Transformation starts with transition

By Thomas Lee

In one of my recent postings on Facebook, I stated that my choice for Prime Minister is Nurul Izzah, the intellectual and independent-minded eldest daughter of Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim.

My good old friend Chong Phow Yew asked why I opted for the unbranded maverick young lady, and not veteran DAP leader Lim Kit Siang or his popular luminous son Guan Eng.

True, either Kit Siang or Guan Eng will make a first-class PM, perhaps even better than Lee Kuan Yew of Singapore.

But the political reality in Malaysia is such that as long as the race factor is the major consideration in Malaysia, the pragmatism is that the time is not ripe yet for the acceptance of a non-Malay PM, even if the person is a Chinese Muslim. It took the US more than 200 years to finally accept and elect a Black American as its president. Even so, President Barrack Obama’s religious faith is a matter of controvery until now.

A period of transition is needed, during which liberal moderate and intelligent Malays like Nurul Izzah, Zaid Ibrahim, Khalid Ibrahim, Nizar Jammuludin, Khalid Samad, Harris Ibrahim, Raja Putra Kamarudin and many others, who have no racial inferiority complex, no intellectual insecurity, and no social inadequacy, could initiate a mental revolution among the new generation of Malaysians to have a broadened perspective in life and thoughts.

Hence, I strongly support the sending of our students overseas for further studies, hoping that the exposure, experience and education would help in broadening their worldview and transforming them to be more rational, inclusive and judicious in their life and thought, with a real discreet sense of values and wisdom.

Unfortunately, this is not happening, as most of them who are supposed to be “educated” nowadays seem to lack the intelligence and intellectual capacity, the sagacious discernment, good judgment, and astute ability to accurately assess situations or people. Some are downright dishonest to what they personally know and understand, and sell their souls and principles for the sake of money, positions and power. Take the case of one who calls himself an “intellectual” who wrote a doctorate thesis on the evil of the Internal Security Act (ISA), but who rebuts his own research findings by endorsing and supporting the oppressive law when offered a top government post.

Basically, what is woefully wrong in our nation is the fundamental lack of a clear and comprehensible education philosophy based on truth, honesty, scholarly orientation, and an objective worldview. What we are having now is a baffling perplexing education system premised upon racial and political expediency, with nary a concern for the real mental and intellectual development of the young minds. Even a very ingenuous matter like the learning of languages such as English or mother tongues has been turned into a controversial polemic dispute with an ugly racial overtone.

The recent proposal by the federal government to make History a must-pass subject in the SPM has, not surprisingly, elicited reactions and responses from various quarters, mostly concerned about the reinterpretation and reenactment of the local history based on racial factors.

History per se is a very subjective subject, involving the interpretation of events, facts and figures. The narration of historical events is generally coloured by the personal perception, bias, and skewed orientation of the interpreter. The fact that an event took place could not be disputed, but how and why it happened are subjected to interpretation by the historian. The May 13 incident, for example, did happen, but there are many versions of how and why it happened, depending on who is doing the interpretation and reporting of the incident.

Hence, the study of History in our schools is a highly contentious and querulous matter, especially with regards to the official textbooks which are perceived by many people to be tainted with twisted inferences to promote certain racial agenda or political objective.

What we need now is to work for a real transformation of our nation into a truly demoncratic liberal society with thriving and flourishing fundamental common universal values such as the acceptance and respect for each other, without the discriminative coloured considerations of racial, religious, cultural, linguistic, gender, and economic class status. The basic human, civil, and constitutional rights of all citizens must be preserved, protected and promoted.

The destiny of our nation and the fate of our children are in our own hands, and what we, as citizens of Malaysia, must do is to stand up and be counted, by doing our individual part in the promotion, persuasion, and performance of tranforming our nation into a place where everyone of us is proud to call home. Don’t allow the march to Putrajaya to turn from a virtual dream into a dreadful nightmare!

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 8:50 am

SPM essay question based on the new sejarah syllabus—

Name the greatest leader on earth whose speech “Rise, Moderates” at the UN galvanized the entire world. Explain why he should receive the Nobel Peace Prize instead of that mata sepet Liu Xiaobo. List all his contributions that made him the wisest man in the world. [ 25 marks]

2. #2 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 8:53 am

Loctor R Tea, who gave up his roots n cursed his ancestors in order 2 desperately bcome a Malay, is very disappointed with your fallacy: d time is not ripe yet 4 d acceptance of a non-Malay PM, even if d person is a Chinese Muslim
    He believes he is best qualified 2 b PeeEm, better than d current she-PM

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 10:34 am

Thomas Lee is quite right to say that the making History compulsory in school is contentious which surprisingly has not thus far elicited reactions from various quarters (including Opposition & Civil Society). It is time that opposition and Civil Society wake up to this issue.

Those of us concerned with democracy will want to see our school children learn how to think independently. They are the future of the country. They determine whether democracy progresses onwards or regresses backwards.

