Mahathir should make a greater effort to remember his astounding meeting before Operation Lalang giving assurance of no ISA arrests

Yesterday, despite denials by DAP National Chairman and MP for Bukit Gelugor Karpal Singh (who was one of the seven DAP MPs detained by Tun Mahathir’s Ministerial order in 1987) and I that there had been such a meeting or assurance before the Operation Lalang crackdown, the former Prime Minister stuck to his version, saying:

“This happened 20 years ago. I remember distinctly having the meeting. I don’t really remember the faces of those who were there, but I am quite certain that Karpal Singh was not there and that Lim Kit Siang was there.”

This is most untypical of Mahathir, who is credited with elephantine memory except when for political reasons he chose to be a victim of amnesia – as during his 90-minute testimony before the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam Videotape Scandal in January 2008 where he said “I cannot remember” or its equivalent 14 times!

Could it be possible that he had “met all of the opposition members and assured them that they would not be arrested” and he could not remember their faces except mine – or when, where or who else from his side who were present or party to the meeting?

Mahathir should make a greater effort to remember this astounding meeting before Operation Lalang mass arrests where he allegedly “met all of the opposition members and assured them that they would not be arrested” – not only the who, but all other details as to the where, when and how the meeting came about, together with eye-witness accounts.

There is no reason why any Opposition leader should hide the truth of such a meeting and assurance of no-ISA detentions if they had actually happened, for it would have been the chief reason for the ISA detainees and the civil society to argue against their detention in national and international campaigns – but which was never used during the entire Operation Lalang period as nobody knew about it.

I had mentioned that after my Operation Lalang release from Kamunting Detention Centre in May 1989, I had met Mahathir in the Prime Minister’s Office where I had asked him point-blank why the Umno Youth leader, Datuk Seri Najib Razak had not been detained for escalating the racial tensions in the country in Oct. 1987 while innocent ones were made victims of Operation Lalang.

The first question I would have popped to Mahathir at that meeting would be to ask him why he had broken his word why he had failed to honour his assurance to opposition leaders that there would be no ISA detentions, if Mahathir had indeed met with opposition leaders and given such an assurance before the launch of Operation Lalang.

This speaks volumes and the more interesting question is why Mahathir is now trying to rewrite history to clear himself of the infamy of the Operation Lalang mass crackdown.

1. #1 by Kongseemik on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 4:48 pm

Melayu mudah lupa!

2. #2 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 4:56 pm

Cina tidak mudah lupa!

3. #3 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 5:00 pm

Hey! Tun , I remember you went to a mamak coffee stall and spoke to some 60 people. I think you mistook me for Lim Kit Siang because you kept calling me ”Kim Siam” and assured me that I would not be arrested. So, I can tell you that LKS was not there. I hope this will help you recall what actually happened then. Good luck and don’t forget to take the gingko by Amway.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 5:04 pm

///…the more interesting question is why Mahathir is now trying to rewrite history to clear himself of the infamy of the Operation Lalang mass crackdown/// – YB Kit

Well it is often attributed to Abraham Lincoln this saying – “You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.

This is a message to all the strong men despots and dictators of the world.

The events in Tunisia and Egypt have taught that the day of reckoning and accounting will come. The world cheer the long suffering people and their democratic revolution; they jeer the strongmen who scrambled for a safe exit and exile.

As present dictators and autocrats squirm in their positions, they try reforms and compromise. It may work in Singapore – with strong economic performance prosperity and relatively clean government but it would not and didn’t work for one like Mubarak’s!

In Malaysia present authoritarian leaders also “talk” about reforms (talk only). They allow the Opposition to subsist but find ways and means to ensure the field is not level and they cannot win! They also absorb the young into civil service & GLCs and buy allegiance. That is why we have a bloated civil one. Those who don’t fit into this way of buying allegiance is given passports to emigrate. (It is the best way to get rid of educated young people who will only cause dictators headaches when they can’t find work and blame the government. For all the talk of human capital and talent corp that is why we don’t address the root problems causing the brain drain!).

