Open Letter to Chua Soi Lek

By Kee Thuan Chye
Wednesday, 12 January 2011
Malaysiandigest.com

Dear Soi Lek,

You are a highly educated person and one with the ability to think. As such, you are probably aware that the welfare of this nation rests on more than just the MCA winning its share of seats at the next general election and remaining in the coalition that holds the power to decide the fate of Malaysia.

You are probably aware that the way forward for Malaysia is renouncing the way of the Barisan Nasional, led by Umno, falling back on an outdated decades-old formula. And that if you and the MCA continue to collude with the other parties in BN to retain power, you are subscribing to practices that could lead the nation to racial rifts and economic ruin.

Would you not agree with me that at this point in our history, as we stand at this crucial crossroads deciding which is the best path to take, national politics should no longer be race-based?

If you do agree, what then is the rationale for the MCA to continue to exist as an ethnocentric party? What is the rationale for you and your party members to stick with Umno which avowedly fights for the Malays and the MIC which avowedly fights for the Indians?

How long more do you see this ethnocentric equation taking hold of the lives of Malaysians, causing strife from time to time when disputes arise over who should get what and how much? We’ve had 53 years of that; isn’t it enough?

Which is more important for you and your MCA colleagues: To stay on in BN in order to reap the rewards of being in government positions, or to do something that will ensure the honour and integrity of your party and of yourselves? I cannot tell you what that thing is which you could do to gain rectitude. You have to find it yourself.

But as you search for an answer, perhaps you would like to reflect on how strong the MCA’s position really is within the BN coalition for the party to achieve its aims. Are you, for instance, contributing to inter-racial understanding and harmony? How could that be when you have to speak up against any threat to the position of the Chinese? How could that be when Umno must speak up against any perceived threat against the Malays?

It’s a game full of contradictions, isn’t it? You can’t have one and the other, can you? In fact, your attempts over the past several months to speak up for the Chinese – indeed, for the country as a whole – clearly illustrate this.

Last August, after the Malaysian Chinese Economic Congress, when you called on the Government to gradually remove the 30 per cent Bumiputra equity in all sectors of the economy, you were immediately jumped upon by Umno deputy president Muhyiddin Yassin. He even warned you about May 13.

A few days later, in your interview with a Malay-language newspaper, you had to soften what you had said, clearly showing your vulnerability.

Even Umno vice-president Hishammuddin Hussein told you to “stick to the struggles of BN”. What are they? Do you know?

You were even a target of criticism at the Umno general assembly last October. A delegate slammed you for saying that the social contract should not be discussed openly.

Then at the BN convention last month, you called for a ban on the use of the term “Ketuanan Melayu”, and you told Umno it should not approve government policies during its supreme council meetings. But straight away, Hishammuddin said you had upset many BN leaders, including those in the MCA.

This boggles the mind. What you said was absolutely right – how could Umno take it upon itself to decide on government policies when it is only one of the component parties of BN? Does the MCA have no say? So how could MCA leaders be upset by what you said? Have they become Umnofied themselves? Have they become slaves of their masters? Or, as former Perak menteri besar Nizar Jamaluddin said, “running dogs”?

If so, what dignity is left in them? And in you, if you continue to serve the MCA within the BN fold?

Isn’t it obvious, too, that what you say doesn’t count for “doodley-squat”, as the American novelist Kurt Vonnegut would call it?

To be brutally honest, what good is your speaking up when you are still within the same cabal and your partners not only disagree with you, they don’t respect what you say?

As you have probably been informed, people outside don’t give much credence to your speaking up, anyway. They think it’s just a sandiwara act to merely give the impression that you are standing up for what is right. But it’s just an act.

I admit that going by the issues you have been bringing up recently, you are highlighting the fact that things are not being done right, and that your political partners should be held accountable. I might even hazard that you are at least concerned. What I fail to see, though, is your commitment.

For instance, at the MCA general assembly last October, Umno president Najib Razak told your party right within your own premises to be less communal and less demanding. Did you have an answer to that? Did you tell him in return to ensure that Umno would be less communal too? Did you tell him that the MCA was not being more demanding, that it was merely asking for what is guaranteed all Malaysians?

You see, I believe you know what is right for the country, but you are not willing to go all the way to ensuring that what is right prevails. If you were, you would not continue with the current regime. You would press for reform.

Surely, you would not disagree with me if I said the judiciary needs to be independent, that it needs to regain the trust of the people? The same with the police, the mainstream media and the civil service?

