China Rises, and Checkmates

By NICHOLAS D. KRISTOF
New York Times
January 8 2011

If there’s a human face on Rising China, it belongs not to some Politburo chief, not to an Internet tycoon, but to a quiet, mild-mannered teenage girl named Hou Yifan.

Ms. Hou (whose name is pronounced Ho Ee-fahn) is an astonishing phenomenon: at 16, she is the new women’s world chess champion, the youngest person, male or female, ever to win a world championship. And she reflects the way China — by investing heavily in education and human capital, particularly in young women — is increasingly having an outsize impact on every aspect of the world.

Napoleon is famously said to have declared, “When China wakes, it will shake the world.” That is becoming true even in spheres that China historically has had little connection with, like chess, basketball, rare earth minerals, cyber warfare, space exploration and nuclear research.

This is a process that Miss Hou exemplifies. Only about 1 percent of Chinese play chess, and China has never been a chess power. But since 1991, China has produced four women’s world chess champions, and Ms. Hou is the one with by far the most promise.

At this point, I have to put my sensitive male ego aside. You see, Ms. Hou gamely agreed to play me after I interviewed her. She had just flown into Beijing after winning the world championship, and she was exhausted — and she shredded me in 21 moves.

Most dispiriting, when I was teetering at the abyss near the end of the game, her coach nudged her and suggested mischievously that we should switch sides. Ms. Hou would inherit my impossible position — and the gleam in her coach’s eye suggested that she would still win.

I protested that I could survive being beaten on the chess board by a schoolgirl. But to be toyed with, like a mouse by a cat — that would be too much. Ms. Hou nodded compassionately and checkmated me a few moves later.

At 14 she became the youngest female grandmaster ever. She’s still so young that it’s unclear just how remarkable she will become.

Women in general haven’t been nearly as good at chess as men, and the world’s top women are mostly ranked well below the top men — but Ms. Hou could be an exception. She is the only female chess player today considered to have a shot at becoming one of the top few players in the world, male or female.

Cynics sometimes suggest that China’s rise as a world power is largely a matter of government manipulation of currency rates and trade rules, and there’s no doubt that there’s plenty of rigging or cheating going on in every sphere. But China has also done an extraordinarily good job of investing in its people and in spreading opportunity across the country. Moreover, perhaps as a legacy of Confucianism, its citizens have shown a passion for education and self-improvement — along with remarkable capacity for discipline and hard work, what the Chinese call “chi ku,” or “eating bitterness.”

Ms. Hou dined on plenty of bitterness in working her way up to champion. She grew up in the boondocks, in a county town in Jiangsu Province, and her parents did not play chess. But they lavished attention on her and spoiled her, as parents of only children (“little emperors”) routinely do in China.

China used to be one of the most sexist societies in the world — with female infanticide, foot binding, and concubinage — but it turned a corner and now is remarkably good at giving opportunities to girls as well as boys. When Ms. Hou’s parents noticed her interest in a chess board at a store, they promptly bought her a chess set — and then hired a chess tutor for her.

Ye Jiangchuan, the chief coach of the national men’s and women’s teams, told me that he played Ms. Hou when she was 9 years old — and was stunned. “I saw that this kid was special,” he told me, and he invited her to move to Beijing to play with the national teams. Three years later she was the youngest girl ever to compete in the world chess championships.

It will be many, many decades before China can challenge the United States as the overall “No. 1” in the world, for we have a huge lead and China still must show that it can transition to a more open and democratic society. But already in discrete areas — its automobile market, carbon emissions and now women’s chess — China is emerging as No. 1 here and there, and that process will continue.

There’s a lesson for us as well. China’s national commitment to education, opportunity and eating bitterness — those are qualities that we in the West might emulate as well. As you know after you’ve been checkmated by Hou Yifan.

1. #1 by Godfather on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 3:05 pm

In Bolehland, the story is one of paranoia. When you stare at their rambutan tree, they accuse you of having ill-intent. They get Utusan to write articles insinuating how the Chinese covet the Malays’ rambutan fruits. They form “NGOs” like Perkasa who shout and scream “Thou shall not Look”.

They refuse to accept that our strengths lie in our ability to diagnose the diseases of rambutan trees, the invention of new fertilisers, new strains of better yielding trees. When we suggest that cintanegara is better off at cutting down his old rambutan tree, and planting a higher yielding strain, the answer is “Nope, we need the shade” or “where are we going to squat?”.

