A gun for hire I am not

By Tunku Abdul Aziz

One of the crucial qualifications required of a politician, even one subsisting on the fringe of the magic circle such as I, is a capacity to develop a thick hide, quickly, to absorb, withstand and endure cheerfully the innuendos, aspersions and imputations of improper motives, that will assuredly come his way whatever he does, says or writes.

Although I am much the same person that I was before I made a conscious personal decision to throw in my lot with the DAP, I am today viewed with a degree of suspicion.

Some of my readers believe that I write as a party propagandist, yet others are of the view that I should refrain from commenting on the shortcomings of the Pakatan Rakyat, and worse, I should not say anything that might cast a shadow on my own party image.

I write as an independent columnist and comment on issues of the day as I see them, motivated not by sycophancy, as accused by a New Straits Times leader writer and others of his ilk or out of a misguided sense of loyalty to my own party, no matter what.

I despise anything that smacks of the putrid odour of decaying doctrinaire with its cultivated blindness to the importance of critical thinking. I am not a party political spin doctor. For that you must turn to APCO.

Last week when my article on the ban imposed by the Selangor state government on the use of the 1Malaysia logo on advertising material, I was inundated with hostile reactions which led me to conclude that the Age of Reason, at least in political terms, has bypassed Malaysia. “My party right or wrong” must have no place in the larger reckoning of our plan for Malaysia.

As for airing my party sensitive criticisms “through proper channels”, my detractors need to be reminded that I comment as an independent writer, and not as a party hack.

My own stand on 1Malaysia is on record. I have opposed it from day one, not because it had come out of the fertile imagination of Najib, or out of a strong uncontrollable doctrinal madness to oppose it for its own sake, but I did not believe that without his spelling out the social, political and economic policy underpinnings, it could amount to anything at all. He has not succeeded in convincing anyone that at the core of 1Malaysia is equal opportunity for all.

1Malaysia is not altogether without any virtue: racial unity is a perfectly honourable and desirable aspiration, but what we are waiting to hear from Najib is his elucidation in the clearest possible terms how he proposes to shift 1Malaysia from the aspirational to the practical.

For me, on the basis of what Najib has articulated so far, 1Malaysia must perforce remain in the realm of sloganeering.

On the level of the abstract, 1Malaysia is fine, but after more than a half-century of Merdeka, let us get to grips with what we all really want in the long term to ensure the sustainability of our multiracial society.

1Malaysia as 1Malaysian Malaysia offers a greater chance of success and will have the overwhelming support of all true Malaysians who regard Malaysia as their home and the object of their love and loyalty. It is a bold step to take now, and not committing to doing what is just and fair is not an option.

It is a brave new world out there and we must be in the mainstream of the new movement for progress, peace and prosperity grounded in basic principles of fairness, justice and equity for all the people of Malaysia. Without this commitment to social change, Malaysia will never be in a position to realise its full potential.

Let me make a public declaration of my status in view of the continuing debate on whether a person is Chinese, Malay, Indian, or whatever our race, is first or Malaysian first. I am Malay in cultural terms just as a Chinese cannot be anything but Chinese culturally. Malaysian is a political term and has nothing to do with any culture because you cannot by any stretch of the imagination claim that there is a Malaysian cultural tradition. There is none.

That having said, what is important is to do in our daily lives what is in the best interests of our country. Malaysian first is no better than 1Malaysia unless we are willing to make a commitment to subordinate our natural instincts to preserve our Malayness or Chineseness and submit ourselves to the higher and nobler cause and demands for a 1Malaysian Malaysia.

Therein lies the future of this great country. Are we up to the challenge?

