70 and looking forward to more democratic breakthroughs (3)

Many have asked whether I have plans to retire after 45 years of politics.

With the DAP founding chairman Dr. Chen Man Hin a hale and hearty 86, keeping vigilant daily scrutiny of political developments; the declaration by DAP Chairman Karpal Singh, who is eight months my senior, of unremitting commitment in the cause of justice and freedom despite his physical problems; and the “good wishes” of the doyen of Barisan Nasional politicians, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, 74, that I “continue to tread the rough and tumble of the Malaysian political road with even greater tenacity and thrust in the years ahead until we can all together ensured that no one in the country is allowed to create a situation of disaster of the type we have just seen in Tunisia and Egypt”, the least I could do was to pledge, as I did at my 70th birthday dinner at Hotel Equatorial Penang, that I will continue to contribute to party, people and the nation so long as I can be of use and contribution.

Three years ago in Feb 2008, I made a birthday wish that the DAP can succeed in winning the Penang State Government in the 2008 general election, which I had not made public at the time. This had come true.

My 70th birthday wish is that Malaysia will become a normal democratic country with the two coalition system fully institutionalized where change of political power would be regarded as a normal process and not once invoking threats and intimidations of national calamity like riots and unrest.

I was honoured by the presence of the “People’s Judge”, Datuk N. H. Chan of “Something is rotten in State of Denmark” fame, and his wife, Anne, especially as the restoration of a just rule of law and a truly independent judiciary must top the agenda of national reforms 54 years after Merdeka.

Others from the civil society pantheon who did me honour with their presence included former Bar Council presidents Yeo Yang Poh and Ambiga Sreenevasan, Aliran President P. Ramakrishnan, FOMCA President Marimuthu Nadason, Director Centre for Policy Initiatives (CPI) Dr. Lim Teck Ghee and stalwarts like Wong Chin Huat, Tommy Thomas and my old friend Dr. Goh Cheng Teik.

I thank Anwar Ibrahim, Mohd Sabu, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, Syed Husin Ali among many others for their well wishes.

I must mention bloggers like Sakmonglol AK47 who were gracious in joining many in extending birthday greetings.

The Penang Hotel Equatorial reception was the occasion for the biggest gathering of my extended family – with brother Kit Hee and family, brother-in-law Ho Lai Chee and family, sister-in-law Yeo Keng Hong, nephews/nieces Bok Wu, Bok Sze, Bok Xin and family members from Batu Pahat, Petaling Jaya and China; Neo Kim Seng, Kim Thong, Kim Chuan, Poh Lai, Poh Choo, Poh Tuan, Poh Lay, Poh Lian and families; Dr. Lim Kok Hoo, Kok Seng, Kok Kuan, Lay Yong and Lay Cheng and families, etc.

Thanks most of all to my children Guan Eng, Hui Ming, Hui Ying and Guan Choon as well as Betty and Siew Suan for the idea of the 70th Birthday reception, and my wife, Neo Yok Tee, for sterling support down the decades despite the trials and tribulations.

1. #1 by All For The Road on Wednesday, 23 February 2011 - 8:44 pm

YB Lim Kit Siang, with the blessings and grace of God The Almighty, you will live long to see your dream and of all Malaysians eventually come true!

Long live MALAYSIAN MALAYSIA!

2. #2 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 February 2011 - 9:22 pm

What, no simple birthday greetings from Najib or Muhyiddin or Mamakthir ? It shows how small the mentality of these people are. They are probably angry that with you around, their plunder is constantly put on the spotlight.

And no greeting from your fellow Batu Pahat strongman CSL ?

Tsk, tsk, tsk….what a shameful and shameless bunch of low class beings.

3. #3 by Winston on Wednesday, 23 February 2011 - 9:42 pm

Uncle Lim, you, together with all of your admirers, will work unceasingly to make this country the one that we all look forward to having.
    Together, we will make it a reality!!!

