Learn from BN’s mistakes, Guan Eng tells DAP

By Debra Chong
December 12, 2010

GEORGE TOWN, Dec 12 — Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said today the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) pact can only retain power if its state governments show policies carried out have helped and not harmed the public, in sounding the rallying cry ahead of the next big fight at the polls against the rival Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition.

“If we are to retain power at the next general elections, then PR must be a people’s government trusted by the people to help and not harm them,” the DAP secretary-general told party members at its state convention here today.

“PR can be trusted by the people not only by showing competency and honesty, but that we are a people’s government that listens to the people, does the people’s work and gives hope to the people,” he added.

Lim noted that the DAP-PKR-PAS administrations had their work cut out for them as years of BN’s “misrule” had hardened the public’s attitude towards government and must work doubly hard to show they are a reliable alternative to the ruling federal coalition.

“After BN’s misrule, the people have learnt not to trust the government. BN’s was not only seen as incompetent and corrupt, its governance was seen as an institution that harms rather than helps the people.

“However showing what we are not is not enough. We must show what we are,” Lim (picture) stressed.

The first-term CM said Penang had taken great strides forward in the two years since the DAP came into power and proudly listed several milestones, including drawing in more direct foreign investments that have open up more jobs than could be filled and putting the Seberang Perai local council’s books back into the black.

But the ambitious Lim said such measures were not enough.

“No genius wants to work for a fool,” he remarked.

“A stupid government or private sector will only drive the best and brightest away.”

Lim cautioned DAP members from falling into the complacency, which he attributed to the BN’s downfall in Election 2008.

“We must boldly lead Penang’s future by embracing moderation, rule of law and a government trusted by the people.

“Whatever our individual abilities and capabilities, we are only as good as the combined intelligence of our team,” he advised.

He called on party members to pit their strength together, reminding them that the ruling coalition owned several established media channels and would use them to break the DAP’s “team spirit”.

“BN’s efforts will fail if we stand united.

“But if we fall into BN’s trap and publicly diminish our own selves without first discussing such issues internally, then we risk losing the people’s trust we have worked so hard to earn,” Lim said, in what may have been a veiled reminder of the political turmoil that befell its alliance partner in Selangor following PKR’s recent party elections.

The reform party helmed by Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail appeared to have lost much support, especially among its urban base, following highly publicised allegations of vote-buying.

The DAP leader stressed that “integrity in leadership is crucial towards fighting corruption.”

The 12-year-old party – the youngest in the PR pact – has been repeatedly hauled up over the integrity of the candidates it fielded in Election 2008 who won but later defected after being embroiled in sex and corruption scandals.

PKR has lost five MPs and DAP, one.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 6:33 pm

NR: Opposition can’t emulate BN’s record
    1 of BN’s records: NR declared Melaka “a developed state” on 20.10.2010
    BN launched Melaka’s RM15.9mil monorail
    Barely 2 months after its grand launch, d monorail project has been derailed
    D monorail project dah mati n d monorail is now closed to d public

ROFL, Y would PR want 2 emulate dis BN’s sh!ti corrupt n incompetent record?
    Can PR do better than dis in Pg, Selangor, Kedah, n Kelantan?! Walk your CAT

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 6:35 pm

It is time PRK take heed of what LGE said.
    It is DAP that gets more support than PKR to form the new Govt….yet DAP.,…always ride short guns..treating PKR guys like VIP passengers.
    13th GE is near…and united they will win….divided will surely fall.
    Yes…more internals meetings will stop misunderstandings spreading out to favour UMNO B .
    That is most stupid to loose an election…when PR is riding high.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 6:49 pm

DAP n PR should take note of the messages spoken by DAP members Zarina Baharom (Kampung Kolam) n Sukumar Subramaniam (Pengkalan Kota) at the DAP’s convention today
    Look after d rakyat properly n fairly, then in return d rakyat will look after DAP n PR

4. #4 by yhsiew on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 7:46 pm

Guan Eng’s message is timely.

PR must outperform BN in honesty, transparency, accountability and services to the people in order to gain public support. Nobody would vote for a party which is worse than BN.