As autocrats, dictators and strongmen in present power think and ponder over the strategies of how to stay in power and safe from the angry protests and people power sweeping from the Middle East – it is noted that from Middle East is important as many look there for inspiration – there is another audience of events in Tunisia & Egypt watching CNN and Al Jazeera’s reports in discomfit and anxiety : ie the EX- strongmen and authoritarian autocrats.

They are worried about the present anointees losing grip of power with back lash falling unto them in retirement if developments in Middle East catch on in their base countries. They too worry thy have to do accounting eventually for excesses when they were in power not too long ago. One of the ways is to re-write history – just in case!

5. #5 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 5:15 pm

Mahathir deliberately created racial tensions to justify ‘Operation Lallang’ to hold on to power.

This man is dangerous!

6. #6 by Loh on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 5:19 pm

///This speaks volumes and the more interesting question is why Mahathir is now trying to rewrite history to clear himself of the infamy of the Operation Lalang mass crackdown.///–Kit

I suppose he has just learned the Chinese saying that human leaves his name and tiger its hides. So he is trying to create a good name when he is still around. But how to clear the corrupt practices he had institutionalized?

The good news perhaps is that he knows that his time is up.

7. #7 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 5:29 pm

The cunning fox took leave and handed power to DPM then Musa Hitam to handle the residents protest in Memali. When things went out of control resulting police shooting to death of 18 people, he put all the blame on M Hitam. Very cunning, isn’t he???

8. #8 by wanderer on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 5:38 pm

“His dull rain was rot and things forgotten” Don’t blame this rotten old goat la…he is entering into his final phase of senility! Possibly, the only thing he still remembers, he has screwed all Malaysians!

9. #9 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 6:44 pm

Mahathir mudah ingat lupa,tapi tak mudah lupa.His blatant lies would not be tolerated outside bolehland.He can choose to lie and forget because he is surrounded and protected by all his liar stooges(jurists,pdrm,macc and worst of all prime minister himself)

10. #10 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 7:39 pm

he remembers and not remember according to his whim and fancy. totally ZERO respect.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 7:48 pm

Suddenly MMK has a clear memory; lies, more lies, persistent lies soon bcome TRUTH
    MMK has been using dis sort of trickery throughout his life, no surprise lah

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 7:54 pm

One should ask Mahathir what medicine he is taking or forgot to take that is giving him this ‘memory’.

Or maybe we should ask Leonardo DiCaprio, Ken Watanabe and their ‘Inception’ team what they are up to entering the mind and thoughts of Mahathir.

Mahathir should spin his totem ‘top’ to see if he’s in the dream world or in the real world.

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 9:05 pm

The Opposition’s main role is to question and check the government of the day. Former premier Tun Dr Mahathir is retired. He is no more in the government. Why is he still given the relevance by Opposition leaders to contradict his selective memory???

He is also attacking the present government’s policies in subtle ways. The present PM does not think it necessary or relevant to bickering with him. This altercation between him and YB/Karpal only allows the present govt the opportunity to sit back and enjoy the spectacle and see what could come out of it that it could leverage against the opposition. TDM enjoys the attention. What he hates most is lack of attention. You are giving just what he wants.

So what if in his interview with Tom Plate he thought or imagined that he told opposition members not to worry being detained? Is his credibility an issue with the Opposition?

I thought it would be better or the Opposition to spend time to focus on credibility of the government than TDM since he is no more a part of it.

14. #14 by monsterball on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 9:47 pm

Yip….LKS is telling the truth.
    Had they met BEFORE Operation Lalang..LKS’s first question to Mahathir should be why mamak broke his promise.
    As there was no meeting….nothing of that matter was said.
    Mamak is cunning and crafty.. saying second time around….he met all..including LKS and left Karpal Singh out.
    He sure can remember all details happened 20 years ago…..yet can easily forget…if he chooses to do so..that he feels not beneficial to him.
    What benefits does he aim to get from this matter?
    He is trying to paint how truthful and how kind he was as PM…and all bad things are done by others…so that history will record him best of the best PM?
    He will never change and will stay a pain in the S to Malaysia and Malaysians.
    He knows majority Malaysians do not trust and believe in him…too well.
    He will never change and hope his by denying and accusing others…his finest con job still works…when at his advantages are the corrupted to the core followers and the thousands half past sixes he made…with his devilish and cunning character..for youngsters to copy….who are now…more than 30 years old.
    Mahathir is truly a devil reincarnated person.