4. #4 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 23 February 2011 - 10:12 pm

Mr.Lim Kit Siang has become a household name these days because of his long fight against injustice,corruption,racism,religious fanaticism.He has put to shame many old and experienced politicians like the mamak.Although he does not have all the “accessories” before or after his name despite his contributions to the nation,the simple ‘Mr’ should suffice and would put him on par with world statesmen like LKY,Bill Clinton,Nelson Mendela,Angsun Suci.He deserves a Nobel prize and also a life size replica in Madame Tussauds,London.

5. #5 by penang lim on Wednesday, 23 February 2011 - 11:25 pm

Yb Lim Kit Siang is a legend – God bless him – there is light at the end of the tunnel with him around

6. #6 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 23 February 2011 - 11:33 pm

Bro Lim, I have the utmost respect for you not because you are a Chinese who fearlessly and consistency fight for Chinese rights for, had you done that like those race-based parties in the BN coalition, you would not have gained my respect and support. I respect your ‘Malaysianess’ and you proved that by your 45 yearscof work in the political arena.

Keep up the good work and ignore those who for selfish reasons call you by all sorts of names- racist, Chinese chauvanist pig, dictatorial etc, etc. Just for your info, I personally have heard of Malays singing you praises at stalls selling pisang goreng. Malaysia need more MPs like you.

7. #7 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 24 February 2011 - 12:01 am

Najipu said malaysian is not egypt because there is uncle lim. malaysia is similar to egypt, tunisia, libya because there are dictators and those who are corrupted.

how can najipu allow taib who is worse than mubarak to stay on power? this proved that he is worst than taib and worst than mubarak

8. #8 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 24 February 2011 - 1:24 am

I didn’t see many respectful politicians such as uncle lim. i think he deserved more credit. we haven’t gave him enough credit because we all are still anticipating him to fight on. If I may name a few politicians of his caliber, I would say the late Kim Dae-jung (former president) of Korea, Benigno Aquino (but who died too young) and Nelson Mandela. But the contribution of each one of them has been very unique.

I hope uncle Lim will be a candidate for nobel prize one day. he has his unique contribution here, to create peace in a multi-racial and multi-religious community. Perhaps multi-racial society is nothing too unique (many more countries in the world are multi-racial and yet they live in harmony), but multi-religious could be an issue. I may say Anwar would be a good partner with him to win this prize. Anwar has established himself as a respected world islamic leader these days (definitely not najipu). Anwar has just to be a bit more vocal and do something to bring democracy to the muslim world (president habibie has achieved some degree of success in indonesia).

uncle lim may have to give more talks internationally, to tell the world about the need of his fighting.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Thursday, 24 February 2011 - 7:11 am

Old ginger hottest. Well done Kit!

10. #10 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 24 February 2011 - 7:50 am

it’s all about integrity and honesty. Look at those piously fake regime under umno goons. spinning hatred, bigotry, stealing, killing all in the name of umno god. what’s the use having tuns, tans, datuk title when they behaved like what interlok said-p@ri@h.

come to think of it, I agree with interlok. when u think of p@ri@h and selling daughters, think of MIC and MCA. they are exactly that.

11. #11 by dagen on Thursday, 24 February 2011 - 9:23 am

Beware umno of a well and fully recharged lim kit siang in this era of toppled muslim dictators. Like those countries with disposed dictators, let malaysia take off in DAP’s rocket.

12. #12 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 24 February 2011 - 9:29 am

And allow me thank God for giving You to this country!!!!

Your contribution to this country is not in the form of money in our pockets, contracts, or APs but the unseen defense of our democratic rights.

I once cursed the Chinese in Melaka and Penang who were blind to your contributions and chose not to vote for you.
    I hope their eyes are opened today.

13. #13 by tak tahan on Thursday, 24 February 2011 - 2:20 pm

There are simply too mant ignorant malaysians who don’t care to read or know about social politic but as Kuli said despite of that LKS always has the tenacity to press for justice and freedom through out those difficult years.May you achieve what you yearn for not only for you but all of us together.I hope all if not most malaysian will open up their eyes and pay more attention to what is happening around us.Change of government is what we really need for a new beginning and also not forget to clone and modify rambutan seed for better consumption.We haven’t seen that fruit for a long time ya so i guess it has already become stump and fruitless.