To strengthen the rakyat’s confidence in PR, I hope component parties within PR endeavor to unit their members as one undivided team having the same goals and visions. How often PR supporters’ hearts were wrenched when they saw infighting, bickering and finger-pointing within the component parties.

Time is fast running out. GE13 is coming. PR must fix every loose end and get ready to face their BN foe.

5. #5 by yhsiew on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 7:49 pm

Oops!

unit their members should be UNITE their members.

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 8:45 pm

In a nutshell, Singapore PAP leaders called UMNO leaders stupid and corrupt.

I agree.

What can you say when somebody pushes a lemon into your face and says it’s an lemon? Well, you simply accept the fact that it is a lemon.

So I accept the fact that UMNO leaders are stupid opportunists.

7. #7 by vsp on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 9:13 pm

Don’t forget to also learn from PKR mistakes.

8. #8 by cemerlang on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 9:30 pm

Wikileaks make it harder still even though it seems Malaysia is so small and so faraway.

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 10:13 pm

That’s the way to go. Other states should learn financial discipline – it stems from moral discipline. See 3 milestones in Penang. Facts & figures don’t lie.

1. On Investments: Penang’s total investment for Penang has surged from RM 1.53 billion for the first 6 months of the year to RM2.25 billion as at July 2010. In other words, for the month of July alone, there was an increase of RM716 million of investment or an increase of nearly 50% in one month as compared to the total investments for the first 6 months of the year. Penang’s performance for the first 7 months until July 2010 of RM2.25 billion is higher than the RM2.17 billion achieved for the whole of 2009.

2. Local Councils (Penang Island and Seberang Perai) – By renegotiating with the contractor to reduce the cost of transporting solid waste within the state these councils have saved RM33 million by way of reclaim of surcharge payment to the contractor.

3. Majlis Perbandaran Seberang Perai (MPSP) was ailing financially prior to LGE’s takeover in 2008. Per MPSP’s finances, the figures in bracket ( ) show deficit which turned around in 2008 –

MPSP Surplus/(Deficit)
    2000 – (RM5.1 million)
    2001 – (RM31.2 million)
    2002 – (RM36.7 million)
    2003 – (RM39.0 million)
    2004 – (RM48.9 million)
    2005 – (RM57.1 million)
    2006 – (RM5.4 million)
    2007 – (RM5.1 million)
    2008 – RM3.0 million
    2009 – RM14.6 million
    2010 – RM54.39 million (as at 4 October 2010).

10. #10 by House Victim on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 10:29 pm

IF DAP Penang listen to People’s voice, Why the Laywer assauting clients case in Penang April, 2008 with Police Report Lebuh Pantai/000692/08 &…..reported to the Chief of Staff came no news? after replying that CAT Governnment will act?
    Is two years too short to act?

11. #11 by House Victim on Sunday, 12 December 2010 - 11:09 pm

Subang Town Park – a “private” title “wrongly issued” to the original Developer – Sime UEP
    —————-
    1. Are what have been done by PK Government, the CM, Subang Adun, MPSJ since 2009 following the Publicity and Openness under the Laws?
    2. Are MPSJ appointed Council represetatives and Residents Associations, especailly those outsider of Subang Jayab legal representatives of the House owners (the People) in Subang Jaya_?
    3. Should Town park and Water Retention ponds be under any title? or Private Title?
    4. Shouldn’t all related information regarding the Development, such as Master Plans, copy of Land Title, Proposal of Developer, etc. be provided to the People under the Laws or should be available for Public access, instead of OSA?
    5. Why ALL should work towards Gazetting a Town Park when it should had been provided 30 years ago and busy evaluating on how much to pay on acquiring?
    6. Why do parties and Departments involved who have the oblgiations to reply choose to silent on requests for proper procedures?
    7. Why a technically and legally non-applicable title on public land obtained by misappropriation, bribery be respected instead of revoking or cancellation and to take actions against those offenders?

Can these convince People that PK Selangor is better than BN’s?