We Malaysian Chinese are the future of this country. Unfortunately, whilst UMNO refuses to accept this reality, so many Malaysian Chinese are still kowtowing to the “superior” Melayu race. That is why we will fail.

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 3:13 pm

Malaysia oso got saiful, the world (in)famous marbles-player. Squeeze here, squeeze there one.

3. #3 by k1980 on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 3:26 pm

Malaysia oso got lee chong wei, who can only win when and only when lin dan is not competing in the same tournament.

4. #4 by wanderer on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 3:29 pm

Don’t be surprised when the oil wells dried up, ” UMNO Ketuanan Melayu” will very quickly claimed to be part of the Chinese race! No more oil money. how to run the corrupted gravy wagon…have to depend on Chinese generosity to keep them alive, lah!

5. #5 by dagen on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 4:34 pm

In china, they say, if you are in the top 1% of the country (in whatever) that means you are only one of 12+ million similarly top people there.

And americans (together with the rest) are readying themselves for the emergence of and domination by china, except umno in malaysia who are driven by an astronomical quantity of self-confidence that malaysia under umno will be able to better china. Yes remember this. It will be because Jib has tower-power! And above all, Jib Jib always Boleh!

6. #6 by undertaker888 on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 5:58 pm

in bolehland, umno will be self-checkmated. no need to play against it. they will be chee-cheong-fan in 13 self-moves.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 6:24 pm

No problemo, ask Hou Yifan 2 come 2 1M’sia 2 play chess against UmnoB members
    No worry, her immigration record will not b erased 1, if she wins, no C4 1, promise
    Can also play play against Perkosa members
    UmnoB/Perkosa members sure win 1, no scare 1
    Play NEP style here, Hou must give chance 2 UmnoB/Perkosa members, 30% handicap lah
    Come play 2moro lah, good date mah: 11.1.11, 1M’sia Boleh!

8. #8 by yhsiew on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 11:44 pm

China rises but Malaysia falls!

9. #9 by tak tahan on Monday, 10 January 2011 - 11:51 pm

The dragon has been gradually awaken from ancient time and now is showing its full potential to the world.Mamakthir,blunted..keris.moodin and perkosa the i.wear.bra.him are watching in awed silence,expectedly to demand more handicap to leverage the golf competition with nons to prove mamakthir is right about Ah bengs and Ah kaus will take over the also nons(turkish,bugisg,p.ki.s) including rambutan boy.

10. #10 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 12:12 am

We may not be able to find such a gem of a chess player; after all china has 1.3 B to choose from and we have only 28 M[?]. the sad thing is even where we have historical advantages, we prefer to screw it up. Well, it may be too late, we may still want to build PKFZ and than tried to “abandon ” it after all the cash is spent. Thailand has reportedly agreed to JV with China to build their national railway system from scratch and by 2014;[ I wonder if our double tracking is completed by then] the Thais will enjoy the 200 kmph rail travel and freeing their current rail system for freight. by then with the price of fuel keeps soaring to heaven, it may smack us in our face after reading the HSBC report indicating that Malaysia COULD be among the top 20 nations by 2050; we will lose out by more than just a yard. you know by then maybe the poor Malaysians have to pay acouple of ringgit for 1 km of toll.
    China has already propsed to build a HI_HI SPEED railway to London from Beijing! Within 10 years, their railroads will ensure that all ROADS point to Beijing! and by the way, Port klang 13th position in the container parade will be the highest it will ever get; the Chinese ports will occupy the top 10 ports very soon; exception is the little DOT, it will take more than a while to push it down the scale. anyway, they have the rest of the world to get them the TEUS through their PSA International [ increase of 14.4% over 2009 throughput!] managed by our very Malayisan Mr. Eddie Teh! Indeed Malaysian Boleh!!!

11. #11 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 12:16 am

Hello monsterball,
    Where are you?Sleeping or exercising your balls?No comment from you lah?No hard feeling.

12. #12 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 3:07 am

tak tahan…yes.. you got it right…went to sleep after spending many hours…doing some shopping and gardening.
    It is simple…it took China with 1.2 billion population 35 year to be what they are today.
    And after 54 years governing 27 million Malaysians…Najib is still doing the basic ground work..starting with “1Malaysia”.