Surely, you would not disagree with me if I said our education system needs to be totally revamped to institute quality and regard for merit?

Surely, you would not disagree with me if I said that the way we award government projects needs to be transparent to eliminate cronyism? Or is that too tough a call after your appointment as Penang Port Commission chairman, a move that raised many eyebrows?

Above all, surely you would not disagree with me if I said we need a government that is clean; tells the truth; follows the rule of law; uses public funds for the people’s sake rather than for its own; and upholds the country’s institutions rather than abuses them for its own advantage?

Do we have such a government today?

If we did, you would not have said what you said last Dec 5 – when you called for each BN component party to have an equal voice and to share power “genuinely”; when you said BN had to change to be inclusive, multi-racial and to put the people first.

I know how to read between the lines, Soi Lek, and what you said that time said a lot about the coalition your party is part of.

Do you think it is capable of responding to your calls for change? Right now, looking just at the Cabinet line-up, we can see what a far cry it is from the days of Tunku Abdul Rahman. Will we ever see an inclusive government that has non-Malay ministers for the portfolios of Finance, Trade and Industry, or Defence? That no longer looks at skin color but at ability, integrity and character?

I think you might better serve the people by taking the first step that leads away from race-based politics. If you choose to do that, you will be blazing a trail. And that could bring honor not only to you but your party as well. Unless, of course, you’re a politician first and a public servant last. Then all I’ve been saying here would be worth doodley-squat.

Sincerely,
Chye

1. #1 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 9:36 pm

Chua soi lek of mca representing the chinese? Why, this fellow can even represent himself. When told by ‘equal partner’ umnob to shut up, his tail curled in-between his legs and kuai-kuai shut-up lol. Pity him. What can he do when they got a DVD of him………

2. #2 by limkamput on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 9:51 pm

It is not just Chua Soi Lek alone. It is MCA. The party from day one did not and does not have a right DNA to be in politics. The party has never attracted statesmen and politicians but mostly businessmen and opportunists. You can look at the length and the width of the party hierarchy, every one of them is the same – no exception. You can never find the Lee Kuan Yew, the Fan Yew Teng or the Lim Kit Siang type in MCA, no matter how hard you look. You can only find the subservient, the money and position loving and leisure and comfort seeking type. Seriously, reflect this over.

3. #3 by tohca1 on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:00 pm

Wow what a powerful message to CSL! I hope he does reads it. Whether he does the right thing or not will be another thing.

What you have said is so true and yet you have put it in a very inoffensive and yet objective way.

Thanks for writing this Open Letter to our dear MCA President.

4. #4 by shan 09 on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:12 pm

Well said.Race based party will only benefit the majority race.Universal values like justice,religious freedom, and etc will take a back seat.It is a case of my race is stronger than yours politically so i have a bigger say.UMNO through BN has implemented many policy which is against human rights like 121(1a).biased history lessons.In return MCA and other smaller partys in BN enjoy poistions and bussiness opportunities.The people in the lower income has not benefitted much.

5. #5 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:18 pm

Haiyah Mr kee thuan chye,

You should propose to him to join the Playboy Club Las Vegas
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zP4FgWB3-7o

6. #6 by Loh on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:29 pm

///Last August, after the Malaysian Chinese Economic Congress, when you called on the Government to gradually remove the 30 per cent Bumiputra equity in all sectors of the economy, you were immediately jumped upon by Umno deputy president Muhyiddin Yassin. He even warned you about May 13.

A few days later, in your interview with a Malay-language newspaper, you had to soften what you had said, clearly showing your vulnerability.

Even Umno vice-president Hishammuddin Hussein told you to “stick to the struggles of BN”. What are they? Do you know?///–Kee Thuan Chye

By calling on the government to slow on its 30% target, CSL gives the impression that the stated target had not been reached, when in fact the 30% target had long been surpassed. There are independent studies which have confirmed that the government did not base the government statistics on correct and relevant data. CSL pretended not to know the issue, or he was not even interested in such matter.

The 30% target had already been reached in 1990. The government simply quoted a figure to refute the reports by ASLI. Now Najib says that NEP is forever.

The 30% is the threshold for removing NEP. NEP should be removed, and the target had long been achieved.

By asking the government to gradually remove the 30%, CSL is telling the government NEP is still alright so long as the 30 percent is gradually removed. If the government takes his suggestion to remove it after 100 years, that would mean that MCA agrees to have NEP continued for 100 years.

