Patriotism & the Little Napoleans

By Damian Denis

In 1995/6 after my STPM exams I went to the Penang Police HQ (Penang Rd) to apply for the post of Police Inspector. The requirement was a STPM qualification at that time.

Once there we were given a physical routine check up and those who were qualified were given the application form. Simple as that!

But went it came to my turn the officer in charge refuse to hand-over the application form to me on the basis that my STPM results were good. My physical check up was fine.

He said “kamu tak payahlah masuk polis. Buang masa aje dengan result yg bagus cam tu”. (You don’t need to enter the Police Force. Just a waste of time since you have a good STPM results.)

What the hell? Still, I tried to reason with him that I really wanted to be in the police force and wiling to sacrifice my public university entry for this. He said better don’t waste your time here!

Undeterred, I went to see my relative who was a clerk in the police force then. He told me it’s a dead end and there is no way they will ever hand over the application form to me! That was truly a bombshell!

Here am I trying to give my best to the country but my country refuse my service. And all because the application was ‘hijacked’ by a certain police officer.

I love Law but my STPM result did not allow me to pursue a degree in this line. So, the next best thing for me was to enter the Police force which was about upholding the rule of law.

Now Zahid Hamidi let me ask you this. Who is the un-patriotic one? The police officer or me?

It was those Little Napoleans who stood in my path to serve my country the way I know best. In fact, there could be many others who have had the same experience like I did and I hope you could start to share about it as well.

Let me say this again to you Zahid Hamidi do not underestimate our sense of patriotism to our country. Do not think that we will just stand by idly and do nothing when our country is in danger.

And one of the greatest dangers in Malaysia today is politicians like you who downplay the contribution of other races in nation building. Also, let us not forget that our country is being plundered to the maximum by thieves from your own party and you still have the cheek and gall to talk about patriotism.

It’s total bull-s and your hypocrisy really stinks to the highest heaven. And please do us a big favor by looking at yourself in the mirror before you ever talk about the meaning of patriotism.

Even at that age my sense of duty and patriotism to my country was strong and still is. But when the moment of truth arrived the first step to serve my country was dashed just like that!

Over to you Zahid Hamidi.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 6:37 am

A well drafted letter to Zahid Hamidi. Well done, Denis!

2. #2 by born in Malaya on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 9:53 am

Zahaid Hamidi must reply to this complain otherwise the world will know that Malaysia has a truely racist champion government.
    This is a result of a racist government who divided their own ctizens and later claim certain race is that and this, waste of time!!!!!. Shameless humans and corrupted in any way.

3. #3 by born in Malaya on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 10:04 am

I was driving along Sungai besi toll last month when there was a big traffic jam for 1 hour, when I reached the toll, I saw a few police near the entrace of a clear exit lane and they are waving their hands to the motorist to use that lane. After observing for 15 minutes, I notice that all drivers turn instantly to a jam queue instate of heading to them, a real laughing-stock.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 10:50 am

if one complains too few Non Malays in proportion to the population want to join the army, one must not forget a large portion of the Army is carved out for the Royal Malay Regiment that forms the backbone thereof with 25 battalions.

In line with 1 Malaysia and the call to show patriotism by all races one maintain the Royal Malay Regiment that following its namesake admit only Malays???

If you must maintain the Royal Malay Regiment why not create also the Royal Chinese Regiment, the Royal Indian Regisment and the Royal Dayak Regiment so that Non Malays can join to show their patriotism? What’s wrong since BN its self is a coalition of UMNO MCA & MIC as major component poarties? Instead the govt had disbanded the fearless Sarawak Rangers that lengendary take their enemies “heads”!

5. #5 by monsterball on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 11:05 am

