Malaysians abroad keeping the government under watch

by Sydney Sasson
November 23, 2010

Dear Deputy Foreign Minister Pillay,

We read with interest your latest statements in the Dewan Rakyat today that the Malaysian government is keeping Malaysians abroad under watch.

Guess what? Malaysians abroad are keeping the Malaysian government under watch too. Its encouraging to know that a number of civil society initiatives and solidarity actions taken by Malaysians overseas in the past year have been noticed by the Malaysian government.

It means that all those days of braving the cold and rain to protest against the archaic Internal Security Act and government corruption, and writing to various overseas Members of Parliament and lobbying politicians, the United Nations Human Rights Council, the Commonwealth Human Rights Council, the overseas press and international civil society organisations to alert them to the worrying state of human rights in Malaysia has not been in vain.

When will we stop protesting, letter writing, lobbying, campaigning and keeping the Malaysian government under watch?

When the Malaysian government starts listening to the voice of the people and restoring social justice and democracy to the citizens of Malaysia.

When the Malaysian government starts behaving like elected and paid servants of the rakyat, rather than lawless, corrupt political masters.

When the Malaysian government stops spending RM1.8 million of the Malaysian tax payers money on luxury holidays to Disneyland.

When the Malaysian government abolishes the Internal Security Act and stops using it to suppress freedom of thought, speech and association.

When the Malaysian government stops using the University College and Colleges Act to penalise students who choose to observe or participate in the socio-political life of our nation.

When the Malaysian government stops arresting peaceful candle light vigil protestors and throwing grandmothers in jail.

When the Malaysian government stops exerting absolute control over the media and using the Press and Printing Act 1985 to stamp out free speech.

When the Malaysian government stops stripping the judiciary of its independence and autonomy.

When the Malaysian government stops torture and murder in detention.

When the Malaysian government starts to recognise and uphold the rights of migrant workers and refugees.

When the Malaysian government stops institutionalised racism.

When the Malaysian government stops recklessly threatening that a challenge to their 53 years of BN rule will result in “crushed bodies” and “lost lives”.

Listen – loosing an election is not the worst thing in the world. This is politics — some days you win, some days you loose. When you don’t win, you retreat gracefully to the sidelines, show some statesmanship and rebuild and strengthen your team. You reflect on why you may have lost the popular support of the people and you try to adapt and improve accordingly. You form a shadow cabinet, you develop progressive policies and wait for the next election to once again capture the imagination and hearts of the people.

So get real and grow up, BN. No one party can rule for over 50 years and not be considered a despot.

When the Malaysian government stops plundering and cheating our brother and sisters in Sabah and Sarawak of their native customary rights and rich and beautiful heritage.

When the Malaysian government stops throwing cartoonist in jail.

Dear Deputy Foreign Minister Pillay, why do you think over a million Malaysians abroad choose to reside overseas?

Because they cherish their basic civil liberties and human rights which are all too often trampled on back home. Because they hold dear the fact that the most important ingredients to success are in fact talent and hard work, not the colour of your skin.

Because they acknowledge that any truly developed and civilised society emphasises the importance of high quality education, healthcare and social equity, not merely the senseless pursuit of obscene wealth and 100-storey vanity projects.

You claim that ‘irresponsible people are tarnishing the good name of Malaysia’. We beg to differ. In our opinion, the only one tarnishing the good name of Malaysia is the Malaysian government itself. The only traitors in this whole saga, are the politicians who have betrayed the citizens who elected them. And this is why Malaysians abroad are standing in solidarity with their fellow citizens back home to demand good governance, justice, accountability and transparency. Till then, please let Prime Minister Najib and his cabinet know that you are all under watch.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 11:08 am

I watch you, you watch me. This is politics business.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 11:17 am

///When will we stop protesting, letter writing, lobbying, campaigning and keeping the Malaysian government under watch?///

When the government stops its impending move to define sedition law for cyberspace.

3. #3 by k1980 on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 11:37 am

http://maverickysm.blogspot.com/2010/11/tale-of-kulai-student.html

It was the first day of a school in Kulai, Johor and a new Chinese student named Chong Shan entered Standard four.