12. #12 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 2:46 am

The next shot will come from wikileaks about Anwar sodomy case.

Be prepared to scarify something when people perception or belief might not able to accept it.

Personally I don’t give a Sh** about what one personal life is, even if he is a politician or any RAKYAT. The law is the law unless it is changed to reflect what is going on in real life.

Regards
    ShiokGuy

13. #13 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 9:01 am

which ruling government in this country would the singapore government prefer?

A. A stupid, corrupt and incompetent current government for singapore to squeeze and barter a better deal or

B. an emerging government which singapore has not gage and dont know about? they have to start from ground level all over again.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 9:13 am

When 1 deals with an incompetent dumb fool, 1 always laughs all d way 2 d bank
    Look, Sg is poised to overtake M’sia as d 3rd largest economy in SEA by d end of this year
    Sg’s GDP dis year expected = US$210 billion, beating M’sia’s projected US$205 billion GDP

15. #15 by k1980 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 9:37 am

Malaysia = 500 times the size of Singapore.

So expect water supply to be cut off in retaliation for Singaporean leaders calling Malaysian leaders as incompetent. Then only Malaysia can overtake Singapore’s economy.

16. #16 by k1980 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 10:09 am

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/after-ge13-a-hung-parliament-says-rpk/

PR must choose its candidates with great care or else lots of them would hop over to BN after the 13GE. Look closely into their financial status because money can lure them away. Case in point– Jelapang Hee and Cashswindler Singh

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 10:15 am

///which ruling government in this country would the Singapore government prefer?/// #13

If’s it’s a choice strictly between (A). stupid, corrupt and incompetent current government versus (B). a new govt with whom S’pore has not had past dealings before, S’pore Govt policy position is probably pretty neutral and indifferent.
    Business-wise what counts is S’pore has Money to take the deals – and the Talent to evaluate if the deals are worth going into.
    A govt whether stupid, corrupt and incompetent or the opposite would still need S’pore’s money to invest.

From political stability versus upheaval point of view S’pore is more worried not so much of the effects of neighbouring govt’s incompetence or corruption but its institutional racism and the kind of events like May 13 that have spill over effects.
    Wikileaks: – “Situation in Malaysia is confused and dangerous… fuelled by distinct possibility of racial conflict” which could see ethnic Chinese “flee” Malaysia and “overwhelm” Singapore….
    From that security perspective S’pore is unlikely -all things being equal- to prefer (A) over (B).

///?Be prepared to scarify something when people perception or belief might not able to accept it/// – #12.

That’s OK. It is customary human nature that when people & believes cannot accept something, they will use their brains to rationalize that something in another way to suit their beliefs, hopes and desires, and, in so doing maintain their emotional equilibrium. The psychologist will call these responses “Defence Mechanisms”, two of which are denial and rationalization.
    It is called “rationalization” not because the mental process to reason things -as part of this rationalisation to suit one’s desires beliefs and hopes – is inherently rational and logical. Rather it is called so because the process involves trying to make rational and justify logically (often on most selective argumnts & assumptions) something to meet the ends of consistency with one’s beliefs desires and hopes than consistency with the probable Truth of any issue. This is because to most people whilst Truth is always important, it however will still have to take Second Place to their own emotional equilibrium and happiness in a conflict situation!

Re #15, Singapore has (a) money to buy (I cost of supply were issue) (b) desalination plants meeting 10% of needs (b) expanded no. of reservoirs, (c) wayer re-use – Newwater and if all (a) to (c) not enough in times of supply cut off threatening survival, then an efficient organization of forces-in-being to try take over neighbour’s catchment areas.

18. #18 by ktteokt on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 10:31 am

Especially from GERAKAN, an opposition party turned ruling coalition partner!

19. #19 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 11:49 am

//S’pore Govt policy position is probably pretty neutral and indifferent.
    Business-wise what counts is S’pore has Money to take the deals – and the Talent to evaluate if the deals are worth going into.
    A govt whether stupid, corrupt and incompetent or the opposite would still need S’pore’s money to invest.///

let’s put it simple. lets say you have a neighbour next to you. this neighbour has been providing you with cheap raw material for your own business to thrive.

at the same time you may have something on their man of the house which their family members are not sure about which could be damning. You are using this to your whims to whip up deals to benefit you.

also this neighbour provides you with talented cheap labor for your business.

this stupid neighbour are losing a piece of land to you as well because of their incompetencies.

