In the military, the non-Malay is ridden like a horse

Written by Major (Rtd) D.Swami
Friday, 26 November 2010
Centre for Policy Initiatives

Defence Minister Ahmad Zahid Hamidi remarked that non-Malays shun a military career because they lacked patriotism. His sense of history and of the contributions of the Chinese, Indians and our brothers from East Malaysia towards the sovereignty of Malaysia leaves something to be desired. Zahid’s is a racist and bigoted view, pure and simple.

I’ve previously blogged about the winners of valour awards, not including those who had laid down their lives, are maimed, and not forgetting the non-Malay police officers.

I guess when the Chinese and Indians were bleeding and dying for this country, Zahid might just have been a dirty glint in his father’s eyes. I am not insulting this dull fellow, just that this shallow-minded individual needs some input regarding who was the first Malaysian to be awarded the Pingat Gagah Berani. He was a Chinese! Sergeant Chong Yong Chin PGB of the First Federation Regiment.

Dey Zahid, I suppose you did not know that. Insults have to be politely reciprocated with civility, I am doing just that.

Did you not know who was the first recipient of the Pingat Gagah Berani in the Congo? That person too was a Chinese, Lieutenant Lee Ah Pow PGB, read about how shoddily he was treated too! It had to take Brigadier R.S. Noronha of the Indian army (during a UN peacekeeping mission in Congo) to recommend him for an award. Lt Lee had shown exemplary courage and tremendous restraint under fire, yet his own Malaysian high command overlooked his valour.

There was another young Chinese officer, Lt David Fu Chee Meng, who too was awarded the PGB at the Battle of Tanah Hitam.

So those guys were not patriotic enough for you? Here is my favourite, someone I know personally, Sergeant Choo Woh Soon PGB, my wife’s uncle. The short guy in the centre of the photo is Sergeant Choo Woh Soon PGB. This guy, patriotic enough for you?

How about this Indian officer and Chinese soldier dying together to save your sorry butt from the commies? Captain Shanmuganathan PGB and 207770 Ranger Mat Isa bin Hassan PGB, do not be deceived by the name Mat Isa, he was a Chinese.

How about this Indian officer who laid down his life at the ripe old age of 24? Captain Mohana Chandran al Velayuthan (200402) Seri Pahlawan Gagah Perkasa. Not patriotic enough for you? Here is another Indian who got the PGB, Second Lieutenant Panir Chellvum a/l Velaithan PGB. Still not patriotic enough for you?

M’sian soldiers burn cross

How about this where a sorry excuse for an officer caused the death of 13 Italian airmen in the Congo. The Malay Major had shirked his responsibilities of providing the airmen with protection, placed them in danger by ordering them to be brought to the mess and allowed them to be captured by the rebels. The Major then further disgraced himself by ordering all the officers and men at the mess to surrender their weapons to the rebels who had surrounded them, which they did sheepishly.

Malaysia’s name had to be salvaged in this incident by Second Lieutenants N.H. Siebel PGB and Captain Maurice Lam PGB, notice their names, they were non-Malays.

How about the time in Bosnia where soldiers desecrated a Catholic Cross? Again the situation was salvaged by the non-Malays. For posterity I have another link here about how the then Defence Minister Najib Razak excused the burning of Croation Catholic cross by two Malaysian UN peacekeepers stationed in Bosnia-Herzegovina as “unintentional”.

I will not even talk about the vandalising of the Hoba meteorite in Namibia.

Here is another Indian, who after serving a total of 29 years in both the police force and the army is denied his pension. The reason being he did not attend the weapons course and tactics course. What weapons and tactics course, when he and his men wiped out the remnants of the enemy in Selangor. What would his unshaved instructors teach him? Read about him, Captain Courageous aka Mukhtiar Singh s/o Sodagar Singh.

In any other army in the world today, they would have cited Mukhtiar Singh for courage and piled honours on him without any questions asked. Unfortunately he is an Indian in Malaysia, get that Zahid?
Here is a picture of an all Chinese group of Kinta Valley Homeguards who fought the Malayan Communist Party. More pictures here.