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 9:54 pm

Well, there could be another explanation – he just imagined all in his head – the same way he imagined that ‘special position’ is ‘special right’, the same way he imagined that Malaysia is an Islamic country when its clearly secular, the same way he imagined that he is not Indian.

16. #16 by monsterball on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 9:56 pm

Calling him spin doctor is too kind a label.
    He is the dirtiest politician you can ever find in the whole wide world.
    He can ignore half of his bloodline and kill off Tunku’s legacy….what do you think he will not dare to do to others?
    His limitations maybe due to his lack of confidence on complete controls of the royalties..judges.. police and military.
    Above all that…is People’s Power he lacked the support.
    Had he have all that ….including the successive massive corruptions he encouraged…you will find him as PM today and till the day he dies.

17. #17 by monsterball on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 9:58 pm

Calling him a spin doctor is too kind.
    He can ignore half of his bloodline.and kill off the legacy of Tunku…..what else will he dare not do?

18. #18 by donplaypuks on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 11:01 pm

YB

Quite simple. Round up all those leaders, make a Stat Declaration and then brand Mahathir a liar openly.

Have no doubt that most M’sians beileve your version of evenst and see clearly that Mahathir is lying to save his face and legacy in the history books!

Mahathir’s version of events does not gel with his subsequent action or that he signed all Detention Orders including those suspending the MSM and sending you and Karpal to prison for 2 years!

dpp
    we are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

19. #19 by Loh on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 - 11:20 pm

Jeffrey :

So what if in his interview with Tom Plate he thought or imagined that he told opposition members not to worry being detained? Is his credibility an issue with the Opposition?
    I thought it would be better or the Opposition to spend time to focus on credibility of the government than TDM since he is no more a part of it.

He is not officially part of the government but he still has influence. AP scheme was said to have been abused and to be removed since AAB days, but it has been declared relevant to the continuation of NEP. If not for Mamakthir would his son who lost the youth position get a deputy minister post when the Youth Chief remains outside the Cabinet, a first time in UMNO history? I am happy that Khairy is kept out of the cabinet, but this is beside the point.

It is true that statements made by Mamakthir would not get past those who think, the trouble is many voters do not think, and that is why Mamakthir continue with his racist comments trying hard to make Malays emotional and hate other communities. His latest comment with regards to vernacular education and that non-Malays should drop their culture to be assimilated into the dominant group are seditious. I believe it is important to oppose his views. He has always claimed that MCA agreed to government policies that discriminate against the Chinese, and that the Chinese supported such policies because they voted for BN. Mamakthir has caused great harm to Malaysia and he is still dangerous.

20. #20 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 12:31 am

Sorry tto digress.It’s never safe anymore even in our own houses.My hose was just broken in between last 4 hours ago.My precious laptop was gone arr…They came in by hacking my bedroom’s one window grill.How tiny this drug addictic!Is there a point to report police?I agaisnt it but my dad suggested the other way round.

21. #21 by monsterball on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 3:01 am

Sorry to hear that…tak tahan.
    Maybe you can sound an alert to exactly where your house is located.
    At SS15 Subang Jaya..almost all offices have been broken in…and not one case reported is solved…but …you must report the incident.
    Buy two or three long strong bamboo stick from Petaling Street rattan maker. It helps.
    You know..like the kungfu fighters uses them.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 6:55 am

///Mahathir, who is credited with elephantine memory except when for political reasons he chose to be a victim of amnesia///

We’re dealing here with octogenarian!

No matter how “elephantine” the memory Tun Mahathir is 86 years old (comparing, Lee Kuan Yew 88).

Hormone levels, reflexes, and memory neurotransmitters show slight decreases each year after we reach our middle aged years. Remember if one does not use it, one will eventually lose it (whether we’re talking of the big or small ‘brain’).

When one is so advance in age one could either forget things that happened or imagine things that happened which didn’t.

A little exaggeration here and there (constituting in context a lie) will happen when one reminisces and talks too much in old age.