Now, why would you want this neighbour to change, whether you have money or no money to invest?

dont you find it interesting? anwar’s sodomy case suddenly popped up but nothing on altan**ya? maybe there will be some later, at someones’ convenience. now is not the right timing.

moreover, where is Iraq’s weapon of mass destruction? have they found it yet? maybe they are referring it to the black gold.

20. #20 by Godfather on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 12:14 pm

There’s too much speculation on whether Singapore prefers the guy squatting under the rambutan tree to continue doing that. What is for sure is that our resident legal advisor Jeffrey is either an implant from our neighbour, or perhaps a member of the Singapore SB given his ultra-knowledgeable comments on Singapore policy in #17 above.

21. #21 by Cinapek on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 12:16 pm

“However showing what we are not is not enough. We must show what we are,” Lim stressed .

Absolutely. It is not enough for PR just to show it is not corrupt or all things wrong that BN are. It has to also show what else it can do right and do it well. By doing so, it will raise the bar to a level that BN, for all its heavy, lumbering historical baggage, will find difficult to aspire to. BN has very blinkered, narrow ways of doing things limited to race and religion. They have difficulty thinking beyond that. So it should not be too difficult for PR, as the incumbent, to set the standards that BN cannot hope to reach for quite a while yet.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 12:59 pm

“dont you find it interesting? anwar’s sodomy case suddenly popped up but nothing on altan**ya? maybe there will be some later, at someones’ convenience. now is not the right timing” – #19.

Preference for one existing govt (devil that one knows) over a new “Angel” that one does not know implies a choice being exercised by S’pore to do something favouring the first against the second, implying a conspiracy with the first.

The damaging disclosure of what S’pore believes is part of confidential intelligence gathering as arranged between American/Australian authorities and Singapore. It is not even meant to be disclosed, let alone to further objectives of a suspected conspiracy to side an incumbent govt over the next unknown for economic purposes.

The damaging disclosure was not made not by S’pore govt or LKY to further any economic objectives but (embarrassingly for S’pore Govt) by WikiLeaks.

Surely Wikileaks/Julian Assange (the immediate cause of disclosure) are not also part of the S’pore Govt/Australian Govt/American govt conspiracy to side any govt old or new here.

“nothing on altan* at this moment is also not true. Please see comments of S’pore senior foreign official Kausikan rrevealed in by WikiLeak as reported in The Malaysian Insider by Debra Chong 12th Dec under caption “PM mum on WikiLeaks expose”.

It what LKY believes (based on whatever intelligence he has, reported to him). What LKY believes or not is separate from what is true or not true.

One can believe LKY or disbelieve him – its one’s prerogative. LKY too has the right to his personal beliefs. It is not LKY’s intention to broadcast to the world and get involved in M’lysian politics. It is Wikileaks that leaked confidential excahnges and which also recorded what unflattering things other diplomats or govt leaders said about LKY and otehr world’s leaders.

What is strange is that on one hand we say LKY is brilliant about other matters but when it comes to Wikileaks disclosure about something we dislike we say he’s stupid just because we don’t like his personal/private beliefs to which he as any other person is entitled.

And we would ascribe to LKY the role of conspirator as if this statesman with international reputation – which is why his take/assessment is solicited by Australian American policy analysts- will be bothered about siding the neighbour govt whose leaders they view “incompetent” !

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 1:24 pm

WikiLeaks should be taken for what it is: a disclosure of government leaders/officials’views and assessments intended confidential but somehow exposed, whether one agrees or not depending on one’s view of the credibility of the parson saying it.

Like for example Godfather thinks I am an “implant from our neighbour, or perhaps a member of the Singapore SB” #20 though on other earlier occasions when I said something about not so rosy livelihood of Singaporeans in spite of their high per capita GDP he might say I had something against S’pore!