13. #13 by k1980 on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 7:57 am

Was that what happened to TBH?

http://malaysiakini.com/news/153016

14. #14 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 8:55 am

while china is uniting its citizens, this is what is happening in bolehland. this mamak is talking like he is the president of mu-mlux-mlan. excerpt from the star.

//He said that landowners who could be found demanded high prices for their properties which meant that the cost of development would be high.

This would have made it impossible for Malays to own business or residential properties. “Perhaps the non-Malays can, but if the property is developed for sale to non-Malays, Kampung Baru will disappear as an area for Malays.” he said.////

15. #15 by dagen on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 8:57 am

Hoi monsterball I am sure gardening must hv given you great pleasure. But (sigh) not the shopping bit, huh. Boy. Things are mighty expansive these days, arent they? Prices are going up a lot quicker than salary increment. Soon the horse will drop dead. And then I shall continue my journey on foot.

About what you said above (in #11). I hv something to add. Wasnt it umno’s view that singapore and hong kong could develop so well only because these two places are relatively small and that hence they are much easier to manage and grow? Yeah you are bloody right there with your remark. What about china then – a large land mass with 1.2+ billion people? It took the chinese government a mere 35 yrs to develop sufficiently so as to threaten US economic, political and military dominance.

Then again I am a complete illiterate as far as Prinsip2 Ekonomi Pokok Rambutan is concerned. Cintanegara is the expert. He even owns a rambutan tree.

16. #16 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 10:22 am

Yes…dagen….shopping is hell. Everything gone up by minimum 10% …if not more.
    You leave it to UMNO B sickening reasons for all their crooked deals and failures.
    And to read what Chua Soi Lek sickening comments against PR makes me sad to note we still have sick low down Malaysian Chinese politicians that will do anything to stay in power..for selfish reasons.
    Although his remarks carries no weight at all…nevertheless…it pains me to note at this time….we have so many MCA shoe shine boys..serving UMNO B.
    You keep on parting your feelings without fear.
    Cintanegara rambutan tree have plenty INVADERS ….making his rambutans…infested with worms..cannot sell or eat.
    He is feeling the heat is on him too..no side line income from Najib.
    What a stupid man he is.

17. #17 by wanderer on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 11:46 am

While Cintanegara is peeing into the stump of his rambutan tree, after spending all his money on China dolls, Monsterball went shopping for his bra!! (I mean lady finger lah,wrong spelling)… old folks every now and then, do funny things. ooops! I better make myself clear, the comment is for senile old dicks!…more for mamak kutty…

18. #18 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 12:09 pm

You can read wanderer is thinking how smart he is..and that’s what makes fools rushed in and talk nonsense about me.
    Why like that?
    But one did say…there are many minorities sharks
    swimming around…having a score to settle with UMNO B/MCA because must run with whole family..for reasons he knows best.
    All I know…my whole family stay put and be proud Malaysians equal to anyone…and they can feel ten feet tall after casting their votes.
    Win or loose…does not matter.
    What matter most…they did their duties to country and people…besides surely for their families too.
    What is the use for ONE to say he will vote..yet all his children are FOREIGNERS….planned by him?
    The logic sucks!!
    What is the use for oine

19. #19 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 12:12 pm

Last sentence is “what is the use for his ONE vote”…when few more encouraged to be given up completely……yet such a person wants to insult me?

20. #20 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 12:20 pm

And very soon…my 8 grandchildren will be adults and can vote too.
    Yes…if you cannot walk the talks….at least walk with numbers.
    And if you cannot walk with numbers…do not make a fool of yourself…talking big.
    Selfish buggers have no business to insult true freedom fighters..especially from balless Seremban.

21. #21 by wanderer on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 1:49 pm

Oh, what a beautiful morning! Old prick die hard…good for you!
    Monsterball, you blow your trumpet astonishing well…I suppose you need to blow it or it may become rusty. As long as you do not blow C4’s, I
    will be clapping you.

22. #22 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 2:34 pm

Aiseh man.Monsterball and wanderer,both of you are equally right in your own opinions even though i personally opt to stay put cause of being brought and raise up here by my 1generation grandpa.And that’s my right to claim.But also let other individual has his/her own choices that suits him/her the most.Remember PR infighting..enough lah.. cause i think LKS is already pening.