1. #1 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 8 January 2011 - 7:48 pm

1 Malaysia is no doubt just a sloganeering catchphrase. Hence the president of Umno intentionally keeps it with ambiguity

2. #2 by sudala on Saturday, 8 January 2011 - 9:09 pm

What do you expect from the BN leadership, with members that have no intellect, and only scheming and finding ways to enrich themselves? The invention and announcement of a slogan or acronym for some lofty national program every few months is to appease the populace to look as though the country is on the right track in its march towards a ‘developed’ nation status. Why this emphasis on ‘developed’ nation status and performance indexes that are certainly ‘doctored’ to suit the audience and circumstances of the day is beyond me. When a nation grows its economy and manages its resources well and develop its infrastructure efficiently, it will reach a level of development that is on par with the rest of the modern world. What is there to trumpet this and that ‘achievement’ when all the indicators now show that the country is on a downhill slide for the past 50 years? It is just pulling wool over the rakyat’s eyes, and only the ignorant ones will believe the BN leaders when they proclaim that Malaysia is on the way to greatness.

If only the BN government is serious with their 1Malaysia proclamation, they would dismantle all the racist programs immediately, and right the wrongs of the past and place everyone on a level playing field so that every race enjoys the fruits of their labor in this resource rich land. If this is not done immediately in spite of the 1Malaysia slogan being there for more than a year, then we know the BN is not sincere and is only playing the music to soothe the ears of those who want to hear this boring song. Its the same for other programs cooked up by expensive foreign consultants to be consumed by the ignorant rakyat, so that BN will continue to rule at the expense of the poor Malaysians. Whats new?

3. #3 by yhsiew on Saturday, 8 January 2011 - 9:43 pm

If DPM, Muhyiddin Yassin, does not agree that he is Malaysian first and Malay second, how can the government ram the 1Malaysia concept down the rakyat’s throats?

4. #4 by monsterball on Saturday, 8 January 2011 - 10:07 pm

Non stop exposing “1Malaysia” is nonsense…and this is one of the many.
    Najib talks to school children of “1Malaysia” and all got excited.
    Right now he is talking to some jungle tribes in
    Sarawak.
    He needs to live in his fool’s dream with no objections.
    When questioned by reporters about “1Malysia”..
    he got upset.
    Why like that?

5. #5 by Dipoh Bous on Saturday, 8 January 2011 - 10:31 pm

…..#3

“Right now he is talking to some jungle tribes in Sarawak.”

…just which tribes are you referring to by that “some jungle tribes”? :(

6. #6 by Thor on Saturday, 8 January 2011 - 11:46 pm

Jibby yelled : Satu!
    The rest yelled : Malaysia!
    The rest yelled : Malu nya!
    The rest yelled : Mati dia!

7. #7 by monsterball on Saturday, 8 January 2011 - 11:49 pm

Which tribes? Go to Malaysiakini and get the reported details and photo.

8. #8 by monsterball on Saturday, 8 January 2011 - 11:55 pm

Whatever it is….Najib’s “1Malaysia” can only fool school children and Malaysians with less IQ.
    Even a char kiow tiow or a nasik lemak seller…who are less uneducated Malaysians know… he is a liar.

9. #9 by monsterball on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 1:23 am

Najib’s “1Malaysia” slogan is to brainwashed innocent children to prepare himself for 23 years as PM…out doing his master…by one year.
    This man with a child brain and split personality..is a “genius” in a wrong party…with the wrong company.
    He is very smart…but heart and brain…with wires entangled..short circuiting every now and then.
    Right now..he thinks being a Pekan prince.. he is the rightful King of Malaysia…and he is the chosen one.

10. #10 by tak tahan on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 2:53 am

Hai Dipous bous,

I apologise on behalf but in reality this f.c.k.r umno is fooling the orang a.s.l.i to get fixed deposit.No offence but we must unite as one to fight for what is right for us.Monsterball,you said something which is not so right but apology is nothing you would lose as a comrade.No hard feeling ok.Everyone one has his own’s opinion and if you over stepped in their way,do not blame them,allow let them to express their view.That’s everybody’s right.I actually admire you in regard to certain arguement about the brain drain but pls don’t condemn except advise.. pls.Let us have positive exchangheable opinion.TQ.

11. #11 by Loh on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 4:22 am

The late Tun Lim Chong Eu said that Chinese citizens of Malaysia should refer to themselves as Chinese Malaysians. Chinese is the adjective. So 1Malaysian Malaysia describes that the adjective is 1Malaysian, and Malaysia belongs to 1Malaysian. 1Malaysian would then mean Malaysians as one entity, without division by religion or race. Malaysia is a country and 1Malaysia cannot give the meaning that Malaysia offers only one way to live, corruption.