It is disgraceful of MCA leaders to claim that they defend Chinese interest when in fact they offer UMNO an excuse as party to the government to implementing perverted NEP programmes. MCA candidates should be totally defeated in the coming GE.

7. #7 by good coolie on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 11:18 pm

Some politicians are afraid to speak up against UMNO Bahru. This is because they have some skeletons in the cupboard that they want to keep hidden. Besides, they don’t want criminal charges against them, charges like sodom mee or corruptmee derailing their political careers.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 11:19 pm

I think CSL is already subjected into this struggles;

youtube.com/watch?vwww.=Ai3_12z_BdU&feature=related

Ha..ii, mai kong yau la,si gi na!

9. #9 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:10 am

The sickening part of all is…MCA claims to be the Champion for the Malaysian Chinese and Chua Soi Lek is showing the Malaysian Chinese how to live with no dignity and principles in life…which are the two most sacred part of Chinese culture and our way of life.
    Judging from all his recent speeches ..this man is useless to talk to…as he is now crazy to be MCA President….looking forward to be somebody and filthy rich after 13th GE…helping UMNO B to win votes.
    Come 13th GE…if he looses the election…does not matter. Najib will make him a Senator …..PROVIDED UMNO B wins……..to have easy life and be filthy rich.
    He knows Chinese hates MCA and hates but banging on the hope….that the thousands of selfish Chinese voters will vote for no change…to continue living as second class citizens.
    We need to vote and change the Govt and ignore all his lousy speeches.
    Why need to plead to a low class man like Chua Soi Lek? Ignore him and vote change of Govt is only solution to let UMNO B for once taste his own medicine by being the Opposition leader….and must do that at all cost…to get rid of CORRUPTIONS and constantly….disuniting Malaysians.
    We must be united and move forward…without depending on MCA.
    Lets see how many more selfish Malaysian Chinese voters left for Chua to fool with.

10. #10 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:26 am

Monsterball,i haven’t seen la his uh ah uh ah dvd,seriously.I heard but how’s the scene?Never mind la.LKS will get apa la ni…

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:43 am

Mr Kee from which Planet you come from??

Adam Smith once said, “it is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker that we expect our dinner (of pork, wine or cakes), but from their regard to their own interest”

Even the non Malays marginalized, when they migrate, aren’t they not thinking of their children and family interest first???

What’s wrong with that???

Of course there are some selfless individuals and we should respect them; and a notch lower there are some of think of self interest – but not at the expense or detriment to others, since they have the brains -either inherited or developed by education- and us it to weigh every course of action to ensure as far as possible in dealings with others a fair and win-win situation. And here we should respect them too. And then we have what I suspect the majority who are driven by self interest but have some qualms advancing them in a manner that obviously harms and causes detriment to the rest….There are always what is probably a minority who will do everything in their self interest including harming others in that process.

So what do you expect of Dr Chua Soi Lek, that amongst politicians in general, here or anywhere, he arises above all and behave as a saint???

It is our imperative as rakyat to be vigilant and keep the politicians in check : to expect they will otherwise as a general rule put principles & nation first than self interest or interest and immediate well being of their families and children, isn’t that expecting too much ???

12. #12 by yhsiew on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:44 am

When did UMNO ever take MCA’s advice or suggestions seriously?

13. #13 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:54 am

It really confused me if i should invite my dad n family to dine in sedap sedap malay restaurants cause i can’t convince him.This nation must had made my dad puke to think of my suggestion to feast in any malay or mamak shops.I should never talk to my dad anymore about politic cause i too feel sick about it.He is an old man but he is more knowlegable than me to think that i know better than him.Fine 1-1 score game…but i’ll continue to lawan..tetap..lawan..Monsterball..yeah

14. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:01 am

He has no shame at all.
    Everyone will think he will fight for the Chinese..but he is fighting his own party members to be the best Najib’s Malaysian Chinese yes man….with the hope..to be rewarded.

15. #15 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:11 am

tak tahan….do not be lured to be a racist.
    Your dad have suffered enough and his mind is not easy to change..and perhaps he does not like spicy food.
    I love Muslim’s clean “makan padang” dishes and nasi lemak.
    Support anyone as a Malaysian of your choice in easting and not by race in your mind.
    See all as Malaysians..even others see you as a Chinese…never be lured to be like them.
    Once you talk to anyone and see him as a Malaysian…you are helping others to lawan tetap lawan too..with vooom power…magical.

