We have to speak up

By P. Ramakrishnan
December 13, 2010

We have every reason to be concerned. We wonder where this nation is heading for and what is in store for us. From the civil servant to the Umno politician, it is the same story: the non-Malays are “pendatang” and don’t have any citizenship rights. The rights conferred by Article 8 of the Federal Constitution are not respected or protected.

When an extreme group like Perkasa questions the citizenship rights of the non-Malays, the national leadership does not take them to task. When extreme elements in Umno berate and denigrate the non-Malays, the top Umno leadership does not chastise them. When one Umno delegate at the recently concluded general assembly had the temerity to suggest that the non-Malays be given the right to do business but should be denied the right to vote, nobody pointed out that it was against the constitution and that he should not be talking through his nose!

It is this disturbing silence when atrocious things are said which affect our unity that is worrying. It is this unbecoming conduct that encourages the extreme elements amongst us to be outrageous in their conduct and prompts them to continue with their seditious remarks.

It is this vocal minority that is predominant in our society and influences the trend of policy. Our political leaders dare not condemn them outright.

Utusan Malaysia fans the race baiting and gives the widest publicity without bothering to be responsible or sensible. When the powers-that-be that own and control this press do not force it to fall in line, what do we make of this?

A nation can make or break depending on the unity of its citizens. Today our unity is threatened. And if concerned voices and responsible leaders and caring Malaysians do not rise up and speak up, we will be a fragmented nation. By our silence, we will contribute to the chaos that may ensue. — Aliran

* P. Ramakrishnan is president of Aliran.

1. #1 by Godfather on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 12:51 pm

Perkasa has been strangely quiet, perhaps silenced by Ibrahim Katak’s latest adventures in hospital. I find it strange that this racist organisation can call Chinese and Indians pendatangs, when its patron Mamakthir is also clearly a pendatang.

UMNO organs have also been lauding Syed Mokhtar al-Bukharey as the richest Malay in the world, when he is clearly also a pendatang as his forebears come from the Al-Bukharey clan in Yemen.

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 1:07 pm

//this racist organisation can call Chinese and Indians pendatangs, when its patron Mamakthir is also clearly a pendatang…..come from the Al-Bukharey clan in Yemen.//

To Perkasa, muslim pendatangs = bumis, even though they just arrived 1 minute ago

non-muslim mata sepets and kaki botols = pendatangs, even though their forebears came here before Parameswara

This will be inscribed into the constitution and taught to all students in the new history syllabus.

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 1:58 pm

I want to visit Mecca. But being a non-muslim, I would not be allowed in. Can any one tell me how I may get in?

4. #4 by ktteokt on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 1:59 pm

What can you do with a government that is made up of people who put race first, party next and the country last?

5. #5 by dawsheng on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 2:01 pm

We have every reason to be concerned about racist civil servants, Perkasa, UMNO and their mouthpiece says President of Aliran because Article 8 of the Federal Constitution is being threaten and the UMNO led government obviously condoned racism so he suggests we have to speak up. Is that all he can think of?

6. #6 by dawsheng on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 2:30 pm

Do you seriously think Perkasa is racist because of the glory of Malay race? Or is it because race is used as a political pawn to cover up UMNO’s dirty secrets? Let us look at it more closely and question, is racism in Malaysia grew due to unhappiness over achievement of other races or otherwise, out of UMNO’s desperation in keeping its traditional support base, like FELDA? In any case, before we can conclude our peaceful nation is under threat of being overtaken by racist Malay (despite the gross mismanagement of the country), and other races have to relinquish their rights is imminent, we must at least have concrete evident to react. Just because a few clowns made their voice heard through MSM’s propagandas and picked up by news hungry alternate medias which seriously lacking sensible analysis, we retaliate by speaking up, but just what is it that we should say when we speak up? Over my dead body? Isn’t that fighting fear-mongering with fear-mongering? You decide.

7. #7 by tak tahan on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 2:47 pm

We’ll never be able to change these evil,bigot,selfish and racist group as its gene pool carry in them from the day they were born.Real stunted mentality and the worst thoughtless ugly beast relatively to universal humankind;that’s what come to my view of understanding human psychology.Get rid of this these extreme group in the next GE13 to save malaysia from nearing down on the edge of an abyss.Vote PR in to stop racist and bigots from further spreading more irrevocable and cancerous effects and influences.