The teacher said, “Let’s begin by reviewing some Malaysian History. Who said ‘Merdeka, Merdeka”

She saw a sea of blank faces, except for Chong Shan who had his hand up: ‘Tengku Abdul Rahman, 31 August 1957’.

‘Very good! Who said ‘China’s communist-authoritarian rule is more effective than the ‘democracy’ practiced in Malaysia?”

Again, no response except from Chong Shan. ‘Mamakkutty from Kerala,
    2010’.

The teacher snapped at the class, ‘Boys, you should be ashamed. Chong Shan, who is classified as a pendatang to our country, knows more about our history than you do.’

She heard a loud whisper: ‘@#$** ___ the Chinese.’

‘Who said that?’ she demanded. Chong Shan put his hand up. ‘Perkasa Chief, Ibrahim Ali.’

Now furious, another student yells, ‘Yeah, I am Malay first, Malaysian second!’

Chong Shan jumps out of his chair waving his hand and shouts to the teacher, ‘Muhyideen Mohd Yassin, 2010’.

At that point, a student in the back said, ‘Correct, correct, correct!’

The teacher glares around and asks ‘All right! Now, who said that?’

Again, Chong Shan says, ‘Lawyer VK Lingam in a telephone conversation brokering the appointment of top judges with the former Chief Justice.’

Now with almost mob hysteria someone said, ‘I am not ashamed to admit that I cannot compete with the Chinese and Indian students.’

Chong Shan frantically yells at the top of his voice, ‘Mamakkutty from Kerala in Medical College.’

The teacher fainted.

And as the class gathered around her on the floor, someone said, ‘Oh shit, we’re screwed!’

And Chong Shan said softly, ‘I think it was Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan, 2008’.

4. #4 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 11:59 am

///When will we stop protesting, letter writing, lobbying, campaigning and keeping the Malaysian government under watch?///

Totally stop we can’t;cause no party is perfect.
    When nkkhoo and BN gangs started digesting all the relevant reports,truly realised and repent as not to be supportive to the unscrupulous plunderers and racists acts;we will do less lobbying,campaigning and so on..

5. #5 by House Victim on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 12:16 pm

is SELANGOR GOVERNMENT under watch for its manipulations and siding of Sime UEP being the Developer for Subang Jaya and USJ since 1974?
    on manipulation and misappropriation of Reserved Land?

USJ -Telekom
    http://hannahyeoh.blogspot.com/2010/08/telekom-land-hearing-set-in-october.html

Subang Jaya Town Park
    http://hannahyeoh.blogspot.com/2010/11/taman-subang-ria.html

6. #6 by Comrade on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 12:36 pm

Yes, Umno/BN is the real culprit
    The one tarnishing Malaysia’s good name
    The ruling regime is a hypocrite
    The one completely without shame

How to make our nation better?
    Get stubborn BN out of the way
    Vote in PR the alternative ruler
    With proven ability to save the day

7. #7 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 12:50 pm

While everyone is watching each other, the unfortunate Malaysians will continue to suffer. With due respect, BN government will not listen and you can continue to watch each other until the end of time. Although I am glad that there’s a big sister somewhere watching over us…

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 12:58 pm

Is it part of the strategy of the Government’s Talent Corporation under the 10th Malaysian Plan to create the momentum for skilled educated and talented Malaysians abroad to consider returning home by telling them that the Foreign Ministry like the Russian KGB is keeping them under watch that they do not say or write anything to smear the good name of the country and government leaders???

There was a time it might have made a modicum of sense to frighten those overseas and beyond one’s immediate grasp to try make sure they not write and say anything adverse to government leaders/ images.

That time is gone. We are now in an internet information age where your image good or bad is transmitted instantaneously world wide beyond government’s surveillance.

When a Malaysian expresses an opinion (often under pseudonym) on the World Wide Net of a politician’s words and deeds having effect on the politician’s reputation, whether that effect is good or bad, how significant is it (in terms of the govt’s capacity to monitor) whether the one expressing the opinion is in Malaysia or abroad? So what if he (one of the columnists and bloggers who identifies himself) could be monitored if he makes fair comment and criticism is justified?

At best the government could only monitor Malaysian students abroad and their working papers and theses. If they were beholden under scholarship to the government, sure there’s a measure of control : the Govt. could revoke and stop the flow of scholarship funds.