23. #23 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 2:41 pm

let’s say if follow some hero for a demonstration. i could be ended up in police lockup for a few days or weeks. or worse case in ISA and lock-up for dont know how many months. i may lose my job. since i dont have millions in my bank account, would some millionaires feed my kids?

or if i become handicapped due to this. would the millionaire take care of me and my kids for life?

all PR need from me is my one vote. i give it. other than that i will not follow some blind fur ball or hairy ball to any demonstration. ya..full stomach, can talk full of $hit load.

24. #24 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 3:03 pm

Aiyah undertaker888,
    I agree that you don’t have to give support or participate physically but do it rightfully as a vote caster.Moral support is what PR politicians required from us.That’s why blogging here means there is something of everthing.Mind you,i don’t even have several thousands in my bank account.FYT also the same according to news from this blog.Stay cool man.

25. #25 by sotong on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 6:24 pm

Until there is a reasonable political freedom and respect for human rights, China will not be an influential country.

26. #26 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 10:10 pm

What is human rights in true sense?
    It is easy to read the rules and books and think one understands human rights.
    If so…great.
    How can one talk human rights of 1.2 billion population… compared to what country..spell it out.
    Lets see you accept a person’s human rights to have his dog poo poo in front of your house with no decency to wipe it off…and strange enough…always avoid pooing at Muslims houses.
    Shall one just keep silent and respect human rights to let all do as they like…or exercise the equally important… individual rights?
    So many experts talk this or that human rights ….encouraged by Europeans and USA to make sure China progress like a snail.
    No way….and today….China IS influential and respected by all….especially by USA.
    I guess China may have needed to jail or kill few millions to be what they are today?
    I think China’s Govt is more trusted with so call less human rights by investors that out stupid little country with lots of big mouths blaring nonsense.

27. #27 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 10:28 pm

Right at our door steps….human rights are deprived by the elected government….applying double standards.
    This kind of human rights discrimination by any government..must be exposed and fought… with no fear.
    If you allow this kind of government to control your individual rights..and keep quiet….then you not qualified to talk human rights of their countries.
    Practice it well…mean what you say and say what you mean.,..feel it…right in your country…it’s happening…….correct?.
    So there are many things to talk about human rights in Malaysia.
    We agree 100% no humans should steal our money.
    I like to know why Najib’s inhuman government policies….make few take their whole family and run like cowards..unless running away from other reasons .
    You know…so many con men making millions from suckers…also run away.
    Who is going to defend those suckers human rights?

28. #28 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 11:12 pm

Sotong will follow the West on human rights but forgot to indicate whose rights; where criminals seem to have more rights than the victims. Basically in the West, it is a case of “having filled the stomach with nothing to do!”. Many of these ‘Spokemen” are paid for the job; they talk without “capital”. the real reason is to create as much problems as possible so that the West remains in control. Well, wait for a few more European countries to seek bailouts, then let’s see if all those ideals will still come forth! Without doubt, they have “overspent” and are living presently with future earnings. We will all wait and see if the predictions of a Chinese seer will come true!

29. #29 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 11:26 pm

Need I talk about Teoh and Kugan’s human rights?
    Yes…for that Malaysians are united to exposed the inhuman ways of our Govt.
    What about poor young girls rounded up and raped at police stations?
    Do these girls deserved to be treated like a piece of meat?
    What I am trying to say is that there are so many inhuman evil deeds committed right in our country…not solved at all….yet we want to talk about China …S’pore or other countries?
    hi… get it very clear…it is an idea from USA and European countries..including Australia….to make you idiots fall into their traps and make sure China…Russia and India stay backward…with so call non committed countries…sitting in the fence.. like Japan and South Korea sitting on the fence.
    Yes………MONEY and OIL are the reasons…and we fall flat into their traps.
    And the subject of human rights are twisted and used by smart selfish politicians or political minded individuals for personal reasons and gains…. all over the world…including Malaysia.
    Can we identify and expose them….or apply MYOB?

30. #30 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:11 pm

UMNO should be ashamed of themselves if UMNO, a political party formed in 1946 to take over Malaysia from the British, caused the downfall of Malaysia today! The Communist Party of China (CPM) was only established in 1949 and took over a war-torn China. Over the years, it has managed to build up a world-renown nation!

Not to mention, comparing the size of China and Malaysia, Malaysia is actually peanuts but still our UMNO government is unable to outbeat the communists!