Malaysian as top Singaporean student for third consecutive year should be important agenda of Cabinet meeting tomorrow

A Malaysian as top Singapore student for the third consecutive year should be important agenda of the Cabinet meeting tomorrow if the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak is serious about the New Economic Model and the Economic Transformation Programme to give top priority to retain and attract talents to catalyse Malaysia’s economic transformation.

In Singapore’s GCE ‘O’ Level examinations results yesterday, a Malaysian, 16-year-old Chia Pei Yun, was the topscorer with 10A1s from the school-leaving examination.

Chia, from Kuala Lumpur, completed a hattrick for Malaysians and also her school, Convent CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ School after following the footsteps of Selangor girls Lai Kai Rou and Haw Sue Sern.

Chia is a former student of Kuen Cheng Girls’ School in Kuala Lumpur.

The Cabinet tomorrow should be reminded of the dire warnings of the New Economic Model last March, which said:

“We are not developing talent and what we have is leaving. The human capital situation in Malaysia is reaching a critical stage. The rate of outward migration of skilled Malaysians is rising rapidly.”

“Globalisation has created a fierce competition for talent, forcing companies and government to recognize that people are the most valuable assets. To compete on a regional and global scale, Malaysia must retain and attract talent. Malaysia must be seen by its people and others as a land of equal opportunity to earn a good living and provide a secure, happy life for each individual and family.”

The case of Malaysian students topping the Singapore schools for the third consecutive year is a sombre warning that despite all the glib talk and sloganeering about 1Malaysia, GTP and ETP, brain-drain of the best and brightest Malaysians have proceeded at a even faster pace than the past.

Unless the Cabinet is prepared to come out with a commensurate response, even the formation of a Talent Corporation will not be meaningful in checking brain drain to retain and attract the best human capital in the country, the most important pre-condition to save Malaysia from bankruptcy in 2019.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Thor on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:22 am

We’ve an angkasawan who took a joy ride on a russian rocket to space.
    We have a rempit who could graduate from oxford within a few months.
    We have a lawyer who could outbeat Mr. Bean and many more to come so what’s the big deal?
    Brain drain are no important to us.
    What we do need are those with “longkang” brains!

2. #2 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 11:27 am

Again..all the comments posted by DAP hardcore supporters…reminds me of the Fox and the Grapes story….one of the popular Aesop’s fables…When a policy doesn’t seem to favor them… that doesn’t mean it’s unjust…right?

3. #3 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:12 pm

hhhmmm…Here we talk serious stuffs and there cintanegara quoting Std.One..”Fox & Grapes” fable.
    Why can’t he give us a Koranic quotation…like and “eye for and eye”…or… ” He who speaks with a fork tongue will have his tongue cut off” spoken…. by non other…Chief Crazy Horse.
    cintanegara always quote Std One fables…and that shows what kind of a brain he has.
    He said….”When a policy doesn’t seem to favor….that doesn’t mean it’s unjust..right?”
    WOW!!…what fantastic brain he has.
    hi cintanegara…how about the Govt. policies to keep stealing from Malaysians and applying double standards. Are they just or unjust?
    I simply cannot believe a supporter of crooks can come here to teach honest people….which he concluded …”DAP pro hardcore supporters” that is totally not true.
    We are supporters of keDAILan….PAS and DAP…under the banner of Pekatan Rakyat..you idiot.
    You are supporter of one party in BN ….UMNO B only…which makes you the real sickening low class racist ..shoe shine boy,
    A person with no morals nor principles in life…trying to teach us morals?
    What kind of a brain you have…cintanegara?
    Can you really understand truths and lies?

4. #4 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:13 pm

Hai cinta my ass,dont’t you read or aware what RPK calls your kind..Bodoh Sombong with self denial.Great pretender and talk cock with no fact and figure.You are not invited here so step out as we also remind ourself not to step in your rambutan boundary.Didn’t you learn this manner in your culture?Bersopan santun sikit lah.

5. #5 by Mohammad Shahrul on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:20 pm

Why do when I read most previoust comments, all
    trying to relate cintanegara with rambutan..? Was
    this kind of an insult to the Malay or what? Im sorry,
    I just cant get it… To read aaalll of the comments
    since 3-4 months ago, surely no time… Everbody’s
    trying to earn the living working the whole day…

6. #6 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:40 pm

No Mohammad Shahrul……only to cintanegara…and not to all Malays….and if you ask me what does it mean…and if I explain…sure to get my comment deleted.
    I leave it to the originator of that coined words to explain.
    So long it has been. I also do not know…who started calling cintanegara with his rambutan tree.
    And since cintanegara have such a thick skin face…he simply love his rambutan tree….you bet.