The problem with people like Ahmad Zahid Hamidi is he does not know about people like these Chinese and Indians who were willing to die for Malaysia unconditionally. They only wanted to be treated fairly. The current situation is like “some people are more equal than others”.

East M’sians discriminated against

People like Zahid are wind bags, full of foul air and all empty talk.

If you notice the minorities were significant in numbers in the forces when Malaysia was in danger, from the Japanese occupation of Malaya, the Emergency, Confrontation and the subsequent Emergency until the cessation of hostilities by the Malayan Communist Party.

Remember the Communist Party of Malaya did not surrender. It was a treaty for the cessation of hostilities. Freeing our Great Leader to push his agenda of Ketuanan Melayu, subsequently his achievements were … I shall just cite one, i.e. the amazing statement that Anwar Ibrahim socked himself in the left eye to gain public sympathy and give the police a bad name. Mahathir could not do many of the things he has done if the Malayan Communist Party was on the warpath as it would increase their numbers. Zahid, being an ardent fan of this old goat, is still playing to the gallery.

Soldiers who have served, the non-Malays, know what it is to be discriminated against because of their race and religion. Even the Bumiputras of Sabah and Sarawak are discriminated against, as most of them are Christians.

While at this, being an ex-soldier and all, I have seen many East Malaysian officers serving in combat units. Why did not any one of them make it to General? Not good enough?

Look at how brave, loyal and patriotic they are. See in the archives for the records I’ve compiled. After seeing the results of the Sibu ‘buy elections’, where the BN lost, I guess they saw the writing on the wall and recently promoted an Iban officer to become the first Iban who made it to General, Stephen Mundaw, in September this year.

Anyway that is peanuts, East Malaysians should demand and expect at least a 4-star General from amongst the Ibans, whose bodies have been littered across the battle fields in Malaysia. Their courage and ferocity in battle is unmatched.

Lack of promotion prospects

After having served many years and plodding along, being bypassed by juniors and incompetents, there are so many grievances. There is not enough space to write it all at one go. Is it not heart wrenching? You expect patriotism to burn brightly in the hearts of the non-Malays when our children are discriminated by virtue of race and religion?

Treat everyone equally on a level playing field and you will not need to ask for the non-Malays to defend this country. The numbers would be so huge that you would have to send most of them back.

In the military, the non-Malay is ridden like a horse, for the greater benefit of the majority. No rewards, when it comes to promotions and benefits … they forget you. You know about the old race horse, that it runs until it drops dead or is put out to pasture. Most non-Malays make it to the rank of Major, I am sure you have heard this before, about the infamous glass ceiling. That is the rank you have to be happy with.

You are not promoted on merit. I know of guys who can barely speak English but become Generals. During my time all the courses were in English. Ask the ex and serving non-Malays about the subtle hints to convert. They do not even respect your faith by suggesting that. If they’re always hinting to you that you should convert, it means they look down on you.

Religious and racial discrimination go hand in hand.

I have also had the privilege of seeing a General’s knees tremble, when he stepped out of my Infantry Fighting Vehicle (IFV) as I helped him down. This was after an exchange of fire. I was the escort commander and he was riding in my IFV in Somalia.

A hundred non-Malays would, without hesitation and asking questions, charge a hill of 10,000 enemies to defend their country, Malaysia, if you treated them and their offspring as Malaysians and not as dhimmis and second-class citizens.

I could continue shellacking Ahmad Zahid until the cows come home but it is us who are to be blamed. He is the MP for Bagan Datuk, Perak. Those of us who continue supporting MCA and the MIC, are actually getting him elected year in, year out. Your votes have made him arrogant. If you notice his majority is actually shrinking. So the strongest message for the Defence Minister would be to boot this racist Umno supremacist out of Parliament in the next general elections.

Never forget.
————————————————————————–
This article, first published Nov 12, is taken from the blog Seventh Rangers (Mech) and reproduced here with the author’s permission and some minor editing by CPI.

1. #1 by hans10 on Friday, 26 November 2010 - 7:14 pm

well written article. malaysia is on the verge of destruction being run by these arrogant idiots

2. #2 by otadura on Friday, 26 November 2010 - 7:26 pm

As much as I don’t like and totally what Zahid has said,I don’t think he meant it to the previous generation..He was talking about the current young generation..Pardon me,but I think this writing is a bit out of Zahid’s context..