The experiences that Damian Denis have had…have been going on for decades ..experienced by so many thousand minorities..so much so..that it is planted in their minds not to waste time to apply to be a Police Inspector….from parents to children by the minorities.
    They allowed few to join and rejected thousands…and those few with much better qualifications…leadership attitudes must always be prepared to serve under a less educated police officer.
    Almost all Malaysians who have had experiences dealing with the Police Depts. know this too well.
    And Patriotism does not mean must join the Police Force to show that.
    Freedom Fighters are all Patriots…sacrificing their lives for the country in peace time.
    Automatically defending the country and dying by the thousands in war times have been seen by minorities doing that during WW2.
    Yet the minorities contribution to free Malaysia are not known BUT twisted to be enemies instead of being heroes….which started the root of race and religion dirty politics by UMNO..under the disguise too help poor Muslims.
    Worst of all…school children are talked half truths and brainwashed from Std1 to U.
    As much as all those racists in the Govt. want to talk this or that unpatriotic stuffs…55 years of massive corruptions and race discrimination is enough.
    If you listen too much…we may forget to vote UMNO B out solely to stamp out corruptions and double standards living conditions in Malaysia that can only bring Malaysians backward..and never forward and to bankrupt our country…as seen in so many Dictatorship countries.
    Do not let that happen and than believe with regrets for the rest of your lives.
    And it is happening right infront of our eyes daily…yet we are blind?
    Majority Malaysians are not blind and Najib knows UMNO B days are numbered…so much so he uttered his guilt with his famous speech to defend PutraJaya with his life from traitors.
    Who are the traitors?
    Believe in the power of your votes to decide your destiny and value freedom more than money…and all will be going forward with trials and errors..and become smart Malaysians.
    Right now so many half past sixes because so many voters do not think and have become puppets to thieves and robbers with sweets offer to them like dogs.
    Those are the traitors…and you can always leave to UMNO B leaders to blame others with their low class out-date political speeches.
    Why so?…Because they have no choice and must never change and keep hoping more and more Malaysians can be fooled.

• #6 by kris_taming_sari on Wednesday, 17 November 2010 - 7:19 pm

I wanted to joined the ATM which was my childhood dream. The story went like this … in 1982 I applied and called upon to attend one interview in PD so I traveled by train from Butterworth one day before the interview at the age of 18 y.o.
      The interview day- after the whole morning session of checking academic and physical ground everything was fined so I waited awhile and lunched at the ATM PD canteen on the same day … then came one officer right after noon. I was relived when he said “You are in” … but that’s not it… he continued ” I won’t waste your time and ATM time by giving you this form as I know your parents wont approve” … he ended by “Sorry, you can go back now.”

Should I thank him for being frank or should I (deleted) him for deliberately being a racist himself/ATM in this instance ?

Another second horific story while I driving on highway approaching JB sometime Dec 2007, I witnessed one Indian man knocked down by a car hit and run, I stopped and gave aid to the victim. I called for ambulance the person on the other line was a young Malay man who answered my call after few seconds of talking on the line … out of the blues the Malay man asked “if the victim a Malay” … I replied .. no, Indian elderly man. I realized his words “if the victim a Malay” already surprised me his next reply was even shocking “nevermind put him aside you can go we will come” … I asked how long will it take … the worst “eh u ingat kita orang hidup senangkah.. banyak kerja … biar dia mampus lah”. Angry, yes.. I took down the time of racist remarks and filed two police reports after few years of chasing the matter I gave up there are too many of them covering each others ass ..

P/S: I did sent the victim to hospital and informed his family about the HIT AND RUN ACCIDENT.

6. #7 by setu on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 11:27 am

you are lucky to meet the officer-in-charge . . .

what if, after all the trouble of submitting your applications to all these agencies, deliberately, there is no acknowledgement slip sent out, ‘cos the lower ranking LIttle Napoleons can easily push your application form aside to the . . . . . . .

and just imagine for any vacancy or job application
    in these agencies, there are so many string pulling and behind closed doors activities, under the counter submissions, etc. so, what chance have you. . . outsiders . . . all the relatives are in the same agency or department…

7. #8 by monsterball on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 11:45 am

All those methods ans systems to make life difficult for minorities to get application forms are started from the way they think educated by UMNO B.
    They can pick and choose minorities…so can they pick and choose from their own race.
    Corruptions encouraged and making so many Muslims crooked and greedy for money… can never produce fair minded from the majority race.
    It is the strong minded from the majority group who can think are split from the middle…to be god fearing or worship the devil.

8. #9 by Grease Monkey on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 12:06 pm

Dear Damian,
    Mine is similar but it happened when I joined the service.
    We were a group of Naval Engineers, mainly non-Malays who served in the Royal Malaysian Navy from the 70’s till the early 2000. We were ‘Regular Commissioned’ officers with above average degrees from reputable engineering colleges. Being ‘Regular Commissioned’ officers it is not possible to just leave the service as and when you choose. Believe it or not, despite having a degree, even with 1st Class Honours, we were paid MCE/SPM salary scale wages in the Armed Forces. Despite this fact, we continued to serve the Navy with much patriotism and dedication to the extent that our junior engineers even called ‘us stupid’ to have worked so hard and being so patriotic for been paid such a pittance.
    These junior engineers, who joined the Navy in the early 80’s, although given full scholarship like us to do their engineering degree need not be ‘regular commissioned’ and could leave the Navy after 7 years of service for the more lucrative outside world. They even ‘mutinied’ (wrote a letter to the then Defece Minister, our present PM with all their signatures on the same letter) to get a better pay scheme or else they will leave and were rewarded with much higher pay and other perks than their seniors who were ‘regulars’ despite they being our deputies holding lesser responsibilities.
    The PTD, supposedly the cream of the Malaysian Civil Service could not even see the difference. (Not surprising why the S’pore-Malaysia water agreement is so lopsided).