16. #16 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:20 am

20 years ago….around my area..a boy was selling nasi lemak atv the 5 ft. way from 6pm with one big tong of rice.
    I found him close shop at 10pm…all sold out.
    I told hm to make 3 tongs and sell till 2am and he agreed…as I promised to buy all…if there are balanced after 2am.
    He put out 4 tables…and all sold out for months.
    I never need to keep my promise.
    Today he has 2 restaurants …each with 25 workers…and I am treated like his father by all his workers and relatives.
    The only problem is…I never get one time free drink or food…..real kutukut he is…hahahahahaha…but I admire him alot…working 15 hours non stop.

17. #17 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:29 am

Aiyah uncle monsterball,he is a die hard DAP supporter like us as cintanegara said la..I just could not update him with too….much information that we are sharing..Just a bit worry for him but ok for me.You know.. he is not so.. modern like you ma…cannot internet and ride on the dragon’s back with Namewee to blah..blah..blah..or..Nah .Nah..Nah..Ha..yeah.. mai kong lah.He smiles when i talk of your comments..really!!

18. #18 by dawsheng on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:31 am

“… and one with the ability to think” – KTC

Stupid people think too you know.

19. #19 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:13 am

tak tahan…Your father should be very proud to have a son like you.
    Smiles and laughters makes a person healthy and young.
    It exercises many nervous systems.

20. #20 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:40 am

Same to you.Your childrens and grandchilds will feel the same for you as i’m sure cause i feel the same too.That’s why i’m here.You riding the dragon or not.Namekee is here la.

21. #21 by burn on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:44 am

would prefer closed it!
    he knows! he saw! he heard! and still barking!
    woof! woof! woof!
    bila tuan mai, senyap terus!
    auuuw! auuuw! auuuw!

22. #22 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:50 am

Monsterball.I’m not racist cause i don’t know what is racist until i came back here to be told i’m pendatang.What the heck is this man?I will do something like Namekee or you have his contact..Jockingly..I will do it..tiam kau ka si lang

23. #23 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 3:02 am

I will sleep now and don’t be too..obsessed…i’ve to take my dad out for breakfast and ta pau for my family tommorow.Afraid that i could not get up in time cause i’m not sleeping under rambutan tree..you know?Oyasuminasai,good night.

24. #24 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 4:02 am

Sleep well.
    Yes…barking dogs seldom bite.
    It is the dogs that are quiet…most dangerous.
    We have been quiet for decades….and time to bark and be prepared to bite…if we are bitten.
    Let them make the first move.
    Najib can defend with his life…so can we.
    The point is..will he dare to defend like us…with no guns?
    That’s what we need to do..defend with no guns..and let them shoot..if they dare.
    When you want freedom …..you must be prepared for anything with no fear.
    Yes…I will lead a demonstration.. if I a chosen.
    I take it as a great honour to me.
    Meanwhile….I am always ready to walk as many talks I can…with this old legs of mine.
    I just watch the 20th time Najib’s Sibu… Rajang Park election speech and read Mariam’s comment again.
    Each time I watch…I observed new things.
    Najib wiping lips with is handkerchief..after each sentence…rub his eyes…his face expression and body language…after each sentence showed clearly……and that inspires me more to talk …with no fear.
    Yes….the way he talked…he thinks UMNO B owns Malaysia…and he is the elected new King…handed down from Mahathir regime till now.
    He is DREAMER.. Good night to all.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 6:02 am

MCA is a Chinese communal party and it mixes with the other communal one UMNO albeit in an unequal relationship. At least MCA has no pretension of a multiracial party like Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia (Gerakan), Gerakan.

So Mr Kee Thuan Chye wants to challenge the moral conscience of our non malay BN politicians and ask them why their party wants to remain in UMNO’s political firmament and for the sake of sharing a bit of power subscribing and colluding with its communal based policies that “that could lead the nation to racial rifts and economic ruin”, his first open letter should more appropriately be addressed first to Gerakan President Dr. Koh Tsu Koon before MCA’s Dr Chua Soi Lek! Otherwise the latter might ask TC Kee, why he so bias and pick on him first instead of the equally if not more educated BN politician heading the party whose avowed multiracial facade is so hollow that it got kicked out of its many years stronghold in Penang in the last GE.

26. #26 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 6:14 am

///Unless, of course, you’re a politician first and a public servant last///

I wonder who amongst full time politicians (in power) whom Mr Kee thinks is public servant first and politician last and whose public service record is completely unblemished and consistent with nation, country, people and society first and self interest, interest of family and children last?

I have excluded those out of power or not yet in power. This is because the protestations that they do everything for everyone else’s good than their self interest is something that remians what it is – a promise to canvass or votes and climb to power.