But that’s OK because people are entitled to whatever they want to believe, and their situational opinion, depending on their bent/tilt of mind.

That’s the way it should be taken when we hear of what was said and assessed by world leaders/officials of one another in WikiLeaks.
    Wikileaks promote transparency to go behind these confidential exchanges. No one says that the opinions expressed are necessarily true or false – just the fact that they are expressed by such and such a person is true!

Whether what that govt leader says is true or not we’ll never know because we have no information of his intelligence sources, in the absence of which, we can only surmise based on our perception of that person’s general integrity of views and opinions and intellectual ability to process information given to him.

24. #24 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 2:33 pm

///What is strange is that on one hand we say LKY is brilliant about other matters but when it comes to Wikileaks disclosure about something we dislike we say he’s stupid just because we don’t like his personal/private beliefs to which he as any other person is entitled. ///

i am not saying he is stupid. moreover, the wikileaks does not pinpoint to any particular leader. no names were mentioned. who on the streets do not know our current leaders are incompetent.

but the people that will get hurt the most thru this wikileaks is anwar. wikileak may say something on this person or that person, but the main target is still anwar.

this is done to weaken support for his party and PR. election is around the corner. now, whether true or not, people will be thinking, wow! anwar did indeed commit sodomy. public perception, with LKY name on it will give more weight on anwar sodomy than najib’s incompetencies. now people will say, i can’t trust anwar.

which country does not use politics to gain businesses or to benefit one’s country or individuals of that country?

do you think they do it out of love for you?

25. #25 by Godfather on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 2:34 pm

“Like for example Godfather thinks I am an “implant from our neighbour, or perhaps a member of the Singapore SB” #20 though on other earlier occasions when I said something about not so rosy livelihood of Singaporeans in spite of their high per capita GDP he might say I had something against S’pore!”

Ah, that’s what a good double agent will say !

26. #26 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 3:04 pm

///now, whether true or not, people will be thinking, wow! anwar did indeed commit sodomy. public perception, with LKY name on it will give more weight on anwar sodomy than najib’s incompetencies. now people will say, i can’t trust anwar./// – Undertaker 888.

What you said is true. However whether that translates into a specific motive on S’pore/LKY’s part to support present govt in favour of and in destabilisation of the new unknown and untried prospect 9for economic benefit) is the issue.

Though, as a general observation, a country is expected to use “politics to gain businesses or to benefit one’s country or individuals of that country, there is no evidence to make that quantum leap in inference to impute that either S’pore or LKY has that specific motive for LKY to hold or express such a view to the Australian/Americans via confidential diplomatic cables, not intended at any time to be disclosed to the world at large, but for the expected and exceptional case of WikiLeaks doing it with all collateral damage to Anwar being unintended consequence.

And there is also no suggestion/evidence that WikiLeaks has an economic or other interest in Malaysian politics to be part of any one’s agenda (but its own) to so leak to meet S’pore alleged economic objectives/agenda, without consent of S’pore/American or Australian authorities.

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 3:23 pm

LKY’s opinion was probably expressed well before WikiLeaks hacked Pentagon’s encrypted codes and whistle blew. It was an opinon/private assessment expressed under conditions of strict confidentality. It was not intended to be disclosed to the world at large; certainly it was not expressed for Malaysian voters/electorate for the conspiracy theory to be credible. And if the conspiracy theory were credible, the S’pore official opinons will not, in neutral way, make reference to just not ‘incompetent’ leaders but the other broadside on “Altantuya” by S’pore senior foreign official Kausikan (in WikiLeaks) as reported in The Malaysian Insider by Debra Chong 12th Dec under caption “PM mum on WikiLeaks expose” that I earlier mentioned for your reference.

28. #28 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 3:33 pm

The suggestion that the Wikileaks expose on Anwar is a ploy by LKY and the Singapore government to discredit Malaysian opposition is highly implausible, unless LKY could predict in 2008 what Julian Assange would do two years later.