Who is the real patriot, I wonder!

9. #10 by k1980 on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 12:56 pm

//the officer in charge refuse to hand-over the application form to me on the basis that my STPM results were good.//

Betcha you were also not given a place in a public university b’cos “your STPM results were good”

10. #11 by raven77 on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 3:11 pm

I think our politicians have lost control of the country to civil servants….

THis story is repeated in almost every Ministry with politicians just looking on…

The worst affected are the Education MInistry, Judiciary, PWD and Health Ministry….

The government shouldnt waste time and offload immediately the Education and Health Ministries….the private sector should move in and get rid of Little Napoleans and make these two sectors more efficient……

11. #12 by tak tahan on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 7:42 pm

Even non-malays are supermans and batmans,the changes and promotions in civil servants are bleak.The reason is of course again and again selfclaim kautualan must be in totally control.Most of the times lost control;that’s why bolehland jadi tak bolehland langsung.Beh tahan.

12. #13 by tak tahan on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 7:44 pm

#10 correction
    Even non-malays are supermans and batmans,the apllication chances and promotions in civil servants…

13. #14 by danieltkb on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 9:28 pm

dont waste time to talk to a stone,
    it will never understand nor call themself stupic

14. #15 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 10:16 pm

If I am not wrong, a former IGP has only a Diploma from the Police Training Centre in Kuala Kubu Baru.

Possibly our Police Force is one which has very lowly qualified personnel.

I regret to read again in another incident that several robbery suspects including a teenager, were all shot dead ‘in self-defence’.

Why oh why are there NEVER any survivors?

Why are they always armed with parangs and machetes and are always attacking the police who have to shoot them all dead?

15. #16 by tak tahan on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 10:57 pm

If no ever opposition captured putrajaya,non-malays and malays(wisdom one) should better migrate for ur future n generations.No point talking till death and keep on sustaining the present goverment to enrich themself.Life will not be easier anyway either.

16. #17 by vsp on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 11:31 pm

This apartheid policy in the civil service and armed forces against the non-Malays was seriously enforced during Mahathir reign. At the same time the BTN was established to poison the minds of civil servants against the non-Malays.

17. #18 by born in Malaya on Sunday, 14 November 2010 - 11:37 pm

tak tahan, encouraging citizens to emigrate from Malaysia is what the UMNOs wanted, remember the game of numbers.
    Before independence, there are more Chinese and Indians in Malaya than Malays.
    Emigrate and leave your relatives and friends behind to suffer is not a solution, infact it sounded selfish.
    We are born here so stay and fight and not abandon your country. Use your votes wisely. Educate your friends and relatives. For those who are not registered yet, it is not too late to start now.

18. #19 by undertaker888 on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 8:08 am

The only thing umno got is fackuptriotism. Racism is their only way of survival. There’s nothing else from them. Just a bunchof lanuns robbing and raping the people.

19. #20 by dagen on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 8:50 am

Of course the min will not give you a reply. So I will do it on his behalf, then. Let me ask you one question. Do you support umno? If your answer is negative, you automatically are unpatriotic!

20. #21 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 9:30 am

raven77 :
    I think our politicians have lost control of the country to civil servants….
    THis story is repeated in almost every Ministry with politicians just looking on…

I don’t think so. I think these are deliberate policies as a result of NEP. I am sure the civil servants are under instructions from their higher ups.

When they go overboard, such as the racist teacher, then they pretend that it is the civil servant who is out of line.

If it is the little napoleons acting on their own initiatives (I don’t think they have initiatives in the first place), it would not have permeate so wide, so deep and for so long.

21. #22 by Godfather on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 10:49 am

The greatest act of patriotism that one can make for Bolehland is to go after all those who steal from the rakyat.

22. #23 by Godfather on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 10:50 am

The moral of this story is that you must be stupid to join the Police Force.

23. #24 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 10:58 am

Godfather :
    The moral of this story is that you must be stupid to join the Police Force.

The moral of the the story is that this government has no morals.