Such claims are easy and expedient to make but is subject to proof only when thair actions show when they are in actual position to exercise power, and not before.

27. #27 by Winston on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 7:36 am

EXCUSE ME, LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, IT’S TOO LATE, FAR TOO LATE IN THE DAY TO TALK OF ASKING ANYONE IN THE BN TO REFORM.
    THOSE DAYS ARE LONG GONE AND ANY TALK OF REFORMS, EVEN FROM THEM, ARE MERELY A PLOY TO GAIN YOUR CONFIDENCE TO GIVE YOU MORE OF THE SAME.
    THE QUESTION IS, “DO YOU WANT MORE OF THE SAME?”.
    IF NOT, THEN PUT YOUR SHOULDERS TO THE GRIND STONE AND CONCENTRATE ALL YOUR EFFORTS TO PULVERISE THEM IN THE FORTHCOMING GE.
    DON’T WASTE ANY MORE TIME!!!
    IT’S A LUXURY NONE OF YOU HAVE!!!

28. #28 by DAP man on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 7:59 am

Well said Chye!!
    What surprises me is, why are there still many Chinese supporting this party?
    If any Chinese has a modicum of integrity he will resign from MCA today.
    If the community deserts the party, MCA will disintegrate.
    But then again, MCA has millions in property and business interests. These are more important than the Community’s interests.

29. #29 by DAP man on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 8:16 am

Johor Education Director orders teachers to campaign to ensure a BN win in Tenang.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c846qznCcEU

30. #30 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 8:30 am

CSL has ONLY ONE Objective to maintain the current status so that his family can continue to lead MCA at any cost. So it is up to the Community to think and to decide if the current status benefits only CSL and his Dumb Sec. Gen and blind supporters especially at the divisional level. We all know the conclusion. Then it is our action in the forthcoming GE to clear the deck of these limbless fools. This message must be sent out LOUD and CLEAR!

31. #31 by yhsiew on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 8:32 am

///What surprises me is, why are there still many Chinese supporting this party?/// #28 by DAP man

Many Chinese do not know MCA’s true colors because they have been fooled by the main stream media. I once believed everything published in the main stream media until one day I came across Lim Kit Siang’s website. From thence, I totally changed my way of thinking!

32. #32 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 8:34 am

//Dear Soi Lek, You are a highly educated person and one with the ability to think.//

That’s why his son became deputy agricultural minister while the sons of Lim Keng Yaik and Samy Velo are still out in the cold. If he does not have the ability to think, he would be like PKR’s Chua Jiu Meng with no power to get business contracts.

33. #33 by dagen on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 9:41 am

Errr,
    well but.
    Huh? Oh but but
    err
    hmm yes
    but
    err
    err
    but I still hv my little wi lly.
    and and it is still in working order.

34. #34 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 9:45 am

I think..Kee Thuan Chye… meant well with his open letter…to Chua…but written.. much too late.
    To expect any MCA President to heed good advises…is like asking him to be a freedom fighter when since Tan Koon Suan…Ling Liong Sik..Ong Tee Kiat…and now Chua Soi Lek….and look at all these MCA leaders….which ALL have one thing in common…puppets to UMNO B to stay in power.
    All are disgrace to the Chinese Community..yet they still proudly have “MCA”…..meaning Malaysian Chinese Association.
    MCA have contributed to building up selfish Malaysian Chinese..that’s a fact.
    Declaring MCA is CHINESE based party…ignoring the long noble history of the Chinese race…..they are no more having chinese race roots at all?
    So are they true Malaysians?
    You bet they are….EXCEPT their Malaysian mentalities and behaviors are surrendered to UMNO B ..supporting UMNO B as their masters.
    So are they true Malaysians?
    I repeat.. ..you bet they are…but ..not dignified people like their forefathers.
    Now compare those with Tan Cheng Lock…Tan Siew Sinn…the founders of MCA…non corruptible…no nonsense …so much so…PMs of the past dare not fool around with Malaysian wealth…and our Ringgit was at par with S’pore.
    And look at the past MCA Presidents….that dared to threatened UMNO by pulling out MCA if UMNO apply unfair and unjust..double standards on all things..against Chinese community..making UMNO pay attention and toned down.
    Under UMNO B…down and down it goes…with cover ups upon cover ups and reasons that all educated Malaysians know huge massive corruptions was the main reasons…encouraged by Mahathir.
    A man with 4 ex Deputies PMs…yet so many idiots are still hero worshiping a crook who stole from them too.
    Yes… long history of the roots and history of UMNO B and MCA is a waste of time to hope MCA will do the right thing for once in their lifetime…for many are caught in the web of Mahathir…. Najib calls all the shots…
    Does Chua dare to offend MCA crooks?
    Know the facts and make your conclusions like me.