7. #7 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:02 pm

Mohammad..If I am not mistaken…I recalled cintanegara said he owns a rambutan tree…and commentators started to say his has black rambutan ….not red..this and that.
    And all use their imaginations..to describe his rambutan tree.
    For me…the tree has two black hairy peanut size rambutans….that is useless and cannot be eaten.
    What others say..varies in their thoughts and ONLY for cintangera only.
    I hope my memory is correct.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:43 pm

Hai Mohammad Shahrul,

There is no intention at all to insult malay but if you reverse back and read his comments and compare with yours,you can justify his lowly racist mentality which is his aim to insult not only all the bloggers here but all decent malaysians included you,my dear.

9. #9 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 2:09 pm

Ah, now we have another fluke donkey who thinks he is a racehorse by quoting Aesop….

This donkey actually told us he had a rambutan tree. He didn’t exactly own it, as it was growing on no man’s land, and he claimed he nurtured it, and when it was bearing fruit, some pendatangs came and claimed part of the fruit. If you ask Utusan, or Ibrahim Katak, they will say the same thing – “they” came first, and pendatangs came later and tried to take away a piece of the pie. They will also say that the pendatangs cannot look at the rambutan tree – it will cause them to be nervous.

The rambutan story is now staple diet in this blog, especially when the donkey in racehorse attire speaks.

10. #10 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:18 pm

Hey…hey…hey…monsterball!!! Were not you too quick to shoot from your hip? From your post #43, I am of the view that you have carried my comment ”out of context”

Firstly, when I mentioned ”our sons” I meant our bright Malaysian youngsters, not my own sons as like to put it. That was a general comment.

Having said all, monsterball, I admire your strong fighting spirit. If only there were more Malaysians like you we would not be in this sorry state. There would not be 22 years for Mahathir.

Secondly, it is to my understanding that quite a number who migrated or left the country to work elsewhere are forced by circumstances. Some have aged parents and siblings who are dependent on them, and if Malaysia cannot offer them good jobs with reasonably good pay that will allow them to put sufficient food on the table, they are free to choose to stay put or take up better paying jobs outside Malaysia or even migrate to have a better future. If forced by circumstances to make such decisions, then monsterball, tak tahan, Taxidriver, Jeffery, limkamput and…….. should respect their decisions instead of being selfish to ask them to neglect their own family members for country’s sake. It would be insane for one to do otherwise. Honestly, much as i love my own country, I would make the same decision to leave. For, what is love for country when there is no love of one’s own family. You cannot separate the two.

Lastly, my earlier comment was more targeted at the present day UMNOB government. The message I want to drive home is that not all professionals who work in foreign countries willingly. Many are reluctant to leave thereby, leaving their loved ones and friends. They do not have a choice. Najib should take note and deal with Malaysia’s brain- drain problems with urgency and sincerity failing which, the country will become another failed state on the world map.

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:21 pm

oops! 3rd paragraph should be the last paragraph. Mistake regretted.

12. #12 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:36 am

Taxidriver…noted your reply and thoughts.
    Please leave me out from your list to migrate.
    To me…there is always a choice and nobody is going to chase me out of my house or country.
    Over my dead body they may succeed but my children and relations will think exactly like me.
    So if I read you thoughts out of context…this to let you know…in is in every Malaysian Chinese minds..how they wish to think and act…if pushed to the wall….with the help of MCA.
    We will never run nor fear crooks.

13. #13 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:07 pm

// We will never run or fear crooks//- monsterball

Good to know I have a comarade like you. Unfortunately, people like you fall under the minority group. So sad.

Just to let you know, monsterball, I keep telling people that for a healthy democracy to thrive, we cannot give BN abosulute power; we need a strong opposition to provide check and balance. My dream to see a Two-Party Parliamentary is about to come true.

I am no quitter, monsterball. Why should I quit or why would I quit after chasing after that ‘DREAM’ for over 35 years now. Then there was no internet and I had to help opposition parties canvass for votes during election times, telling voters Mahathir’s policies benefitted only the upper class and would ruin the nation in the long term. Many friends say my prediction has come true. This is my consolation.

Lest I be seen as a bragger, I will not go further except to tell you that you love your country and so do I which is why I am putting on hold my citizenship application of a foreign country until a better government take over. This I do for the sake of my relatives, Chinese, Malay and Indian friends.

So you see I do not have the list of would- be migrators you talk about. Tell it to somebody else. To those who want to migrate or to work outside Malaysia, I respect their decision. I will say nothing.

14. #14 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:19 pm

correction: ‘bragger’ ( 2nd last para ) shuold be braggart

Comments are closed.