Malaysia is clearly not specifically targetted by Wikileaks as it has made damaging revelations about US, UK, China etc. over the past few weeks.

29. #29 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 3:44 pm

I’m surprised that Jeffrey’s very reasonable view is not shared by many people. It seems that blind loyalty exists both among BN and PR hard-core supporters.

30. #30 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 4:13 pm

///And there is also no suggestion/evidence that WikiLeaks has an economic or other interest in Malaysian politics to be part of any one’s agenda (but its own) to so leak to meet S’pore alleged economic objectives/agenda, without consent of S’pore/American or Australian authorities.///

wikileaks may not have economic interest or malaysian politics, but other’s with hidden agenda might.

wikileaks could be used to intentionally leak information to make it carry more weight. wikileaks with no affiliation to any government, may seem more real than coming from the horses mouth itself.

///I’m surprised that Jeffrey’s very reasonable view is not shared by many people. It seems that blind loyalty exists both among BN and PR hard-core supporters.///

well, if people dont share your view, then it is blind loyalty? what difference between you and umno then? i guessed you must have found anwar guilty now before the end of the trial just bcos wikileaks say so. Then to those pulling the strings, their tricks already got the better of you.

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 4:14 pm

Thanks Wang Yen, re your comments which, as always, contribute to objectivity in public discourse here.

32. #32 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 4:42 pm

i am not sure why i am being moderated….no bad words, no nothing but still get moderated….

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 4:48 pm

Besides length, sometimes certain words automatically trigger the moderation. Its an automatic mechanism that operates relying on human agency to later lift the moderation, which may take short or long time and sometimes never, lost in cyberspace. Perhaps you can re-try, change a few words, rearrange format whilst retaining content and re-post.

34. #34 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 4:54 pm

Blind loyalty is reasonably suspected when one suggests highly implausible conspiracy theory which requires incredible assumptions such as LKY could predict what Julian Assange would do or perhaps had an alternative plan to leak it by other means, that Wikileaks has an axe to grind vis-a-vis Malaysia when it has revealed things that hurt US, UK, China…, and that Singapore officials are so stupid as to defeat their own purpose of propping up a corrupt and incompetent BN (to ensure their superiority to Malaysia) by making damning remarks about both Najib and Anwar.

Neither Jeffrey nor I have said that LKY or Singapore is right in what they say about Anwar. So the issue of finding Anwar guilty before trial does not arise. Jeffrey has clearly and helpfully separated this issue from the issue of whether the Wikileaks expose is a ploy by the Singapore government to discredit PR. The latter is the focus of the discussion here.

35. #35 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 4:56 pm

//The so-called ‘leaked documents’ said in a meeting in 2008, one Bilahari had lamented the “lack of competent leadership” as “a real problem for Malaysia”, and suggested that Najib “prevail politically” to avoid prosecution over alleged links to Alta*****uya.

“Najib has his neck on the line in connection with a high-profile case”, the documents quoted Bilahari as saying.///

who on the streets do not know this before? we dont need wikileaks to tell us this. this is old news. RPK has been saying this for dont know how many months ago. but with wikileaks revealing it, give it more weight is it not?

as is, the main target is still anwar. unless, some pictures from wikileaks on altan*****ya.

36. #36 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 4:57 pm

…suggests A highly implausible conspiracy theory…

37. #37 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 5:12 pm

//Blind loyalty is reasonably suspected when one suggests highly implausible conspiracy theory which requires incredible assumptions such as LKY could predict what Julian Assange would do or perhaps had an alternative plan to leak it by other means, that Wikileaks has an axe to grind vis-a-vis Malaysia when it has revealed things that hurt US, UK, China…, and that Singapore officials are so stupid as to defeat their own purpose of propping up a corrupt and incompetent BN (to ensure their superiority to Malaysia) by making damning remarks about both Najib and Anwar. ///

they do not need to predict. all they need to do is to intentionally leak and and let it be intercepted. you dont need rocket science for this or using a crystal ball to see if Julian will act.

what bilahari is saying about najib are all old news. who on the street does not know his link to alt*****a? what other damage could be done to him?

what kind of malaysia could be a threat to singapore? a corrupt and incompetent malaysia or a lean and mean malaysia?

as is, the main target is anwar.