Especially Mahathir – one of the things which he tries to keep himself mentally active and healthy despite his mature age – he once said in a keynote address at the fifth Malaysian Healthy Ageing Conference in Kuala Lumpur sometime in May 2010 – by deriving pleasure from “ribbing present leaders” – whether government or opposition!

Whilst others detest the lashing of his caustic tongue, he almost revels in it.

It is in part of this superiority syndrome – “I never really retired from politics, my interest in it is still there… and because we are better than others, we criticize them. That is what keeps me young,” he said.

If you take an octogenarian too seriously in what he said or imagined – something he does to try keep himself mentally alert – you just get enmeshed unnecessarily in this kind of dialectics on the national platform. To him its just part of the game.

23. #23 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 8:02 am

this mamak thinks that he is more superior than others? what good things or original thought have he come out with during his tenure? he lost 100billion of our money. corrupted all government agencies and entities.
    any goondooks can throw in money to build klcc and sepang track. financial crisis? He just copy what china did. peg the currency.

the only original thought from him is the crooked bridge to link Singapore which is just about 1km away.

24. #24 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 8:03 am

…this mamak thinks that he is more superior than others? what good things or original thought have he come out with during his tenure? he lost 100billion of our money. corrupted all government agencies and entities.
    any goondooks can throw in money to build klcc and sepang track. financial crisis? He just copy what china did. peg the currency.

the only original thought from him is the crooked bridge to link Singapore which is just about 1km away. I wonder if his ketuanan is that crooked. or the bridge is modeled against his ketuanan. superior sly snake is more befitting.

25. #25 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 8:31 am

http://www.humanrightspartymalaysia.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/A3-724×1024.jpg

Dis mamak should put on his dhoti and join Mandela, Martin Luther King, Gandhi, Abe Lincoln and Obama in joining malaysia’s hindraf

26. #26 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 8:35 am

#18 by tak tahan

Get a spoilt laptop, booby-trap it with c4 and leave it by the same window (left open this time). Those drug addicts’ parents would be very grateful to you for curing their children’s drug addiction.

27. #27 by wanderer on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 8:49 am

Mamak has completed the circle of life…back to the infant phase, playing marbles! At least, he felt proud of his biggest achievement..transforming himself from an orang India to a faked melayu, making the true malays
    the greatest suckers. Yet, at the end of the day, he arrogantly mocked those poor miserales chocolate bars with a farewell song,”I did it my way”

28. #28 by DAP man on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 8:52 am

Many Malay friends use to tell me that Mahathir has forked tongue – lidah biawak.

This old man is Satan in human form.

29. #29 by dagen on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 8:58 am

I was there!

30. #30 by passerby on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 9:01 am

Does it matter whether he remembered or not. The most important thing is the people has not forgotten his corruption, abuse of power and racism. The day when PKR becomes the Government, he will have to answer the judge for all his sins.

It happens in Tunisia and now Egypt and soon it will be in Malaysia. See you in court soon, mamakuty.

31. #31 by sotong on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 9:01 am

Privatisation, piratisation, modernisation….whatever you want to call it, took corruption to its highest level not seen in our country history.

This guy still think he is a ” hero ” with great contribution to the country.

32. #32 by dagen on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 9:50 am

Sort of was there.

33. #33 by dagen on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 9:51 am

Think, I was there.

34. #34 by dagen on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 9:52 am

Thought I was.

35. #35 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 11:34 am

Thank you monsterball for your advice.Right now i think i have to stick with my old and slow desktop..sickening clumsy slow coach.Hesitate to buy a new one cuase i’m staying alone and you know it’s not cheap to get a good one.These thieves are beyond imagination.Even my underwear,jean and sandals was not spared in the previous incidents.

36. #36 by dagen on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 12:18 pm

Dear tak tahan,

Sorry to hear the bad news. Oh its news as usual in rambutanland.

Report the incident for what it is worth. The police will not act if there is only one or two dozen reports. But hopefully after hundreds of dozens of reports they would. So it is all about getting the numbers up to there. See what I mean?

Anyway, about the rattan advise by monsterball, yeah not a bad idea. But not long ones. Not too long anyway. Try swinging a long rattan about in the confine of your home and you will know why. Its clumsy for one thing. And easy for your opponent to grab hold of it and neutralise your advantage. That is the other thing. I reckon something like three feet long would be nice. Test it against a rambutan tree. Whack it hard and see if the rattan is good.