But Malaysians, after their education, working abroad ? Why they don’t even pay your income tax! And if one is talking of civil society and blogging activist the likes of Raja Petra Kamarudin, they are definitely monitoring the Malaysian government! They watch you and quid pro quo you watch them but it is they who could do the greater damage if you deserve it.

Didn’t Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Aziz himself say Putrajaya could define whatever sedition law for cyberspace but its difficult to enforce (Ref Clara Chooi’s report of 22nd Nov in TheMalaysianInsider).

Why so sensitive? If one wants to have a good name then do good and right by example than harass others who expose your wrong doings or sayings.

None of us is 100% infallible. After all one’s reputation can be good on one issue today, then bad again on another tomorrow so to speak and then good again after that, depending, but of course if there were, over time and manifold examples, more failures than successes, more stupidities than intelligence on balance, then who and what can help if one naturally acquires a reputation of failure and incompetence?

Try to emulate Nazri who said (if one believes him), “I do not care what people say about me…It is very simple… the test is this — if something is said about you and you did not do it, then why get worried? You only get worried when it is true and you tell yourself, oh… how did they know about me?” (Ref – same Clara Chooi’s report cited above).

9. #9 by monsterball on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 1:02 pm

Everyone…..be it in Malaysia or working overseas ..are traitors …when all speak against the government and no one is more truthful than our PM….Najib.
    Tons of messages to exposed these rouges and thieves…yet they want to watch over freedom fighters?
    What a bunch of sick people..these UMNO B corrupted crooks have become.

10. #10 by dagen on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 2:01 pm

I am watching you!
    Says umno through an mic guy.

So what man.
    Huh? So what?
    Watching does not make you good.
    To be good you must do good things.
    Good things like eradicate corruption.
    Reduce crime level.
    Improve our universities’ world standing.
    Revive our economy.

11. #11 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 2:03 pm

Characters like Hitler, Stalin, Mussolini and Kim of North Korea would certainly afraid of others’ comments. If you are a normal person, no one expect you to be Mother Teresa. Yes in today’s world of Facebook and Twitter, you still want to hide behind the translucent certain? I think the whole world knew of our leaders’ quality and behaviour, there is nothing to hide in spite of all the sloganeering process being carried out in the country. we may be able to hookwink the kampong folks locally but certainly not the world!

12. #12 by monsterball on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 2:13 pm

The government watching Malaysian abroad?
    The whole developed world is watching Najib and sodomy case.
    Our government have such a bad reputation…want to watch over others?….for what?
    VOTES is the concern…how many lost how many won by bluffing voters….and how influential are Malaysians abroad over voters.
    Usually the guilty ones watch over every and anything….especially when they still got a razor thin majority win to govern….and daily loosing the confidence of Malaysians.
    That sure get them nightmares and strange dreams.
    CORRUPTIONS can never win.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 2:37 pm

Want to know the truth? The reply to Mr. Sydney Sasson from Malaysian govt is: SO WHAT? What can they do? More importantly, what are they willing to do, how much are they willing to stake against the overwhelming, underhanded power and resources of the BNers??

14. #14 by dagen on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 2:44 pm

Public figures. Yes. That is what they are, exactly. Have they forgotten that? Public figures are always in the public’s eyes. Well what else do they expect? Privacy? Come on. Their words and actions affect the public directly and indirectly. And they want to speak and work in private? Get out of the public eyes then. Resign. Yes. Leave politics if they cant take it. Just be an ordinary citizen. For then they can demand privacy and secrecy and confidentiality. But where they now stand, the whole country would be watching. And commenting too. Condemning as well, for those who hold differing views. And dont forget. The world today is more expressive than before. Kopitiam talks have certainly got much louder now. A fact made possible through technical assistance of course. Dont like that huh? Cant take it? There is always a choice. Stuff the public life man. Pack up and go home. Just leave it to those who can to take over and carry on. Or suffer the embarassment of being booted out.

15. #15 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 3:18 pm

Lots of peeping Toms watching, exciting

16. #16 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 3:55 pm

Nkkhoo probably might worried if his crumbs of bread might be taken away.ISA will provide free meal cuckoo..oops nkkhoo.

