We have to speak up

by P. Ramakrishnan
President of Aliran
12th January 2011

JAN 12 — We have every reason to be concerned. We wonder where this nation is heading for and what is in store for us.

From the civil servant to the Umno politician, it is the same story: The non-Malays are “pendatang” (immigrants) and don’t have any citizenship rights. The rights conferred by Article 8 of the Federal Constitution are not respected or protected.

When an extreme group like Perkasa questions the citizenship rights of the non-Malays, the national leadership does not take them to task.

When extreme elements in Umno berate and denigrate the non-Malays, the top Umno leadership does not chastise them.

When one Umno delegate at the recently concluded general assembly had the temerity to suggest that the non-Malays be given the right to do business but should be denied the right to vote, nobody pointed out that it was against the constitution and that he should not be talking through his nose!

It is this disturbing silence when atrocious things are said which affect our unity that is worrying. It is this unbecoming conduct that encourages the extreme elements amongst us to be outrageous in their conduct and prompt them to continue with their seditious remarks.

It is this vocal minority that is predominant in our society and influences the trend of policy. Our political leaders dare not condemn them outright.

Utusan Malaysia fans the race-baiting and gives the widest publicity without bothering to be responsible or sensible. When the powers-that-be that own and control this press do not force it to fall in line, what do we make of this?

A nation can make or break depending on the unity of its citizens. Today our unity is threatened. And if concerned voices and responsible leaders and caring Malaysians do not rise up and speak up, we will be a fragmented nation.

By our silence, we will contribute to the chaos that may ensue.

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:39 pm

i thought about this system to have most bumi as civil servants in fact ‘killed’ the bumi. why? civil servants are the least challenging type of jobs one wants to pursue. you are doing mostly the routine job and never challenge your brain and capability. it is like the home for the old.

if we want to have better opportunity and to be a smarter person, go to the private sector to prove yourself

2. #2 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 8:21 pm

///When extreme elements in Umno berate and denigrate the non-Malays, the top Umno leadership does not chastise them.///

The reason is simple. If the UMNO leadership chastises them, they will threaten to pull out of UMNO or threaten to revolt against the leadership. Did not Ali Ibrahim of Perkasa say he will lead a revolt against UMNO in the 13th GE if the UMNO leadership does not keep the NEP?

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 6:20 am

///When the powers-that-be that own and control this press do not force it to fall in line, what do we make of this?///

It is powers-that-be’s version of Freedom of the Press!

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 6:34 am

The reason why national leadership does not take our “local” extremist voices here to task is because they are (currently) too engaged and busy galvanising moderate voices at international and global level and motivating and inspiring President Obama to “capture the higher ground” and deny (international)” extremists the opportunity “to dictate and push their agenda to impress the majority”. Don’t know meh?

5. #5 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 7:51 am

That’s why the southern sudanese are voting for independence

6. #6 by dagen on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 9:04 am

&^*(* *&^%##HT&U*(*JN I(( (*( && +=03490 p0i9we *&&?>)!!

MN)(* )(&%$NKJ +_)?!@ (*(XXXX. al;efkj _)*(^ )(%#@# &^ UI oijefo ()*)(&??zz.

&^_/zxw*&! *&~~+-098#4<. (*^&KJH 097. dfkl_)(7///C.

… Dagen has spoken. He was eloquent. And he took extra pain to do so clearly. Nevertheless, he still has that lingering fear that umnoputras may just not understand a word of what he had said.

7. #7 by sotong on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 10:44 am

Our so called ” leaders ” are not in total control.

8. #8 by tuahpekkong on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:32 pm

In order to perpetuate its hold on to power, UMNO openly or subtly makes use of (i) BTN to indoctrinate Malays that they are the ‘tuans’ of the country and to disrespect the other races. Years of indoctrination have certainly produced some tangible results. Although many Malays may not say it publicly that they are the ‘tuans’ here, quite a few will not hesitate to do so should an opportunity arise, like the two school heads who uttered racist remarks last year and an off-duty policeman from Kuantan who not only savaged a couple from JB but also reminded them that the country belonged to him,as reported in Sin Chew and China Press several weeks ago. (ii) Utusan to spread lies and create fear among the Malays that should they remain disunited, the country would one day be taken over by the greedy non-Malays, especially the Chinese, spearheaded by the DAP. (iii) History books that whitewash the contributions of the non-Malays. Simple, if you did not contribute much, you also cannot demand much. (iv) A system of patronage to make the Malays dependent on UMNO for contracts, jobs, scholarships etc. These generally translate into votes in a election.

9. #9 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:44 pm

Well spoken,dagen.You are alright man.I,too,will say the same.Completely clear and understood by all.