8. #8 by Loh on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 3:17 pm

///When an extreme group like Perkasa questions the citizenship rights of the non-Malays, the national leadership does not take them to task. When extreme elements in Umno berate and denigrate the non-Malays, the top Umno leadership does not chastise them. When one Umno delegate at the recently concluded general assembly had the temerity to suggest that the non-Malays be given the right to do business but should be denied the right to vote, nobody pointed out that it was against the constitution and that he should not be talking through his nose!///–Ramakrishnan

It is the double standards that breaks this country. I think if the people are allowed free expression, extremists would hear of counterargument against their case. That should remove any misunderstanding, if that was the problem. As it is, the government chose to reign through creating fears among the electorates. Without open debates, the so-called sensitive issues will remain sensitive for centuries. Malaysia is no different from the time people were not allowed to suggest that earth was not the centre of universe. And worse, Malaysia government uses scare crow to rule. Until the Sedition Act is removed, and ISA is ditched, there will be no unity because the ruling party did not want unity. They choose to remain incompetent.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 6:40 pm

D writer should kow tow n thank UmnoB n Perkosa 4 allowing him, a pendatang n kaki botol, 2 write dis article mah
    Quickly, kok kok kok, kow tow 3X lah

10. #10 by boh-liao on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 6:54 pm

Have DAP kakis bidded 4 MCA number plates in Melaka?
    Buy nice number like MCA 119 n sell high price 2 its boss mah
    Closing date tomorrow midday lah, mari mari, lelong lelong

11. #11 by Loh on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 9:35 pm

///Kausikan reportedly said: “A lack of competent leadership is a real problem for Malaysia”, citing the need for Datuk Seri Najib Razak to prevail politically over the murder case of Mongolian model Altantuya Shaariibuu.///–http://www.malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/newscommentaries/36640-singapore-has-to-explain-say-malaysian-officials

Malaysians may not know the truth, but are certainly concerned about the perception of leaders in other countries regarding Malaysian leaders. What appears above come from Singapore. Leaders of other countries have their own views too. It appears that leaders in other countries are concerned about how the murder case could be closed when the convicted murderers could not ‘justify’ their motives beyond paid mission. Who paid them? As long as the question remains, the gossip will continue. No one can stop others from gossiping. Unless the PM direct the police to continue with through investigation, he can’t stop others forming the opinion.

12. #12 by vsp on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 10:39 pm

Singapore has to explain, say Malaysian officials
    ——–
    Singapore does not have to explain anything. Every country has its prejudices against its neighbours but is not talked aloud because of diplomatic etiquette. I believe Malaysian leaders have a ton of prejudices and hatred against Singapore. Ask the mamak who rule this country for decades, who always wanted to provoke wars against the tiny red dot. If everything that we have said about our neighbours, friends and acquaintances behind their backs were not held back behind the bamboo or iron curtain of secrecy, there would be no detente. So treat the wikileaks as a game of diplomacy. Everyone practices it.

If Malaysian officials insist on their pound of flesh it will only be damaging to a person who swore upon the Koran that he did not know anything about Mongolian delicacies. Singapore still have the biggest trump card close to its chest. That’s why they could get Pulau Putih without any sweat and still have the upper hand in the railway land negotiations. Would that person risk the exposure?

13. #13 by ALtPJK on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 11:05 pm

[[It is this disturbing silence when atrocious things are said which affect our unity that is worrying. It is this unbecoming conduct that encourages the extreme elements amongst us to be outrageous in their conduct and prompts them to continue with their seditious remarks. It is this vocal minority that is predominant in our society and influences the trend of policy. Our political leaders dare not condemn them outright.]] – P. Ramakrishnan

As I have said before, this bigotry has manifested itself after years may be even decades of unchecked increase in acquired intolerance among those intoxicated with ‘ketuanan’ big-headedness. And thanks to Apanama Mahatahi for instigating and championing this.

Alas, this quagmire is now too deep-rooted. I can only read into Ramakrishnan’s call ‘to speak up’ as a reminder, now with growing prospect of a GE, to voters that civil society will just wither under such climate.

14. #14 by tuahpekkong on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 11:07 pm

When you have BTN indoctrinating them day and night that they are the ‘tuan’ of the country while others are ‘pendatang’; that they have made huge sacrifices for the country while others’ loyalty is suspect, when you have Utusan instilling fear among the Malays the the non-Malays are intent on grabbing power from them and that they may one day become slaves in their own land, it is then not surprising to find people like UMNO’s Ahmad Ismail and Perkasa’s katak Ali calling the non-Malays pendatang and questioning their loyalty. All these are UMNO’s tactics to cling on to power.

15. #15 by Loh on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 11:24 pm

The leaks came from US sources and Malaysia wants Singapore to explain. Are the Malaysian officials that stupid or are they afraid of US?

What do they want Singapore to explain? Is it how they form the opinion that Malaysian leaders are incompetent? Malaysians want to know what they know that we don’t. Is it why they think that Najib is an opportunist? The 1987 UMNO party election confirmed that assessment.

16. #16 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 1:22 am

Yeah, we have to speak up. If we don’t speak up, our enemy will speak up!

17. #17 by tunglang on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 8:16 am

For 40 years, we the so-called pendatangs had to be docile to keep the peace and outward-looking unity in BolehLand. Just keep your mouths sealed and all things would be AOK. That was a fear-based mentality for the sake of the nation.