17. #17 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 4:03 pm

/// Listen – loosing an election is not the worst thing in the world. This is politics — some days you win, some days you loose. ///

Every which way but lose, oops, loose.

Sydney – you are forgiven for this typo, as everything in Malaysia is loose. We have ministers with loose screws. We have loose laws and rules. And ministers with loose morals.

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 4:22 pm

Malaysians abroad can be better served if they are allowed to vote via the postal ballot.
    The government watching Malaysians abroad? Must be a sick joke when we can’t even get street crime under control and major murder cases go unsolved…
    Since Malaysians cannot vote overseas, they can do the next best thing…..influence 5 persons back home to help change the government.

19. #19 by k1980 on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 4:33 pm

Could those living in Johor Baru certify if the allegations below are true?

http://malaysiakini.com/letters/148934

20. #20 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 4:35 pm

HJ Angus :
    Malaysians abroad can be better served if they are allowed to vote via the postal ballot.

I very much doubt it. Given the experience of massive vote rigging and stuffing in postal votes in Malaysia for soldiers outside their home towns, I think it will be another avenue for BN to stuff the ballot boxes.

21. #21 by logicalmal on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 6:09 pm

What I would like from an elected government – an inclusive society (Malaysian Malaysia), near zero corruption and an efficient civil service. Although the present government is still lacking in many respects, I am not sure if the alliance of PAS/DAP/PKR can be the alternative. Just look at the issues the opposition alliance is fighting for (incidentally, they are all Anwar related) – accountability of “black-eye assault” (Anwar related), blaming the judiciary and calling it kangaroo court (Anwar related – sodomy trial), APCO (Anwar related – he has been accused of befriending the jews so he is hitting back), economy (okay but how to improve if Anwar has been smearing the name of Malaysia abroad?). The ordinary folks do not feel that the opposition are with them. The politics in Malaysia has taken a turn for the worse since Anwar joined the opposition with a lot of confrontational politics. Will the country be better if the loose alliance of PAS/DAP/PKR take over?

22. #22 by Winston on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 6:50 pm

All right folks, for the sake of argument, we all know what is going on in this country under the UMNO/BN government.
    Mr Lim Kit Siang’s blog makes that perfectly clear.
    And the clarity is further bolstered by the fact that many of the probing questions Mr Lim asked in Parliament about any sheninangans are quashed.
    That much we also know.
    Now, let’s say that the PKR party is the weak link in the PR coalition because Anwar seems to be inviting a lot of problems. But we must also know that many of these problems can be conjured up by the Feds out of thin air!
    I am sure that as bloggers, you’re all well informed that the fact is that the BN is very, very desperate to push the PR out of the government and perhaps in the process, grab back the two-thirds majority.
    Then, where would we stand? Where would YOU stand?
    On the other hand, the PR has done a good job, at least in Penang and Selangor and there are more earnest people waiting in the wings of this coaliation to show their mettle.
    So, why not give them a chance to serve.
    At least one term!
    REMEMBER, IT’S YOUR FUTURE AND THAT OF YOUR PROGENIES!

23. #23 by Loh on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 8:04 pm

Patriotism in Malaysia is defined with regard to UMNO. UMNO cares about its image, and so it has a case to stop people telling the truth outside the country.

24. #24 by negarawan on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 8:10 pm

The state of corruption and injustice in UMNO-ruled Malaysia is now beyond repair and only God can help us. Every UMNO-led court case against its political enemies or victims is fully manipulated and covered up by UMNO’s cronies in the judiciary and police force. The outcome of court cased such as Anwar, Teoh Beng Hock, Kugan are all already known upfront. The involvement and help from the international community is very much needed, especially from the US and EU to pressure the corrupted and evil UMNO government. May God bring back justice and peace to Malaysia.