38. #38 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 5:27 pm

For the conspiracy theory involving Singapore to hold water, it depends on who intentionally leaked it to Wikileaks or allowed it to be intercepted by Julian Assange or his minions. Singapore? Australia? US?

According to Undertaker888’s theory, the country that has an axe to grind against the Malaysian opposition should be US, as the information was hacked by Wikileaks from a US diplomatic cable rather than from Singapore.

Or is he suggesting that Singapore persuaded the US to inentionally allow this particulary cable to be intercepted by Wikileaks?

39. #39 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 5:31 pm

Well, Anwar’s supporters say that people in the streets already know that Najib is linked to the murder. Likewise, BN supporters say that people in the streets already know that Anwar is guilty of what he is accused of. Ibrahim Ali has just said something like that, according to Malaysiakini.

40. #40 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 5:52 pm

//Or is he suggesting that Singapore persuaded the US to inentionally allow this particulary cable to be intercepted by Wikileaks?///

why is this not possible?

41. #41 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 5:54 pm

oops… this PARTICULAR…

42. #42 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 5:59 pm

The conspiracy theory is getting wilder.

43. #43 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 6:03 pm

‘…why is this not possible?’

All logically consistent conspiracy theories, however implausible, improbable, unreasonable, and incredible, are logically possible.

It’s not difficult to write logically consistent fables.

44. #44 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 6:32 pm

Here’s more conspiracy theory for you.

Why would MACC only meet Bala in Singapore and no where else?

The top terrorist In southeast Asia escaping from Singapore maximum security prison and cross the strait to Malaysia? Highly improbable and implausible?

And where is that WMD? Go figure.

45. #45 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 6:54 pm

The WMD thing has to do with the truth of the content of intelligence reports.

As Jeffrey and I have repeatedly emphasised, this is separate from the issue of whether the leak of a particular content is a ploy. We have been discussing the latter.

46. #46 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 7:36 pm

//The WMD thing has to do with the truth of the content of intelligence reports.///

does not matter what report. the end result of this remained the same. anwar may not be dead like saddam, but the ploy is to finish him off politically to end any chance for the opposition to have a grip on power.

if the oppostion managed to take over and run this country as good and effecient as singapore without the ketuanan cr@p, who in the long run, do you think, will lose out? 1RM could be equal to 3 sing dollar. talents will be reversing back to malaysia. economically, singapore would be on the losing end as well.

why not keep the status quo and prolonged their edge over malaysia?

as for the US, better to have a corrupt muslim country who are aligned to them than having to deal with PAS which they do not know how PAS would behave when in power. better to keep the status quo than ending up like Iran or any so-called “rogue” islamic country.

Implausible and improbable?

do you think these nations care about our welfare, our kids future and what not? their own interest and survival come first. we are expandable.

this is exciting time in malaysian political landscape.

47. #47 by undertaker888 on Monday, 13 December 2010 - 7:56 pm

and a mere leaks to wikileaks could make all these happened. let wikileaks do what they are good at and let the show begin.

dont need any double-O agent to get this achieved.

48. #48 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 14 December 2010 - 1:18 am

Whoever leaks or accuse just show the concrete proof by all means to set the record straight and do lest with the wild conspiracy theory unnecassarily.Talk is cheap no matter how smart,tricky,gloss or what not.Proof it for all to convince.I don’t give the damn which vvip or toilet cleaner say so.Anyway does god discriminate sodomite,gay,lesbian ect.What is worst than corrupted,racist and nation destroyer i.e. katak i.wear.bra.him,father racist of tanah tumpah negara mamak ku ku and the gangs?This universal earth is rotating around itself meanwhile circling around the sun like globalisaton is taking its place so why are we still playing along with umno religion card game.Everbody knows the biggest sin is to plunder rakyat money to make rakyat suffer more so why this so called religion issue come to conscience.Which do you think really bother u as concerned citizen?