35. #35 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 9:59 am

limkamput,

I like your #2 comment. The actual problem is the MCA – a vehicle for bussinessmen and opportunists to amass wealth right from the day it was formed. We can say the MCA is the main cause of problems faced by the Malaysian Chinese today.

36. #36 by sotong on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 10:42 am

Like other smaller component parties, it has gone too far to turn back…..it is basically ineffective to do what is good and right for our country and her ordinary people.

37. #37 by baochingtian on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 11:37 am

//STAR:”Give More to the needy” Chua: Businessmen not doing enough to help the less fortunate”//
    Does Mr Chua think that the govt has done a lot for the people. I also read from STAR that the more than 10000 silk lanterns along the 3.5km-long Jln Raja Uda in Penang were sponsored by private sector. It’s reciprocal Mr Chua. People can see who is doing a good job in building the nation and not just giving out goodies under the agenda of “u help me, i help u”.
    Another report from today’s STAR: “Don’t blindly follow call to reduce plastic bag usage, says MCA man” – Is this how MCA trying to get some attention from the public, talk for the sake of talking? Being opposition doesn’t mean u have to go against the state govt all the time. Support for a good cause, u’ll be respected….

38. #38 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:03 pm

Why only tell Penangites not to follow blindly the call to reduce usage of plastic bags? The MCA should also make the same call to states under UMNOB/BN control, otherwise they are making fools of themselves; opposing for the sake of opposing.

39. #39 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:35 pm

Why are there still many chinese supporting mca?Is it out ignorant or some goodies given or what?Blind?I hope porn Chua will lose badly to the better Chua in Johor.

40. #40 by boh-liao on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:10 pm

CSL 2 KTC: Sorry man, no time lah 2 read your article; wait till I finish moving fr 1 hotel room 2 another then I read; very tiring mah shifting n checking rooms, learnt fr last experience

41. #41 by perampok cinta1 on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:47 pm

MCA is doing just fine in BN. They’re getting what they want.

At least Soi Lek is a gentleman that admitted his mistake and resigned. Unlike Anwar Ibrahim, the Pakatan’s leader. He should resign now.

42. #42 by limkamput on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 3:22 pm

Jeffrey, it is which planet you come from; based on your argument there is no need for leadership, no need for statesmanship and no need for calling and sacrifice. Leadership has its privileges, did we not compensate leaders with privileges and comfort so that they will at least do the right things for the country? Sorry, i don’t where are you coming from.

43. #43 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 3:53 pm

MCA is doing just fine in BN. They’re getting what they want.
    by perampok cinta1

From which news did u learn that they’re getting what they want?They’re only getting the bully warnings from their bully masters once they open their mouth.Anwar is much better than Najis and all the umnoputras.

44. #44 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 4:14 pm

Perampok cinta1 and cintanegra,people like u are deserved to be cursed and remained stupid asshole.Guys like u are already indoctrinated by the Dr.M since 22 years to be bodoh but shifted the blame of his bias and full of venom formula on your shoulders.He said u guys bodoh not me.Ur problem is u still insist to talk cock without substance.Remember,RPK said ‘Bodoh Sombong’ ‘Self denial’ is ur weak points.Take it from there and do not start cirit birit words from ur mouth again

45. #45 by Godfather on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 10:00 pm

Perampok cinta and cintanegara sound the same. Both with pokok rambutan logic. Maybe it is perampok cinta aka cintanegara or A/L cintanegara ?

46. #46 by Godfather on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 10:05 pm

Chua Soiled Lek is an UMNO stooge. A clear example of this is when UMNO made him the chairman of Penang Port, AFTER UMNO had already decided to privatise the port to a Mamakthir crony, Syed Mokhtar. UMNO needs someone to smoothen the process, especially against a suspicious state government, and who would be more compliant than Soiled Lek ?

“Yes Sir, Yes Sir, Three Bags Full”

47. #47 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 10:11 pm

Thank you Godfather for your valuable lesson.You are putting all the different size of puzzles for us to see.Smart boy.

48. #48 by baochingtian on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 10:43 pm

I’d rather take the risk to go for a change than to stick to the already known corrupt govt! Wouldn’t you #40?