Oops. Thousand apologies cintanegara. Just the tree trunk. Not your batang I told tak tahan to whack.

37. #37 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 16 February 2011 - 12:36 pm

#19, house broken into, sure aah random event, just bad luck, nothing sinister?
    Could it b some1 interested 2 know what is inside your laptop lah? Yes or no?
    A warning 4 writing too much here? B careful lor

38. #38 by Not spoon fed on Thursday, 17 February 2011 - 12:04 am

He still remembers when to eat when hungry.
    He still remembers the historical name of Malaysia: Tanah Melayu.
    He still remembers Tanah Melayu and he said Tanah Melayu belong to Malay (not belongs to Orang Asli).
    He still remembers the time to sleep.
    He still remembers to read postings at his Web site.

He is certainly pretending now and not telling the truth and he shall be punished by the Most High who hates “misleading” and lying leaders.

Why the mass media still printed a retiree’s words like him? His words had disturbed Badawi and now Najib.

A retiree and unproductive old tree asks other trees to bear fruits according to its metabolism (thought) ?

39. #39 by monsterball on Thursday, 17 February 2011 - 4:09 am

A 5ft ratan is ideal. Light and very strong.
    Practice few swings and make the ratan as part of your body movements.
    It is not that hard.
    Yes things may break while fighting and capturing these drug addicts..or burglars..you never know…and burglars carry parangs.
    To me..it is worth it…to defend your dad’s life and yours.
    Never be afraid to die…and you will never die out of no reasons..unless like cintanegara whose rambutan tree seems to irritate all.
    One wack with bamboo stick..tree will be baren…as batang cannot work..how to have fruits?….hahahahhahaha

40. #40 by monsterball on Thursday, 17 February 2011 - 4:14 am

But usually the “batang” is kicked like a football.
    Easier that way…that is …if you have long legs…hahahahahaha
    Shorties…need bamboo stick to wallop batang.
    Good-morning to all.
    I go to sleep now.

41. #41 by tak tahan on Thursday, 17 February 2011 - 9:52 am

Periodically i will park my car far away and wait for him or them to break into my house with my big 4ft iron rod ready by my side.Too many cases around here that i am determined to get him or them myself.My previous learned martial art will guide me some how to maim him or them.

42. #42 by monsterball on Friday, 18 February 2011 - 12:23 am

The waiting will be long and boring……..for once these people know you are waiting…they will go somewhere and relax for few days.
    And Mahathir still remembers more…saying he wanted to get rid of ISA when he was PM..and got faarkd up by more than 100 comments in Malaysiakini.
    No one trust or believe in this cunning rouge.
    He simply cannot live without creating attentions and craving to be in the limelight again.
    What he is painting to the public is…he was a weak PM…but very truthful.
    If you believe in him….you may as well believe has no Indian blood in his body.
    I want to say it again…if Mahathir can ignore his Indian half and kill off original ‘UMNO”…indirectly killing off the Father of Independence legacy…which he could not have existed without original ‘UMNO”…such is a man…so ungrateful….so hard hearted and so selfish…and brave enough to find ways and means to be a hero to Muslims in Malaysia…you think the Police Dept can control what he set out to do?
    So read all Mahathir latest declarations with nothing more than from one…who is full of sheeet.
    And do not forget..he is the most corrupted PM from UMNO B.
    He dare not talk about PKFZ RM15.5 billion ripped off under his leadership.
    Next… you will hear him say….Ling Liong Sik acted without his permission.

43. #43 by tak tahan on Friday, 18 February 2011 - 2:04 am

I’m not really waiting for these people but merely implying that as usual on surfing the net,i will be more ready equipped with your recommended ratan and one iron rod within my reach.I will strike like a samurai swing his sword in one lightening speed.Mahathir ar..no point talking la.

44. #44 by monsterball on Friday, 18 February 2011 - 2:54 pm

Train to kick the two nuts and not the batang…is another good move.
    Once nuts are not functioning well…the batang is gone case…and once the batang is gone case..those drug addicts..will live in a hell lives…when batang and money means nothing to them…where nuts are not functioning well.