Though the study of History is necessary why is it so important to make it a compulsory pass subject? Our concern is that History per se is a very subjective subject, involving the interpretation of events, facts and figures. As Thomas Lee said, “the narration of historical events is generally coloured by the personal perception, bias, and skewed orientation of the interpreter. The fact that an event took place could not be disputed, but how and why it happened is subjected to interpretation by the historian. The May 13 incident, for example, did happen, but there are many versions of how and why it happened, depending on who is doing the interpretation and reporting of the incident.”
    That someone now or in future will re-write history according to political agenda for our children’s indoctrination is our collective concern.

The idea of the “Social Contract” – (ie the “bargain” forged between leaders of the different communities at independence that Non Malays be given citizenship (jus soli) in exchange for Malays privileges and ‘Ketuanan’) – is the raison de etre of UMNO’s claims to be champions and protector of Malays to garner their majority votes.

In the premises, the idea of Social Contract must be believed, entrenched and legitimised in order for the ruling party to sustain and perpetuate its rule.

It is not enough that this ideology pervades amongst UMNOputras and is reaffirmed only during annual party assemblies. It is not enough that BTN subtly disseminates it to 1.3 million civil servants whose votes are important for ruling party/coalition’s success at the polls. It is not enough as long as the ideology of the Social Contract have not yet broadened down by seamless incorporation into the entire spectrum of wider society’s discourse and values system. Until the Social Contract is firmly accepted at all levels to be basis of integration than conflict, there will always be detractors within Civil Society as well as ordinary masses that will be disgruntled at the Social Contract and vote Opposition against the ruling party/coalition.

So what better way there is but to start disseminating and indoctrinating this political ideology early to mould the young impressionable minds of school children??? What better subject would serve this purpose than History to tell the story of this Contract and promote it???

So I hope making History compulsory is not with this insidious purpose in mind.

Otherwise it is a disservice to our children. They have a right of access to legitimate and balanced information.

Unless our children – the future generations and leaders – are encouraged to think independently whilst recognizing at the same time the right of others to have a contrarian opinion in the market place of ideas, unless they are taught to be adverse to propaganda instead of embrace it, the country cannot advance, and ordinary people cannot free themselves from the yoke of control by self serving elites in power, now or in the future.

4. #4 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 11:36 am

/// True, either Kit Siang or Guan Eng will make a first-class PM, perhaps even better than Lee Kuan Yew of Singapore.

But the political reality in Malaysia is such that as long as the race factor is the major consideration in Malaysia, the pragmatism is that the time is not ripe yet for the acceptance of a non-Malay PM, even if the person is a Chinese Muslim. ///

That’s exactly the problem with NEP and Ketuanan Melayu. As long as the best are not in charge, Malaysia will always be a third-rate country.

Forget about wasting money on Talent Corp. As long as kulitfication is the criterion, who would want to be inducted?

5. #5 by born in Malaya on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 11:53 am

Don’t even talk about Chinese or Indians prime minister. You guys voted BN and for so many years, you are being called : NON-BUMIs, second class citizens, slap your own face by voting BN.
    I Malaysia but dua bangsa.
    Without a Malaysia Malaysian , this country a doooooom. There will never be unity. Probably , this is what BN wanted.

6. #6 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 12:02 pm

Zahid Hamid will say non-malays are not patriotic to be prime minister.So is not umno’s fault as he will claim.Ask him and see.

7. #7 by perampok cinta1 on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 1:47 pm

“The recent proposal by the federal government to make History a must-pass subject in the SPM has, not surprisingly, elicited reactions and responses from various quarters, mostly concerned about the reinterpretation and reenactment of the local history based on racial factors.”

What is it with you? Are you implying that history is wrong? What? DAP wants to rewrite history now? History shows that the Malays are the ones who fought a long side with the Chinese & Indians. We never doubt that. History also shows that the Malays make a big sacrifice by making Chinese & Indians citizens of Malaysia.

Young people nowadays don’t know the history of their own country. Look what happened on ‘Merdeka Day’. They should know history; hence History is a must-pass subject. DAP IS NOT HAPPY WITH THIS BECAUSE THEY WANT THE YOUNGER GENERATIONS TO FORGET ABOUT HISTORY, TO FORGET ABOUT THE SACRIFICE THE MALAYS MADE & TO REMEMBER COMMUNISTS AS NATIONAL HERO.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 5:41 pm

Hai #7,
    Why no umno reps dare to have open discussion on malaysia constitution with Nurul(Anwar’s daughter).Answer is ur are bunch of sinful liars-twist history and constitution to suit urselves.Nep=parasite of the highest lazy bugger.

9. #9 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 5:47 pm

The real problem lies in the leadership – the government of the day. As long as we have a government that still works on the outmoded and destructive racial bargaining formula, we will not be able to re-formulate our education institution into a progressive one.

Now we have the best chance to change the government who refused to recognize the need to transform. Yet we have people who are not steadfast in their conviction to throw out the current dinosaur government. They waver at the slightest problem that comes in the way of this ‘March to Putrajaya’ objective.

Indeed the destiny is in our hands. And it is important for people to realize that disagreements (within PR) are inevitable. Keep our eyes open to deeds that exploit these disagreements to ensure status quo in the next general election. I want a good future for my children. I hope all caring Malaysians too want to give their children a better future. If we cannot rely on the current administration to deliver what we want, we must make ourselves heard by voting for PR in the next GE!