3. #3 by otadura on Friday, 26 November 2010 - 7:27 pm

*totally object

4. #4 by HJ Angus on Friday, 26 November 2010 - 7:41 pm

Excellent article…I salute you!
    Thank you for serving Malaysians despite all the hardships.

5. #5 by raven77 on Friday, 26 November 2010 - 11:00 pm

They are ridden like horses in every sector of the Malaysian civil service….

Non Malays have been cheated of their rights by these yellow bellied crooks …the time to talk may be over soon. The Ibans especially are not going to take this lying down anymore….

Every urban city backs the opposition now. The BN stays in power only because of downrght rigging in elections and disarray in he opposition…

Shutting out the very people who toiled for this nation with their blood, sweat and tears to be eventually treated as second class citizens will have its consequences …and that day inches closer….if old soldiers have to rise to set this country right again…so be it.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 12:18 am

Defence Minister Ahmad Zahid Hamidi must not simply blame the non-Malays for being unpatriotic before finding out the true reasons.

7. #7 by wanderer on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 12:23 am

They say, if you can’t beat them, join them!….[deleted]

8. #8 by dawsheng on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 3:53 am

Manifesto against conscription and the military system.

http://www.themanifesto.info/

9. #9 by Comrade on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 7:15 am

A piece of advice to one and all
    United we stand, divided we fall
    Esp to Zahid Hamidi and the like
    Treat everybody exactly alike
    Be reputable, do not talk cheap
    Always ‘look before you leap’

10. #10 by Thor on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 9:34 am

That’s the problem with these people.
    The more “Umnoian” they are, the more annoying they really are.
    When became minister, they’re even more worse than any kind.
    These are the “trademark” of MahaDevil.
    You’ve to be arrogant, liars, robber, bully and whatever that’s against the ten commandment.
    You’ve to act like god and be a devil!
    These sorts of people think that they can get off with all the sins that they’ve committed.
    Wait till the day, when they really fall.

11. #11 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 9:50 am

umno people like zahid are a bunch of cowards and kowtow king traitors. they kowtow to the japanese during the war. they kowtow to the british. they only acted big when faced their own countrymen with no weapons. this is what we called bully kecik.

if there is a war in malaysia, they wooud be first to tuck tail and run. so much for their patriotism.

• #12 by Thor on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 10:37 am

If there’s war in Malaysia, I’ll run faster than that taik (zahid) and I’m not joking.
      Why fight for this country when you’re always been treated as a “pendatang”.
      Not worth sacrifying our lives for those “ketuanan” buggers.
      Just remember that we’re always “Satu Pendatang”, in the eyes of Umno!

12. #13 by Cinapek on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 10:27 am

“…I have also had the privilege of seeing a General’s knees tremble, when he stepped out of my Infantry Fighting Vehicle (IFV) as I helped him down…..”

I cannot help chuckling as I tried to imagine the scene. Here is a “general” who had joined the army for the glamour of the uniform knowing full well he will have a good chance to make it to rank of general with little risk of facing live bullets from an enemy that shoots back because Malaysia is not likely to be at war. Suddenly he is asked to play soldier and never having faced a baptism of a real battle with live ammunition, he chickens out.

Dear Major, besides his trembling knees, you should check his pants too. Probably wet through. This kind of “courage” also explains the Major who caused the death of the 13 Italian airmen. I have a non Malay classmate who joined the army and as an officer took part in many armed conflicts against the Communists on the Thai border. He had the highest regard for their courage and perseverance. He only had contempt for his own soldiers who had joined the Armed Forces for the same reasons as the Major and General. He could not rely on them in a real gunfight because more than once his men had deliberately move away in the opposite direction when they found out that the enemy was approaching. Their answer to him was why should they sacrifice their lives for the RM300+ monthly salary, which was the pay for foot soldiers then. Needless to say, he quit the Armed Forces the moment he reached the glass ceiling.