But below the surface was silent emigration of talented, capable or rich Malaysians who had to think of their future survival and destiny. The tempo increased the last decade as the world opened up its borders – globalization. Instead of just natural resources, talented human capital became premiums to be attracted and retained as national assets for the growing importance of service industries worldwide. This will be a continual trend despite what our leaders promised day in and day out to bring about positive changes.

CHANGE WHAT?
    By the look of these antics of wayward politicians, NGOs and ‘tuan-tuan’, it will take a massive change of minds and hearts in them in order to move forward to bring about a meaningful change for the future of all Malaysians regardless of race.

In the meantime, those who do not have the hearts to speak up will just pack up and leave for greener pastures.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 8:16 am

What P. Ramakrishnan basically argues here is that the government should adopt a single and not double standards, i.e. if it, by threats of sedition and punishment, stops moderates from speaking up, then it should, in fairness, equally stop the extremists.

If the government upholds the extremists’ right to assert their agenda, then at least it must equally allow Moderates the right and level playing field to contradict and reply that agenda, without threat of reprisals.

It is ironical that the PM got on to the international stage to call for “Global Movement of the Moderates” to counterbalance the negative effects of extremism.

It is hollow to encourage moderates of all countries and religions to take center stage, reclaim the agenda, and marginalize extremists when in one’s own backyard the opposite takes place where moderates are marginalised and extremists are given latitude to take the center stage to dictate the nation’s agenda in accommodation of theirs.

19. #19 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 8:23 am

Then let me speak up.

The revelation by wikileak to me is pivotal in the road to Putrajaya for the opposition.

The implication to Anwar is that the magic that is Anwar is tarnished, blurred. The Anwar magic cannot be relied on to lead the opposition into Putrajaya. It is time for PR to consider alternative and DAP and PAS have to come together to force the issue.

Of the revelation, its the one on Najib that is more critical. The implication of Najib is that he will be replaced, not very long now, by the ultras in his party. His opportunistic way can only create a mess which the ultras will not tolerate. He can only go downhill. But its clear his replacement will take this country down to an even bigger mess than he did.

This means that will the opposition may be at its weakest yet since 308, its also the most urgent and important that the opposition must succeed now because of the clear and present danger.

The time needed for great leadership by opposition is now. Its imperatives that the real senior leaders of the opposition rise up to the challenge OR we will end up in a prolong mess that will cost this nation dearly that will take generations to recover.

20. #20 by sotong on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 8:50 am

Until we have good and strong leadership and management of our multi racial and religious country……there will be more extremist groups influencing government policies.

21. #21 by k1980 on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 8:57 am

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/pas-predicts-coup-if-bn-loses-in-snap-polls/

Which is more powerful– speaking up by PR or locking up by BN?

22. #22 by dagen on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 9:21 am

Dr mamak messed things up big time. He created umnoputras and bred them into a gang of super greedy and power crazy idiots. It is impossible to undo things now for umno. So we must reject umno. We must discard umno like a piece of useless and unwanted junk. Unlike junks, umno is actually toxic and very dangerous. So the sooner umno is got rid of the better it would be for the nation.

So jib, bring GE13 on.

23. #23 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 9:43 am

Sounds like someone is talking about UMNO:

“Yugoslavia’s (Malaysia’s) tragedy was not foreordained,” he wrote. “It was the product of bad, even criminal, political leaders who encouraged ethnic confrontation for personal, political, and financial gain.”

This was the words of Richard Holbrooke, just passed away, a brilliant diplomat.

Really, he could have been talking about Malaysia and UMNO and not a word would have been amiss.

24. #24 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 9:52 am

My God, if UMNO, particularly, wants to lock up half the Malaysian population because they can’t stand the agony of losing GE13, so be it.

We just have got to get ready for maggi mee and kangkung in detentionlah.

Another Gulag Archipelago, maybe a Malaysian another Alexsandr Solzhenitsyn, another Nobel Peace Prize winner, perhaps. That should put Malaysia on the world map….finally, even if it is for all the wrong reasons.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 10:07 am

///The Anwar magic cannot be relied on to lead the opposition into Putrajaya….The time needed for great leadership by opposition is now. Its imperative that the real senior leaders of the opposition rise up to the challenge/// #19

Who’s the senior leader of Opposition (PR) – after Anwar- acceptable to all to lead it now that Zaid is also gone???

26. #26 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 10:30 am

I want to bid for the Melaka car plate nomber MCA 444. Can anyone tell me roughly how much this number is worth?

27. #27 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 10:37 am

DAP should consider going to its cousin party and blame them for the mess that they are causing. There is a real danger either the ultras in UMNO or PAS will control things in this country because of them. Like it or not, its in their interest now to show and promote real honest leadership above and beyond rather than the Machiavellian, cynical, cowardly ones they are used to down south