24. #25 by Jeffrey on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 12:14 pm

If one must be stupid to join the police force, then Kit is unfair to berate the IGP for the skyrocketing crime rate, The failure of PDRM to protect Malaysians from rising crime becomes almost excusable when the criminals themselves are cleverer than those who are supposed to catch them!

25. #26 by Jeffrey on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 12:51 pm

This issue about BN Govt government’s possible bailout of Syarikat Bekalan Air Selangor (Syabas) is a partisan political issue.
    Pakatan Rakat state govt has to be careful in “planning a 100,000-strong protest to submit a memorandum to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong” because it is involving the Ruler in partisan politics and contradicts the principle of Rulers and head of state being above partisan politics because his or her main function is to unite citizens of different political persuasions.

On the Perak Assembly it was PR’s contention that Ruler should be above partisan politics!

This is what DAP’s Tunku Abdul Aziz said in article “Rulers must not lord over us” in Mysinchew 22nd April 2009 in relation to the Perak imbroglio (I quote)

“It is unfortunate that his handling of what I call the Perak Affair has given rise to suspicions that he was not above politics. The presence of Najib in the palace ostensibly as the UMNO state liaison chief was all grist to the rumour mill. To crown it all, he was the deputy prime minister, and not some common garden variety Perak politician.”

(Unquote)

26. #27 by Jeffrey on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 12:53 pm

Sorry the above posting shoul;d appear in earlier thread on ‘Selangor seeks royal hand over water bondholders’ bailout’

27. #28 by dagen on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 1:04 pm

Actually the chappy might have meant well for damian denis. Look. Who doesnt know that the police force is one rotten force – one meant only for those with nowhere else to turn to for employment. This is a general statement of course. But still the actual situation is not too far away. Look on the bright side damian. Just be happy.

If you want something better and more then concrete vote umno out in GE13.

28. #29 by dagen on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 1:19 pm

The Hon CJ Yong Pung How, 4th Jan 2003.
    Opening of The Legal Year 2003

“I have often said that when ordinary citizens think about the Courts, they are in fact thinking about the Subordinate Courts. Justice administered by these Courts impacts them. I have therefore consistently sent the best Legal Service Officers to these Courts. The quality of their judgments has improved over the years.” [emphasis added]

And the list of members of the Sub Court bench (2004) with First Class Undergraduate Law Degrees:

1. Ms Chionh Sze Chyi Mavis University of Oxford
    2. Ms Valerie Thean Pik Yuen University of Cambridge
    3. Ms Hoo Sheau Peng University of Cambridge
    4. Ms Audrey Lim Yoon Cheng University of Cambridge
    5. Mr Aedit Abdullah National University of Singapore
    6. Mr Tan Boon Gin University of Cambridge
    7. Ms Sia Aik Kor University of London
    8. Ms May Loh Bee Bee University of Kent
    9. Mr Hui Choon Kuen University of Oxford
    10.Ms Lim Hui Mien Sharon* University of Cambridge
    11.Mr Tan Boon Khai University of Nottingham
    12.Mr Koh Meng Sing Alvin University of Leeds
    13.Ms Ngoh Siew Yen National University of Singapore

And there list goes on to mention those with postgrad degrees …

Looks like we have a very long way to go in the catching up race. Lots of room for improvement.

29. #30 by cemerlang on Monday, 15 November 2010 - 1:28 pm

To Damien Denis, Don’t be bitter. Forgive that officer who did not entertain you. Why ? Because every Malaysian know and has that impression that the PDRM is corrupt. He was helping you to choose the correct path to righteousness. Though I am sure not all are. Do you want to be associated with a group that goes around having a bad smell or one who is sleeping on her job ?

30. #31 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 16 November 2010 - 9:13 am

bravo ! emas pertama sukan asia ke 16 untuk negara KITA, MALAYSIA disumbangkan oleh Chai Fong Ying. tahniah Fong Ying.

wahai ahmad zahid hamidi, patriotik ke tak ??

31. #32 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 November 2010 - 2:27 pm

Hey, did Umnoputras n Perkosa jump with joy n yell “M’sia Boleh” & “Tahniah” over d first Asian Games Gold won by a Malaysian athlete, walaupun Pendatang?
    She won d Gold in d women’s combined Taijijian & Taijiquan event held in China, U know, don’t play play 1

32. #33 by on cheng on Thursday, 18 November 2010 - 4:43 pm

Fact / real reason: They do not have enough qualified Malaysian in the army to operate modern equipment / weapons.