13. #14 by dagen on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 11:33 am

Dear D.Swami and a very loud Dey to you.

Do you not realise that patriotism lies within the restricted realm of umnoputras’ ketuanan rights and privileges? Patriotism jenis umno has nothing to do with contributions and sacrifices made for the betterment of the nation. Instead it has everything to do with umno and umnoputras only. Have you forgotten that you are but a decendant of a certain beggar, just like those others whom you named in the write-up, who were decendants of some prostitutes? The BTN made this point clear beyond doubt. Melayu (meaning umnoputras) is the supreme race of the world. So who are you to complain. Buzz off will ya to the place of your ancestors’ origin. Otherwise just shut up and be grateful and remember to let some tears flow everytime an umnoputra passes by.

14. #15 by cemerlang on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 11:50 am

Watch move tv series, soap operas. Written stories based on reality. The stories are not the reality but they are based on reality or else where do you get your inspiration from. Put it this way. Malaysia has a population of 27 million plus. Now you will know a lot about the Prime Minister and you will know about one of the richest men in Malaysia. But do you know the ordinary person on the street ? The Prime Minister had chicken pox and except for those few, many Malaysians know he had that. But how many Malaysians will know that there is someone now having chicken pox ? Same for the high profile politician. Who suffers from depression because he cannot get into the civil service ? What is his name ? Where does he stay ? Why he could not get into the civil service ? No, you do not know because there are so many barriers that hinder you from knowing. No, you do not know because your chief secretary did not tell you because he himself does not know. 1.2 million civil servants. Out of that, only those few get that near to you the politicians. The complaints only reach that level. After that it never get through to you the high profile politician. That is why when you speak it is all fart because you do not know the actual situation but you think you know it all and so you speak and speak and speak and others just wonder. Who are we to tell you that Sir, Madam, you are wrong.

15. #16 by k1980 on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 12:20 pm

chicken pox ?

More likely he was boxed by a ‘chick’ he was playing around with

16. #17 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 1:08 pm

Because of that Malay Major (of 6th Malay Regiment) whilst peace keeing under UN banner in Congo, the 13 Italian Airmen (mistaken by Congolese to be Belgians) were abducted by Congolese rebels, shot dead, their bodies butchered and sold as meat at the market in Kindu during its festivities. This information corroborated that of two liaison Officers from the UN. The incident of 12th November 1961 was a day of infamy in the annals of Malaysian Military History.

As a result of this, all Malayan Troops were relieved of frontline duties and placed to do rear echelon duties, such as guarding ammo dumps and key installations. In one stroke disgrace had descended on the whole Malayan Special Force. The rest of the UN Forces, lost their respect for Malayan Troops and did not trust them.

Captain Maurice Lam and 2Lt N.H. Siebel went against the orders of their senior officer (the Major), disobeyed him to preserve the honor of their unit. They saved the lives of the men and equipment, namely the 14 Armored Ferret Scout cars and the two aircraft, which had they followed the orders of the Major, would have been taken by the Congolese, what might have resulted would have been even more tragic. Both Captain Maurice Lam and 2Lt N.H.Siebel were bestowed the “Pingat Gagah Berani” for valour by the King, His Majesty Tuanku Syed Putra ibni Al-Marhum Syed Hassan Jamalullai at the Tunku Abdul Rahman Hall in Ampang, Kulau Lumpur on the 5th of June 1963.

However the Major later rose to become a four star and was appointed as the Force Commander of UNOSOM 2 in Somalia was with Regular Intake 3.

Ref: http://www.thebluehelmets.ca/documents/Congo%20Kindu%20Airport.pdf

17. #18 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 1:20 pm

We must ask that ex Air force sergeant T Tharmendran, charged for theft of two fighter jet engines in 2007 at the RMAF base in Subang. He alleged he was made to wear a motor cycle helmet and banged with golf stick. That day he came out of the court and the air force personnel hauled him away in full view of several police personnel who were at the court compound.

18. #19 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 2:09 pm

Ahmad Zahid Hamidi should visit Tun Lim Chong Eu and sy it to his face he is not a complete patriot like all Chinese and Indian Malaysians.

OK, Zahid?