25. #25 by Loh on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 8:11 pm

logicalmal :
    What I would like from an elected government – an inclusive society (Malaysian Malaysia), near zero corruption and an efficient civil service. Although the present government is still lacking in many respects, I am not sure if the alliance of PAS/DAP/PKR can be the alternative. Just look at the issues the opposition alliance is fighting for (incidentally, they are all Anwar related) – accountability of “black-eye assault” (Anwar related), blaming the judiciary and calling it kangaroo court (Anwar related – sodomy trial), APCO (Anwar related – he has been accused of befriending the jews so he is hitting back), economy (okay but how to improve if Anwar has been smearing the name of Malaysia abroad?). The ordinary folks do not feel that the opposition are with them. The politics in Malaysia has taken a turn for the worse since Anwar joined the opposition with a lot of confrontational politics. Will the country be better if the loose alliance of PAS/DAP/PKR take over?

BN is getting from bad to worse. Until they are forced out, there would be no reform. The reform should begin from the party structure. When there are three million members joining an organisation with the one question: what is here for me, corruption will not end. UMNO would reform if it is out in the cold with no state resources to hold the members together.

Pakatan Rakyat appears to be inexperienced in governing, they too would be inexperienced in corrupt perpetration, if they ever want to. They should be given a chance to ensure that two-party system in the country has a starting point.

26. #26 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 8:33 pm

There is no such thing as a perfect government- just see the recent scandals from Singapore’s SLA but over there when anyone is arrested, you can get more than 300 charges stacked against you.
    In Malaysia we have a very defective AG with the NFA files stacking up.
    So I will support voting in a PR government with all the flaws just to examine in finer detail all the mishaps of the Auditor-General’s Report.

27. #27 by logicalmal on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 9:11 pm

Believe me, if there is a better alternative, I will not hesitate to vote for the better alternative. I wrote this on Zaid’s fb,

“It is interesting to refer to Mahathir’s blog dated 16 Aug 2010 points # 2 and 3. Nobody knows Anwar better than his boss for so many years. It is unfortunate that Zaid has to find out the real Anwar the hard way but I am sure that Zaid will come out stronger after this episode. It is worthwhile to give some thoughts on why Mahathir has to take a certain action on Anwar but not his many other ministers. Zaid has done what is right and we hope his many friends in PKR, DAP and PAS will be level headed and not be overcome by the cult mentality – that Anwar is the icon for the opposition. Have confidence in yourself and most Malaysians!”

Somehow, I just do not feel the alliance between DAP/PAS/PKR will last. Can DAP give up a Malaysian Malaysia for an islamic Malaysia? Can PAS give up an islamic Malaysia? Is PKR just another UMNO? I would have preferred DAP to lead the opposition but will PKR agree to it?

28. #28 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 23 November 2010 - 11:19 pm

Can umno give up’malay first,malaysian second’ for malaysian malaysia ideology? ‘Malaysian malaysia ‘is what the core fundamental motto our forebear and we should share and continue to cherish this nation regardless of race and religion.Umno failed in that sense over 50 years; so give PR the mandate is a better alternative choice rather than as it is in this present state-hopeless bolehland.

29. #29 by Winston on Wednesday, 24 November 2010 - 9:03 am

Is suffering for five over decades under a couldn’t care less government not enough?
    You all like to prolong your suffering?
    And hand it down to your future generations as a legacy?
    To be cursed by them forever for being spineless?
    If that be the case, by all means vote for BN!!!

30. #30 by Ray on Wednesday, 24 November 2010 - 2:37 pm

Rakyat deinitely reject BN Govt watch becos no guaranteed of life safety and secure..
    We rather insist our Almighty God to watch and soverriegn over our personal life whom we submitted to for His Glorification …. We praise Thee God for all that you are..Halleluyah

31. #31 by Ray on Wednesday, 24 November 2010 - 2:47 pm

Rakyat deinitely reject BN Govt watch,BTW who ae you ?? nothing at all how can we trust these crawling Umnoputra creatures to …. becos no guaranteed of life safety and secure..
    We rather insist our Almighty God to watch and soverriegn over our personal life whom we submitted to for His Glorification …. We praise Thee God for all that you are..Jesus Is Lord !!Amen ,Halleluyah.
    God Bless you all,Brothers and sisters.

32. #32 by tfwong88 on Wednesday, 24 November 2010 - 4:19 pm

Our fellow people at Batu Sapi and Galas is being fooled into voting for this present BN….look at all the above 50 plus years of mismanagement ….makes us wonder who is watching who. Please use your votes wisely before we lose all our rights as a Malaysian.