrazyman on Sunday, 27 February 2011 - 10:53 pm

for a just country, we must work harder. This country is already ridiculous enough (Anwar case, TBH homicide, Mongolian model, submarine commission, Perkasa). These are just some examples of our corrupt federal government.

13. #13 by k1980 on Monday, 28 February 2011 - 8:12 am

About 1,000 Kangar people pounded their mortars to make sambal belacan….to enter the guiness book of records. So this is bolehland’s way of showing the world what it is capable of doing. China or India can easily get 1,000,000,000 of their people to do the same nonsense with their mortars if they want to be fools too.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Monday, 28 February 2011 - 11:40 am

Yes, Perak voters: DO NOT forget easily what d crooks n frogs did
    Hope they stand 4 d next GE so dat voters can BURY them n pack them OFF