BTW, I guess you Zahid is a product of Muhyiddin’s history course which I hope he doesn’t introduce into malysian schools.

19. #20 by boh-liao on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 7:00 pm

TQ 4 d great piece of writing
    Yeah, NEVER FORGET
    Dis kind of information MUST b in our history book, not d twisted info fr racist UmnoB
    Similar PATRIOTIC contributions fr nonMalay Malaysians r plenty in all other national services
    Down with racist Ahmad Zahid Hamidi n UmnoB

20. #21 by tak tahan on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 9:05 pm

Ahmad Zahid Hamidi should visit Tun Lim Chong Eu and sy it to his face he is not a complete patriot like all Chinese and Indian Malaysians. by endangered hornbill

I supposed the other way round;Tun Lim Chong Eu will command those deceased heros fought in the wars to haunt him

21. #22 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 10:35 pm

the Major who acted so cowardly should have been court-martialled and dismissed in disgrace. Only in Bolehland can he advance further. What does the Defence Minister have to say about this incident?
    After all, it is in the annals of military history.

22. #23 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 1:00 am

the major would surrender his family in a split second if the congolese rebels demanded it. he is shaking with fear when it is one on one. not so brave after all. wonder how will umno historian spin this into a phony glory.

when it comes to unarmed rakyat, they would behave like gangsters and show their kurang ajar attitude. buli kecik boleh la.

23. #24 by PoliticoKat on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 4:45 am

otadura :
    As much as I don’t like and totally what Zahid has said,I don’t think he meant it to the previous generation..He was talking about the current young generation..Pardon me,but I think this writing is a bit out of Zahid’s context..

If you think this is out of context, think again. The people talked about here belong to my grandfather’s and father’s generation.

After experiencing such treatment, what do you think your father would say to you? Who he say, “son, join the army/police/navy?”

He would say, as my father and uncles have advised my cousins and I, is to study hard and not serve the arm forces. It isn’t worth it.

Unpatriotic? Perhaps, but it is difficult to serve a country which has such contempt for your presence both inside and outside the force.

And this say a lot coming from an police brat like myself or my army brats cousins. We are the first people who would defend the armed forces and last to say bad word against it. And I still maintain it is all the fault of politicians for poisoning the force and malaysian society in general with racial agendas.

24. #25 by raven77 on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 9:10 am

The whole problem started when the Mamak lowered the standards and let many kampong bumpkins become kapitans overnight. They eventually became policy makers in every ministry, school, hospital, military, judiciary, police, macc, university, etc etc. etc

When these fools were found out, they not only kept the bright non-Malays out but even kept the bright Malays out….and the Mamak kept supporting them…for without these kampong Malays …how to win or rig the elections…..

The Mamak’s strategy worked and…heck.its still working…and the rest as they say…is history….

25. #26 by k1980 on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 11:12 am

Ahmad Zahid, please tabulate the number of Malays, Chinese, Indians and others who died resisting the Japanese occupation 1941-1945. Then you will know who the real patriots are.

26. #27 by on cheng on Monday, 29 November 2010 - 1:36 pm

Fact: they dont have enough qualified ppl to operate modern equipment/weapons

27. #28 by on cheng on Monday, 29 November 2010 - 1:39 pm

Not enough qualified ppl to do maintenance as well, etc, etc.

28. #29 by good coolie on Tuesday, 30 November 2010 - 12:17 am

I’m going to vote for Barisan next elections. This is because I am a masochist who loves to be a second-class citizen. Child of the bottle I am, in the company of mata sepits. As for those of you who believe in the Merdeka style equality, please remember, mee is no more 10 cents a plate!

29. #30 by Ray on Wednesday, 1 December 2010 - 11:30 am

AZH ,,ask you this ??….Is RMAF has a strong Brain drained team to defense MalaySai safely ??? …using Umnoputras asshole-big mouths to do spo okay lah !! ya..ya!!
    Obviously Zahid is asking for terrific defeat…..surrender Malaysai to yr foes within the first few day definitely.
    How to encourage Non Maly role in nation defense role with this Numb Skull Defense Minsiter and institution in the first place…ayo yo!!! cheerio