10. #10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 5:52 pm

And I thought 1Malaysia is colour-blind!

Hello najib/Muhyiddin, macam mana – is 1Malaysia colour-blind?

Or do we call each race by a different colour under the 1Malaysia branding. As long as we confuse the population , no one can pin the blame on Najib or his slogan 1M.

11. #11 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 10 November 2010 - 9:53 pm

Bodohland will imminently end up like Zimbabwee or worst, and thereafter, only the ketuanans will be left behind, just like Zimbabwee. Money cannot help them … they have never learnt how to fish … this is how nature works.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 11 November 2010 - 9:43 am

Steadfast in conviction to throw out the current dinosaur government is one thing but the other thing not be forgotten is issue of leadership of the alternative coalition. If the glue (PKR’s leadership) is not superglue but some starch mixed with water what are the chances of this ‘March to Putrajaya’ when they are already fighting amongst themselves before they reach a kilometre of its gates ? It is superficial to just blame it on Zaid, but thats a discussion on another occasion.

• #13 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 11 November 2010 - 12:04 pm

Jeffrey: If the glue (PKR’s leadership) is not superglue but some starch mixed with water what are the chances of this ‘March to Putrajaya’ when they are already fighting amongst themselves before they reach a kilometre of its gates ?

Try to be more intelligent lah… Do you think “pseudo 1Malaysia” and the continued wasteful ways as represented by the current administration is better than the progressive platform of PR. Who do you think is more sincere?

13. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 11 November 2010 - 10:53 am

There are so many non Muslims in all Govt Depts that are much smarter and more qualified to take up managerial posts….yet UMNO B put donkeys and monkeys to manage people..for decades.
    The race and religion dirty politics applied by UMNO and UMNO B cannot be changed overnight.
    Mahathir as PM for 22 years.. make sure Muslims stay backwards and depend on UMNO B and use money to tempt his own race.
    These Muslims are the ones that cannot accept sudden change and may rebel.
    It should be a Muslim PM for sometime..while getting rid of CORRUPTIONS and race discrimination are most important..to unite Malaysians as one and be strong.
    The man in the streets are thinking as Malaysians since Merdeka.
    All PKR need to do is get rid of ISA and corruptions and arrest the corrupted big fishes for fair court case trials. We do not want rumours to get anyone in jail.
    Be a just and fair Govt…and a non Muslim PM will be accepted soon enough.
    We want true unity first….as UMNO B have made Malaysians the laughing stock to the whole developed world with their kind of sickening racialist governance…and you can bet….Najib and all UMNO B hypocrites will say we are better off than Zimbabwe…or Argentina.

14. #15 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 11 November 2010 - 1:39 pm

///Try to be more intelligent lah… Do you think “pseudo 1Malaysia” and the continued wasteful ways as represented by the current administration is better than the progressive platform of PR. Who do you think is more sincere?/// – #13 by lkt-56

To the best of my recollection, the issue raised in my posting #12 is NOT whether “pseudo 1Malaysia” and the continued wasteful ways as represented by the current administration is better or worse than the progressive platform of PR but the orther issue of what are the chances of PR getting to Putrajaya with the kind of defacto leadership shown by Anwar helming PKR (that is supposed to be the glue for the entire PR) that has led to open fighting (per the Zaid’s episode).

• #16 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 11 November 2010 - 2:15 pm

We are talking about transformation. Who do you think is more likely to bring about transformation? People who support the likes of Ibrahim Ali or the all inclusive platform of PR.

You asked: What are the chances of PR getting into Putrajaya?
      It depends on whether we have the wisdom to see the reality of what is being played out. ;)

15. #17 by PoliticoKat on Thursday, 11 November 2010 - 2:28 pm

What you have state is true… Malaysia is so racially polarized that no non-malay citizen, no matter how qualified, could ever hope to hold an important ministerial post, let alone become the prime minister. The Malay population would not stand for it.

From this one failure in meritocracy, a cascade of failure follows. If the Malays can justify excluding the most qualified person for being a non-malays, they will easily find justifications to exclude qualified Malays too. This is a situation where the qualifications for a position has become something other than ability.

And for this reason, Malaysia will always be second best. Malaysia will never be able to pick the best man or woman for the job.

This is a grim situation, and because of that I find myself looking abroad. I like to think, we Malaysian get into interesting places once outside.

I take Malaysian-born Penny Wong as a symbol of sorts. Sure I might never become the Finance Minister of Malaysia, but maybe.. just maybe with a lot of luck, hard work I could be the finance minister of my adopted nation.

And yes, I do know she was never a Malaysian citizen. Her father was a former citizen and she was only born in Malaysia. But still one can dream. It would be the great irony if one could make official visits to Malaysia as the Prime Minister of another nation.

• #18 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 11 November 2010 - 2:42 pm

It is not necessary to realise your dreams by going away from Malaysia. If we can see what PR an BN has to offer without getting disorientated by the politics of deception that is going on, we will know who to vote for come the next GE. With an administration that is prepared to bring about transformation you have the chance to realise your dream.