Some countries include democratic whatnots in the name when it is absence in the country, and 1Malaysian highlights that unity is non-existent in Malaysia. The concept of Malaysian Malaysia serves as well. Unfortunately, LKY of Singapore had to leave calling for that aspiration 45 years ago. UMNOputras are at least 46 years behind time if they accept that concept. But if they agreed to this, how then can they claim continuation of NEP which gives UMNOputras the discretion to make Malays of their choice filthy rich. Of course they always choose their families, relatives as well as those who are useful to hold money in their trust; such as when it was not convenience for them to enter into halal business. But they use halal money all the same as have been accumulated by their ‘cashiers’ , to make frogs jump, for example.

12. #12 by DAP man on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 9:11 am

1Malaysia will win the top spot in the Guinness Book of world Records as the biggest con-game of the century.
    Come on, he has to fool 25 million people!

13. #13 by Dipoh Bous on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 1:24 pm

“Hai Dipous bous,

I apologise on behalf but in reality this f.c.k.r umno is fooling the orang a.s.l.i to get fixed deposit” #9

Tq Tak Tahan. I must admit that such a sweeping remark would only deepen their (jungle tribes’) support for the present gov’t. Being exposed to the msm all their lives, one should not blame them for their current undivided support for BN. Pay a visit to our domain (read jungle) and try to talk about malaysiakini….. (guess the response youself).

So, unless something is done to reach out to these ‘jungle tribes’, PR could just dream on to take over putra jaya come 13GE or any other GE’s for that matter !

14. #14 by sotong on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 2:54 pm

Tunku, there are very few people like you….you cannot be a gun for hire if we are serious of real and significant change to the country.

We a long way from becoming a united country and, with enormous and permanent damage of decades of politics of race and religion, real change are important to the future of the ordinary people.

15. #15 by k1980 on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 3:01 pm

1malaysia is based on Hitler’s Ein Volk, ein Reich, ein Führer — “One People, One Nation, One Leader”

16. #16 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 3:09 pm

That’s why mamak created eine Volkswagen. das proton. but like proton it is going nowhere, except das hell.

17. #17 by tak tahan on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 3:26 pm

1Malaysia is fine but all BN coalition members except only Nazri supported it.The rest are making fun out of it without truely declaring their stand on the true spirit of 1Malaysia which has been proven by LKS numerous tomes.So1Malaysia slogan by najis became void any patriotic sense for unity.I started to feel strange and awkward when i hear this najis’s 1Malaysia thingy.

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 4:10 pm

For a moment I thought it was Richard Boone talking.

You know, the man of ‘Have Gun – Will Travel’ fame.

I wish he was around to get rid of all the scums, tricksters, saboteurs, con-men, rapists, murderers, kangaroos and such which we have here roaming around in bad, bad Najibland.

19. #19 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 9 January 2011 - 4:15 pm

Paladin, Paladin, where are you? PR needs you. Many bandidos around.

20. #20 by rubini on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:12 am

Simple Logic, LKY knew 50 years ago S’pore will not not have enough resources so he outsourced his resources -hum,an capital. All commodities can be bought, but human capital must be appreciated.
    Why does S’pore Government attracts hundreds of Malaysians, Chinese, Indians & Indonesia students to S’pore. Very simple it to replace their top notch students who will emigrate to US,UK,Europe & Australsia. In Malaysia we relace the bright with the stupids. A prime example would be TBH coroners inquest where DPP Razak showed self stangulation. My 2 children are 12 & 14 years old, i am already decided to send them to Australia. It will take another 25 – 50 yaers to change in Malaysia.

21. #21 by rubini on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:18 am

Dear Tunku,

Well said. I have always enjoyed your articlea & from there i am aware your intergrity. I am a Malaysian & Malaysian thru & thru. To me 1Malaysia or Malsyain Malaysia makes no sense. Slogans is meaningless.
    Policies, Rule Of Laws, Justice for all those who seek is what will makes this nation & its people better again.